TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2011, 09:08 AM   #181
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
For any bundled offer combining service and equipment into a single fee, including any bundled offer providing a discount for the purchase of multiple services, such provider shall make such offer available without discrimination to any customer that owns a navigation device, and shall further offer such customer a discount from such offer equal to an amount not less than the monthly rental fee reasonably allocable to the lease of the operator-supplied navigation device included with that offer. For purposes of this section, in determining what is “reasonably allocable,” the Commission will consider in its evaluation whether the allocation is consistent with one or more of the following factors: (i) an allocation determination approved by a local, state, or federal government entity; (ii) the monthly lease fee as stated on the cable system rate card for the navigation device when offered by the cable operator separately from a bundled offer; and (iii) the actual cost of the navigation device amortized over a period of no more than 60 months.
On my bill they are giving me an $8.00 discount but the fees associated with my CC's and TA's add up to $16.45 for my two (2) TiVo's. I'm struggling with whether the language of the ruling (quoted above) means they should discount the cost of the TA and CC for my 2nd TiVo.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 02:59 PM   #182
scottopus
Registered User
 
scottopus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seminole, FL
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
By charging me $3.80 per TA I don't believe they are truly offering an equivalent service price.
It's costing me $6.75 ($3.80 for the TA plus the $2.95 for the M-card) to receive HD programming. A normal BH customer who wants to view the same HD channels would need at least a BH HD receiver. I can't find the current price on their website (nothing like upfront pricing) but remember the monthly "rental" was around $9.95. So the $6.75 your paying is less than a normal BH customer who just wants to view the same HD channels that your able to record.

I'm not thrilled about paying BH an additional $6.75 but it's better than paying them $10 just to view the channels or paying them even more for their POS DVR.
__________________
TivoHD upgraded 1TB HDD, Motorola M-Card, Cisco STA1520 TA, and Lifetime Sub
scottopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 04:58 PM   #183
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottopus View Post
It's costing me $6.75 ($3.80 for the TA plus the $2.95 for the M-card) to receive HD programming. A normal BH customer who wants to view the same HD channels would need at least a BH HD receiver. I can't find the current price on their website (nothing like upfront pricing) but remember the monthly "rental" was around $9.95. So the $6.75 your paying is less than a normal BH customer who just wants to view the same HD channels that your able to record.

I'm not thrilled about paying BH an additional $6.75 but it's better than paying them $10 just to view the channels or paying them even more for their POS DVR.
I have a friend in Pinellas county who uses the BHN DVR send me his bill. They charge $9.95 for DVR Service and another $8.00 for an HD DVR. In his case he has two DVRs so he's charged $9.95 + $9.95 + $8.00 + $8.00 = $35.90. Equivalent service with TiVo would be $13.50 in fees from BHN plus whatever subscription fees are paid to TiVo. Assuming primary DVR at $19.95 and 2nd DVR at $14.95 would yield a total cost of $13.50 + $19.95 + $14.95 = $48.40 or only $12.50 more than BHN's crappy DVR.

If you start factoring in the value of lifetime subscription's the breakeven point is pretty soon. Assuming a 36-month DVR lifespan and lifetime costing $500 on the first DVR and $400 on the 2nd DVR. $900 / 36 = $25 / month making the effective cost of going with TiVo ($13.50 + $25.00 = $38.50) or essentially the same as the generic DVR. Only advantage of staying the the crappy BHN DVR is free replacement if it breaks.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:24 AM   #184
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Still getting BBC et al

I'm still getting 123 -- BBC -- and I presume I still get the others (most, I don't care about) with just my M-Card.

How about the rest of you? Do you see this as stopping soon?

M

Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Got a letter in the mail today from Brighthouse, more channels moving to SDV next month.
Quote:
May 11, 2011

Dear windracer,

Bright House Networks would like to thank you for choosing us as your video service provider. We are writing to you as a valued customer in order to provide advance notice of important upcoming changes that affect your ability to access certain programming on unidirectional retail devices. Bright House Networks is rolling out a new digital video delivery technology in your area known as Switched Digital Video ("SDV"). SDV is a robust bandwidth-management system that makes it possible for us to offer more digital video programming services than ever before, including new HD channels. In order to launch even more new video services, we are migrating some existing services to the SDV system which is a bi-directional platform. Unfortunately, your unidirectional retail device does not support bi-directional programming delivered over the SDV system. Please be advised, therefore, beginning on or after June 14, 2011, Bright House Networks will deliver the following packages on the SDV system and this programming will not be available on unidirectional retail devices until further notice:

AmericanLife TV 134
Great American Country 133
BBC America 123
HBO Latino 207
Bloomberg TV 127
HBO Latino West 214
Bay News 9 en Espanol 154 and 900
IFC 113 and 384
ESPN Deportes 153 and 914
Logo 147
ESPNews 150
MLB Network 159
ESPNU 151
Nat Geo Wild 148
FLIX West 115 and 372
Planet Green 108
Fox Soccer Channel 120
Sundance 117 and 374
Fuse 132
The Hub 102
G4 124
Tr3s 157 and 930
Gospel Music Channel 145
VH1 Classic 138

If you wish to receive the above services, you may contact Bright House Networks to obtain a digital set-top box or similar bi-directional device that is capable of supporting two-way communications with the SDV system. You may continue to use your unidirectional retail device with your Bright House Networks provided CableCARD to receive video programming other than the programming delivered on the SDV system. Bright House Networks will notify you in advance of any other programming changes. Please contact us at 1-866-976-EASY if you have any questions. We thank you again for choosing Bright House Networks.

Sincerely,
Bright House Networks


Nothing I really care about except BBCA and maybe IFC. I have the one TA so no big deal still.

__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 08:07 AM   #185
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
No CNBC HD this morning (1219)

Anyone else experiencing a loss of channel 1219 (CNBCHD)? Both my boxes aren't receiving it. I rebooted one TA and still no 1219. I'm in the South Tampa area.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 08:29 AM   #186
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
I just checked and I get "channel not available"

To be fair, I haven't a clue if I usually receive this channel on South Pinellas Tier, M-Card only, and no TA.
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 09:59 AM   #187
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by megory View Post
I just checked and I get "channel not available"

To be fair, I haven't a clue if I usually receive this channel on South Pinellas Tier, M-Card only, and no TA.
CNBCHD is a Switched Digital Video (SDV) channel requiring a Tuning Adapter (TA).

I'm curious... why haven't you added a TA to your setup? The reliability of the latest Cisco TA has improved with recent firmware updates to the Cisco box and the TiVo.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:28 AM   #188
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Hi Sbiller, Did you get 1219 back?

A TA prevents MRV which is a requirement in our house. And, cannot see a benefit to having a TA even if we didn't do MRV. We'll miss BBC and IFC, Flix, and Sundance when they finally do the change, but for the occasional shows, it's not worth the tradeoff.
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 11:31 AM   #189
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by megory View Post
Hi Sbiller, Did you get 1219 back?
Yep. It came back later in the day. I receive some very good support for BHN issues over on DSLReports.
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/brighthouse
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 12:53 PM   #190
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Aha! Me too! Good site.

Glad all is okay
M
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:06 PM   #191
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
I can't tune into BBC America HD (1278) with my TA tonight (123 works, though). All other SDV channels seem to be fine. Anyone else?
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:37 AM   #192
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
WR, without TA, I get 123, and "channel not available" on 1278.

I just reviewed my bill, and I'm charged "08/05 - 09/04 CableCARD 2.95" for my M card.
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT

Last edited by megory : 08-21-2011 at 05:43 AM. Reason: add M-card $
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 09:24 AM   #193
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
Yeah, apparently BBC (123) never got switched over to SDV like that letter back in May said it would. But I prefer recording Doctor Who from BBCA-HD (1278) and for some reason my one TA won't pick it up ("you may need a CableCARD decoder to receive this channel"). Strange.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 10:02 AM   #194
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Yeah, apparently BBC (123) never got switched over to SDV like that letter back in May said it would. But I prefer recording Doctor Who from BBCA-HD (1278) and for some reason my one TA won't pick it up ("you may need a CableCARD decoder to receive this channel"). Strange.
I had a similar problem on one of my daughters HD channels a while back. It was working on one TA and not working on the other. I ended up switching the TA's to see if the problem followed the problematic TA. It did not. I think it may have been a signal quality issue and tightening the connections corrected the problem. I've also found the the BHN forum on DSLReports is the best place to get support on this sort of issue. Also tweeting BrightHouseCare is another method to get support.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 12:45 PM   #195
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Anyone having HDTV issues today? I think mine went out (S. Pinellas) around noon. Have been having problems with internet too. Storms' effect?
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 12:54 PM   #196
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by megory View Post
Anyone having HDTV issues today? I think mine went out (S. Pinellas) around noon. Have been having problems with internet too. Storms' effect?
Major outage across their entire network. Check twitter or dslreports for more info.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:01 PM   #197
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Thanks! Could t get back on TiVo community cuz of computer problems too. GB iPhone !! It makes sense -- glad to know it's system not my new TV! Thanks again
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:28 PM   #198
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by megory View Post
Thanks! Could t get back on TiVo community cuz of computer problems too. GB iPhone !! It makes sense -- glad to know it's system not my new TV! Thanks again

Internet has been up and down in Tampa. Its up and running now so I'm hoping they know what the problem is. TV is up and running now as well.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 03:06 PM   #199
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Still down here at 3 pm
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 03:22 PM   #200
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
I noticed I lost my connection to my home server around 11:30am this morning, and about 30 minutes later we lost the cable modem at work. Everything seems to be back up now, though.

Pretty long thread over on dlsreports ... looks like not everyone is back to normal quite yet.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 04:05 PM   #201
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Reconnected at 3:35. What a relief it was to be reassured here, as I poorly reported earlier. It was great to receive the message of the outage via iPhone, as computer access was too erratic to try after my first post. Especially concerned as a lightning strike killed our Vizio last Sunday, and just getting new one up and running.

Thanks you all.
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 07:54 PM   #202
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Got a letter in the mail today from Brighthouse, more channels moving to SDV next month.
I just got the same letter again, four months later. I guess they never got around to switching those channels to SDV and are trying again as of September 12.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 05:33 PM   #203
Lenarro
USSB Forever!
 
Lenarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hudson, FL
Posts: 44
Smile My Solution

I was having the the same problems with SDV. My solution, and I have not had a problem since, was to:
1: Cancel Brighthouse Tampabay.
2: Get Verizon Fios.

Everything has been great to date.
Lenarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 05:53 PM   #204
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
That's great if FIOS is available in your area ... I've been waiting and waiting for it to get into my neighborhood here in St. Pete but no luck so far.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 06:50 AM   #205
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
That's great if FIOS is available in your area ... I've been waiting and waiting for it to get into my neighborhood here in St. Pete but no luck so far.
Ditto. Verizon's support of CableCARD without SDV is the primary reason I would switch.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 07:49 AM   #206
megory
Advanced TiVoOligan
 
megory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BH, South Pinellas, FL
Posts: 1,280
Double ditto. I thought they were putting in Verizon lines years ago. But brighthouse seems to have a monopoly here.
__________________
M-Card No TA. HD3TiVo-1TB (1350a); 2DT
megory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 09:11 AM   #207
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
This might not be the best thread to post this in, but today I received an e-mail from Brighthouse announcing their new iPad app:

http://care.brighthouse.com/Portal/c...eId=4857&b=254

Which can be downloaded from here:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brigh...467135700?mt=8

Interesting to see if a TA will be required.

Of course, I downloaded it and fired it up here at work and got:

"The programming you have requested is only available when you are accessing this video service in your home, using a cable modem authorized by Brighthouse Networks."

Oh well.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 05:35 PM   #208
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,261
Doh!

"Bright House TV is not supported on 'jailbroken' devices. Please restore your iPad to factory defaults, then reinstall Bright House TV."


__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:55 PM   #209
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
This might not be the best thread to post this in, but today I received an e-mail from Brighthouse announcing their new iPad app:

Oh well.
You are correct. You must be in your home (on your home network) in order to use the App.

While I'm at it I would like to introduce myself...

My name is Gary and I recently joined the Corporate Social Media Team at Bright House Networks as their Online Forums Manager. Some of you may already know me as Ispgeek here and other communities on the web however effective today my username will change to BHNtechXpert.

The purpose behind this is to give everyone a consistent username across all online communities and to make it easy for you to identify that you are in fact speaking to an official representative of the company. My contact information will also be made available to each of these communities and I will also be working closely with each community operator to ensure that no question or situation is left unanswered.

In the past year Bright House Networks has fully embraced Social Media (Twitter, Facebook) as a powerful tool to interact with and support our customers in near real-time. Your response to these enhanced interaction options has been nothing less than amazing. The next evolutionary step for the Bright House Networks Social Media program includes reaching out to online forums, blogs and other unique and exciting forms of online communication to be announced soon and this is where I come into the picture.

My reach will include the entire Bright House Networks footprint (Florida, Alabama, Indiana, Michigan and California). If you have a technical issue, concern or anything that might cause your experience with Bright House Networks to be anything less than outstanding...or if you have a comment, suggestion or feedback on how we can improve our services or processes to better meet your needs I want to know about it.

In addition to the above I’ll also keep you up to date on all the latest and greatest technology and services Bright House Networks has to offer including an occasional taste of coming soon technology and services and how to best utilize them in your busy lifestyles.

I receive immediate updates from each of these communities and I will normally respond to inquires quickly. Feel free to private message me anytime and I look forward to working with you.
BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:56 PM   #210
BHNtechXpert
Registered User
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Doh!

"Bright House TV is not supported on 'jailbroken' devices. Please restore your iPad to factory defaults, then reinstall Bright House TV."

You are correct. Jailbroken iPads will not be able to use the App.
BHNtechXpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |