TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV Receiver with TiVo
TiVo Community
 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2008, 01:33 PM   #841
LacyinTX
Registered User
 
LacyinTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 79
My TiVo is not zippered, but I do have a 300 hr drive from Weaknees installed. I get the updates as they come in.

YET AGAIN.. I missed the premier of Survivor. I checked the SP yesterday in the morning. Seriously!! What the heck?
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40
LacyinTX is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 12:42 PM   #842
mac_layer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
My tivo has been missing programs with season passes since it upgraded to 6.4a software.
The program will appear in the guide and can be scheduled - but doesn't show in upcoming showings. Occurs on old SP and new SP any channel. Seems like the SP scheduler doesn't see guide information and starts withdrawing already scheduled shows.
mac_layer is offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 12:53 PM   #843
rbtravis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, Co. 80138
Posts: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac_layer View Post
My tivo has been missing programs with season passes since it upgraded to 6.4a software.
The program will appear in the guide and can be scheduled - but doesn't show in upcoming showings. Occurs on old SP and new SP any channel. Seems like the SP scheduler doesn't see guide information and starts withdrawing already scheduled shows.
Check this out
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...83#post6731983
__________________
(3 active) RCA DVR's in sizes 795GB to 976GB Software version 6.4a
rbtravis is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 06:02 PM   #844
MissyTX
Registered User
 
MissyTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Richardson, Texas
Posts: 8
Yes, mine does this. It does it all of the time when I try to record Survivor. I have a season pass. Last week I finally canceled the season pass and put it in as a manual recording. I will see if it works this week. I think my TiVo must not like Survivor. Does it upgrade the guide on Thursday nights??
MissyTX is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 04:36 PM   #845
ohbewan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Napa, CA
Posts: 6
I have multiple HR10-250s with 6.4a software. I see the issue with SPs coming up after a crash or unsolicited reboot. The guide on screen still has good data but ToDo list is missing shows and previously scheduled items have the dreaded :Someone in your house... etc." I have sometimes been able to correct this by forcing a reboot and sometimes by forcing a call to the DVR sevice but not always. Trying to recreate the SP doesn't seem to work since the shows are apparently missing from the schedule database (although the onscreen guide still shows them). Does anyone know how to reliably cause the schedule database to be updated?
ohbewan is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:29 PM   #846
glen4cindy
Registered User
 
glen4cindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 101
Well, add ME to the list. This has happened with Survivor EVERY WEEK since the new season began.

I check my To Do list every couple of days. Survivor has ALWAYS been IN the To Do list. EVERY week, it does NOT record, and in the history, it says the thing about ....someone in your household modified the season pass..... garbagbe.

There are only TWO of us in the house that mess with the remote, and my wife DOES NOT KNOW HOW to modify a season pass, and I KNOW IT'S NOT ME!

I just missed the beginning of it tonight because it did not record automatically.

I have not noticed this with other season passes.....But I don't know off hand how much we watch on CBS.
__________________
My daughters Chinese Adoption Story:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by glen4cindy : 10-16-2008 at 07:38 PM.
glen4cindy is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 10:27 AM   #847
newsposter
Poster of News
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 32,918
survivor has been ok for me every week...first few eps on the hr20 but had to move it to the hdtivo
__________________
Tivo Premiere; Hitachi 57 in

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

monsterjoe - You aren't wrong; spartanstew- I agree with newsposter
newsposter is offline  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:17 AM   #848
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by glen4cindy View Post
Well, add ME to the list. This has happened with Survivor EVERY WEEK since the new season began.

I check my To Do list every couple of days. Survivor has ALWAYS been IN the To Do list. EVERY week, it does NOT record, and in the history, it says the thing about ....someone in your household modified the season pass..... garbagbe.

There are only TWO of us in the house that mess with the remote, and my wife DOES NOT KNOW HOW to modify a season pass, and I KNOW IT'S NOT ME!

I just missed the beginning of it tonight because it did not record automatically.

I have not noticed this with other season passes.....But I don't know off hand how much we watch on CBS.
If you continue to miss the program, I would setup a manual recording for the time and channel. I know its not the Tivo way, but its a work around for now.
__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 10:21 AM   #849
phodg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 188
Same thing just started happening to me with Survivor. It missed last week's but I thought it might be a one-off. I checked this past Wednesday and last night's episode was on the "To-Do" list. I came home last night (after 8pm CT), and lo and behold I had the "Someone in your house" message. This is the first problem I've had for a long time.
phodg is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 01:18 PM   #850
plateau10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,327
Yep, Survivor got dropped last night for me too. First time it's happened since January (last time I posted to this thread).
plateau10 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:27 AM   #851
sillysally
Registered User
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
It's happening for me also with Survivor.
sillysally is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 07:30 AM   #852
azmojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Me too

It's happening for me too, but not just Survivor. Most of my prime time season passes don't record. Many of the more obscure shows and weekend programming do. We have to go in and say "Record this episode also." This REALLY sucks. What am I paying the extra monthly fee for?
azmojo is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 11:35 AM   #853
Steveknj
Lost in New Joisey
 
Steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 34,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by azmojo View Post
It's happening for me too, but not just Survivor. Most of my prime time season passes don't record. Many of the more obscure shows and weekend programming do. We have to go in and say "Record this episode also." This REALLY sucks. What am I paying the extra monthly fee for?

While I've moved on to an HR22 for my HD, my old S2 D*Tivos take up residence in other rooms. The one in my son's room misses lots of SP recordings. Everyweek it misses Pushing Daisies, it misses Survivor as well as some others. Interestingly, the other identical D*Tivo picks these up no problem. We've tried resetting the SPs, and they all look correct and in the proper order to pick these shows up. Anyone call D* and complain?
__________________
Annoying Blurb
Steveknj is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 12:15 PM   #854
JimSpence
Just hangin'
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 30,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveknj View Post
While I've moved on to an HR22 for my HD, my old S2 D*Tivos take up residence in other rooms. The one in my son's room misses lots of SP recordings. Everyweek it misses Pushing Daisies, it misses Survivor as well as some others. Interestingly, the other identical D*Tivo picks these up no problem. We've tried resetting the SPs, and they all look correct and in the proper order to pick these shows up. Anyone call D* and complain?
You can be the first one!
__________________
Jim
JimSpence is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 07:06 PM   #855
bkorb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
It ain't Survivor, folks. The software got fubar-ed. My issue is with News Hour. I can record manually, or record four copies per day, interfering with other programs I might want to record. I'm going manual, but that means Saturday and Sunday too, when it is not broadcast. Given that this has been going on for months now, there is someone at TiVo seriously deserving of a strong wrist slap!
bkorb is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 10:09 PM   #856
rbtravis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, Co. 80138
Posts: 1,457
Maybe its not the software. Are you running the current software 6.4a? Directv only supports the current software which was meant to handle the new versions of season passes.
__________________
(3 active) RCA DVR's in sizes 795GB to 976GB Software version 6.4a
rbtravis is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 10:50 AM   #857
Flutenance2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
My season pass will not record Glenn Beck... everything else I've tried works! Weird
Flutenance2 is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 12:12 PM   #858
rogrrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Jacinto, CA
Posts: 104
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flutenance2 View Post
My season pass will not record Glenn Beck... everything else I've tried works! Weird
Consider it a sign: Perhaps you shouldn't watch that overly theatrical wack-job...
rogrrr is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 10:46 PM   #859
DrLightning
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
A few things, please.

1) Might someone that knows please explain why this 2+ year old thread is marked sticky, especially given what I mention below?

2) I unfortunately don't have the time to read eleventy hundred posts on the subject. If this post was made sticky because the solution is buried in it somewhere, it would be very nice if a new thread was created and made sticky with the solution or some clue in the very first post.

3) I just missed 24 and House because of this bug in something. I only discovered it by accident. When I checked, I found that for the vast majority of my seasons passes, the "View Upcoming Episodes" list showed none upcoming. However, the Live TV schedule guide showed them. On the To Do list, they were missing. When I looked in Recording History to future time, I found dozens of episodes with a "Won't Record" status. The reason was the same "somebody changed" type message, or a "guide changed" message. From this Recording History future time list, I was able to manually request recording of my primary concern shows for the next week. Now, they appear in the To Do list. However, when I look at the detail for any particular episode in the To Do list, and then look at upcoming episodes, the list is empty. This internal inconsistency is proof that it's a systemic problem with the system or guide data. Note that this is a friend-rebuilt Series 1 running 3.5d (etc) software version. Since a friend built it, I don't know if the current (etc) version differs from what he installed. It's been working great for a couple months, and then this happened all of a sudden. I've established that it began on a few shows Friday AM 3/29/09, recorded some successfully Friday PM, and then began losing more on Saturday. Restart didn't help. Note that my OEM Series 2 is not exhibiting this problem (yet).

Thanks very much.
DrLightning is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:08 PM   #860
tyarmas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13
Not sure about fixing the "systematic problem". I have a couple of series 2 systems running 6.2 that occasionally stop recording season passes.
The only thing I do is delete the season pass and create a new one. That resolves the issue for a while. It seems that they change something in the guide data and the shows no longer belong to the season pass. Mostly I see this at the start of the season, but it has happened mid season as well.

I am not sure if there is a "good" S/W version to move to. I do not want to lose MRV and hacks.

I figure at some point I will get a better TV and upgrade to HD. In the mean time I occasionally check what upcoming episodes are shown to determine if the season pass is still valid. Oh well.
tyarmas is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 07:29 AM   #861
markz
Hilarity Ensues
 
markz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Connersville, IN
Posts: 12,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDecker1 View Post
I didn't modify any season passes lately
Thanks for the update! We were wondering!
__________________
- Mark

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
markz is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 07:53 AM   #862
fasTLane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDecker1 View Post
I didn't modify any season passes lately
Same here.
fasTLane is offline  
 
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |