TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2011, 10:17 AM   #1
DCSchmiesing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
IR blaster control of OTA box on Series 1

How do I get my series 1 Philips Tivo to control my CM-7000 OTA converter box? Box code for the CN-7000 is 10092 but not on any of the Cable Box codes on my TIVO. Any way to hack the TIVO to add the box code or is it easier to hack the CM-7000 D2A OTA box to accept the serial output of the TIVO?
DCSchmiesing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,733
As I understand it, there are only a few digital OTA boxes that the Series 1 knows the codes for.

People have come up with hacks that would insert a new code set for the Series 1 to use, but supposedly the next time the TiVo phones home, the software can be changed back to how it was before.

Someone did do a thread recently about what boxes the Series 1 can already control...

I'll try to find it for you.

I use an Echostar DTV Pal, since that uses the Dish Network IR commands, and I just lie to the TiVo and claim I'm using a Dish box but remove all but locals from my channels list.

EDIT:
Try these-

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=466473

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=462958
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:54 AM   #3
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
I use an Echostar DTV Pal, since that uses the Dish Network IR commands, and I just lie to the TiVo and claim I'm using a Dish box but remove all but locals from my channels list.
Can you tune to sub-channels from the Tivo?
__________________
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-OTA
Humax DRT800-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Toshiba SD-H400-Basic-Cable
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 03:08 PM   #4
replaytv
LovesPanda licorice
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,724
Echostar DTV Pal

I also have used the Echostar DTV Pal, but was not able to tune to the subchannels using the IR cables.

The reason that I originally bought the Echostar DTV Pal was to use with a VCR. The Echostar DTV Pal has an option to have it tune to a particular station at a particular time, so U don't have to use the IR cables. But I got Tivo just about that time, so never tried it out. In that way U could record on the sub stations. I did read later that feature did not work very good.

I was working on my replaytv and was surprised that I could change the download speed on the phone, and even more surprised that I could also do that on a Tivo. Now I am wondering what other wonderful things are possible to do on the Tivo that aren't in the book. I know some of them from this forum.
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 04:25 PM   #5
dstoffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSchmiesing View Post
How do I get my series 1 Philips Tivo to control my CM-7000 OTA converter box? Box code for the CN-7000 is 10092 but not on any of the Cable Box codes on my TIVO. Any way to hack the TIVO to add the box code or is it easier to hack the CM-7000 D2A OTA box to accept the serial output of the TIVO?
The CM-7000 uses Pioneer cable box codes, IIRC.

You will not be able to tune sub-channels. If the enter key does not work (and it may not, depending on the codeset in the Tivo), the CM-7000 will time-out and tune to the channel (3 second delay).
dstoffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |