TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2007, 10:20 AM   #361
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady
The AV input and what looks like IR/Serial ports (ala Series2) is very interesting indeed. If the 3rd SATA port is for a DVD burner, then perhaps the AV input could be used to import content not only as regular TiVo content, but also to burn to disc. With the IR/Serial, one could control a regular STB, but I don't see why you would want to.
VOD/SDV?

There is definitely a lot more here than meets the eye. Lots to figure out. Very stimulating.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:22 AM   #362
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
Does the lack of Broadcom chips represent a major departure from TiVo being a Broadcom shop? How much software work went into making this move?
They are still using the same basic Broadcom MIPS CPU. Based on Broadcom's performance claims, the MIPS CPU in the TivoHD is about 7% faster than the one in the Series3, but aside from that they're virtually identical.

They'll "just" be using drivers for the new encoders and ATI tuners rather than drivers for the Broadcom encoders and Samsung tuners.
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:27 AM   #363
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by aindik
Multi-Service Discount with a three year agreement. (I have a Series 2 TiVo with lifetime service).
Ah, ok, that makes more sense, I wouldn't qualify for a multi unit discount.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:27 AM   #364
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
Now let's send Dave to Picture Taking of Review Unit Guts school.
I knew Mega would have it covered.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoHokies!
If the unit was designed so long ago, why were there a 6 month gap in between when Tivo announced they were "working on it" to release?
TiVo told me they began designing this new model 14 months ago. I assume they didn't announce it because they didn't want to kill S3 sales. As it is, S3 sales have probably stalled in the last month with all the TiVo HD leaks. I don't know why anyone would buy an S3 going forward. Well, until TiVo starts offering some blow-out prices (speculation) to clear their inventory maybe before the holidays.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:31 AM   #365
aindik
Registered User
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 27,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2
Ah, ok, that makes more sense, I wouldn't qualify for a multi unit discount.
That's my fault for assuming that most people here already have a TiVo.
aindik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:04 AM   #366
audio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 16
This may be an odd question.

This box does record analog and digital cable as well as analog and didgital OTA.

Given this, could the box function without CableCards, ie, with just basic cable and OTA?

Most of the HD programming I watch is OTA anyway. Given the problems with SDV, as long as it can function the same as my Series2, with the added bonus of OTA HD, this will be well worth the cost of upgrading.
audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:07 AM   #367
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,894
My Series3 box worked great for weeks without cablecards, only recording basic cable and OTA. I don't see why the new box would behave any differently.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:29 AM   #368
chandler1818
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 60
So, when S3 dies (which is a pretty safe assumption based on what denny apparently said), my S3 will continue to receive all of the necessary upgrades because it is based on the same architecture as the new tivo hd? I would hate to eventually be shut out of any new features. . .
chandler1818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:36 AM   #369
20TIL6
BaDoop BaDoop BaDoop
 
20TIL6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandler1818
So, when S3 dies (which is a pretty safe assumption based on what denny apparently said), my S3 will continue to receive all of the necessary upgrades because it is based on the same architecture as the new tivo hd? I would hate to eventually be shut out of any new features. . .
Certainly that is my view as well. Just because the S3 will probably no longer be sold after current inventory is depleted, it does not mean it is anywhere near end of life. Not by a longshot in my opinion.

I have two S3's, and yeah, I spent some coin. But for TiVo as a company, I'm thrilled about the new, less expensive unit. I'll be adding one of the new ones to my home.
20TIL6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:47 AM   #370
chandler1818
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 60
20TIl6, I hope that is not just wishful thinking on our part.
chandler1818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:48 AM   #371
blips
Registered User
 
blips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by aindik
Multi-Service Discount with a three year agreement. (I have a Series 2 TiVo with lifetime service).
My dad has a Series 1 with lifetime. Would he qualify for the Multi-Service Discount?
blips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:55 AM   #372
SugarBowl
Roamio Plus
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by blips
My dad has a Series 1 with lifetime. Would he qualify for the Multi-Service Discount?
as long as the lifetime tivo has called in to Tivo once in the last 180 days.
SugarBowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:57 AM   #373
blips
Registered User
 
blips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarBowl
as long as the lifetime tivo has called in to Tivo once in the last 180 days.
Great! He is sold his house and is moving to a new one in August. He took it down in May. Hopefully it made successful calls up to that point.
blips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:59 AM   #374
Adam1115
20,000!!!
 
Adam1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver ish
Posts: 23,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoHokies!
Do you have any actual evidence to back up that wild claim? If the unit was designed so long ago, why were there a 6 month gap in between when Tivo announced they were "working on it" to release?

If you're going to make outragous statements like this, you may want to supply some form of evidence.
My wild outrageous (outragous??) "claim / statement" was simply an opinion. But, I based it on my knowledge of how long it takes to redesign electronics, circuit board, put them through testing, have them certified (fcc, etc.) That takes more than a few months in any industry I've worked in, so why is it so wild and crazy to think that it's been in the works all along? The series 3 has only been out for 10 months, you think they just thought of this 6 months ago?

There have several comments from people that have said they heard first hand from TiVo that this was in development before the Series 3 shipped.
__________________
-----------------------------
Check out my (mostly) IT blog!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Adam1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:28 PM   #375
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1115
There have several comments from people that have said they heard first hand from TiVo that this was in development before the Series 3 shipped.
This doesn't seem unreasonable to me, in fact I would guess that their next release is in development know. The issue I think some had was your previous post made it sound like you believed this unit was ready last fall and TiVo held it back waiting for the current Series 3 to sell out. I find that highly unlikely.

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:37 PM   #376
20TIL6
BaDoop BaDoop BaDoop
 
20TIL6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by chandler1818
20TIl6, I hope that is not just wishful thinking on our part.
I'm not worried at all.
20TIL6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:27 PM   #377
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio
Given this, could the box function without CableCards, ie, with just basic cable and OTA?
Yep, that's exactly how I tested it.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:30 PM   #378
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz
I knew Mega would have it covered.

TiVo told me they began designing this new model 14 months ago. I assume they didn't announce it because they didn't want to kill S3 sales. As it is, S3 sales have probably stalled in the last month with all the TiVo HD leaks. I don't know why anyone would buy an S3 going forward. Well, until TiVo starts offering some blow-out prices (speculation) to clear their inventory maybe before the holidays.
nice write up dave adn Megazone.

I still think what everyone is missing here is TiVo's desire to make the two product lines on the same manufacturing line. analog market still has a lot of legs in it given the lack of any real competition in the analog market. However TiVo is not interested in keeping manufacting capability around the S2 line long term. So they design this motherboard and case so they can make either the Tivo HD or the S2 DT model from same basic parts. That is step 1 and means the DT changes in looks a little bit and we see the 540 version of the DT come to light. I think the leaked TCD653080 is about a model like that.

next may be the integration of parts from the two lines into one universal box? This one I am not so sure about. Why would I want to pay for IR blasters I would not use? why add to the cost of either box? The only change I can see Sat having in TiVo's strategy is if they do some deal with E* to settle the suit. Even at that I can not see E* opening up its box but instead working out dev deal on its existing hardware or some other integrated E* only box.

anyway glad to see TiVo thinking ahead with this box to future times. Nice work
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:36 PM   #379
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
Denny says they are working on not being resolution restricted. Sounds like another death match leading to a long wait to me.
no, that simply means that MRV/TTG will work ofr anything tha tis not recorded via an encrypted digital stream. so an open cable channel of HD or HD off the OTA is fair game and does not need any nod from cable labs. Denny went so far as to say anything without a broadcast flag which is interesting as well.

we know tivo told megazone directly that they are working on bringing MRV/TTG before the end of the year to the S3 and soon after to Tivo HD (most likely since they have to work to merge the Tivo HD code branch back in and get to one Os for the S3 and Tivo HD.

so any concerns about MRV/TTG is based on thinking about the old TiVo of years ago. Like you yourself said HDTiVo - this new box and its fast delivery time should have everyone saying hello to the new tiVo inc.
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:21 PM   #380
Mike20878
Jake & Adam's dad
 
Mike20878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gaithersburg MD USA
Posts: 1,015
How does the cableCARD work? Would there be some kind of cable/cord hanging down the front of the box? Or does a cableCARD just give you permissions to view content that still comes over coax?
Mike20878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:22 PM   #381
aindik
Registered User
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 27,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike20878
How does the cableCARD work? Would there be some kind of cable/cord hanging down the front of the box? Or does a cableCARD just give you permissions to view content that still comes over coax?
The latter. The Cablecard decrypts what comes over the coax.
aindik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:37 PM   #382
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1115
My wild outrageous (outragous??) "claim / statement" was simply an opinion. But, I based it on my knowledge of how long it takes to redesign electronics, circuit board, put them through testing, have them certified (fcc, etc.) That takes more than a few months in any industry I've worked in, so why is it so wild and crazy to think that it's been in the works all along? The series 3 has only been out for 10 months, you think they just thought of this 6 months ago?

There have several comments from people that have said they heard first hand from TiVo that this was in development before the Series 3 shipped.
Not at all. I'm not questioning the fact that Tivo didn't start working on this in January (thanks Dave for the 14 months, that puts us about 3-4 months before S3 shipped).

Saying that this was designed at the same time as the S3 is a whole different thing - not to mention completely wrong if Dave's information is correct, plus I'll bet some of the components used weren't available 2 years ago (which is when the S3 would have been designed). Presenting this as an "opinion" doesn't make it any less incorrect.

BTW, thanks for correcting my spelling mistake, I'm sure you've never made a spelling error ever.
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 04:19 PM   #383
Adam1115
20,000!!!
 
Adam1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver ish
Posts: 23,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoHokies!
Not at all. I'm not questioning the fact that Tivo didn't start working on this in January (thanks Dave for the 14 months, that puts us about 3-4 months before S3 shipped).

Saying that this was designed at the same time as the S3 is a whole different thing - not to mention completely wrong if Dave's information is correct, plus I'll bet some of the components used weren't available 2 years ago (which is when the S3 would have been designed). Presenting this as an "opinion" doesn't make it any less incorrect.
Forgive me, I meant to say "Planned" at the same time not designed. I agree, they designed the original Series 3 first.
__________________
-----------------------------
Check out my (mostly) IT blog!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Adam1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 04:39 PM   #384
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam1115
Forgive me, I meant to say "Planned" at the same time not designed. I agree, they designed the original Series 3 first.
OK, gotcha - that makes a lot more sense.
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 05:52 PM   #385
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by vman41
Where are going with dropping any 'series' designation in the model name? Do they not expect an eventually replacement for the TiVo HD? The 'Series 2' moniker seemed to cover a fairly broad range of models, but they don't want the new unit considered as a series 3.
Branding. The unit is still a Series3 - even has the logo on the lower front panel. But 'TiVo HD' is definitely a catchier brand for marketing. It tells you right in the name what it is - TiVo in HD. 'Series3' doesn't do that - only people who already know TiVo nomenclature know S3 means HD.
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 05:53 PM   #386
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevereis
The Philip 7138's are not MPEG encoders, just analog to digital converters (encoders) for both the video and audio:http://www.nxp.com/acrobat_download/...7/75015903.pdf
Interesting thing to note is that they can accept 480p progressive component inputs (not that the new box has them).
Aha - things are getting clearer now. I went nuts trying to find specs on that chip and I never could, just a general note on utilization for the family of chips.

So it does look like the ViXS is doing the analog encoding.
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:02 PM   #387
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
You mention the platform taking over the S2, but with the cost of the design, I wonder if that's possible, or how it could be made to be so.
Time and economies of scale.

Component prices *always* drop with time. So they may not replace the S2DT this year, maybe early next year. But at some point the cost of the components will decline enough to make it worth while to garner the cost savings of eliminating the older design.

On top of that you get economies of scale. Building 100 each of two designs generally costs more than building 200 of one design. You can buy larger quantities of components and get better discounts. You get more efficiencies from the production lines.
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:14 PM   #388
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,569
So any word on Lifetime transfers?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:18 PM   #389
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
So any word on Lifetime transfers?
TiVo says they have no plans for lifetime transfers to the TiVo HD at this time.
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:46 PM   #390
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by megazone
TiVo says they have no plans for lifetime transfers to the TiVo HD at this time.
I guess I'll need to get one sometime later this year. Hopefully by then I'll be able to do a lifetime transfer.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |