TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2007, 12:20 AM   #31
BrianAZ
Back on the wagon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by precarious
Got the official letter in the mail from Cox Fairfax today: Switched digital starts October 16th with the offer of trading in my cablecards for a STB in order to continue receiving the channels I would be losing (nothing really important) and any new high definition programming that would be added after October 16th (very important). What a bummer!
Quote:
Originally Posted by precarious
Just got off the phone with a well-informed "customer loyalty specialist" from Cox Fairfax who told me which channels will go SDV effective on September 10th and which those of us with S3s using cablecards, will not be able to access as they will no longer receive a dedicated frequency.

157 - Nasa Channel
158 - Jewelry Television
159 - Cable Marketplace II
164 - CSPAN 3
223 - BET on Jazz
227 - Ovation
233 - AML - American Life TV
239 - CMP - Country Music Prime

All the PPV channels

All of the Spanish Language from 400-430
All other "Premium" foreign language channels from 271-276

Can you confirm that the channels going to SDV are the same the "customer loyalty specialist" mentioned? Also, I assume "All PPV" includes the sports package channels (MLB, NHL, etc)? I'm in Phoenix w/ Cox.. dreading this.

Hopefully we'll get a SDV solution before they start moving channels I care about.



Thx
BrianAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:04 AM   #32
boywaja
Splendid Isolation
 
boywaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Clifton, VA
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianAZ
Can you confirm that the channels going to SDV are the same the "customer loyalty specialist" mentioned?
Yes same channels
  • Pay per view channels including movies, events, sports packages and preview channels
  • Paquete Latino Tier
  • The following networks:
    CMT Pure Country
    NASA
    Jewelry TV
    Cable Market Place II
    American Life TV
    Ovation
    Cspan3
    BET JAZZ
    SBTN
    Bridges TV
    ART
    Zee TV
    TV Asia
    TFC (The Filipino Channel)
  • Any future new channels added to cox digital cable
  • Any future channels added to cox hd

boywaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:38 AM   #33
cmonroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 73
Has anyone heard anything about Cox's Santa Barbara market? I purchased a TiVo HD and switched to cable a couple weeks back and couldn't be happier, I was impressed with how well the cable setup went and how knowledgeable my installer was while setting up a S/A MCard in my TiVo. So far everything is great but SDV concerns me. How far off are the SDV USB dongles? I've read all of the threads here but couldn't seem to get a rough estimate on the date.
cmonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 02:17 AM   #34
appleye1
Registered User
 
appleye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Back From The Other Side
Posts: 8,576
I was seriously considering a switch from DirecTv back to Cox Cable now that HD Tivos are fairly affordable. Glad I waited. Cable jackasses. It's crap like this that made me so glad to leave cable 11 years ago.

There's no sense in switching back now. Then again, they're supposed to be working a deal with Tivo right? Or is that vaporware?

I guess, as much as I hate to do it, I'll have to make the switch to the DirecTv HD-DVR pretty soon.
__________________
Mark
Save OTA TV!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Cut The Cord! 02/11 (OTA Hulu+ Netflix)
TiVo user since 12/99
Yamms:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
appleye1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 02:44 AM   #35
cmonroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 73
Aside from potential SDV issues, Cox in Santa Barbara has been great so far, much better than DishNetwork who we had before. I really wanted a TivoHD but was unsure about the switch to cable. I tried it anyway and so far so good. Supposedly there will be a method (via USB dongle) for TiVo to communicate with the cable head end and work around SDV issues. I have not seen a date as to when this will be available, but there are tons of threads on it around here.
cmonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:15 PM   #36
BrianAZ
Back on the wagon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmonroe
Aside from potential SDV issues, Cox in Santa Barbara has been great so far, much better than DishNetwork who we had before. I really wanted a TivoHD but was unsure about the switch to cable. I tried it anyway and so far so good. Supposedly there will be a method (via USB dongle) for TiVo to communicate with the cable head end and work around SDV issues. I have not seen a date as to when this will be available, but there are tons of threads on it around here.

I don't believe there is any ETA on the dongle yet. From what I've read it looks as though they are pretty far along in concept.. but as for how close they are to actual distribution, that's anyone's guess. I say a little prayer each night that I'll wake up to a PM/thread from TivoPony announcing they're up for sale or asking if I want to beta test . Nothing so far... I'm still hopeful.
BrianAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 08:17 PM   #37
Timber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,592
I'm in NoVA, if Cox adds an HD channel that I can't get 'cos of SDV I'm switching to FIOS. Maybe I should anyway as I can bundle my cell and home phone.

Its not complex.

-=Tim=-
Timber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 08:48 PM   #38
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timber
I'm in NoVA, if Cox adds an HD channel that I can't get 'cos of SDV I'm switching to FIOS. Maybe I should anyway as I can bundle my cell and home phone.

Its not complex.

-=Tim=-
A large % of cable subscribers do not have FIOS option as of yet so not so easy for most.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 01:05 AM   #39
BrianAZ
Back on the wagon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj
A large % of cable subscribers do not have FIOS option as of yet so not so easy for most.

Exactly. I would jump to FIOS in a heartbeat if it was available. If the TivoHD worked for satellite, I'd make that move as well. I'm limited to COX unfortunately.
BrianAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 04:43 PM   #40
jcaudle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fairfax, Va
Posts: 214
They delayed this change until Oct. I got a letter from them this weekend. They are offering 3 free months of The SA 8300 DVR or 12 free months of a regular Digital STB for cable card customers. FIOS isn't in my area yet...where are you FIOS???
jcaudle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 05:13 PM   #41
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcaudle
They delayed this change until Oct. I got a letter from them this weekend. They are offering 3 free months of The SA 8300 DVR or 12 free months of a regular Digital STB for cable card customers. FIOS isn't in my area yet...where are you FIOS???
For once customers are happy they can't deliver something on time
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 07:26 PM   #42
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,574
ooh! theres a bargain. 3 free months of the SA 8300DVR. If they paid me $1000 a month to use that box I would still rather pay for my S3 and TiVoHD boxes to watch HDTV.
Maybe they will offer FIOS in your area soon. I just got it and Comcast doesn't come close to it, except for HD ON demand which FIOS doesn't have any yet.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 10:17 AM   #43
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
I got the letter yesterday.

I'm going to call and find out what forthcoming HD channels I will be missing. If they are any good, it might be worth it to have the free STB for a year.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 05:08 PM   #44
NoVASeries3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary
I got the letter yesterday.

I'm going to call and find out what forthcoming HD channels I will be missing. If they are any good, it might be worth it to have the free STB for a year.
Could you post what you find? Thanks. The only one I might be interested in is USA-HD, since Law & Order CI is moving there from next season.

What would really suck is if they start moving HD channels that are currently in the 700 range onto SDV. I suppose they can't legally move the networks, where most of my HD programming comes from, but they could move Discovery.
NoVASeries3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 10:25 AM   #45
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
Frick!

Frick!

Looks like some of the "what are we missing" will be the new HD simulcasts of Discovery Channel, TLC, Science Channel, and Animal Planet.

Cox doesn't name areas beyond "select," but this looks pretty solid, given the timing.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 09:55 PM   #46
NSPhillips
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 52
NFL Network HD was added today and is apparently the first HD SDV channel. i called tech support becuase "something's wrong with my cable cards" and the guy said they aren't allowed to send signals to them because "it could literally melt your TV."

The guy clearly had no idea about SDV and offered to set up an appointment for a technician. I told him I'd call back later.

Tomorrow I'll be calling customer service to ask for a discount on the sports and information tier since I'm not getting what I pay for. Next is the FCC.
NSPhillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 10:37 PM   #47
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSPhillips
NFL Network HD was added today and is apparently the first HD SDV channel. i called tech support becuase "something's wrong with my cable cards" and the guy said they aren't allowed to send signals to them because "it could literally melt your TV."

The guy clearly had no idea about SDV and offered to set up an appointment for a technician. I told him I'd call back later.

Tomorrow I'll be calling customer service to ask for a discount on the sports and information tier since I'm not getting what I pay for. Next is the FCC.

How much are your HD channels? I bet ou don't get a discount.
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 06:07 AM   #48
sooka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Does anyone from Cox in Fairfax know what (svc 4520 and svc 4523) mean next to channels 716, 717, and 718 under the column of service level? I don't think they have anything to do with SDV because in the official written communication from Cox that I received, ESPN HD and ESPN2 HD were not among the channels slated to be put on SDV after October 16th. Only new HD channels added after that date if i am not mistaken. Could it be just their own internal code
or something?
sooka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 07:30 AM   #49
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
NFL-HD: Switched?

Is anybody here getting the NFL HD network that was added last week?

I guess I mean that in two ways. 1) Does anyone here subscribe to the Sports package, entitling you to receive NFL-HD. And 2) if so, are you actually receiving it?

I'm trying to figure out if it really is switched as that Cox letter ominously threatened.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 08:02 AM   #50
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSPhillips
NFL Network HD was added today and is apparently the first HD SDV channel. i called tech support becuase "something's wrong with my cable cards" and the guy said they aren't allowed to send signals to them because "it could literally melt your TV."
I wonder if he meant "literally" as in "my jaw literally dropped to the floor"...
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 04:44 PM   #51
hokiethang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Herndon, Virginia
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary
Is anybody here getting the NFL HD network that was added last week?

I guess I mean that in two ways. 1) Does anyone here subscribe to the Sports package, entitling you to receive NFL-HD. And 2) if so, are you actually receiving it?

I'm trying to figure out if it really is switched as that Cox letter ominously threatened.
1. Yes, I am subscribed to it.
2. I don't actually get to use it.

If I could get FIOS I'd be gone by now... :-\
hokiethang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:34 PM   #52
sooka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary
Is anybody here getting the NFL HD network that was added last week?

I guess I mean that in two ways. 1) Does anyone here subscribe to the Sports package, entitling you to receive NFL-HD. And 2) if so, are you actually receiving it?

I'm trying to figure out if it really is switched as that Cox letter ominously threatened.

1.) Yes, I subscribe to the sports tier.
2.) No, I can't tune it in (black screen). I have cablecards and was told by Cox that this new channel was indeed switched and not available to anyone with cablecards in the Cox Fairfax area.
sooka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 07:23 PM   #53
boywaja
Splendid Isolation
 
boywaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Clifton, VA
Posts: 2,872
1. No I don't subscribe to the digital sports tier
2. yes, my SA8300 gets NFL HD just fine. They apparently put it with the HD channels like with the National Geographic HD channel (I don't get the SD version of National Geo since its in a digital tier as well).
no, my TiVo Series 3 does not get NFL HD.
boywaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:22 PM   #54
rlabbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
I just subscribed to Cox last week, and received a Tivo HD this week, not realizing that we were facing this SDV issue. Could someone confirm for me which of the HD channels (700 range) that the Tivo can receive with the CableCards. I'm assuming the major networks are still available, but I don't know which of the channels I currently receive with the set top box were added since this change. I'm struggling with whether or not I want to keep the Tivo or return it.
rlabbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 07:00 AM   #55
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
As of now, you only won't get NFL-HD.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 04:10 PM   #56
rlabbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Okay, thanks, guess I don't need FoodHD as much as I need my Tivo.
rlabbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:41 AM   #57
Revolutionary
Too sleepy for TV...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 575
D-Day is upon us.

Cox has launched 11 HD channels (History, Science, Animal Planet, Discovery, TLC, Food, HGTV, NHL, CNN, Versus, and TBS). I was already at work by the time I saw the announcement, so I haven't looked for them on my S3. But I doubt I would have found them anyway.

Someone want to confirm.
__________________
"Mmm... forbidden donut."
Revolutionary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 08:05 AM   #58
milo99
Registered User
 
milo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 2,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary View Post
D-Day is upon us.

Cox has launched 11 HD channels (History, Science, Animal Planet, Discovery, TLC, Food, HGTV, NHL, CNN, Versus, and TBS). I was already at work by the time I saw the announcement, so I haven't looked for them on my S3. But I doubt I would have found them anyway.

Someone want to confirm.
i'll check when i get home. according to the website:
http://www.cox.com/fairfax/digitalcable/hdtvrates.asp

they're live... no mention of SDV or not of course...

eta: well, of course, except for this little disclaimer at the bottom:
"Televisions and other consumer owned devices equipped with a CableCARD may require a digital set top receiver in order to receive all programming options offered by Cox Digital Cable."
milo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:45 AM   #59
boywaja
Splendid Isolation
 
boywaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Clifton, VA
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revolutionary View Post
Someone want to confirm.
The channels are live on my SA8300. The channels don't exist on my series 3.
boywaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:49 AM   #60
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by milo99 View Post
i'll check when i get home. according to the website:
http://www.cox.com/fairfax/digitalcable/hdtvrates.asp

they're live... no mention of SDV or not of course...

eta: well, of course, except for this little disclaimer at the bottom:
"Televisions and other consumer owned devices equipped with a CableCARD may require a digital set top receiver in order to receive all programming options offered by Cox Digital Cable."
FYI even though Cox Orange County has not yet deployed SDV they do have short term plans to do so and as a result recently added HD channels are not showing up for CableCard customers (they are for Cox Motorola digital boxes). Future channel additions will not be available to CC customers either since they are all planned to be under SDV umbrella.
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |