TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2011, 09:59 PM   #1
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,920
Latest tidbits from the Reversi log: storageless TiVos

Some new results from my Reversi logs:

Code:
tsn = 746************
version = 14.8.N2-01-3-746
language = enUS
country = US
Language? Yeah, I suppose that's useful. Oh wait, what's this?

Code:
has-recording-storage = true
Now that's very interesting. But it gets better:

Code:
tsn = AF0************
version = 14.8.N2-01-3-A90
has-recording-storage = false
A "TiVo" with no recording storage! Apparently, it already exists, and is in testing. I assume this is one of those built-in-to-the-TV Best Buy deals we heard about a while back.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 10:37 PM   #2
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,444
This is either the tv or the thin client for sudden link. They are developing the whole home TiVo with probably 4 tuners and TiVo extenders. I don't think there was ever mention if these would have storage or not.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:32 AM   #3
jmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 217
That sounds as BestBuy version of TiVo...

What is Reversi log, if you don't mind me asking?
jmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:59 AM   #4
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,733
I have a better question-

What in the world is a TiVo that has no storage? What would it do or be used for? Built into the TV or not, wouldn't a TiVo have to have storage? Isn't that what a TiVo is? A way to record (store) TV shows?
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:13 AM   #5
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
I have a better question-

What in the world is a TiVo that has no storage? What would it do or be used for? Built into the TV or not, wouldn't a TiVo have to have storage? Isn't that what a TiVo is? A way to record (store) TV shows?
If it is a thin client, it would have the TiVo UI, but storage would be on the server unit. Trick play would effect the stream from the server unit. If done well enough, the user wouldn't need to care if the shows were stored locally or not.
CuriousMark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:21 AM   #6
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmill View Post
What is Reversi log, if you don't mind me asking?
Reversi is an HME game you can play on your TiVo. It's hosted on a server so they can log information about every TiVo that plays it.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:18 AM   #7
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
I have a better question-

What in the world is a TiVo that has no storage? What would it do or be used for? Built into the TV or not, wouldn't a TiVo have to have storage? Isn't that what a TiVo is? A way to record (store) TV shows?
There have been published articles in the past that Tivo wants to branch out to licensing their UI and design to TV and cable box manufacturers outside of the DVR market.

Since one of Tivos strongest features is the UI it does make sense to me.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:03 AM   #8
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,868
Yes, makes a lot of sense and I would be in the market for 3 of them right off if the pricing / subscription rates were right.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres, OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:58 PM   #9
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Reversi is an HME game you can play on your TiVo. It's hosted on a server so they can log information about every TiVo that plays it.
And to clarify, that's "It's hosted on a server so [it follows logically that] they can log etc.", not "It's hosted on a server [for the purpose of logging]". That's just a side benefit. All HME apps are hosted on servers, by their nature.

Also, in this case, "they" = me, and "a server" = an old G4 Mac Mini in my pantry.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:13 PM   #10
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,444
Almost makes you wonder if TiVo does it on purpose knowing you will see.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:43 PM   #11
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
Almost makes you wonder if TiVo does it on purpose knowing you will see.
I had that thought as well... could a beta tester or employee be intentionally sharing some info back to the community. But excised the sentence from my post before it went up, as it's speculative enough.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 02:56 PM   #12
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
Probably not. I'm guessing it's an unwitting beta tester just trying to play the game.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:09 PM   #13
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Probably not. I'm guessing it's an unwitting beta tester just trying to play the game.

Dan
The fact that it seems to happen every model must mean Reversi is more popular than I thought. I guess I should try it sometime.
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:15 PM   #14
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Some new results from my Reversi logs:

Code:
tsn = 746************
version = 14.8.N2-01-3-746
language = enUS
country = US
Language? Yeah, I suppose that's useful. Oh wait, what's this?

Code:
has-recording-storage = true
Now that's very interesting. But it gets better:

Code:
tsn = AF0************
version = 14.8.N2-01-3-A90
has-recording-storage = false
A "TiVo" with no recording storage! Apparently, it already exists, and is in testing. I assume this is one of those built-in-to-the-TV Best Buy deals we heard about a while back.
On a new TiVo you can record for about 7 days without a sub, if after the 7 days you don't get a sub the record space goes to false, just another idea about that log.
Or you have filled up the hard drive with Do not delete programs so the TiVo can't record anymore.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:39 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocentfreak View Post
The fact that it seems to happen every model must mean Reversi is more popular than I thought. I guess I should try it sometime.
It may just be that it's one of the only externally hosted HME apps for TiVo and the engineers use it for testing to make sure that functionality still works on new models/versions.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:55 PM   #16
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
It may just be that it's one of the only externally hosted HME apps for TiVo and the engineers use it for testing to make sure that functionality still works on new models/versions.
This is my assumption. Additionally, it may be the only one that's not running off TiVo's SDK (it uses HME for Python).

But, by all means, yes, give it a try.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:01 PM   #17
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 11,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Reversi is an HME game you can play on your TiVo. It's hosted on a server so they can log information about every TiVo that plays it.

Dan
How 'bout youse two spill the beans about how to run Reversi on your Tivo?
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:21 PM   #18
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,204
To run Reversi, add the Apps.tv subscription manager to tivo, following the directions here:
http://www.apps.tv/

Then you can launch the Apps.tv HME app and add other apps. There is a list at http://www.apps.tv/applications, Reversi is among them. The apps.tv service is sort of like a pre-cursor to app stores .
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:27 PM   #19
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,247
wmcbrine, based on your logs, is there any way to get a count/sense of unique TiVo devices accessing the game in say a given week?
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:05 AM   #20
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
I have a better question-

What in the world is a TiVo that has no storage? What would it do or be used for? Built into the TV or not, wouldn't a TiVo have to have storage? Isn't that what a TiVo is? A way to record (store) TV shows?
It's a way to get the TiVo brand and experience--limited as it is--into homes to create a demand for TiVo platforms especially for the MSO's in the form of cable boxes or other software based TiVo, not so much the TiVo's own retail DVR's as TiVo seems to be getting out of the "box" business. Of course, this is all limited to the Best Buy store branded Insignia TV's. It's a good idea, but TiVo really needs to be in Vizio, Samsung, Sony for this scheme to really achieve its goal, not just the cheapo brand that is more likely to be put in the kids room or some other far flung household location as a--not even secondary but a tertiary HDTV.

Last edited by Series3Sub : 03-15-2011 at 01:12 AM.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:28 AM   #21
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
wmcbrine, based on your logs, is there any way to get a count/sense of unique TiVo devices accessing the game in say a given week?
Sure.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:48 PM   #22
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Series3Sub View Post
It's a way to get the TiVo brand and experience--limited as it is--into homes to create a demand for TiVo platforms especially for the MSO's in the form of cable boxes or other software based TiVo, not so much the TiVo's own retail DVR's as TiVo seems to be getting out of the "box" business. Of course, this is all limited to the Best Buy store branded Insignia TV's. It's a good idea, but TiVo really needs to be in Vizio, Samsung, Sony for this scheme to really achieve its goal, not just the cheapo brand that is more likely to be put in the kids room or some other far flung household location as a--not even secondary but a tertiary HDTV.
What about Funai? They are the number three seller of TVs in the US. With Vizio and samsung as one and two.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 03:04 PM   #23
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 11,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzotek View Post
To run Reversi, add the Apps.tv subscription manager to tivo, following the directions here:
http://www.apps.tv/
Very cool! Thanks!

And THANKS, Bill!
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by MikeAndrews : 03-16-2011 at 12:27 PM.
MikeAndrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:03 PM   #24
reneg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 452
Just curious, is the reversi HME app source posted anywhere public? I looked under the hme for python code, but it's not there.
reneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:25 PM   #25
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Reversi is an HME game you can play on your TiVo. It's hosted on a server so they can log information about every TiVo that plays it.

Dan
Is it the same game as the one by that name that used to come with some versions of Windows?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:44 PM   #26
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
It's computerized "Othello".


__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 11:12 PM   #27
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by reneg View Post
Just curious, is the reversi HME app source posted anywhere public?
I've thought about releasing it, but so far, no.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 06:13 AM   #28
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by axmygexuvv View Post
faxfree payday loans ace fast cash advance
amen, brother
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 08:34 AM   #29
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Any time someone replies to spam, a puppy or kitten is killed
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
orangeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:16 AM   #30
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
There have been published articles in the past that Tivo wants to branch out to licensing their UI and design to TV and cable box manufacturers outside of the DVR market.

Since one of Tivos strongest features is the UI it does make sense to me.
Are they going to charge a subscription fee to use the Tivo UI?
__________________
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-OTA
Humax DRT800-Lifetime-OTA
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Series 2-Lifetime-Cable
Toshiba SD-H400-Basic-Cable
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |