TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2008, 09:10 AM   #1
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
6.4a is here

Checked the MFS of my Hughes SD-DVR80 and noticed that software version 6.4a-01-2-151 has been sent over the satellite. Have not seen mention of this or any discussion yet. It could be the update with the online scheduling, but I don't know.

Superpatch people please get working on this one! I want to try the slicer on this...

http://www.dvrplayground.com/article/13324/
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 01:02 PM   #2
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,015
Hmmm. This may be the release we've been waiting for to provide Remote Scheduling and some other promised features.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 01:11 PM   #3
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
dcstager, check your pm..
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 01:14 PM   #4
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,087
I have it on one of my units too
I wonder if (please please please) they put the HMO code back?
If it's there I'll upgrade both of my units. If not, I'm sticking on 6.2a
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 01:33 PM   #5
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
I haven't updated yet -- it's just there in the MFS. I am using 6.2a which is hacked with everything and running flawlessly so I don't want to change it. I use the MRV feature frequently, so I don't want to risk losing that.

If Tivo Desktop worked on it, I'd upgrade for sure. I'm not interested in pulling things off of it and burning DVDs -- I want to be able to put things on it and watch things on the Tivo.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 01:58 PM   #6
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,087
Mine is just in mfs too holding off on installing.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 03:17 PM   #7
schaeferp
Happy Man
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 63
Does this have the recently deleted folder?
schaeferp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 03:59 PM   #8
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Some interesting things in there..
like the new '/tvlib/tcl/apg/GenRemoteRecordingData.tcl' script and some additions to '/tvlib/tcl/tv/DbEnum.tcl' for additional wireless security settings. Probably just leftover from the SA sw line this was split from.

Last edited by T1V0 : 05-17-2008 at 11:23 PM.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 04:08 PM   #9
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,466
Well, I can't imagine that Tivo would release that kind of software.... MRV and Tivo Desktop that works with D*.... unless D* were going to place nice with them.

It kind of defeats the point of having Real Tivo over DTivo.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
I haven't updated yet -- it's just there in the MFS. I am using 6.2a which is hacked with everything and running flawlessly so I don't want to change it. I use the MRV feature frequently, so I don't want to risk losing that.

If Tivo Desktop worked on it, I'd upgrade for sure. I'm not interested in pulling things off of it and burning DVDs -- I want to be able to put things on it and watch things on the Tivo.

magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 04:10 PM   #10
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by schaeferp View Post
Does this have the recently deleted folder?
Looks like it :
Code:
bash# strings tivoapp | grep Deleted
/atlas_nowplaying/ui/NowPlaying/TvNowPlayingDeletedProgram.brf
34TvNowPlayingDeletedProgramDocument
/atlas_nowplaying/ui/NowPlaying/TvNowPlayingScreen_DeletedGroup.brf
39TvNowPlayingScreen_DeletedGroupDocument
atlas_nowplaying:TvNowPlayingDeletedProgram
22SiDocumentScreenPluginI13TvAtlasScreen34TvNowPlayingDeletedProgramDocumentE
40TvNowPlayingItemCellCreator_DeletedGroup
NowPlaying:DeletedGroup
NowPlaying:DeletedProgram
atlas_nowplaying:TvNowPlayingScreen_DeletedGroup
31TvNowPlayingScreen_DeletedGroup
14SiScreenPluginI31TvNowPlayingScreen_DeletedGroupE
also :
Code:
bash# strings tivoapp | grep Undeleted
Undeleted by user
Undeleted by user
Undeleted by service
this looks very much like similar strings found in 9.x software on my SA boxes.

Last edited by T1V0 : 05-17-2008 at 04:17 PM.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 04:11 PM   #11
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnus View Post
Well, I can't imagine that Tivo would release that kind of software.... MRV and Tivo Desktop that works with D*.... unless D* were going to place nice with them.

It kind of defeats the point of having Real Tivo over DTivo.
I agree. A cursory glance at the software suggests that the only new features are the ones that were formally announced. I can't verify whether or not these things are actually activated yet, since I'm not upgrading either way.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:13 PM   #12
JimSpence
Just hangin'
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 30,448
Can I assume that this will be coming to my HR10-250 as well? Since it seems to be following the SD series 2 units.
__________________
Jim
JimSpence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:14 PM   #13
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
I'm willing to be a guinea pig here and do an upgrade to 6.4a via slicer for the benefit of the Tivo community. However, my unit is zippered and I'd like some assurance from Gunnyman or T1VO or someone knowledgable that the telnet, ftp, cron/fakecall stuff continues to run. I forget exactly what slicer copies and preserves. I realize the tivoapp will not be patched and the recordings will be encrypted and so on, but it's essential that the machine operate without the telephone connection.

Can anyone offer some reassurance on this to me?
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:31 PM   #14
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
tnlited (telnet daemon) is still in there and serial bash should definitely still work the same way. I have no idea what the slicer does or looks for since its source code isn't available, but this really shouldn't be much different than any other upgrade. the only issue I could forsee would be an incompatibility between the native usb drivers and a killhdinitrd'd kernel (similar to issues experienced by SA users when 8.1 first rolled out).

My recommendation would be to do a very simple manual upgrade to just retain serial bash first, minimizing the initial hacking, and giving a chance to poke around with less fear of something going wrong. that way if there is a driver incompatibility or something like that, the chances of having to pull the drive are greatly reduced. this can be done with as few as 5 or so commands. pm me if you want some assistance.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:47 PM   #15
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
During slicer, it prompts asking if you want to preserve the backported usb drivers. Obviously, this release has some network drivers of its own. If I preserve the backported drivers, the killhdinitrd'd kernel should still work, right? I'm wondering if the new software requires a new kernel to work with the new features? If it does install a new kernel in the upgrade, I think I'm going to be hosed here. I don't know how to patch the new kernel if one is installed and I'll have to do it before it reboots but after the slicer installs the upgrade. I'm breaking the "If it ain't broke don't fix it" rule big time here. My system has never been more stable or useful as it is now. But... I'm probably going to retire it soon anyway because the standard definition video is so obsolete and the HD looks so good.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:52 PM   #16
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
If I preserve the backported drivers, the killhdinitrd'd kernel should still work, right?
it should. that was the fix for 8.x users.
Quote:
I'm wondering if the new software requires a new kernel to work with the new features?
very, very doubtful. these things are usually controlled by tivoapp.
Quote:
If it does install a new kernel in the upgrade, I think I'm going to be hosed here.
that's why you (or slicer) replace the new kernel with the one you had been previously using before rebooting the box.
Quote:
But... I'm probably going to retire it soon anyway because the standard definition video is so obsolete and the HD looks so good.
agreed. that's why I don't have any active SD directivos any more.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 06:13 PM   #17
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by T1V0 View Post
the only issue I could forsee would be an incompatibility between the native usb drivers and a killhdinitrd'd kernel (similar to issues experienced by SA users when 8.1 first rolled out).
this does appear to be an issue. loading the 6.4a usbnet.o with a 7.2.2 kill'd kernel causes a crash. using backported drivers instead should work though.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 06:21 PM   #18
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
I'm pretty sure I have the 3.1.5 kernel on mine. I recall it had a problem with DHCP and I have to use static addressing. Since 6.4a has a full network configuration screen including wireless and encryption I'm just wondering if the old kernel will work with the new software's network features even if I retain the backported drivers.

I'm going to sleep on it. I can always re-image to 6.2a and the TV season is essentially just about over anyway.

I think I'm going to regret this...
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 06:26 PM   #19
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
I recall it had a problem with DHCP and I have to use static addressing.
DHCP seems to be broken in this release anyways, since dhclient and dhclient-script are missing just like in 6.3f.
Quote:
Since 6.4a has a full network configuration screen including wireless and encryption I'm just wondering if the old kernel will work with the new software's network features even if I retain the backported drivers.
I doubt it has an actual network screen (without modifications at least). Networking should be easily hacked in though. I highly doubt official networking will ever be present on these boxes.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 07:21 PM   #20
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,087
dstager
Thanks for guinea pigging for us
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 07:31 PM   #21
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
I'm watching Geraldo Rivera talking about Ted Kennedy and as soon as that's over, I'm going to force the update and report back. I'm sure it's a big nothing and I'll be re-imaging from scratch tomorrow. I hope CrashHD and/or the many others will look into creating a superpatch for this version. I'm prepared to be underwhelmed -- but I'll let you know. I read somewhere that you'll be able to use Tivo Desktop with this and enable/disable it at the Tivo site just like you do now with the standalone tivos. Something like that will be set up at the DirecTV site I think. A last gasp before the death of standard definition satellite.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 07:40 PM   #22
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,087
I'm sure the super patch diffs will be discovered quickly.
I just hope the HMO strings are back in
I doubt they are, but hey I can dream.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:11 PM   #23
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
Okay... 6.4a-01-2-151 has been installed and is working. Almost no visual difference at all to previous versions.

Under Now Playing there is a Recently Deleted folder so you can restore programs you previously deleted.

Under Channels, the channel list now looks like the latest standalone software. You have a channel list where you tag your favorite channels instead of a separate menu item where you pick your favorite channels and channels you receive.

Under Recording, there is now an option for Overlap Protection which can be enabled or disabled.

Under Audio there are some new choices about how to handle Dolby Digital which differ cosmetically from 6.2a

Under Phone, there is no network option or network setup screen at all.

MRV does not work anymore. I retained backported drivers and I can still telnet to it just fine.

The 30 second skip feature can be toggled on and off as usual with Select - Play - Select - 3 - 0 - Select.

I'm going to assume this is just a minor update/bug fix release - nothing major at all and it does not appear that the enhanced features promised by DirecTV as "coming soon" are in this software release.

Maybe this will fix some people's rebooting problems. Not much to be gained by the upgrade. Okay superpatch people, do your stuff.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:26 PM   #24
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,087
well of course MRV is gone, you aren't superpatched yet
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:46 PM   #25
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
I didn't think of that. One thing I'm going to need some immediate help with... fakecall.tcl does not work with this version. "fakecall failed" is the response when you try and run it manually. I noticed that after rebooting it a few times and re-running tweak.sh to make sure all was in order - turns out it isn't. I noticed that the last successful call entry on the system information screen didn't update. Not sure what may be wrong or if there is a newer version than what comes with tweak.sh. Oh boy.

Update: Alphawolf's fakecall.tcl from DDB works, so that's a relief.

Last edited by dcstager : 05-17-2008 at 09:58 PM.
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:08 PM   #26
Dkerr24
Lost in Big Bend
 
Dkerr24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Okla, USA
Posts: 2,450
6.4a... aka... beta test for our customers. Their motto must be 'Live on the edge, test in production'. lol
__________________
265 hour (Samsung 300gb) Samsung S4040R zippered, network enabled,
220 hour (WD 250gb) RCA DVR40 zippered, network enabled
Dkerr24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 11:14 PM   #27
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
I'm going to assume this is just a minor update/bug fix release - nothing major at all and it does not appear that the enhanced features promised by DirecTV as "coming soon" are in this software release.
No..this is the release talked about by Directv. The listed features were recently deleted folder, remote booking, and overlap protection. I know you seem to think Directv will enable networking/TTG for directivo's, but trust me, it will NEVER officially happen. EVER. PERIOD. They never stated it would be made available. This is probably the end of the line for directivo users aside from bug fixes.

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global...5yn3m00407402d
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 11:36 PM   #28
dcstager
1st Gen Tivo Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 557
How will the remote scheduling be implimented? Network connection or via dial in?
dcstager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 11:48 PM   #29
Blurayfan
Registered User
 
Blurayfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager View Post
How will the remote scheduling be implimented? Network connection or via dial in?
The remote booking is done over the SAT on DirecTV inhouse units. It may work through the SAT for TiVos too with this update.
Blurayfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:10 AM   #30
T1V0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDKingdom View Post
The remote booking is done over the SAT on DirecTV inhouse units. It may work through the SAT for TiVos too with this update.
That's certainly what it looks like. Delivering that information via the sat requires no customer interaction/troubleshooting, which saves directv time, money and human/technical resources. I highly doubt that DHCP functionality would have been broken (dhclient is removed) if networking were to be officially enabled.

Last edited by T1V0 : 05-18-2008 at 01:31 AM.
T1V0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |