TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2010, 11:44 PM   #1
CraigK
(unspecified)
 
CraigK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 1,019
Software Version 11.0f and 11.0g

Noticed that the clock was missing from the corner of one of the TiVo HDs this evening.

Looks like 11.0f.N1-01-2-652 was pushed to it early this morning.

Haven't noticed anything different yet.

Our other TiVo HD remains at 11.0d.
__________________
"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard, grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em!"
CraigK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 01:34 AM   #2
dimwell
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
I got the update, too, but the TiVo HD was stuck on the "Welcome!" screen until I finally thought to unplug the wireless adapter and try again. This was after running a full SMART diagnostic on the drive. Hah.

I haven't plugged the adapter back in and tried a reboot.
dimwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:08 AM   #3
bschuler2007
Frustrated owner
 
bschuler2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 325
Yeah a few days ago I noticed Pytivo kept failing mid transfer, so I rebooted my Tivo. Got the applying update screen. Haven't noticed a single difference.
__________________
I once hit, Find more about.. and got a black screen for 45 minutes.. was I supposed to read a book about it during that time? Is that how that works?
bschuler2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:10 AM   #4
chrishicks
Tivo Junkie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 522
I'm sorry but seeing this made me laugh:

Quote:
Originally Posted by bschuler2007 sig
Tivo Premiere is better than TivoHD - Not only more ads, but ads in HD!
great sig.
__________________
4 S3s w/Lifetime (all/w 1TB internal)
2 DTS2s w/Lifetime - upgraded to 300Gb/500Gb(retired)
S2 w/Lifetime - upgraded to 1TB(retired)
Motorola RNG200N Comcast HD DVR
chrishicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:47 AM   #5
Capmeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Metro DC
Posts: 82
Would be nice if they updated the THD/S3 models to have the newer GUI layout but with an SD version so it didn't kill the processor.
Capmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:00 AM   #6
whitepelican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capmeister View Post
Would be nice if they updated the THD/S3 models to have the newer GUI layout but with an SD version so it didn't kill the processor.
I'd gladly pay extra to keep that GUI off my S3's.
whitepelican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:29 AM   #7
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Time to go force a connection...................
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:48 AM   #8
cjv2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 290
Interesting that 11.0f isn't listed at the Tivo site... well... at least not yet...
__________________
I have a TivoHD with 1TB of storage. Don't make me use it.
cjv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:01 AM   #9
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
It's quite usual for TiVo to do a small unannounced distribution of a new software release to a random audience a week or so before the full release. It's the final version of what they release, but they want to make certain there are no distribution problems, and no undiscovered gotcha's.

Also, once it's announced, everybody with any problem at all is going to be calling up and blaming it on the new release - I think they want to get unbiased support call figures before that!

So I'm hopeful that the long-delayed software update is finally about to come out!
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:16 AM   #10
cjv2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyCritter View Post
It's quite usual for TiVo to do a small unannounced distribution of a new software release to a random audience a week or so before the full release. It's the final version of what they release, but they want to make certain there are no distribution problems, and no undiscovered gotcha's.

Also, once it's announced, everybody with any problem at all is going to be calling up and blaming it on the new release - I think they want to get unbiased support call figures before that!

So I'm hopeful that the long-delayed software update is finally about to come out!
Well, I can't download it... yet... and yeah I tried
__________________
I have a TivoHD with 1TB of storage. Don't make me use it.
cjv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:19 AM   #11
Rkkeller
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,241
I just hope there are not more ads and garbage put in the update. Seems every time I look I see an ad pop up somewhere. Now even when I pause something an ad pops up. :<
Rkkeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:39 AM   #12
hybucket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimwell View Post
I got the update, too, but the TiVo HD was stuck on the "Welcome!" screen until I finally thought to unplug the wireless adapter and try again. This was after running a full SMART diagnostic on the drive. Hah.

I haven't plugged the adapter back in and tried a reboot.
Does the wireless adapter need to be unplugged for an update??
hybucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 02:00 PM   #13
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSIRAID View Post
Time to go force a connection...................
I know what you'll be looking for -- me too! (A fix to the SDV-channel pixelation issue seen mostly on Time Warner systems.) A retry when tuning SDV channels for recordings (and manully for that matter) would be nice too.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 02:03 PM   #14
jmill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by hybucket View Post
Does the wireless adapter need to be unplugged for an update??
usually no.

Only if you have a problem rebooting unit after an update, than you might need to unplug wireless adapter and/or tuning adapter.

If you unplug wireless adapter now, you will never receive an update
jmill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 04:11 PM   #15
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,419
Nothing here yet. Please, please, please let this fix the gray screen issue!
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:02 PM   #16
fpp777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitepelican View Post
I'd gladly pay extra to keep that GUI off my S3's.
So if we have an S3, we are getting a new GUI?
fpp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:13 PM   #17
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpp777 View Post
So if we have an S3, we are getting a new GUI?
I doubt it. 11.0f from 11.0d sounds more like a bug fix release to me. TiVo usually rolls the major or minor version when putting out new features.
CuriousMark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:29 PM   #18
whitepelican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 667
I doubt it, too. I was only responding to Capmeister's wish that the Series 3's would get the same UI as the Premieres minus the HD. I hope they don't tinker with much, as my S3's are nearly flawless right now.
whitepelican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:35 PM   #19
fpp777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Thanks. I don't want to see a change either. Mine are working fine.
fpp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:41 PM   #20
vectorcatch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 127
Could someone with the update try and download transport stream (TS) files via KMTTG to see if it is supported with the new version?
vectorcatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:57 PM   #21
vittoria
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitepelican View Post
I hope they don't tinker with much, as my S3's are nearly flawless right now.
Ditto. My S3 is fine, 1xff aside. I'm not looking forward to an update to possibly mess things up.
vittoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 06:37 PM   #22
Capmeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Metro DC
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitepelican View Post
I doubt it, too. I was only responding to Capmeister's wish that the Series 3's would get the same UI as the Premieres minus the HD. I hope they don't tinker with much, as my S3's are nearly flawless right now.
I just mean a GUI that can accommodate a 16:9 screen more than the current one, where the fonts can be a bit smaller. And so long as you can choose new or classic, it would be nice.

I dunno why, but the ads never bother me. If TiVo is making some money, more power to 'em.
Capmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:33 PM   #23
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpp777 View Post
Thanks. I don't want to see a change either. Mine are working fine.
Agree... all Im looking for is a few bug fixes. From a features/function perspective, its fine just the way it is....
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:01 PM   #24
SCSIRAID
Registered User
 
SCSIRAID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 2,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfl View Post
I know what you'll be looking for -- me too! (A fix to the SDV-channel pixelation issue seen mostly on Time Warner systems.) A retry when tuning SDV channels for recordings (and manully for that matter) would be nice too.
WooHoo... My THD downstairs got the new SW... Watched it for a while and so far no SDV pixelations....
SCSIRAID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:16 PM   #25
willv28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 36
Don't have it yet, did a few tried. About how long does it usually take before everyone starts getting it?
willv28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:32 PM   #26
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
TiVo has already posted in another thread that everybody should have it by the end of the month.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 01:41 AM   #27
Xecuter2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
What changed?
Xecuter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 07:04 AM   #28
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by willv28 View Post
Don't have it yet, did a few tried. About how long does it usually take before everyone starts getting it?
In previous releases (which were now quite a long time ago) everyone would be able to get it pretty much exactly 2 weeks after the initial test version rolls out like this. Now who says that is still Tivo's MO? It probably is but we'll find out.

My fingers are crossed that it makes the analog tuners more resistant to the errors that cause them to mess up. That way RoyK can stop his whining.
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 08:59 AM   #29
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyCritter View Post
TiVo has already posted in another thread that everybody should have it by the end of the month.
I missed that. Which thread??
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 09:07 AM   #30
rocko
Cuckoo for TiVo
 
rocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northeast Joisey
Posts: 1,551
This answers my rhetorical question. One of my THD boxes rebooted the other night and it had me worried since I had recently upgraded the hard drive. Looks like it got 11f so that explains that
__________________
Scully: "Is that a hound I hear baying in the moor ?"
Mulder: "No. That was a right-cheek sneak."

P4XL x 2 - Lifetime
P - Lifetime
HD - 1TB WD10EVVS - Lifetime
rocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |