TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2011, 02:45 PM   #1
MikeOrlando
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Exclamation TiVo Software Update 14.9.2.2 Fast Forward Bug

This morning when I turned on my TiVo I had a message about having run out of guide data, but it was all there when I looked. I noted a few other changes in the HDUI and presumed I received a software update.

It says I am running 14.9.2.2-01-2-746

When I began watching recorded content I noted a significant change. When I tried to fast forward x3 through a commercial and then hit fast foward (a forth time) to resume watching the show instead of the "smart restart" where it would resume playing from the return of the show it just made the "BONG" noise and continues to fast forward.

I confirmed with TiVo and they reported that I must have received the latest software update and that is a issue they are working on.

Any ideas what else may have changed? I am new to TiVo and wonder how long it takes for them to fix bugs like this.

Last edited by MikeOrlando : 12-14-2011 at 04:16 PM.
MikeOrlando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 02:48 PM   #2
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,267
It's a design change, not a bug so it won't be "fixed".
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 02:56 PM   #3
MikeOrlando
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Thumbs down

Well that certainly would be a poor design change. I understand why they do not permit automatic commercial skipping, but under the more recent software if you desired to skip a commercial there was a way to do so manually.

According to the TiVo agent:
Sarah: Looks like you have been upgraded to the new software, we currently have an issue that we are working on getting resolved for that particular issue.

So according to TiVo this issue would be resolved in the future.
MikeOrlando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 03:09 PM   #4
ckelly33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
I'm not getting this 'error'. My situation is the same as yours - my guide data claims to have run out, the next update brought 14.9.2.

After reading your post, I cued up a recording and played it. I have a Universal remote and when I hit FF, it sends out the triple FF signal. To stop it and resume watching, I always hit play and it snaps back a few seconds and starts playing. It didn't perform any differently today than it has before as far as this goes. Now I DID notice a difference when I chose to hit the FF button a fourth time (which used to stop FF'ing and resumes normal speed). This functionality is gone but the resume by play is still there.

I have no idea if that is clear...
__________________
Pioneer PRO-151FD, Panasonic PT-AR100U
TiVo Series 4, TiVo Premiere XL, and a new Roamio Plus w/2 Minis
ckelly33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:15 PM   #5
MikeOrlando
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
CKelly,

What you wrote makes sense to me. You are correct... it is hitting the fast forward button the forth time that results in the BONG and nothing else. If I hit my play button it just stops fast forwarding and plays from the point I hit play, it does not snap back, like it used to, to the start of the show (when the commercial ended).
MikeOrlando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:19 PM   #6
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOrlando View Post
This morning when I turned on my TiVo I had a message about having run out of guide data, but it was all there when I looked. I noted a few other changes in the HDUI and presumed I received a software update.

It says I am running 14.9.2.2-01-2-746

When I began watching recorded content I noted a significant change. When I tried to fast forward through a commercial and then hit play to resume watching the show instead of the "smart restart" where it would resume playing from the return of the show it just made the "BONG" noise and continues to fast forward.

I confirmed with TiVo and they reported that I must have received the latest software update and that is a issue they are working on.

Any ideas what else may have changed? I am new to TiVo and wonder how long it takes for them to fix bugs like this.
As related above, TiVo made a change in how FFing works. Used to be, hitting the FF button a fourth time would take you back to playing the recording.
Not any more. You have to hit the play button to actually resume playback.
The bug you are experiencing is probably related to that.
As for how long it takes TiVo to fix? It depends on how long it takes for them to isolate the problem, re-write the software, test it, beta test it, etc.
IOW, it's anyone's guess.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:19 PM   #7
ckelly33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
Mine definitely snaps back. It seems to FF faster (maybe?)
__________________
Pioneer PRO-151FD, Panasonic PT-AR100U
TiVo Series 4, TiVo Premiere XL, and a new Roamio Plus w/2 Minis
ckelly33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:30 PM   #8
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOrlando View Post
CKelly,

What you wrote makes sense to me. You are correct... it is hitting the fast forward button the forth time that results in the BONG and nothing else. If I hit my play button it just stops fast forwarding and plays from the point I hit play, it does not snap back, like it used to, to the start of the show (when the commercial ended).
The snap back (smart restart) should still be there, but the algorithm may have changed. You will have to adjust your mental timing as to when you hit the Play button.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:18 PM   #9
ckelly33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
The snap back (smart restart) should still be there, but the algorithm may have changed. You will have to adjust your mental timing as to when you hit the Play button.
You may be right. It really seems to me that the FF function is faster. It is harder to keep up with what I am seeing now when skipping commercials. Maybe they activated the second core solely for the purpose of skipping commercials faster...
__________________
Pioneer PRO-151FD, Panasonic PT-AR100U
TiVo Series 4, TiVo Premiere XL, and a new Roamio Plus w/2 Minis
ckelly33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:07 PM   #10
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
You may be right. It really seems to me that the FF function is faster. It is harder to keep up with what I am seeing now when skipping commercials. Maybe they activated the second core solely for the purpose of skipping commercials faster...
Different channels will fast forward at different speeds depending on how the video is encoded. Unlike analog, you can see wild variations of trick play speed on digital channels.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:48 PM   #11
morac
Cat God
 
morac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,267
Just to clarify, pressing ff a 4th time simply acted the same as pressing play. That was changed to prevent accidentally playing when trying to FFx3. Pressing FF a 4th time never acted as a commercial skip. It is was, then you just had very good timing.

If you want to skip commercials, you're better off using the 30 second scan button. Most commercial breaks are 3 or 4 minutes in length so tapping the skip button 6 or 8 times should take you back to the program.
morac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 01:54 AM   #12
TreasureCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
What a terrible change. I've been using Tivo for over 8 years now, and I always use the smart restart by pressing FF or RW a fourth time. That's 8 years of muscle memory for the most basic Tivo function. I've messed up the timing while tracking every single time all day. The higher scan speed (which I like) is making it all the worse.

Seriously, who was having any problem with the way it was? Why change a part of the interface that's been in place since inception of the product- especially one that's so core to the experience (FF/RW) that literally every user knows how it works? What happened to "if it ain't broke?"

Ugh.
TreasureCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 07:54 AM   #13
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreasureCat View Post
What a terrible change. I've been using Tivo for over 8 years now, and I always use the smart restart by pressing FF or RW a fourth time. That's 8 years of muscle memory for the most basic Tivo function. I've messed up the timing while tracking every single time all day. The higher scan speed (which I like) is making it all the worse.

Seriously, who was having any problem with the way it was? Why change a part of the interface that's been in place since inception of the product- especially one that's so core to the experience (FF/RW) that literally every user knows how it works? What happened to "if it ain't broke?"

Ugh.
I always had a problem with the way it was. Although I only used the FF in the first year of use ten years ago, then I switched to the 30 second skip. And now I use the 30 second scan. I rarely use the FF but when I do I more often than not hit it four times so it goes back to play again. The new way is much better for me. So when I use the FF I don't have to worry about it going back to play again by accident.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:20 AM   #14
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I always had a problem with the way it was. Although I only used the FF in the first year of use ten years ago, then I switched to the 30 second skip. And now I use the 30 second scan. I rarely use the FF but when I do I more often than not hit it four times so it goes back to play again. The new way is much better for me. So when I use the FF I don't have to worry about it going back to play again by accident.
+1 for me also
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:24 AM   #15
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,867
New behavior is much preferred by me as well.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:36 AM   #16
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,354
I'm on board as well, but I only wish it would be back-ported to my older HD unit.
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 12:39 PM   #17
tattube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I always had a problem with the way it was. Although I only used the FF in the first year of use ten years ago, then I switched to the 30 second skip. And now I use the 30 second scan. I rarely use the FF but when I do I more often than not hit it four times so it goes back to play again. The new way is much better for me. So when I use the FF I don't have to worry about it going back to play again by accident.
Hmm..... seems like you could just as easily 'accidently' hit the play button as the ff button the 4th time.

I vote for "if it ain't broke...don't fix it.

I just called Tivo CS and had to get tough (asked for supervisor) with rep when he started telling me he was not responsible for software programming changes.

He finally decided to do his job and send a note to tech dept, asking if change was intentional or not...and to voice my disapproval of this change.

I've been with Tivo long enough to not expect revisions to changes they make anytime soon, if at all.

I've never used the 30 second skip button except to skip to the end of the recording...I suppose I will explore that button more, or just get used to using the play button - which does snap back - to quit ff.
tattube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 12:57 PM   #18
sharp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tampa
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by tattube View Post
Hmm..... seems like you could just as easily 'accidently' hit the play button as the ff button the 4th time.
I disagree. I think it's better the new way also.

Since I have to hit FF 3 times its much more likely that I accidentally hit it a 4th time since my thumb is already on the key, than it is for me to move my thumb to accidentally hit play.

And since it did not always respond quite fast enough, I sometimes hit it an extra time thinking I hadn't hit 3 times because it wasn't quite responsive enough.

I MUCH prefer the new functionality (assuming it was intentional.)
sharp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 03:13 PM   #19
rvrrunr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
30 sec skip

I too prefer the old set-up. I was willing to deal with it and program the 30 sec skip instead but it won't accept the change. I hit select play select 3 0 select it dings 3 times but the function doesn't change only goes to slo-mo.
rvrrunr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:32 PM   #20
tattube
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
After watching a couple of shows today, and using the 30 sec skip....I have to say that I like it.

Seems to be faster and more accurate than 3x ff...I'm spending less time jockeying back and forth to reach the beginning of the segment.

All I need to do now is reprogram my brain to move my thumb down 3/4" to use it.
tattube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:30 PM   #21
Charles R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
As related above, TiVo made a change in how FFing works.
Curse them. My guess is the number of times it was hit four times on purpose versus by accident is over 99 to 1.
Charles R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:41 PM   #22
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
Curse them. My guess is the number of times it was hit four times on purpose versus by accident is over 99 to 1.
I now like the way it is as i would hit the FF 4 or more times by error and get frustrated, it much better to just hit play when you get to the correct point, and not be concerned how many times you hit the FF button.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 01:57 AM   #23
srpsrp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
I've been a TIVO user for 10 years and I've always used the FF button with a 4th push to stop FF. This new change is downright stupid. You had an entire community that pushed the FF button since TIVO inception, with known expected results.... and now someone decides to just change it one day and not even tell us???? How dumb is that?

I personally am offended that TIVO would change this function and not even have the professional courtesy to notify us first. I actually thought something was wrong with my remote / unit when I first experienced the upgrade / change. I screwed around with my unit, looking at settings, I did a reboot, etc.... only to read about it on this forum. What a bunch of clowns! Shame on TIVO. Shame on TIVO management.

BTW - to those who "like the new way better" because they "hit the button by accident"......I think that's just lame. Don't make me change something that I've been doing for 10 years just because you aren't coordinated enough to push a button right. It's slower and more of a bother to stop FF by hitting the play button now. It was definitely easier to just keep your finger on the FF button and ht it a 4th time. The new change is like forcing a driver to hit the brake every time to slow down, when they could just back their foot off the gas pedal to slow down instead .....it's just DUMB!

Last edited by srpsrp : 12-18-2011 at 02:08 AM.
srpsrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 02:21 AM   #24
AlanMintz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Please don't make this any more complicated for TiVo than it is. The change was undocumented, specifically goes against description of the function of the keys*, and has nothing to do with any conspiracy regarding commercial-skipping. It's a glaring bug - plain and simple - and one that should have NEVER gotten past any testing by any normal user. Shame on you, TiVo.

Now, if some people like this accidental "feature", perhaps they can consider making it an option in settings, but the rest of us want our correct, as documented, functionality back.

* support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1851/kw/remote%20control says:

24. FWD (fast-forward) fast-forwards through a program. Press it up to three times for three speeds. Press it a fourth time to resume playing. When the box is paused, it allows you to advance frame-by-frame.

and

13. Back (rewind) rewinds a program. Press it up to three times for three speeds. Press it a fourth time to resume playing. When the box is paused, it allows you to go back frame-by-frame.
AlanMintz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 08:56 AM   #25
kirk1701
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp1 View Post
I disagree. I think it's better the new way also.

Since I have to hit FF 3 times its much more likely that I accidentally hit it a 4th time since my thumb is already on the key, than it is for me to move my thumb to accidentally hit play.

And since it did not always respond quite fast enough, I sometimes hit it an extra time thinking I hadn't hit 3 times because it wasn't quite responsive enough.

I MUCH prefer the new functionality (assuming it was intentional.)
Hmm
I didn't think of it that way but makes sense now, I've done the same thing before; hit the FF a fourth time before the commercials were over.

I came here looking to see if it was actually an update that caused the change or something weird going on specifically on my tivo. Good to see its not me.

This might be a good thing, just have to retrain our minds to move the finger to the play button to stop the FF

I give the change a
kirk1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 10:35 AM   #26
srpsrp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanMintz View Post
Please don't make this any more complicated for TiVo than it is. The change was undocumented, specifically goes against description of the function of the keys*, and has nothing to do with any conspiracy regarding commercial-skipping. It's a glaring bug - plain and simple - and one that should have NEVER gotten past any testing by any normal user. Shame on you, TiVo.

Now, if some people like this accidental "feature", perhaps they can consider making it an option in settings, but the rest of us want our correct, as documented, functionality back.

* support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1851/kw/remote%20control says:

24. FWD (fast-forward) fast-forwards through a program. Press it up to three times for three speeds. Press it a fourth time to resume playing. When the box is paused, it allows you to advance frame-by-frame.

and

13. Back (rewind) rewinds a program. Press it up to three times for three speeds. Press it a fourth time to resume playing. When the box is paused, it allows you to go back frame-by-frame.


I hope it's a bug....the problem is someone posted that they talked to TIVO support and they were told it was intentional, and there were no plans to change it back.....let's hope the support person they talked to was wrong.
srpsrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 10:57 AM   #27
Blonde
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 182
I hate the change. I hope it's just a temporary bug.
Blonde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:53 PM   #28
srpsrp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Angry Fix The Fast Forward Bug!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blonde View Post
I hate the change. I hope it's just a temporary bug.
A few on here mentioned to use the commercial skip key....that process takes at least 6 presses of the key for a 3 minute commercial. Pressing FF 4 times was much quicker and easier. Let's hope TIVO fixes this soon! If this isn't a bug then they really screwed up with this change.
srpsrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 04:00 PM   #29
jaredmwright
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 202
Count me as someone who likes the change also since overshooting required multiple presses to get back going. Even better would be an option in the menu for the end user to decide and have the best of both. TiVo should be about offering more to consumers and customization and it would probably be trivial to implement to set an option one way or the other.
__________________
TiVo XL4 (2TB) HDMI
TiVo Roamio Plus (3TB) HDMI & Slingbox 350 COMPONENT
-TiVo Mini (MoCa) HDMI
-TiVo Mini (MoCa) HDMI
-TiVo Mini (MoCa) HDMI
DirecTV HR22 HDMI & Slingbox Solo COMPONENT
jaredmwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 01:07 AM   #30
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
How is it possible that after months of waiting TiVo finally releases an update for the Premiere units and it's actually worse then the previous software? They use to be so good about not releasing software that added new bugs, but it seems like with the last couple of releases they've broken more things then they've fixed.

I really could use an Elite to replace a couple of old S3 units, but at this point I'm not willing to give up the S3 units because at least their software is stable. I am really disappointed in the the direction TiVo has gone over the last few years. I keep hoping they are going to realize the error of their ways and bounce back, but I'm just more disappointed with every new release.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |