TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2007, 10:41 AM   #1
suzyq
Gettin' my mojo back
 
suzyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,077
Help Please - Poor reception on random channels

I need some help. All of a sudden we are having issues with some of the higher numbered channels. There are a few stations that are completely unwatchable because of the signal breakup. Our local channels, and really it seems anything under channel 100 is ok, anything above channel 100 is subject to have problems. 290 and 291 routinely have problems, and up until a couple of weeks ago, those were fine.

We have had DTV for 4 years now and haven't had any signal problems except during a really bad storm, where we'll lose signals on both tuners, but will regain reception very quickly after the storm passes. We have a Hughes DirecTivo receiver, a dual line dish and a multiswitch with four lines - 2 to the Tivo, one each to two additional receivers. One of the additional receivers is not active any longer and one rarely gets used, but both cables are still hooked up to the multiswitch. The multiswitch is grounded to the ground bar in my electric box.

Last night I checked signal strengths on the transponders, but I have no idea what I'm looking for. It defaulted to transponder 23 and 23 only had high 70's low 80's readings. One transponder had no signal (I don't remember which one - maybe 29?), and the readings for the others were all over. What should I be looking for when I check signal strength on the transponders?

What else can I be doing to determine if my problem is related to the position of the dish, trees, the multiswitch, my unit or something else? Thanks!
suzyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 01:26 PM   #2
ADent
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,095
The local channels (under 100) tend to be a stronger signal.

Certain transponders are used for locals and you will not get any signal on other cities locals (ie if you are in Chicago, you will get no signal for the transponders used for Indianapolis locals).

The main transponders should be 80s or above.

Sounds like your dish moved or you have a cable going bad.
ADent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 02:24 PM   #3
suzyq
Gettin' my mojo back
 
suzyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,077
Ok, so what troubleshooting steps do I need to take? I've read that I should get a F/F adapter and take the multiswitch out of the picture. What can I do to tell me if my dish moved? What can I do to determine if it's a bad cable? I just don't know enough about this and it's driving me crazy to have channels that are so pixellated that I can't watch them.
suzyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 05:20 PM   #4
DevilDogs
Steeler Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 59
Does this happen on both tuners, or just one? If it is just one tuner, it is my guess it is tuner #2. If so, I bet you have an HDVR2, and you should read these threads:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=333631
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=356379
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=362298

It seems to be a common (and growing) problem, with a temporary fix.
__________________
Series 1 Phillips Lifetime
HDVR2 DirecTivo
Both upgraded to 120GB drives
DevilDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 09:34 PM   #5
dtvtivouser_9292
cfc62
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
Also, you can step through all of the transponders. Just get over to the transponder number and go up or down.

I agree, sounds like the dish may have moved just a bit. The locals will generally have the highest signal strength.
dtvtivouser_9292 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:45 AM   #6
suzyq
Gettin' my mojo back
 
suzyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,077
I do have a HDVR2 and I suspect it is Tuner 2, but will need to do a little more testing. This morning - a beautiful clear morning - we were getting little blips of the Searching for Signal on Sat2 message. And, Sat2 is always the first one to go in a rain storm...does that make sense?

Here's something weird though - when I got home last night I put the main TV (HDVR2) on 290 and of course, it was pixellated. So, I went downstairs to see what 290 looked like on a different unit in the house (Samsung non Tivo unit). But, when I typed in 290, it went to 290, the info bar said 290 but had no program info, and what was playing was CNBC. Other channels corrsponded just fine, but 290 which should have been Disney, was CNBC.

I hope to do a little more investigating this weekend. I bought the F/F connectors so that I can bypass the multiswitch to see if that is the problem. I'll make sure to check out all of the transponders to see which ones are reading low and if it's tuner 1 or tuner 2. I'd really like to get the HDVR2 on a pixellating channel and get the Samsung on the same channel to see if it's doing it too. If it is, I'd be right to assume that my dish has moved or my trees have grown, right?

Thanks for all of your help everyone!
suzyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 05:17 PM   #7
milo99
Registered User
 
milo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 2,866
count me in as someone who has this problem w/ the HDVR2. it really is like a light switch- as soon as i unplug the s-video, tuner 2 works. had it on the test signal strength screen to test it out...
milo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |