TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2010, 04:37 PM   #1
ghuido
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
What UPS to get for TIVO HD

Please excuse if this was asked and answered before. i did some searches and did not find anything.

I had a temporary power outage (1/2 sec) while I was watching something on Netflix on my TIVO HD. Let's just say it was not a fun experience to watch everything reboot on me in the middle of the show. Then have the WELCOME screen come up.

I figured it is time a get some UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply/Battery Backup) to prevent this from happening. I've seen a lot of post with people saying this is a great idea. Have a couple of questions?

- What have people gotten for the TIVO HD as a UPS? I hear APC is good manuf.
- What is the Wattage requiremetn for the TIVO HD and the WD Expander?
- Has anyone connected their TV to a battery backup? I figure the wattage requirements would be so massive it would trip the UPS to overload and not be worth it.
- Any issues with overheating if a place it in a closed cabinet?
- Notice that the Surge Rating on UPS are not as high as normal surge protectors 400-300 Range Versus 1,000 Range (E.g. Triplite). Anybody see an issue with that?

Any advice is appreciated and welcomed.
ghuido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 05:39 PM   #2
jbell73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 85
I would recommend a 350-500 VA UPS unit. I use APC, purchased for cheap when on-sale at office depot or staples.

I think my 500 VA unit kept my TiVo Hd and TiVo S3 up (both on one UPS) and running for about 20 minutes when I was doing maintenance on an electrical outlet.

The UPS will also help save the drive and/or power supply life as well. A stable power supply is a happy TiVo! I only run the TiVo on the UPS, others (SDV Adapters, Slingbox, etc...) are on standard power. I just want to preserve the TiVo. Not too concerned about the recordings.

-JBell73
__________________
1 x TiVo Roamio Plus + 3TB + Lifetime
2 x TiVo Premiere w/2TB (1 LT, 1 MSD)
8 x Tivo S2/S3/HD/P (Retired/Sold)
jbell73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:00 PM   #3
jmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 217
Get 750V or higher, this the one I use and highly recommend:

http://www.amazon.com/APC-BACK-UPS-B...6229525&sr=8-1

Also, remember that you might want to connect your TV and/or AV receiver if you have that.

Depending on the size and wattage of your TV, as well as your need to keep everything running, you might want to get even higher UPC
jmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:12 PM   #4
donnoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 734
I have a UPS on both of my Tivo's. One is a 500VA and the other is 550VA. Your Tivo is the only device you need to put on it, a good surge suppressor will take care of everything else.
Unless you've got a battery the size of Texas you're not going to run your A/V system off of a UPS for very long, it's best to just let the Tivo record as long as it can.
donnoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:13 PM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
It really depends on how you plan to deal with power outages.

If you're only going to use one for the Tivos to keep them from losing power, then get the cheaper 350VA UPS.

If you plan on being able to keep watching TV with surround sound or you want to anticipate an extra long power outage, get the biggest you can find.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:06 PM   #6
Resist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,713
I have been using the Tripp-Lite Omni 1000LCD with the blue LCD for years that I purchased from Costco for $99. Then a few years later I replaced it with the same model but the newer version with an amber LCD, which is much better on the eyes.

The only thing I don't like about the unit is that during a power outage this UPS alerts you with an audible alarm, which you can silence. But when the UPS battery is depleted, the only way to stop the alarm is to turn the UPS off. This is very annoying when you lose power in the middle of the night and have several of these in your home.

Last edited by Resist : 10-04-2010 at 09:58 PM.
Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:12 PM   #7
Robbdoe1
Tivo Obsessed
 
Robbdoe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 525
I got this one for my THD:

http://www.officedepot.com/a/product...S-550-Battery/

Staples has it for $49 this week. I run my THD and my 32" Vizio LCD and I have my DVD player on it. I have not timed it yet but I pulled the plug the other day and it ran the TV and the Tivo for over a minute. I got it to correct the power glitches we have in my area.

Robb
__________________
THD 1TB Upgrade/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
Tivo S2/Lifetime/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
(2) Toshiba SD-H400/Tivo Basic/Linksys WUSB11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robbdoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 08:20 PM   #8
drevilkep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmill View Post
Get 750V or higher, this the one I use and highly recommend:

http://www.amazon.com/APC-BACK-UPS-B...6229525&sr=8-1

Also, remember that you might want to connect your TV and/or AV receiver if you have that.

Depending on the size and wattage of your TV, as well as your need to keep everything running, you might want to get even higher UPC
750va is WAY overkill for a TiVo that only uses 35 watts. Remember: VA doesn't translate into runtime directly. Battery size is the biggest factor there and most consumer UPSes are designed to run for about 20 mins or so. A 750 VA UPS will still only run about 40 minutes, even with no load.
drevilkep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:29 PM   #9
jmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by drevilkep View Post
750va is WAY overkill for a TiVo that only uses 35 watts. Remember: VA doesn't translate into runtime directly. Battery size is the biggest factor there and most consumer UPSes are designed to run for about 20 mins or so. A 750 VA UPS will still only run about 40 minutes, even with no load.
750VA for TiVo + TV + AV Receiver for 15-20 minutes is sufficient.

If he connects only TiVo, than 350VA-550VA should be enough. Further, if you'll read the original post carefully, the guy is asking about connecting TV to BackUPS.
jmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:19 PM   #10
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,350
Costco has a lower end Tripp Lite right now. And it is covered by the regular Costco return policy -- that is lifetime satisfaction.

http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product...1#BVRRWidgetID
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:53 AM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbell73 View Post
I think my 500 VA unit kept my TiVo Hd and TiVo S3 up (both on one UPS) and running for about 20 minutes when I was doing maintenance on an electrical outlet.
Just an FYI, but be very careful when doing electrical work with a UPS still running. They can actually insert current back into the line and deliver you a nasty, unexpected, shock even though the breaker is off. (this happened to a friend of mine)

I personally use a big 1500VA UPS to run 4 TiVos, a cable box, 3 tuning adapters, 2 esata hard drives and a cable amplifier (basically every thing I need to keep the TiVos recording) and it keeps everything running for almost an hour.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:57 AM   #12
Resist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeSoFar View Post
And it is covered by the regular Costco return policy -- that is lifetime satisfaction.
It was my understanding that Costco got rid of their lifetime warranty on electronics, because of the abuse.
Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:50 AM   #13
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Resist View Post
It was my understanding that Costco got rid of their lifetime warranty on electronics, because of the abuse.
Nope. A few things, yes, but not "electronics", per se.
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:51 AM   #14
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Just an FYI, but be very careful when doing electrical work with a UPS still running. They can actually insert current back into the line and deliver you a nasty, unexpected, shock even though the breaker is off. (this happened to a friend of mine)

I personally use a big 1500VA UPS to run 4 TiVos, a cable box, 3 tuning adapters, 2 esata hard drives and a cable amplifier (basically every thing I need to keep the TiVos recording) and it keeps everything running for almost an hour.

Dan
Also be careful about grounding. Unplugging your UPS is not a safe or effective way to test how long it lasts on battery, as it and likely some of your electronics are expecting that ground to be there.
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:06 AM   #15
restart88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by drevilkep View Post
750va is WAY overkill for a TiVo that only uses 35 watts. Remember: VA doesn't translate into runtime directly. Battery size is the biggest factor there and most consumer UPSes are designed to run for about 20 mins or so. A 750 VA UPS will still only run about 40 minutes, even with no load.
One option to keep the Tivo & TV running during a longer outage might be a low end solar power system for about $300 on Amazon. I've been considering it myself longer term. Not sure how much more load the cheaper systems could handle but from the comments it should work. But I'd still like at least a cheap UPS/ surge suppressor, just in case. Good habits die just as hard as bad ones. LOL
__________________
S2DT for local cable & Direct TV/ Tivo HD for OTA and local cable
restart88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:43 AM   #16
etz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 214
any recommendations for a source of replacement batteries? I have an APC UPS whose battery is shot and it would be nice to get it working again on the cheap.
etz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:27 AM   #17
ghuido
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Wow ... thanks everyone for the recommendations and advice.

I'm thinking of going with an APC 350-550 Range for the TIVO HD and the WD Expander.

Everything else I'll keep on the massive tripllite surge protector I have.
ghuido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:35 AM   #18
tiassa
Me --Avatar
 
tiassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by etz View Post
any recommendations for a source of replacement batteries? I have an APC UPS whose battery is shot and it would be nice to get it working again on the cheap.
I just replaced the battery on one of the UPS's on my server desk from these guys http://www.planetbattery.com/ there were some other places that were a little cheaper but these guys were near to me which kept shipping charges down (something to consider when buying SLA's) and that also means that I got it quicker (I should have replaced this one a couple of months before I actually did).

As for which UPS to get I've been using the likely precursor to the one that Robbdoe1 posted it is an APC 500 VA. I have the Tivo, Expander, Amplifier and TV (46" LCD) plugged into it. My theory is if I'm home, watching TV and we lose power, I'll put the Tivo in standby (so I need the Amp and TV to have power) then shut everything down. If I'm not home, it is unlikely that the TV or Amp will be on (unless the cats figure out how to work the remote) and the Tivo and Expander will be the only draw. In this configuration I've been able to watch TV without power for 5 minutes or so, and the UPS has powered the Tivo and Expander in excess of 30 minutes, which is much longer than the typical outages we have in my neighborhood (we lose power for a few minutes probably once a month or so).

Last edited by tiassa : 10-05-2010 at 09:48 AM.
tiassa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:51 AM   #19
Robbdoe1
Tivo Obsessed
 
Robbdoe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeSoFar View Post
Also be careful about grounding. Unplugging your UPS is not a safe or effective way to test how long it lasts on battery, as it and likely some of your electronics are expecting that ground to be there.
Very good point.

If I do time test my setup I will switch the breaker off instead of pulling the plug. This way the house ground stays intact.

Robb
__________________
THD 1TB Upgrade/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
Tivo S2/Lifetime/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
(2) Toshiba SD-H400/Tivo Basic/Linksys WUSB11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robbdoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:57 AM   #20
Robbdoe1
Tivo Obsessed
 
Robbdoe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by etz View Post
any recommendations for a source of replacement batteries? I have an APC UPS whose battery is shot and it would be nice to get it working again on the cheap.
Online:
http://www.newark.com

http://www.digikey.com/?cshift_ck=21...&tid=511157916

http://www.apexbattery.com/

Online and Local:
http://www.batteriesplus.com/

I prefer the last one as I have a great relationship with the owner and I pay no shipping. I'm not sure if you have a local store near you or not.

Robb
__________________
THD 1TB Upgrade/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
Tivo S2/Lifetime/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
(2) Toshiba SD-H400/Tivo Basic/Linksys WUSB11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robbdoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:09 AM   #21
BulletToothTony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmill View Post
750VA for TiVo + TV + AV Receiver for 15-20 minutes is sufficient.

If he connects only TiVo, than 350VA-550VA should be enough. Further, if you'll read the original post carefully, the guy is asking about connecting TV to BackUPS.
I think the 750VA is a great fit, especially if you add a TV, receiver, and some other small hardware. You never want to have your UPS running at 90% of capacity, this makes them unreliable and will lead to early failure.

I use a 1000VA to protect my stuff. I have about 20 minutes of run time, surge protection and power filtering.

If you have a better UPS you don't even need to have a surge protection in the line, the UPS will take care of all of that.
BulletToothTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:23 AM   #22
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,070
UPS batteries should be replaced every two years. They degrade and if you wait until it's obvious they are dead, you have gone without protection for quite a while.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:41 AM   #23
Ladd Morse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
UPS batteries should be replaced every two years. They degrade and if you wait until it's obvious they are dead, you have gone without protection for quite a while.
Two years seems a bit often. What do you base your estimates on?

All my UPSs are APC units which self-check battery strength every week. I replace the batteries when the units say the batteries are weak and that averages every 4-5 years. YMMV.
__________________
"We're not going to Guam, are we?"
Ladd Morse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 12:17 PM   #24
BulletToothTony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladd Morse View Post
Two years seems a bit often. What do you base your estimates on?

All my UPSs are APC units which self-check battery strength every week. I replace the batteries when the units say the batteries are weak and that averages every 4-5 years. YMMV.


I agree, two years seems a bit too often. Good quality UPS batteries should last between 3-5 years. If you buy really cheap batteries, you'll have to replace them often.
BulletToothTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 12:34 PM   #25
ghuido
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Looked online and the best buy actualy is at staples for $50.

APC Back-UPS ES 8 Outlet 550VA 120V

This is the one I got to try out on one of my TIVO's. I'll need to get two for the one with the High end TV and Receiver. That one I might splurge for the 750 like people say.

http://www.apc.com/products/resource...otal_watts=200

I have a 750VA right now guarding my computer.
ghuido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 01:35 PM   #26
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 12,263
Fun-nay

I read this as my power was out but my personal Macbook Pro and Monitor were still live.

The ComEd guy rang my doorbell and said they had to kill my power because my power pole got hit and they had to replace the crossbar. I shut down and unplugged my main TiVo.

Per usual, "15 minutes" was more like 30 minutes but my UPS held up - except I didn't have the work monitors plugged into it. I have my priorities straight.

As it is I have the TiVo/phone and network stuff on the 1000va Belkin UPS at the component rack and have some extension cords feeding out to the computers. . I'd like having one or two more UPSs and a few less long extension cords. I'll put one in the computer/office corner.

I just looked and I think I'll order one of these CyberPower UPS for now:http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product...*1363*&topnav=

CyberPower gets good reviews on Amazon and I like it being energy efficient. I guess I need another for the bedroom TiVo.
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:35 PM   #27
Stormspace
Electrocuted by TiVo
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hartsville, SC
Posts: 4,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by etz View Post
any recommendations for a source of replacement batteries? I have an APC UPS whose battery is shot and it would be nice to get it working again on the cheap.
Since I usually get the small ones I've found it's just as economical to replace the whole unit rather than just the battery. The last three I purchased also had 4 additional outlets compared to the previous models with surge protection on half of the 6 so I could run other devices on them.
__________________
137hr DTS2
20/180hr HD
166hr DTS2
180hr S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stormspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:43 PM   #28
JTYoung1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 138
The only reason to plug a TV into a UPS is if you have a rear projection DLP or LCD and you can let the fan run after you turn the TV off. If you plan on connecting a receiver to a UPS you'd better have a 1500VA unit or higher. Although I do not know why you'd want to connect one to a UPS. When the power goes out you generally turn everything else off to keep the UPS running as long as possible in case you are recording something.
__________________
Tivo Premiere Elite
Tivo Premier 4
Tivo Mini
JTYoung1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:00 PM   #29
MikeAndrews
Registered abuser
 
MikeAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Illinois (Dn Nr WI)
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTYoung1 View Post
... Although I do not know why you'd want to connect one to a UPS. When the power goes out you generally turn everything else off to keep the UPS running as long as possible in case you are recording something.
C'Mon JT! A power failure is an emergency! You think the USA wants to miss out on what's happening on Dancing with the Stars?
__________________
1) Series 4 Premiere - Lifetime
2) Series 3 OLED - Lifetime.
2) Series 2 DT 500GB
Mac Mini NAS with 9 7 x 2TB drives.
UVerse and OTA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeAndrews is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:08 PM   #30
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,631
I have a separate 1200VA UPS which I use to run my TV, HT system and various other switches/devices required to actually watch TV. I bought it mainly because my TV kind of freaks out when the power goes out suddenly, but it's nice to be able to continue watching TV for an extra 10-15 minutes when the power goes out. I also have one that runs all my internet equipment (i.e. cable modem, router, switches and wireless access point) so I can continue to surf the web when the power goes out too.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |