TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > VirginMedia TV with TiVo - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2011, 08:33 AM   #1
swanny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Farnborough, Hants
Posts: 42
Third tuner Live!

I just managed to set three recordings for 10pm tonight
swanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 08:47 AM   #2
Major dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by swanny View Post
I just managed to set three recordings for 10pm tonight
Yes I quickly started three programs recording this morning and then tried to change channel and the cancel recording warning came up so it all seems to be working. It will be interesting if the recordings already set up will still clip as if there are only two tuners available
Major dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 08:54 AM   #3
richw
Registered User
 
richw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Major dude View Post
It will be interesting if the recordings already set up will still clip as if there are only two tuners available
It should have rescheduled everything. When I checked this morning it had set a recording for a film on Sunday that wouldn't record due to a clash when I set it via the website yesterday.
richw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:16 AM   #4
Tavis75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 60
Ooh, so it actually allows three programs to be recorded at once then? Rather than just record two and watch a third live?
Tavis75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:20 AM   #5
RichardJH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hanworth. Middlesex.
Posts: 1,195
Extract from VM Tivo Forum

Quote:
Three tuners
Options
on 17-03-2011 09:16

Hi all

Just a quick note to say that we upgraded your boxes overnight with enhanced software including activation of the Third Tuner.

This means you'll be able to record 2 programmes and watch live TV on another channel, or record 3 live programmes, or record 3 live programmes while also watching something you've pre-recorded!


There are also various other small fixes going in.


You don't need to do anything - you should find that your box has been automatically upgraded.


I hope you continue to enjoy using your service.


Alex


Alex Green

Executive Director, Commercial, TV & Online

RichardJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:30 AM   #6
Karnak
'Local'
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 257
A slightly more comprehensive change list might have been nice.
Karnak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:46 AM   #7
richw
Registered User
 
richw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnak View Post
A slightly more comprehensive change list might have been nice.
That's coming later apparently.
richw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:58 AM   #8
Karnak
'Local'
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 257
In the software update thread it was mentioned that someone from Virgin had posted in their forum that Alex Green would provide more details in a later post... I'm guessing this is the 'more details'....

Where did you get notice of a better change list on the way?


http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...71#post8433571

Last edited by Karnak : 03-17-2011 at 09:59 AM. Reason: Added the link to the other thread
Karnak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 10:22 AM   #9
richw
Registered User
 
richw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnak View Post
Where did you get notice of a better change list on the way?
In one of the posts in the "Bugs and wishes sticky/stickies" thread.
richw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 04:04 PM   #10
cwaring
VM Tivo User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 9,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnak View Post
In the software update thread it was mentioned that someone from Virgin had posted in their forum that Alex Green would provide more details in a later post... I'm guessing this is the 'more details'....
Would you please re-post that in here. Thanks.
__________________
Carl Waring


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with the new
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Get
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- TV Guide for Windows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 04:22 PM   #11
Karnak
'Local'
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwaring View Post
Would you please re-post that in here. Thanks.
I did, this is from the other thread:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...71#post8433571

Still can't find any mention in the bugs/features stickies.....

I don't think we're getting any more detail from VM tbh.
Karnak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:02 PM   #12
cwaring
VM Tivo User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 9,015
Sorry. Mis-read the link and I thought there was more than that on the VM Forums.
__________________
Carl Waring


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with the new
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Get
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- TV Guide for Windows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:03 PM   #13
redpizza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 28
I've suddenly got 3 red lights on the front of my Tivo!
__________________
Thompson UK Tivo - 160GB. Cachecard. NFS.
Virgin Tivo - 1TB.
redpizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:36 PM   #14
nektar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14
We seem to have more useable hard drive space too - my % used has dropped a good few points without anything being deleted. Over on the Virgin newsgroup people have reported HD recordings now up to 121 hours (from 99)
__________________
Virgin TiVo (since 15/02/2010)
Series 1 TiVo still in use.
iMac, iPad and iPhone.
nektar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:47 PM   #15
cwaring
VM Tivo User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 9,015
Yep. As mentioned elsewhere, recording time has increased to 121 HD and 477 SD. I think it's just more accurate rather than an actual increase
__________________
Carl Waring


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with the new
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Get
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- TV Guide for Windows

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cwaring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |