TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2007, 07:59 PM   #1
tzikeh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 11
Hughes unit failing? (pixelation and jumpiness on certain channels only)

I have the Hughes DirecTiVo unit - I think mine's about five years old. Recently, programs on TLC, TNT, CBS, and HBO have been randomly pixelating, sometimes quite a bit, or jumping ahead several frames at once, or the picture gets really pixelated and jams, stuck in place. There are plenty of other channels, though, where this never happens.

My roommate has a DirecTV unit that isn't the DirecTiVo, and none of this is happening on those channels on her tv, so it has to be the DirecTiVo unit itself. I've had DirecTV repairmen out twice now, and they tell me there's nothing they can do, the unit is obviously busted, and do I want to buy a new DirecTV unit with their proprietary DVR? (HELL NO.)

It can't be the hard drive, because then it would be randomly spread across all channels. It can't be the dish, because it never happens on my roommate's tv.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'd like to have this fixed by the time the fall premieres roll around.
tzikeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:59 AM   #2
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,017
Try swapping your Tivo with your roommate's. Perhaps there's a problem with the coax feeds to your room.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 02:44 AM   #3
Marc
Now Legally Married
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: McMurray, PA
Posts: 11,910
TC CLUB MEMBER
I have a Hughes HDVR2 that's suffering from the periodic pixelations that are caused from some sort of electronic problem, most notably in conjunction with the S-Video connection that causes a recurring drop in one of the input tuner's satellite signals.

When checking the satellite signal strength, I'll see both tuners in the 90's and then one will drop to 0 and back up to where it was before. If I swap the cables, the drop happens on the same tuner (it doesn't follow the cable).
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 12:22 PM   #4
DevilDogs
Steeler Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 59
I had a similar problem. See this thread:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=356379
DevilDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |