TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2011, 01:44 PM   #1
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
TiVo TCD658000...Hard Drive failure - Need Image (.tbk) for WinMFS...Please Help

Hard Drive died and I can't find a image file of the operating system. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Also...I tried the mfslive.iso test start-up disk recommended prior to purchasing instantcake and it failed to see the SATA to USB connected hard drive. Apparently Instantcake needs a SATA to motherboard connection.

I also tried Tivo.com/linux but can't figure out how to do the install as I know very little dos prompt and no linux prompt.

The only option I have is to use WinMFS to reload a .tpk back up image which hopefully one of you have.

Much Thanks,
BrianSConover@gmail.com

Last edited by BrianSConover : 09-21-2011 at 03:12 PM.
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:03 PM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Just realized - this is a Premiere. Ghod. No it isn't. Never mind.
The problem was that when I followed a link from a google search on the model, it went to a page for a Premiere XL. I knew that model number was a THD XL but for some reason it didn't register.

What kind of drive is the replacement?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"

Last edited by lpwcomp : 09-21-2011 at 02:19 PM.
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:17 PM   #3
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
My TCD658000 (XL) came with a Western Digital WD10EVVS (1TB) and I replaced it with the exact same drive (bare)

Also...I have heard horrible stories about how WinMFS screws up the hard drives on Tivo Premiere...Pretty sure WinMFS is for series 3 and before. Something to do with altering the boot loader and rendering the drive unreadable to the Tivo Premiere?

My understanding is that jmfs-rev104.iso is the perfect tool for expanding drive capacity for Series 4 Premiere. Im pretty sure you can use Sata to USB adapters.

Seeking (.tbk) Image for TiVo TCD658000 (XL)...Hopefully someone can help me.

Last edited by BrianSConover : 09-21-2011 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Sorry
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:25 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
You might try posting your request here
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:40 PM   #5
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Also...I have spent literally hours searching the web for a FTP file server of any sort that could provide the vital component to starting my Tivo...I search the bit-torrents 5-10 times a day but nothing comes up. These files are not a deep dark secret that Tivo,inc is trying to keep away from us. You can download any of the operating systems at the tivo website but I think you need a linux computer to install on the hard drive...So far, the most effective way to get a Tivo (Series3) up and running with the least amount of fuss is find a back up image and loading it into WinMFS after connecting the drive. I should have created a Back Up image a long time ago but I never thought the process would be so complicate to get things up and running again...If my hard drives dies on my PC I just get another hard drive and install XP...Done...Tivo has seriously complicate this situation and I do not believe that Weaknees and DRVupgrade are the fair solution.
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:41 PM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Instantcake should work over a USB to SATA connection. However, it probably won't work on a drive that is identical to the stock drive. From the instructions:

Quote:
The boot CD used for this version of InstantCake is known to support USB 2.0 to SATA (and IDE) controllers such as this one and that means you can use a standard laptop to prepare a drive, as well.

You will also need a hard drive to prepare for your TiVo unit. This drive should be larger than the original stock drive of your unit.
Quote:
We do not recommend you use your existing TiVo disk drive for InstantCake installations, in fact, in many cases it will not work: the target drive is expected to be larger than the original - please keep your TiVo drive in a safe place as a backup; at least until you've used InstantCake successfully at least once.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:45 PM   #7
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
I tried the mfslive.iso test start up disc recommended for instantcake and it crashes...With WinMFS I can see the new (bare) drive...Just need the image (.tbk) file to load in

Last edited by BrianSConover : 09-21-2011 at 02:52 PM.
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:47 PM   #8
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
Also...I have spent literally hours searching the web for a FTP file server of any sort that could provide the vital component to starting my Tivo...I search the bit-torrents 5-10 times a day but nothing comes up. These files are not a deep dark secret that Tivo,inc is trying to keep away from us. You can download any of the operating systems at the tivo website but I think you need a linux computer to install on the hard drive...So far, the most effective way to get a Tivo (Series3) up and running with the least amount of fuss is find a back up image and loading it into WinMFS after connecting the drive. I should have created a Back Up image a long time ago but I never thought the process would be so complicate to get things up and running again...If my hard drives dies on my PC I just get another hard drive and install XP...Done...Tivo has seriously complicate this situation and I do not believe that Weaknees and DRVupgrade are the fair solution.
There used to be sites that had the images needed available for download. TiVo got them shutdown.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:00 PM   #9
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
James...Id rather think that Weaknees and DVRupgrade have influenced that availability...Present day Tivo does not seem to worked up by it as having series 1,2,3 boxes online collecting subscription fees. On the flip side, A dead box is a brick or a premiere purchase. Either way Tivo, is happy. It's amazing how quick Tivo is to recommend weaknees when they are in copy right infringement on the OS...They can float the OS and sell a hard drive or service but you and I can't make a back up and give it to one another for a simple 3 click load in?...Maybe is Lou at DVRUpgrade was not such an ass to the Tivo community we would all overlook the $40 cost of instantcake and actually use their product.
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:04 PM   #10
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
BTW, what you need is a .tbk file.

I hope that the replacement drive's "Intellipower" feature doesn't include "Intellipark".
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:16 PM   #11
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Edited to correct .tbk...THANKS !

Im pretty sure I'll need to use the Western Digital hard drive utility to adjust the drive behavior...I found a really interesting tutorial on the subject at Youtube.

All I really care about now is getting that .tbk file...Im paying Tivo fees and not actually getting use out the box unless you consider it a paper weight / door jam
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:51 PM   #12
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
Edited to correct .tbk...THANKS !

Im pretty sure I'll need to use the Western Digital hard drive utility to adjust the drive behavior...I found a really interesting tutorial on the subject at Youtube.
wdidle3.exe won't work over a USB-SATA connection.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
All I really care about now is getting that .tbk file...Im paying Tivo fees and not actually getting use out the box unless you consider it a paper weight / door jam
TiVos no longer weigh enough to adequately act as a door jam.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:52 PM   #13
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
James...Id rather think that Weaknees and DVRupgrade have influenced that availability...Present day Tivo does not seem to worked up by it as having series 1,2,3 boxes online collecting subscription fees. On the flip side, A dead box is a brick or a premiere purchase. Either way Tivo, is happy. It's amazing how quick Tivo is to recommend weaknees when they are in copy right infringement on the OS...They can float the OS and sell a hard drive or service but you and I can't make a back up and give it to one another for a simple 3 click load in?...Maybe is Lou at DVRUpgrade was not such an ass to the Tivo community we would all overlook the $40 cost of instantcake and actually use their product.
Yes, that was my theory too. I suspect that both weaKnees and dvr_dude are paying TiVo for the rights to "distribute" the s/w.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:56 PM   #14
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
wdidle3.exe won't work over a USB-SATA connection...The plot thickens !...Ill need to take the drive over to a friends house.
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 04:20 PM   #15
ncsercs
DirecTivo fan.......
 
ncsercs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hinsdale, IL
Posts: 1,097
I had a Premiere drive die on me and for a reason I cannot believe, there is not even 1 image anywhere on the internet. I'll be dammed if I pay for an image that I'm sure someone else already has. Considering how cheap they are nowadays, the drive is worth more than the box. Since I couldn't get any help getting another image (that I refuse to pay for), I threw it in the garbage.
__________________
Nick

Every day I beat my own previous record for the number of consecutive
days I've stayed alive. - George Carlin - 1996

1 TiVo Series3 / 1 DTV H24 / 2 DTV HR24
ncsercs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 05:50 PM   #16
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
The problem with the new Premiere box in the interest of you needing and getting a .tbk image file is it involves someone actually removing the drive from a working system and think of someone other than them self down the road. Not a easy request to fulfill.

I'm in need of a rather dated Tivo HD XL image which has hopefully floated around long enough that I will eventually get one.

I too have a Premiere that I upgraded to a 2TB for $50 more than you paid for a replacement stock 320GB system...That extra 1.6GB seems like good value with 317 hours of HD
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 06:07 PM   #17
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
The problem with the new Premiere box in the interest of you needing and getting a .tbk image file is it involves someone actually removing the drive from a working system and think of someone other than them self down the road. Not a easy request to fulfill.
The real problem is that none of the tools currently available to consumers is capable of making or restoring a truncated backup of a Premiere.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 07:04 PM   #18
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,349
You can probably find a premiere on craig's list and use that drive.
__________________

Premiere-$99 Lifetime-OTA
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3 OLED-Lifetime-OTA
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 04:26 AM   #19
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Actually...This is better than nothing.


The Definitive Guide to Upgrading Your Tivo Premiere - Part I
You need to upgrade your Flash Player

BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 04:28 AM   #20
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Id just make a hard drive backup of the exact same size and set it aside.
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:35 AM   #21
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
Id just make a hard drive backup of the exact same size and set it aside.
Unless you're worried about the performance/life of a 2TB drive or ,like me, are on a really tight budget where $10-$15 makes a difference, it makes more sense to upgrade to the 2TB.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:25 AM   #22
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
Also...I have spent literally hours searching the web for a FTP file server of any sort that could provide the vital component to starting my Tivo...I search the bit-torrents 5-10 times a day but nothing comes up. These files are not a deep dark secret that Tivo,inc is trying to keep away from us. You can download any of the operating systems at the tivo website but I think you need a linux computer to install on the hard drive...So far, the most effective way to get a Tivo (Series3) up and running with the least amount of fuss is find a back up image and loading it into WinMFS after connecting the drive. I should have created a Back Up image a long time ago but I never thought the process would be so complicate to get things up and running again...If my hard drives dies on my PC I just get another hard drive and install XP...Done...Tivo has seriously complicate this situation and I do not believe that Weaknees and DRVupgrade are the fair solution.
What you can download from TiVo is the source for the Linux code they use.

That's not all of the TiVo software. There's also the proprietary stuff that they wrote themselves for which they don't make the source available.

If you have a pc that can run XP, you can also use the MFS Live cd v1.4 (from mfslive.org) to restore a truncated image made by MFS Live or MFS Tools if you should happen to lay hands on one of those.

MFS Live has no connection to InstantCake.

If your computer doesn't have a SATA port to which you can connect a SATA drive, you can use a JMicron or Marvell chipset based IDE/SATA adapter* to make any software that has to access the hard drive via the IDE controller (or more accurately any software that only knows to look at /dev/hdx and isn't written to also consider /dev/sdx) think that it's talking to an IDE drive.


*adapter thread is here

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=416883

and you can learn stuff by reading it.

Generally there's really no such thing as a Linux computer or a Windows computer. If you can run one on a given computer, it'll run the other.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:23 PM   #23
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
www.tivo.com/linux

Tivo instructed me to go to this side for all their operating systems...The dilemma is that you need a linux machine to load these resources onto a hard drive prior to dropping into a tivo box?

I talked to a programming friend he sensed a linux environment was going to be needed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Tivo Premiere - 2TB (downstairs)
Tivo Premiere - 320GB (upstairs)
Tivo HD - Now working, thanks to dwit (living room)
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:49 PM   #24
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
www.tivo.com/linux

Tivo instructed me to go to this side for all their operating systems...The dilemma is that you need a linux machine to load these resources onto a hard drive prior to dropping into a tivo box?

I talked to a programming friend he sensed a linux environment was going to be needed.
That site is for TiVos mods to the linux kernal, some commands and some of the tools. It does not provide you with access to their proprietary code, not even in object(executable) form. You cannot use just what is available there to build a replacement disk for a TiVo.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:56 PM   #25
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianSConover View Post
www.tivo.com/linux

Tivo instructed me to go to this side for all their operating systems...The dilemma is that you need a linux machine to load these resources onto a hard drive prior to dropping into a tivo box?

I talked to a programming friend he sensed a linux environment was going to be needed.

Go to google and enter

site:craigslist.org tivo

then use the search tools on the left to sort by previous month--sort by date

and look for someone selling an HD XL

Email them and see if they'll take PayPal and ship

(there was someone in the Miami/Palm Beach area selling 2 of them at $50 each a few days ago)

Use it to get the image, then keep it for spare parts or sell it on, and upload the image to a file sharing service so you can help out the next guy.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:16 AM   #26
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Scored a image from dwit...Works like a charm..THANKS FOR THE REPLY
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Tivo Premiere - 2TB (downstairs)
Tivo Premiere - 320GB (upstairs)
Tivo HD - Now working, thanks to dwit (living room)
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 02:11 PM   #27
Evilearnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Same issue

Any chance of getting this image as well for the Tivo HD XL. Hard drive took a dump never even thought once about having to backup the drive.

Thanks
Evilearnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:17 PM   #28
BrianSConover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilearnie View Post
Any chance of getting this image as well for the Tivo HD XL. Hard drive took a dump never even thought once about having to backup the drive.

Thanks
Evilearnie...Can you email me your mailing address...The file you need for the XL is 405MB and Id need to send it to you on a CD Rom.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Tivo Premiere - 2TB (downstairs)
Tivo Premiere - 320GB (upstairs)
Tivo HD - Now working, thanks to dwit (living room)
BrianSConover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 03:56 PM   #29
Evilearnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks for the help Brian. Glad my Tivo HD XL is back up and running.
Evilearnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:42 AM   #30
ParaDiddle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Can anyone help me with an image for the TCD658000?
ParaDiddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |