TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > TiVo Search Feedback - Beta Release (Archive)
TiVo Community
 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 15 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-21-2009, 09:39 PM   #1
Distortedloop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Fernando, CA
Posts: 84
Painfully slow!

Every time I try the TiVo Search Beta it's so slow as to be totally useless. I can't even test it to give feedback on the interface and features with any sense of reality.

Example, I just used my iPhone camera to record how long it takes to get from one menu to another. To go from a playing NetFlix movie to the Search Beta and schedule one recording took ELEVEN MINUTES. I can post the video to YouTube if anyone wants to see it for themselves.

Two of the eleven minutes were user error, I selected HD view, and it takes two minutes for that to load, and in frustration waiting for it to load I accidentally hit the arrow button and got dumped back to the low-def screen. Every change in menu selection seems to take 90 seconds to 2 minutes.

What's worse is that I understand there should be recommendation icons at the top of the screen, but only two show up, the first on the far left is a show suggestion, the second on the far right is an advertisement. If I arrow through the blank screen on the top, it stops, and if I wait a minute or two, the program info will show up for some show, but never the icon. Finally I hit the button to see more info, and then it takes a few more minutes for the record button to become active.

Meanwhile, on the far right of the screen is a big empty box that looks like it should have a picture of the show, or maybe even (this would be really cool if it did...) a trailer of the show.

My TiVo is a Series 3. I am on an internal hardwired gigabit Ethernet LAN, which goes to a Verizon FIOS 20/5 WAN line. The TiVo's Ethernet cable is CAT 6 and goes through one hub/switch before hitting the router. I have a Mac Mini home theater attached to the same network switch and it has no networking issues to the outside world (hulu, netflix, downloads, trailers, etc), so I doubt networking is the issue.

As is, I don't even want to test this again. It hasn't changed in 6 months since the last time I tried it. I can deal with bugs and crashes on something labeled "beta", but give me a break, this is "alpha" at best. Beta implies it's somewhat ready for primetime and we just need more testers to make sure nothing subtle got missed. Who can possibly test this when they'll waist at least ten minutes per show they try to find?
Distortedloop is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 12:35 PM   #2
Joe3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 231
This is what I can't stand. I couldn't get away with this where I work and just leave people out there in the company ether-net. It seems they have abandoned this project.
Joe3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 12:42 PM   #3
carios23
Registered User
 
carios23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 42
I have been wondering about this feature...is it ever seeing daylight?
__________________
Christian Rios

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carios23 is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 12:56 PM   #4
orangeboy
yes, I AM orangeboy!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 4,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Distortedloop View Post
Every time I try the TiVo Search Beta it's so slow as to be totally useless. I can't even test it to give feedback on the interface and features with any sense of reality.

Example, I just used my iPhone camera to record how long it takes to get from one menu to another. To go from a playing NetFlix movie to the Search Beta and schedule one recording took ELEVEN MINUTES. I can post the video to YouTube if anyone wants to see it for themselves.

Two of the eleven minutes were user error, I selected HD view, and it takes two minutes for that to load, and in frustration waiting for it to load I accidentally hit the arrow button and got dumped back to the low-def screen. Every change in menu selection seems to take 90 seconds to 2 minutes.

What's worse is that I understand there should be recommendation icons at the top of the screen, but only two show up, the first on the far left is a show suggestion, the second on the far right is an advertisement. If I arrow through the blank screen on the top, it stops, and if I wait a minute or two, the program info will show up for some show, but never the icon. Finally I hit the button to see more info, and then it takes a few more minutes for the record button to become active.

Meanwhile, on the far right of the screen is a big empty box that looks like it should have a picture of the show, or maybe even (this would be really cool if it did...) a trailer of the show.

My TiVo is a Series 3. I am on an internal hardwired gigabit Ethernet LAN, which goes to a Verizon FIOS 20/5 WAN line. The TiVo's Ethernet cable is CAT 6 and goes through one hub/switch before hitting the router. I have a Mac Mini home theater attached to the same network switch and it has no networking issues to the outside world (hulu, netflix, downloads, trailers, etc), so I doubt networking is the issue.

As is, I don't even want to test this again. It hasn't changed in 6 months since the last time I tried it. I can deal with bugs and crashes on something labeled "beta", but give me a break, this is "alpha" at best. Beta implies it's somewhat ready for primetime and we just need more testers to make sure nothing subtle got missed. Who can possibly test this when they'll waist at least ten minutes per show they try to find?
I'm thinking with this issue and the issue you're having with Netflix being painfully slow, you've got an issue not relating to either app. Are you using the same DNS servers with the Tivo and Mac? Are both the Tivo and Mac using DHCP? Or are they both statically assigned an address? As mentioned in the Netflix thread, switch the Tivo and Mac ports to see if the port is bad on the router/switch.

Last edited by orangeboy : 09-22-2009 at 12:59 PM. Reason: Added links
orangeboy is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 02:35 PM   #5
greggt007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 107
same problem here. my netflix and tivo search beta take minutes to load. once a netflix movie is selected it streams fine. it took probably 4 tries of 5 minutes each (queue of remote presses exiting it the other 3) waiting for the beta to pop up so i could finally switch to swivel. unusable.

it is noted i am having other networking issues at this time (ethernet not working, had to switch to wireless), as well as my season pass list being reordered. maybe my tivo (ex-hard drive) is dying.
greggt007 is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 05:56 PM   #6
dalmeida
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 13
This is my problem as well. It takes several minutes for the search menu to even show. I've stopped using it obviously since it's virtually unusable. It's still annoying when I inadvertently select it. I don't have as large a problem with the population of the Netflix list but it is relatively slow. Network connection is wired directly to internal switch in router via less than 50ft cable run to patch panel and 3ft jumper to switch.

My setup:
TivoHD + 1TB external Drive
ATT DSL 6MB PPPoE
cat5C Ethernet network
Netgear Fr114p router
DLink DGS2208 gigabit switch
DLink DSS8+ 10/100 Switch
Netgear WG102 Access point
Speedster 4100 DSL modem
dalmeida is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 09:07 PM   #7
Distortedloop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Fernando, CA
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeboy View Post
I'm thinking with this issue and the issue you're having with Netflix being painfully slow, you've got an issue not relating to either app. Are you using the same DNS servers with the Tivo and Mac? Are both the Tivo and Mac using DHCP? Or are they both statically assigned an address? As mentioned in the Netflix thread, switch the Tivo and Mac ports to see if the port is bad on the router/switch.

Yep, same DNS servers on the TiVo as the Mac. I use OpenDNS.

Browsing podcasts on the TiVo is horrible as well. Seems like any networking access is terrible.
Distortedloop is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 05:00 PM   #8
Distortedloop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Fernando, CA
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Distortedloop View Post
Every time I try the TiVo Search Beta it's so slow as to be totally useless. I can't even test it to give feedback on the interface and features with any sense of reality.

...
I'm back to report that this issue has finally been resolved. NetFlix and the TiVo Search beta are both snappy and a pleasure to use now.

Believe it or not, all it took was to go to the settings screen and RESTART the TiVo from that menu!

Please note that I had rebooted the TiVo on more than one occasion by pulling the plug out of the wall when the system was so slow to respond that it appeared locked up. Why a RESTART rather than a POWER OFF reboot was required blows my mind, but there it is.

I suggest anyone with this issue who might come across this thread try a RESTART.

It was the TiVo support phone number that gave me the idea. I didn't actually talk to anyone, but while on hold waiting in the queue the recording advised most issues can be fixed by restarting from the restart menu. I figured I better try it that way before a real life person asked if I had. Glad I did; sorry that I assumed power off was same as programmed restart.

Thanks to everyone who responded trying to help me figure this out.
Distortedloop is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 12:44 AM   #9
jgreen1280
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Still having issue

I am still seeing this issue. Currently running kickstart 57.

I see the slowness in these areas only:

1. YouTube (when opening app, searching, typing. once open, plays great)
2. Netflix (works awesome, except for the 3 to 5 min for the app to load...and, i dont dare press the page down button...will lock the tivo up for 10+ min...its faster for me to get online, move to top of queue, then go back into netflix. Once movie starts, HD quality always!)

3. Tivo search - whole app locks my tivo up

This has been ahppening since i purchsed unit....I thought it was normal till my mom purchased one for her house.. her unit, a refurb which she purchased for $150 and I paid $300 for mine, with a 54g wireless card works perfect!!!! quick in every aspect.

I thought it was my hard drive going bad, so I replaced (tivo wanted me to pay to have "fixed" which is bull-s***!!!) no change....next, unplugged my wired nic, used my moms wireless card in mine, thinking maybe my onboard nic was hosed...no go...same results...

I want to buy another one, but still pissed that I purchased a bum unit and tivo will do noting to assist....first they said it was my cable (internet), they had me do a speed test and read them the results because they didnt believe me: 25,000 k down and 10,000 k up....next, they thought since i wasnt using a linksys or belkin router, the level 3 "engineers" said: oh, sonicwall, whats that...thats the problem...plug directly into the cable modem...with tat, I humored them.... 10 bux says you can guess how that helped....um...yeah, it didnt....

Dont think im going to stay with tivo after this experience...I will probably switch to a high-end media center since msft would be better help than tivo support at this point..

I LOVE MY TIVO.....just wished the company running the box would help thier current paying customers instead of trying to f' with them.... can i talk to the developers directly please!!!!!! I'M sick of dicking around with L1 techs....



Sorry everyone for the venting session....any suggestions from anyone would be much apreciated... I would LOVE to stay with tivo!!!!!! when it works, it works awesome....its just those 3 apps above....amazon ondemand works flawless, along with all the other online features....just those 3 are broken.

Thanks in advance!!!!!!
jgreen1280 is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 04:02 PM   #10
gulbane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
I just picked up my S3 2 weeks ago. The Beta search is slow...but I never wait more than 5-8 seconds between pressed.

I was annoyed that it took THAT long...I can't imagine literally waiting minutes for it to load!

Just for reference, I am using the wifi adapter. Connection is at 100% as the router is located 12 inches from the adapter behind a wall. I am using a M-CableCard with a Tuning Adapter.
gulbane is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 09:30 PM   #11
xcrunner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Everytime I use TiVo Search and do a recording it takes FOREVER to finish adding it (stuck at Please Wait icon). Searching and such seems fine it's when I actually do schedule a recording it takes ages. Anyone else encounter this? It's quite ridiculous.
xcrunner is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 03:21 PM   #12
ScratchFury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 93
I have my Tivo hooked straight to my cable modem, and it's still slow. I only use the search to change options on video podcasts. If you can find your scheduled podcast in search, you can change it to keep all episodes instead of 10.
ScratchFury is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 10:48 AM   #13
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by carios23 View Post
I have been wondering about this feature...is it ever seeing daylight?
Well, now you have your answer.
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 02:58 PM   #14
carios23
Registered User
 
carios23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raj View Post
Well, now you have your answer.
yeah, I am disappointed to say the least.
__________________
Christian Rios

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carios23 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 09:55 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,267
I just got some sort of update last night that forced me to opt-in to be able to use TiVo Search. I like TiVo Search so I went ahead and did it. However right after I did I noticed a marked improvement in speed for search. The banners at the top still fill in slowly, but they no longer seemed to slow down the rest of the UI.

Now this was late at night (2:00am) so it could have been a fluke. But it seems like they might have upgraded the app slightly and improved performance.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 11:40 AM   #16
bohbot16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Katonah, NY
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
I just got some sort of update last night that forced me to opt-in to be able to use TiVo Search. I like TiVo Search so I went ahead and did it. However right after I did I noticed a marked improvement in speed for search. The banners at the top still fill in slowly, but they no longer seemed to slow down the rest of the UI.

Now this was late at night (2:00am) so it could have been a fluke. But it seems like they might have upgraded the app slightly and improved performance.

Dan
I'm seeing the same thing after opting-in again. I suspect that TiVo has upgraded their servers that provide the data to the Search interface.
bohbot16 is offline  
Old 03-13-2010, 01:24 PM   #17
jk5598224
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 312
I hate this search beta, it is slow and sucks. Is there any way to make swivel search the default again?
jk5598224 is offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 06:58 PM   #18
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk5598224 View Post
I hate this search beta, it is slow and sucks. Is there any way to make swivel search the default again?
That should be an option from within TiVo Search.
bkdtv is offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 02:48 AM   #19
steveu75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
It is so slow to be unusable. I have a 15 mb Fios connection.

What is the latest status on this app. It looks like it would be great if it worked.

Steve
steveu75 is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 08:21 AM   #20
Resist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,713
I tried it a few times on our Series 3 and Tivo HD, it was just to slow to be useful so now I never use it.
Resist is offline  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:35 PM   #21
enclave000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
agreed
enclave000 is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 08:46 PM   #22
ufo4sale
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Plainview NY 11803
Posts: 3,267
It will ALWAYS be slow unless then change the way it searches for shows. The discovery bar is a big drag when it comes to speed. I have the premier and use the TiVo search and it is so much better than it is on the HD/Series III. As slow and painful as it is on the series III /HD TiVo's, and it is that bad, I still use it because it does a much better job of finding what you want across all platforms then the regular search does. If I know what I’m looking for and it should be very easy to find then I would use the regular search but for anything else that I might want to watch like movies on Netflix or amazon or anywhere else then the TiVo search is that much better.
ufo4sale is offline  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:13 AM   #23
TiVoCylon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
is this thing really still in beta?
TiVoCylon is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 07:55 AM   #24
waraflifsriuyid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Hello im exhilarated to be here

As we be familiar with that blue dismount attackgnomish263 typepad com/blog/2011/08/led-grow-lights-vs-hps-deciding-on-the-right-one html]led grow|
is most high-level through despite seeds during their vegetative vegetation existence sequence singularly
in the 415nm to 460nm range In fact, the brown can offer higher achievement of off colour light in the spring days
when the seeds are growing leave and vegetation to commission the formation of the plant Also, rtwodtwo118 typepad com/blog/2011/08/led-light-bulb-replacement-save-energy-and-protect-the-planet html]led grow|

there are numbers of people who wants to devise garden at make clear under the aegis the horticulture emits
If you ruminate over this make of concept and don’t comprise any mental image how to assistants the seeds to begin to be liked by effectively,
then you should estimate roughly off colour LED wax lights This type of technology commonly allows the indoor owen914 livejournal com/5506 html]led grow lights|

gardeners to offer strong xxx light to their garden with littlest heat and price efficacy
than accustomed Metal Halide flower lights There are some people who are using pornographic LED to gain lights in one or
separate shades whereas blogtext org/vaettrar918/article/712576 html?LED+Recessed+Lighting+is+available+color+combination%2C we+cannot+see+colors+of+life+without+light]led lights bulbs|
some other gardeners are using this person of technology as per the fixtures’s
requirements blogtext org/bucca676/article/711690 html?LED+Grow+Lights+Tips+for+Successful+Plant+Growth]led grow|



vaporizers357 beeplog com/blog pl?blogid=199293&entryid=955231]herbal vaporizer|
blogtext org/ogre753/article/712495 html?So+You+Bought+an+Herb+Vaporizer%2C+Now+What]vaporizers for weed|
blogtext org/giantspider68/article/710567 html?Benefits+of+using+a+vaporizer]vaporizers|
hippogriff912 livejournal com/4971 html]vaporizers|
kundrav565 livejournal com/1615 html]herbal vaporizers|
waraflifsriuyid is offline  
Old 06-14-2012, 04:01 PM   #25
shipspeed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
i'm shocked how long this thing's been beta
shipspeed is offline  
 
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |