TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2008, 06:33 PM   #1
joelkfla
Registered User
 
joelkfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orlando area
Posts: 96
Bright House Central FL now SDV?

BHN Central FL added a bunch of new HD channels (Discovery, Nat Geo, et al) and 2 new digital channels today, but they don't work with cablecards. Also, several old HD channels in the same channel range (Food and HGTV) no longer work. I called customer service, and after 15 minutes or so of research she said "No new HD channels will work with cablecards." She did not know about SDV, and there is no mention on their website of SDV or of any channels not working with cablecards (other than on demand), so I don't know whether they are actually on SDV or just blocked.

She made an interesting offer: they would trade my cablecard for a bare-bones digital box that "works like a cablecard"! She said it would have no remote control and no Navigator, but would be "controlled by my TV's remote." I tried to get more details, but she was not technical and could not tell me how it would work, but she said it would not work with a TiVo.

So it seems BHN CFL is actively trying to get their customers off of cablecards, and basically sticking it to TiVo users.
joelkfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:03 PM   #2
TiVoToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 92
Angry

Post on AVS Forum indicates that BHN CFL has made unannounced transition to SDV in order to provide all of the 50+ HD channels to be added during next 18 months. Don't it make you feel good that next month you will pay more for fewer channels than you had yesterday?
Crossing fingers that the USB dongle that will provide compatibility with HD/S3 TiVos will arrive quickly.
TiVoToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:13 PM   #3
bigdave2004
Registered User
 
bigdave2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoToo View Post
Crossing fingers that the USB dongle that will provide compatibility with HD/S3 TiVos will arrive quickly.
It would be in TiVo's best interest to get this out to us ASAP because it will start to make customers think twice about TiVo. I JUST got my TiVo HD and I was looking forward to these new channels and now this will I switch back to the cable co dvr, no, but it still sucks for them to do this.
bigdave2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:16 PM   #4
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,223
Hrm ... I wonder how long until BHN over here in the Tampa area does the same thing.

For now, I still receive those new HD channels on my S3 and THD.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:40 PM   #5
bigdave2004
Registered User
 
bigdave2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56
Wow, I'm really upset about this and I don't know who to be upset at. Am I mad at brighthouse for switching to SDV without telling anyone and breaking my new TivoHD or am I mad at TiVO for not seeing this sooner and releasing the dongle so I can see these new channels. I guess its a little of both. TiVo's record of CES thing isn't good, we saw the S3 in January and it didn't ship until how many months later..... Is there a beta program for the SDV dongle, I would rather deal with TiVo than brighthouse if its possible.
bigdave2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:37 AM   #6
jsnow789
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
For what its worth, the CSR at BHN I just spoke to was happy to lodge a formal complaint. I think everyone should do it. I also think you should send an email to our buddy Kevin Martin with the FCC and complain about BHN. You can reach him at KJMWEB@fcc.gov

eta: You can also email Greg Dawson at the Orlando Sentinel, he is the consumer reporter.

Last edited by jsnow789 : 02-02-2008 at 09:19 AM.
jsnow789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:32 AM   #7
cavalier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Angry

Oh son of a bleepity bleep!

Yep, just got off the phone with CSR at BHN. She found a memo that said essentially "BHN will be rolling out lots of new HD channels this year.... to do that we are using fantastic new SDV technology".. she stopped reading when I started groaning at SDV :P

I've lost Alton Brown in HD! The Mrs. has lost her HGTV HD fix!

Crappity crap crap!

Come on TiVo.. give me some SDV goodness, because your box won't let me just direct a cable box like I've done since forever...
cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:36 AM   #8
eabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 29
Yes, the channel lineup changes went into effect Feb 1, 2008 for Bright House, Central Florida. As for the speculation its about SDV, why is Tampa getting a change in channel lineup but retaining compatibility with cablecards??

Quote:
Originally Posted by windracer View Post
Hrm ... I wonder how long until BHN over here in the Tampa area does the same thing.

For now, I still receive those new HD channels on my S3 and THD.
Bright House Central Florida
Added HD Channels: Animal Planet HD, TLC HD, Discover Channel HD, Sci HD, National Geographic HD
Bad News: None of the new HD channels work on cablecards
Even Worse News: Food Network HD, AETV HD, History HD, HGTV HD have been removed from the cablecard lineup

Now only TNT HD, TBS HD, ESPN1 HD, ESPN2 HD, and Discovery HDT can be viewed on cablecards.

Can't do much with HD TiVo's any more, and we just bought a Series 3 for Christmas. This is looking like a bad investment.
eabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:57 AM   #9
Okeemike
Tastes like lemons
 
Okeemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 561
Thumbs down Boooo!!!!

Thanks to BigDave for clueing me in on this. I hadn't realized that we actually LOST functionality.

A quick search turned up this article which says the dongles will be ready in Q2 08. Not sure if it can be believed, but it is a ray of hope.

Another potential workaround is to go to pure IP, and push content to the TiVo once the new TTG desktop is released (in March, right?).
__________________
S3
HD
Series 2
Series 2 DT
Assorted other humans and animals
Okeemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:07 AM   #10
eitingon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
In Orlando here. Same issues as the others.

CSR: I just checked and those new channels do not work with cable cards.
Me: Can I talk to somebody to find out why
CSR: They are just going to tell you the same thing
Me: OK - still want to talk to somebody
CSR: Found a memo - new technology, sdv, blah blah blah

The only ray of hope was that the memo said the new channels are not compatible with cable cards AT THIS TIME...

Perhaps this is a hint of the dongle to come?
eitingon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:10 AM   #11
Okeemike
Tastes like lemons
 
Okeemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by eitingon View Post
Perhaps this is a hint of the dongle to come?
Your statement brings a question to my mind... is the dongle seperate from BHN, and just a 'plug and play' thing, or is it another piece of equipment that will need a tech to come out and install (we know how efficient that process can be).

I'm guessing that it requires a visit, as it would need to be addressable, but then again, I have absolutely no idea what I'm talking about (as per normal).
__________________
S3
HD
Series 2
Series 2 DT
Assorted other humans and animals

Last edited by Okeemike : 02-02-2008 at 10:10 AM. Reason: Too many noun markers!
Okeemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:23 AM   #12
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by eabu View Post
Added HD Channels: Animal Planet HD, TLC HD, Discover Channel HD, Sci HD, National Geographic HD
Bad News: None of the new HD channels work on cablecards
Even Worse News: Food Network HD, AETV HD, History HD, HGTV HD have been removed from the cablecard lineup

Now only TNT HD, TBS HD, ESPN1 HD, ESPN2 HD, and Discovery HDT can be viewed on cablecards.
Comcast recently added 14 new HD channels in our area (A&E, National Geographic, HGTV, Food Network, TBS, CNN, USA, Sci-Fi, The History Channel, Discovery Channel, TLC, Animal Planet, Comcast Sportsnet and Versus-Golf Channel), but unlike Brighthouse they were all done without SDV. This is in addition to the 17 channels that were already HD.

I'm curious if Brighthouse is doing this because the system there is not built out to 750MHz or if they offer more programming which requires greater bandwidth? I just checked the lineups on-line and don't see a huge difference in the line-ups.

Obviously, I'm hoping that Comcast doesn't go to SDV in our area anytime soon.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:02 AM   #13
jsnow789
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 29
The SciFi channel was dropped totally.

Everyone impacted by this should lodge complaints.

You should also complain to the Florida State Public Services Commission HERE!
jsnow789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:36 AM   #14
TiVoToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsnow789 View Post
The SciFi channel was dropped totally.

Everyone impacted by this should lodge complaints.

You should also complain to the Florida State Public Services Commission HERE!
You will get SciFi channel back as soon as your TiVo calls in. I filed a Lineup form with TiVo last night when I noticed that SciFi had not be moved to 69, just deleted. Got a response from one of their agents almost immediately which stated that they had been made aware of problem, and had made update to add SciFi to 69. I would get update next time the TiVo called in. I forced a connection, and sure enough, SciFi was added. So, this may not have been a BHN problem assuming BHN provided correct data.
TiVoToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:54 PM   #15
TiVoToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 92
Thumbs down BHN - Not Our Problem

Saturday, February 2, 2008

Dear [TiVoToo],

Thank you for your correspondence regarding your Bright House Networks service. We apologize that you are no longer able to receive HD channels through your TiVo device. While we do support the cable cards that we have provided you, we do not support the TiVo device itself and are unable to provide support for it. If you would like to continue using the HD service, we advise using the Cable Card directly in the television or obtaining one of our HD cable boxes so you can receive all of the channels and use our two-way functionality such as On Demand content. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us via email. Thank you for taking the time to write to us and have a good day.


Sincerely,


Jonathan - 3976
Electronic Support Specialist

The Bright House Networks Customer Care Team

Central Florida Division

************************************************************ ****
Original Message Follows: ------------------------

REQUEST INFORMATION
Subject: Provide Feedback to Bright House Networks
Category: Concern - Complaint
Submission Date: 2/1/2008 9:32:58 PM
Description:
I want to voice my dissatisfaction with the recent lineup change. I own a TiVo Series 3 DVR. I subscribed to your digital tier specifically for the availability of HD content that could be watched and recorded on this DVR. Because of the unannounced switch to SDV (with which the CableCards in my TiVo are not compatible), I now not only cannot receive the new additions to the HD lineup, I can no longer receive some HD channels that I received yesterday. I'm really not happy that I will be paying more next month for fewer channels than I had yesterday! If I'm going to get less, I think I should be paying less.


CUSTOMER INFORMATION
Customer Name: [TiVoToo]
TiVoToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 03:56 PM   #16
notnow117
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 37
response from Bright Houser

I complained to Bright House about the SDV issue, and the response I received didn't seem accurate. They told me that alot of cable providers are using SDV and it works fine with cable cards, and that problem was actually with the TiVo. I was under the impression there were no cablecard 2.0 devices, and that every cable card device would have these problems. Also, they didn't acknowledge my primary complaint, which was that they made these changes without any notice. The cable card FAQ on their website still doesn't mention SDV or the inability to receive certain HD channels.
notnow117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 04:00 PM   #17
therlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 55
I just got this email from BHN:

Quote:
Thank you for your correspondence regarding your Bright House Networks service. We apologize but the problem can not be corrected by sending signals. The CableCARD will receive the signal fine but the TiVO is probably not recognizing the SDV (Switched Digital Video). TiVO plans to correct this with an update with a USB dongle from this article http://www.news.com/8301-10784_3-9823095-7.html . Bright House Networks does not support any third party manufacturers concerning your internet or cable services. Due to liability reasons, we cannot support any equipment or software that we do not provide. Please call the equipment or software manufacturer for support. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us via email. Thank you for taking the time to write to us and have a wonderful day.
So what I am understanding is that we need some USB dongle that won't be out for a few more months? So basically I'm being forced to give up my tivo for those months and go to one of their DVRs. That's infuriating.
therlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 04:12 PM   #18
notnow117
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 37
i was trying to convince them to give me an HD DVR for free until the dongle came out, but i didn't have any luck
notnow117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 04:21 PM   #19
eabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 29
Good try, notnow117. If you get something, deal me in.

With TiVO's favorable court decision in its patent lawsuit against Dish Network's DVR, maybe TiVo can get rid of all the cable companies proprietary DVRs. Would cable companies then care about and SDV USB dongles? I still don't understand why hard wire cable companies are monopolies in each region.
eabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:27 PM   #20
rickmeoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 417
just spoke with "lucas" at tivo, asking about when tivo might have a possible solution for this. he seemed very unconcerned, and said that theyre 'currently working on something and hope to have it available by this spring.' said there was no guarantee that it would be ready by then.

to say the least, he wasnt very reassuring. we have a brand new tivohd, and ill return it rather than go through this kindve crap after spending about $500.

hopefully, this doesnt spread to the tampa bay area soon.....
rickmeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 10:41 PM   #21
bigdave2004
Registered User
 
bigdave2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56
From the BHN cable card thread some of the HD channel issue were resolved with new cards (I don't know why) has anyone gotten brighthouse to schedule a tech to come out. My theory on this is that it works in Tampa, maybe the memo they are reading says they are switching to SDV "soon" and just tell anyone that asks that we've already switched so we can stop giving out cable cards. Just a theory.... This also puts off upgrading my THD as I don't need the space for new HD recordings

Last edited by bigdave2004 : 02-02-2008 at 10:56 PM.
bigdave2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 01:44 AM   #22
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronScott View Post
I'm curious if Brighthouse is doing this because the system there is not built out to 750MHz or if they offer more programming which requires greater bandwidth? I just checked the lineups on-line and don't see a huge difference in the line-ups.
That won't stop them. Cox in my area recently completed system upgrades to 1GHz yet still are rolling out SDV. Already 8 recent HD additions cannot be received by CableCard customers and any new digital channel added from here on our (SD or HD) will be reserved for SDV. The plans call to have 50 HD channels by end of this year and 100 by 2010, so SDV has to be an integral part of their plan, especially as most analog channels will remain.

It definitely seems like critical mass has been achieved with SDV now and the "tuning resolver" solution is overdue.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:55 AM   #23
therlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 55
BH is offering us a free HD receiver if we trade in our CableCARDs, however this is not an HD DVR.

If I want an HD DVR, I'd have to pay $6 for the box plus $9.95 for the DVR service, every month. I was hoping they'd waive the $6 charge since the original offer is for a free receiver, and that way meet me in the middle. But they didn't agree to that.

I figured that I can put up with a $10/month charge until the USB dongle comes out and then return to TiVo. But $16/month is more than I care to give to a company that just seems to give me headaches every month.
therlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 12:24 AM   #24
joelkfla
Registered User
 
joelkfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orlando area
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsnow789 View Post
You should also complain to the Florida State Public Services Commission HERE!
The PSC site says they do not regulate cable TV, and refers complainants to the FCC.
joelkfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:01 AM   #25
JWThiers
Smartypants
 
JWThiers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Posts: 2,611
And I bought 2 THD's Jan 30 and had the cable installation on Feb 2. That Explains why I don't get all the HD channels. Now if they could just make it so that CSPAN actually plays on either channel 97 or 195 instead of shopNBC I'll be happy. I don't think they got the install done right. Fortunately I am not getting an HDTV for a few months, so hopefully the SDV dongle will be out by then.
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people out there.
Those that understand binary and those that don't.
JWThiers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 09:13 AM   #26
bizzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 707
There's a form to report lineup changes and errors:
http://tivosupport2.instancy.com/LineUpForm.aspx

They seem to take anywhere from a week to three months to process these updates.
bizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 10:03 AM   #27
JWThiers
Smartypants
 
JWThiers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Posts: 2,611
Thanks for the link. I'm pretty sure its a setup/channel mapping issue not lineup error. The guide data shows it correctly and I tune to the correct channel number, it just shows the wrong station. I'll double check some to be sure but BH will be out this afternoon with new cards and redo the install.
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people out there.
Those that understand binary and those that don't.
JWThiers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 10:52 AM   #28
bigdave2004
Registered User
 
bigdave2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWThiers View Post
BH will be out this afternoon with new cards and redo the install.
Do you think this will let you see the new HD chanels or is this for another reason?
bigdave2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:03 AM   #29
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
FWIW, from what I have read from the Tuning Resolver Specs, it will be a cable provided piece of hardware.TiVo will have to do their part and write the interface software, and testing.

Since the spec was just released, I wouldn't expect Tivo to publically release software the Tuning resolver support until fall, at the earliest.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:50 AM   #30
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
Since the spec was just released, I wouldn't expect Tivo to publically release software the Tuning resolver support until fall, at the earliest.
The spec was just now officially released to the public, but don't you suspect that there have been lots of preliminary specs along the way that TiVo development and resolver vendors have been working with for a while now?
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |