TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2011, 03:39 PM   #151
Gromit
Registered User
 
Gromit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 10,086
Although it's for Ubuntu, I used this guide to help with my Sick Beard config (OS X). It helps with some of those more confusing configuration options.
__________________
Where are we going, and why am I in this handbasket?
Gromit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:06 AM   #152
cditty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,458
I see that I need to setup post-processing, but following the directions on SickBeards site, only made it more confusing. I now see post-processing dropdown boxes, but I have to manually configure it for each download. I can't get it to be a all or none option.

Hopefully all my stupid mistakes will be good for someone else.
__________________
XBL Sig - CDitty12
cditty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:34 AM   #153
cditty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,458
Looks like I might have it now. I think I went in and tried to do the post-processing setup under categories before I set it up in the folders section.

So far, 2/2 tests look like they are working correctly.
__________________
XBL Sig - CDitty12
cditty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 12:51 PM   #154
TiVoJedi
Registered User
 
TiVoJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 485
The most aggravating part of USENET is when A-holes post password-protected RAR archives within a RAR file that also contains a shortcut URL to some malware-infested lure website one 'has' to visit to get the password to unRAR the show downloaded. More frustratingly is that if you play along, you still don't get the password.. just signed up for a bunch of crap you don't need anyway. Sometimes binsearch.info will label these types of posts as 'password needed', but oftentimes not. Nothing gets my goat more than spending 25 minutes maxed on my 'premium' (highest level available in my area) $64/month Time-Warner 'turbo' 10mbit connection for a ~1GB file and then can't open the stinking thing because some jerkwad posted it in a password-protected RAR file.

Does that Sickbeard program automatically exclude password-protected posts from its download consideration? I hate wasting bandwidth, even though TW isn't metering it in my area, as they have been testing in others.
__________________
***~`TiVo.com essay winner! Early TiVo adopter~'***
"shift like an 'H', not like an 'X'"
TiVoJedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 01:24 PM   #155
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,522
For the most part yes since it is pulling from indexing sites where people tend not to reference the password protected ones. Also if you get to learn the poster names on binsearch you can generally avoid the password ones also.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 05:15 PM   #156
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJedi View Post
The most aggravating part of USENET is when A-holes post password-protected RAR archives within a RAR file that also contains a shortcut URL to some malware-infested lure website one 'has' to visit to get the password to unRAR the show downloaded.

Does that Sickbeard program automatically exclude password-protected posts from its download consideration? I hate wasting bandwidth, even though TW isn't metering it in my area, as they have been testing in others.
To minimize your chance of coming across these types of files is to use good usenet indexing sites. One where users and mods give feedback and these types of files are removed by editors.

Usenet search engines are very powerful but you get the bad with the good in the search results. You have to be more careful using them.

Sickbeard generally uses usenet indexing sites that do their best to remove pass worded stuff. I've never had a problem with password stuff via Sickbeard. No problem using NZBMartix or any of the other indexing sites below.

Some good usenet sites are:

http://nzbmatrix.com/

http://filesharingtalk.com/content/?

http://www.nzbsrus.com/nzbbrowse.php

http://www.nzb.su/
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 02:59 PM   #157
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,287
For some reason I am getting dreadfully slow speeds today. I have only downloaded a few things but normally I am getting 1.5MB/s average. Today I was dropping out to 186k.

Not sure if comcast is having issues. Anything I can do to see where the issue is? I never did open any ports on my router, would that help?
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:08 PM   #158
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
For some reason I am getting dreadfully slow speeds today. I have only downloaded a few things but normally I am getting 1.5MB/s average. Today I was dropping out to 186k.

Not sure if comcast is having issues. Anything I can do to see where the issue is? I never did open any ports on my router, would that help?
What usenet provider are you using? It could just be a temporary issue with your usenet provider. In other words, try again later.

You can try switching servers. Your provider most likely offers more then one server. Usually a server in Europe and the U.S.A. If your using the U.S. one try the European server. Also you can try switching ports. Your provider most likely offers different ports to use, try using another one.

Opening ports in your router won't have any affect. That only works for torrents.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 06:54 PM   #159
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,287
Thanks. changing ports seems to have helped a bit. Still kinda early to tell. Hopefully it will be stable.

Blocknews is who I went with.

I also did a speedtest on my comcast line and it was ~8MB/s so I don't think it's on their end.
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 11:14 PM   #160
vertigo235
Registered User
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 12,877
I use http://www.nzbs.org/
__________________
vertigo235 xbox live and PSN ID = IamVertigo


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
vertigo235 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 02:23 PM   #161
markz
Hilarity Ensues
 
markz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Connersville, IN
Posts: 12,268
I signed up with Newsdemon.com on Black Friday for $9.99/month for life.

I use the SABMonitor extension for Chrome.

I search for NZBs at www.nzbclub.com

The cool part is I can drop an NZB file in the NZB sub-folder of Dropbox on my work PC, it gets replicated via Dropbox to the NZB folder on my home PC, SABMonitor watches that folder and then downloads the file on my home PC, and it is ready for me when I get home. The NZB file is then deleted by SABMonitor. I could even log into Dropbox on any PC and upload an NZB file to my account and kick the whole process off automatically!
__________________
- Mark

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
markz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 09:22 PM   #162
DUDE_NJX
Registered User
 
DUDE_NJX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by markz View Post
I signed up with Newsdemon.com on Black Friday for $9.99/month for life.

I use the SABMonitor extension for Chrome.

I search for NZBs at www.nzbclub.com

The cool part is I can drop an NZB file in the NZB sub-folder of Dropbox on my work PC, it gets replicated via Dropbox to the NZB folder on my home PC, SABMonitor watches that folder and then downloads the file on my home PC, and it is ready for me when I get home. The NZB file is then deleted by SABMonitor. I could even log into Dropbox on any PC and upload an NZB file to my account and kick the whole process off automatically!
Sickbeard makes this even more automated.
DUDE_NJX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 02:38 PM   #163
vertigo235
Registered User
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 12,877
Sickbeard is just plain sick.
__________________
vertigo235 xbox live and PSN ID = IamVertigo


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
vertigo235 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 06:57 AM   #164
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
I have everything pretty much automated using SABnzbd but have wanted to look at Sickbeard. Sickbeard isn't a replacement, I'd use it along with SABnzbd, correct? So instead of using RSS Feeds within SABnzbd, I'd let Sickbeard download all my nzb files and SABnzbd would download the actual files. Just wanted to make sure I was understanding it correctly before I screwed something up. Perfect time to play around with it right now before most shows return in a few weeks.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:09 AM   #165
danterner
Not it!
 
danterner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greenacres, FL
Posts: 9,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettatk
I have everything pretty much automated using SABnzbd but have wanted to look at Sickbeard. Sickbeard isn't a replacement, I'd use it along with SABnzbd, correct? So instead of using RSS Feeds within SABnzbd, I'd let Sickbeard download all my nzb files and SABnzbd would download the actual files. Just wanted to make sure I was understanding it correctly before I screwed something up. Perfect time to play around with it right now before most shows return in a few weeks.
That's pretty much right. Look up "SABtosickbeard" and you'll discover ways to further automate and post-process. The two programs complement each other incredibly well. Sickbeard basically gives you season passes for your nzb files. SABnzb is used for the actual downloading. Or, at least I think that's how it works.
__________________
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| XBOX LIVE gamertag:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by danterner : 09-15-2011 at 06:46 AM.
danterner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 07:38 AM   #166
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,287
So, sickbeard is primarily used for tv shows?
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 08:51 AM   #167
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by danterner View Post
That's pretty much right. Look up "SABtosickbeard" and you'll discover ways to further automate and post-process. The two programs complement each other incredibly well. Sickbeard basically gives you season passes for your nzb files. SABnzb is used for the actual downloading. Or, at least I think that's how it works. I've got it set up right, but hopefully I never need to replicate it on a new system because I'm not really sure I understand it enough to do it again.
Thanks. I've got it setup and will test it tonight with one show. I'm going to let SABnzbd continue to do all the post processing as it does everything I need it to. I was mainly interested in the interface of Sickbeard.

How does Sickbeard handle duplicate nzb files? Say if it finds 2 nzb files for a particular show. Will it download both of them? From time to time with SABnzbd i'll have duplicates download and I have to go in and edit the RSS feed so next time it will not happen.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:38 AM   #168
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettatk View Post

How does Sickbeard handle duplicate nzb files? Say if it finds 2 nzb files for a particular show. Will it download both of them? From time to time with SABnzbd i'll have duplicates download and I have to go in and edit the RSS feed so next time it will not happen.
Sickbeard is smart enough to not download duplicates. There is a Sickbeard option to re-down an episode if a "Proper" release is posted later. For example, if there was something wrong with the original episode, usually the release groups will post a fixed copy. Sickbeard will download the "proper" and replace the original version. This is an optional feature that needs to be enabled in Sickbeard.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:53 AM   #169
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcontent View Post
Sickbeard is smart enough to not download duplicates. There is a Sickbeard option to re-down an episode if a "Proper" release is posted later. For example, if there was something wrong with the original episode, usually the release groups will post a fixed copy. Sickbeard will download the "proper" and replace the original version. This is an optional feature that needs to be enabled in Sickbeard.
Nice. I saw that option and figured that duplicates must not be a problem. It doesn't happen a lot with SABnzbd, but it does happen. I wouldn't care if AT&T didn't cap my bandwidth. The interface is as good as advertised. I love how easy it is to set up a TV show. I went ahead and set up everything I had in SABnzbd. I'm debating whether or not to enable the option listed above. I'll probably leave it unchecked and if something is wrong with the original I'll manually go in and download the fixed one.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:59 AM   #170
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
So, sickbeard is primarily used for tv shows?
From my limited use so far, yes.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 12:01 PM   #171
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettatk View Post
From my limited use so far, yes.
thanks.

I haven't tried sickbeard yet but I guess everything I watch is caught on my comcast DVR or my series 2 tivo.
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 01:00 PM   #172
Malcontent
Aka: Smiling Bob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
thanks.

I haven't tried sickbeard yet but I guess everything I watch is caught on my comcast DVR or my series 2 tivo.
You might consider having Sickbeard download the shows that your series 2 records so that you can get the HD captures of each episode.
Malcontent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 03:47 PM   #173
DUDE_NJX
Registered User
 
DUDE_NJX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8,571
No commercials to FF through!
DUDE_NJX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 08:48 AM   #174
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
Sickbeard worked flawlessly last night. Makes me wonder why I haven't tried it before now. I guess I was confused thinking it was a replacement and not an addition to SABnzbd. I love being able to see exactly when shows will be recorded and whether I missed a show for some reason. Very happy with the way these two programs work together.

Last edited by brettatk : 09-08-2011 at 09:33 AM.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 09:17 AM   #175
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcontent View Post
You might consider having Sickbeard download the shows that your series 2 records so that you can get the HD captures of each episode.
I may try this. So, it will download a show automatically as soon as it shows up anywhere on newsgroups or only certain groups?

After it's downloaded can it (or another program) transfer the finished file through my network to another device?
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 09:39 AM   #176
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
I may try this. So, it will download a show automatically as soon as it shows up anywhere on newsgroups or only certain groups?

After it's downloaded can it (or another program) transfer the finished file through my network to another device?
You can set for each show what version you want (SD or HD) so depending on that it will download as soon as that version shows up on whatever search provider(s) you have set in the configuration.

With my configuration, as soon as a show is downloaded to my computer, it is automatically transferred to my Tivo HD. In order to do this I utilize "pytivo-auto-push". If you are talking about to another device other than a Tivo then I'm afraid I can't help you but perhaps someone else can.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 09:46 AM   #177
danterner
Not it!
 
danterner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greenacres, FL
Posts: 9,175
I have the files post-processed (by Sickbeard) so that they are renamed to a format recognizable by my Boxee Box, and then transferred into a directory on my PC that my Boxee wirelessly reads from. In this way, the finished files are transferred through my network to another device. Not sure if that's quite what you mean, though.
__________________
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| XBOX LIVE gamertag:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| Twitter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
danterner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 10:05 AM   #178
harrinpj
Registered User
 
harrinpj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettatk View Post
With my configuration, as soon as a show is downloaded to my computer, it is automatically transferred to my Tivo HD. In order to do this I utilize "pytivo-auto-push". If you are talking about to another device other than a Tivo then I'm afraid I can't help you but perhaps someone else can.
I built a whole separate computer to play my downloaded files mainly because I couldn't for the life of me get MKV files to play correctly on the TiVo. Did you have to do any tricks to make this work?

I also couldn't stand the lack of folders and metadata with each of the pushed files. I haven't used pytivo in a while so maybe this is fixed by now.
harrinpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 10:10 AM   #179
DUDE_NJX
Registered User
 
DUDE_NJX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrinpj View Post
I built a whole separate computer to play my downloaded files mainly because I couldn't for the life of me get MKV files to play correctly on the TiVo. Did you have to do any tricks to make this work?

I also couldn't stand the lack of folders and metadata with each of the pushed files. I haven't used pytivo in a while so maybe this is fixed by now.
Yeah, Get a PS3
DUDE_NJX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 10:18 AM   #180
brettatk
If I Only Knew
 
brettatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 10,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrinpj View Post
I built a whole separate computer to play my downloaded files mainly because I couldn't for the life of me get MKV files to play correctly on the TiVo. Did you have to do any tricks to make this work?

I also couldn't stand the lack of folders and metadata with each of the pushed files. I haven't used pytivo in a while so maybe this is fixed by now.
I've never had any issues with the MKV files that are pushed to my Tivo HD. Lack of Metadata doesn't really bother me but I also hated having all these files in the Now Playing folder on my Tivo. So I turned to "pyTivo_push_grouping" to solve this problem. Now all my downloaded episodes of Haven go into a Haven folder and so on. I know some people address meta data with "pyTivoMetaThis". I haven't really ever felt the need for it though.

Last edited by brettatk : 09-08-2011 at 10:27 AM.
brettatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |