TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2011, 08:50 AM   #691
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by wired11 View Post
The upgraded drive in my Tivo HD died and I need an image for the replacement drive. I tried using the image that I originally had 3 years ago when I upgraded the disk but while it boots and seems to work it won't connect to TiVo for updates.
PM sent
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:25 AM   #692
static1701
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 22
Looking for an image tcd652160

Hello,

I picked up an old series 2 and got it working.. love it and started looking for an HD tivo. Picked up a tcd652160 that needs a hard drive. Can someone help me out with an image? I have an image for a tcd140060 if anyone needs it

Can't PM yet or I would have asked that way.


Thanks,

Static
static1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:33 AM   #693
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by static1701 View Post
Hello,

I picked up an old series 2 and got it working.. love it and started looking for an HD tivo. Picked up a tcd652160 that needs a hard drive. Can someone help me out with an image? I have an image for a tcd140060 if anyone needs it

Can't PM yet or I would have asked that way.


Thanks,

Static
I should have HD images uploaded by sometime tomorrow (it takes forever) if nobody else gets to you first.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:27 AM   #694
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by static1701 View Post
Hello,

I picked up an old series 2 and got it working.. love it and started looking for an HD tivo. Picked up a tcd652160 that needs a hard drive. Can someone help me out with an image? I have an image for a tcd140060 if anyone needs it

Can't PM yet or I would have asked that way.


Thanks,

Static
PM sent
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:58 AM   #695
static1701
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 22
Thanks

lillevig: Thanks for your help.

Static
static1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:17 PM   #696
Bsv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 2
My hard drive went out and I'm looking for an image for my human t800.
Thanks!
Bsv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:27 PM   #697
wcvette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
I would appreciate a copy of the Humax T800.
Thanks for any help.
wcvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:30 PM   #698
wcvette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Ok, Ok 1 post in nearly 6 years. I am a reader not a writer. Blame it on good luck with 4 older Tivos. lol
wcvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:01 PM   #699
frogsmasha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Wondering where I can find an image for a Philips DSR6000r01. Thanks
frogsmasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 02:41 PM   #700
MattH3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Wondering if someone could get me a copy of the image for Humax T800.

Thanks
MattH3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 03:47 PM   #701
LisaDayAnderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
OK, I'm dumb, kindly help me understand this damned junk

What I'm talking about is tic324 wordpress com/]this odd piece of garbage Please have a look at the text, what's with all those confusing capital letters all over the place? :|
LisaDayAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 04:56 PM   #702
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by LisaDayAnderson View Post
What I'm talking about is tic324 wordpress com/]this odd piece of garbage Please have a look at the text, what's with all those confusing capital letters all over the place? :|
Are you quite certain you are inquiring in the correct place?

Does what you are asking have anything to do with a TiVo Digital Video Recorder?

If so, which model, and what's wrong?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:13 PM   #703
frogsmasha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Anyone know of a link/ftp to the Philips DSR6000r01 image? I don't know where to look. I've exhausted google.
frogsmasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 09:54 AM   #704
mherman33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Image needed.

I am looking for an image for hard drive for my TCD648250B.
Any help would be appreciated~!
Thanks.
mherman33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 08:38 AM   #705
wrader
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
need copy of tivo xl image

any help would be grand!
wrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:59 PM   #706
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrader View Post
any help would be grand!
Is that a Series3 HD XL? If so, I think that the regular S3HD image will work. I'll PM you a link.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 06:20 PM   #707
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Is that a Series3 HD XL? If so, I think that the regular S3HD image will work. I'll PM you a link.
It might work just enough to cause problems later.

Better to hold out for the real thing.

wrader, what's wrong with your original drive?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:27 AM   #708
killme
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville
Posts: 115
TiVo HD TCD652160

Looking for an image for TCD652160. My upgraded drive still boots, but it's dying (menus get slow and I have to reboot). When I made a truncated copy and restore it to a new drive the TiVo boots, but it says it's unactivated. When I try to connect to TiVo service it reboots. Your assistance would be appreciated. Thank you.
killme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:13 AM   #709
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by killme View Post
Looking for an image for TCD652160. My upgraded drive still boots, but it's dying (menus get slow and I have to reboot). When I made a truncated copy and restore it to a new drive the TiVo boots, but it says it's unactivated. When I try to connect to TiVo service it reboots. Your assistance would be appreciated. Thank you.
PM sent, but...

What kind of subscription do you have?

Where's the original 160GB drive and what kind of shape is it in?

Tell me about that upgraded drive, brand, model, size, how you got the image on it from the original drive...

Do you use the HD with a tuning adapter for SDV cable?

Have you closely inspected the capacitors on the power supply for even the slightest sign on swelling or bulging?

Go look at the picture steve614 posted in this thread

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=479176

A flaky or marginal power supply can cause all sorts of symptoms.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011

Last edited by unitron : 11-25-2011 at 04:38 AM. Reason: to fix spelling of "subscription"
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:04 AM   #710
killme
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
PM sent, but...

What kind of subcription do you have?

Where's the original 160GB drive and what kind of shape is it in?

Tell me about that upgraded drive, brand, model, size, how you got the image on it from the original drive...

Do you use the HD with a tuning adapter for SDV cable?

Have you closely inspected the capacitors on the power supply for even the slightest sign on swelling or bulging?

Go look at the picture steve614 posted in this thread

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=479176

A flaky or marginal power supply can cause all sorts of symptoms.
It's a lifetime subscription. I don't have the original drive. I bought the TiVo on eBay and it was already upgraded. The drive is a Western Digital WD10EACS 1TB. I don't have a tuning adapter. The capacitors look normal. Thanks again for the help.
killme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:37 AM   #711
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by killme View Post
It's a lifetime subscription. I don't have the original drive. I bought the TiVo on eBay and it was already upgraded. The drive is a Western Digital WD10EACS 1TB. I don't have a tuning adapter. The capacitors look normal. Thanks again for the help.
You mention restoring to a new drive. If you mean one other than the WD, what brand, model, size?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:38 PM   #712
boroarke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 27
Anyone have a tcd140060 image they could let me use? TiVo just died this morning. Thank you in advance for any help!

Happy Holidays!
boroarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:54 PM   #713
drcliffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
I also found a cold turkey this morning. My tivo of 8 years also died. Looking for tivo image tivo series 2 serial number TCD540040. Any help would be loved!
drcliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:09 PM   #714
killme
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
You mention restoring to a new drive. If you mean one other than the WD, what brand, model, size?
I actually have several of these WD10EACS drives so I'll be restoring to same model and size as the one that's failing. I ran MFSCOPY in WINMFS and it got a pretty good ways into copying the media partition and then in Task Manager I could see it performing reads, but it wasn't doing any writes.

So I took the partially restored drive and surprisingly it booted just fine. I recorded Live TV and it played back just fine. I plan to do a kickstart 57 since the copying process did get interrupted, but at the moment it's working great.

I also put the downloaded image on a third drive and tried it just to make sure it works and it booted into Guided Setup so that's good. Thanks for that.

I'll perform the kickstart after the TiVo finishes recording some shows tonight.

Last edited by killme : 11-27-2011 at 08:45 PM.
killme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:03 PM   #715
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by drcliffy View Post
I also found a cold turkey this morning. My tivo of 8 years also died. Looking for tivo image tivo series 2 serial number TCD540040. Any help would be loved!
I had one up at SendSpace but it aged out from not enough people downloading it often enough. I'll try to get it uploaded to DropBox in the next day or two, and I'll let you know when I do.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:09 PM   #716
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by boroarke View Post
Anyone have a tcd140060 image they could let me use? TiVo just died this morning. Thank you in advance for any help!

Happy Holidays!
I think the 140 can use a 240 image, and I can upload a 24008A image to DropBox in a couple of days. It'll require at least a larger than average 80GB drive to restore to (it came on a Maxtor that's a little fatter, LBA-wise, than the WD 80GB)

There's some previous discussion around this site, not necessarily just this thread, about the compatibility or lack thereof between and amongst the 130, 140, and 240 S2s, so go research to see if what I have can help you and post back.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 12:47 AM   #717
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by killme View Post
I actually have several of these WD10EACS drives so I'll be restoring to same model and size as the one that's failing. I ran MFSCOPY in WINMFS and it got a pretty good ways into copying the media partition and then in Task Manager I could see it performing reads, but it wasn't doing any writes. I tried to do dd_rescue using the MFSLIVE 1.4 CD, but it said command not found (is it not on the cd?).

So I took the partially restored drive and surprisingly it booted just fine. I recorded Live TV and it played back just fine. I plan to do a kickstart 57 since the copying process did get interrupted, but at the moment it's working great.

I also put the downloaded image on a third drive and tried it just to make sure it works and it booted into Guided Setup so that's good. Thanks for that.

I'll perform the kickstart after the TiVo finishes recording some shows tonight.
First of all, understand that I write for future audiences as well as the person to whom I reply.

If you go to mfslive.org and read the instructions for WinMFS thoroughly and carefully, you'll see that during copying it may appear to have stopped doing anything, but in fact has not, and you just need to wait.


A straightforward byte for byte copy with dd_rescue of a good 1TB drive to another one (a Xerox of it) can take about 6 hours to complete on SATA I ports.

WinMFS might know some TiVo specific things that'll let it shave some time off of that, but if it's a drive with a lot of shows recorded, it's going to take a while.

As I think, and hope, I indicated, the file with the .tbk extension is for use with WinMFS, and the file with the .bak extension is for use with the "every home should have one even if they don't have a TiVo" MFS Live cd v1.4

With the MFS Live cd you would use the restore command. Here's an example:

restore -s 999 -pi /dos/652_gset.bak /dev/sda

and one should read all the stuff about MFS Live at the mfslive.org site first instead of just blindly typing in the above or one might overwrite their Windows drive or something.

If you were using an original drive instead of a backup image file, it would be something like this

backup -Tao - /dev/sda | restore -s 999 -pi - /dev/sdb

and again, don't type it in if you don't understand why it's there.



dd_rescue

is on the MFS Live cd v1.4, as well as the original program

dd

but

ddrescue

is not, so, as with all things Linux/Unix, one must be careful exactly what one has typed before hitting the Enter key.

If you were going to use dd_rescue to copy one drive to another of at least the same size

dd_rescue -v /dev/sda /dev/sdb

where sda is the source drive and sdb is the target drive

-v is the "verbose" option that let's you see what's going on and how far it had progressed.

If you want to know exactly how long it took

date;dd_rescue -v /dev/sda /dev/sdb;date

Note that those are semi-colons separating the two instances of the

date

command from the single instance of the

dd_rescue

command.

Of course if you're using dd_rescue (and not just on TiVo drives), it's either because you want to "Xerox" a drive (or partition, but that's for later), or because you think a drive is fixing to go bad and you want to try to save the software on it, or as much of it as you can.

When you say partially restored drive, do you mean the one you didn't let WinMFS finish the job on? If so, at some point it's going to give you trouble.

You should at least take the original drive and let WinMFS copy it to another drive and let it finish this time.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:22 AM   #718
drcliffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Thank for looking. I found an old post by you (#521) with the links to images. And guess what they still work. Thanks for all your help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I had one up at SendSpace but it aged out from not enough people downloading it often enough. I'll try to get it uploaded to DropBox in the next day or two, and I'll let you know when I do.

drcliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:31 AM   #719
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by drcliffy View Post
Thank for looking. I found an old post by you (#521) with the links to images. And guess what they still work. Thanks for all your help!
You were actually able to get the SendSpace links to work for the 540 files?

Did you download both the WinMFS and MFS Live versions?

If not, download the other one to keep it in play longer as well.

It takes a lot longer for me to upload than for someone to download.

Oh, by the way, while you've got the TiVo apart, before you do anything to the original drive, you need to consider the possibility that the drive is fine and that the problem is the TiVo power supply.

Were you going to overwrite the original drive? Don't do it yet!

Better yet, don't do it at all.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:12 PM   #720
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by boroarke View Post
Anyone have a tcd140060 image they could let me use? TiVo just died this morning. Thank you in advance for any help!

Happy Holidays!
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I think the 140 can use a 240 image, and I can upload a 24008A image to DropBox in a couple of days. It'll require at least a larger than average 80GB drive to restore to (it came on a Maxtor that's a little fatter, LBA-wise, than the WD 80GB)

There's some previous discussion around this site, not necessarily just this thread, about the compatibility or lack thereof between and amongst the 130, 140, and 240 S2s, so go research to see if what I have can help you and post back.
I'll PM you a link to a 240 image that came from a 40GB drive. As Unitron says, that may work for your 140 as long as you restore it to a drive of at least 40GB.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |