TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2007, 11:16 PM   #1
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,883
Official TiVo HD thread

OK, I'm not a moderator, but how about we start a new official thread now that the TiVo HD is released?
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 11:34 PM   #2
ldc3000
Registered User
 
ldc3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 94
Tivo has it up on the front page.
__________________
Freedom Fighter
ldc3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:21 AM   #3
Mongoos150
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Still deciding between TivoHD and refurb S3. Probably will go with the HD though (and am sure people will be upping the internal HDD in no time)
Mongoos150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:30 AM   #4
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,883
http://www.tivo.com/whatistivo/tivo...ovr_PhotoToWhat

From TiVo's webpage: "Record movies in HD. When recording with TiVo HD, you have the option of capturing shows in standard or high definition."

Is that just a poorly worded sentence, or does the TiVo HD actually allow a HD->SD "down-rez"? This could be done to save space, but also get around the problem of TTG for HD material.
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:34 AM   #5
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeS
http://www.tivo.com/whatistivo/tivo...ovr_PhotoToWhat

From TiVo's webpage: "Record movies in HD. When recording with TiVo HD, you have the option of capturing shows in standard or high definition."

Is that just a poorly worded sentence, or does the TiVo HD actually allow a HD->SD "down-rez"? This could be done to save space, but also get around the problem of TTG for HD material.
Steveris has some ifo in the other thread. It might.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:36 AM   #6
yunlin12
Tivonation Citizen
 
yunlin12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,221
Does it have a DOCSIS modem built in?
__________________
ReplayTV 3000 (RIP)
Hughes HDVR2 DTivo (adopted by friend)
Tivo S2 Dual Tuner (Craiglisted)
Tivo S3 750GB (decommissioned)
Tivo HD 750GB (adopted by parents)
Tivo Premiere
Tivo Premiere XL
yunlin12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:38 AM   #7
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,760
Product Features:
Download thousands of movies directly to your TV**
Share home movies with your friends and family on their TV**
Get broadband videos, music and photos on your TV**
Schedule shows online**
Discover broadcast and broadband shows with universal Swivel Search**
Easily pre-approve what your kids watch with TiVo KidZone

**Multiple TiVo DVRs required. Each TiVo DVR requires own TiVo Service subscription.

Anyone Notice that? Is that MVR? TivoToGo? TivoBack?

Any comments?

TexasGrillChef

P.S.

It aslso says eSATA port will be available Late 2007.

I wonder if that means that the eSATA port on this unit is disabled, or that it is enabled like the S3, just not officially supported. Any Ideas?
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:39 AM   #8
ldc3000
Registered User
 
ldc3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 94
I wonder when the retail stores will get the Tivo HD units.

edit:

Looks like Best Buy has it.
__________________
Freedom Fighter

Last edited by ldc3000 : 07-24-2007 at 12:47 AM.
ldc3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:45 AM   #9
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,760
When I read further....

Are TiVoToGo and Multi-Room Viewing available on TiVo HD?

TiVoToGo and Multi-Room Viewing are not currently available on the TiVo HD DVR. We expect that a version of TiVoToGo and Multi-Room Viewing features will be made available for the TiVo HD DVR in the future.


TexasGrillChef
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:57 AM   #10
rjcrum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 37
And Business Week has an article out already: TiVo Targets the Mainstream
rjcrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:58 AM   #11
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeS
http://www.tivo.com/whatistivo/tivo...ovr_PhotoToWhat

From TiVo's webpage: "Record movies in HD. When recording with TiVo HD, you have the option of capturing shows in standard or high definition."

Is that just a poorly worded sentence, or does the TiVo HD actually allow a HD->SD "down-rez"? This could be done to save space, but also get around the problem of TTG for HD material.

That is correct it does, & so will our S3's when they do the update and add the TivoToGo &/or MRV features. That way you will be able to "Transfer" shows that are broadcast in HD although downsized.

TexasGrillchef
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:09 AM   #12
Neenahboy
Grad stud(ent)
 
Neenahboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 15,994
So no reassuring comments about SDV anywhere?
__________________
I'm collecting My Coke Rewards codes. PM me if you have any you aren't using.
Neenahboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:10 AM   #13
rjcrum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 37
I've been thinking about this a LOT since I first ready about this new TiVo HD yesterday, and I think this is what I have been waiting for to get rid of (FINALLY!) my Comcast/Motorola 6412 DVR. My gripes about the Motorola:

1. Limited storage space (the TiVo HD starts out with about 5 hours more, which is not really THAT much more, but with the promise of "late 2007" for external storage. I'll bet Comcast and Motorola don't have an answer)

2. No way to get the shows "off the DVR" (well, nothing right now with the TiVO HD either, but the promise of MRV and TTG in the not-too-distant-future.)

3. The annoying remote lag (I can only hope that the TiVo HD has the same sort of remote performance as my two Series 2s)

4. The OK-but-it's-not-a-TiVo menus and UI on the Comcast/Motorola box (I know people complain all the time about the Comcast UI, and I find it to be "OK"...but it's not a TiVo. It would be nice to have the richness of the TiVo UI)

5. Waiting for the TiVO-for-Comcast/Motorola UI (I was initially excited, but as the year has worn on, Comcast really lost my interest. Why not a REAL TiVO, rather than what I hear is the dumbed-down Comcast/TiVo.

So, although I might not buy immediately (waiting for a lifetime transfer offer!), I think one of these will be in my house by fall. Maybe I'll wait until the external storage is supported and buy the whole shebang at once.

Thanks, TiVo. You have a REAL competitor for the Comcast HD DVR now!

Bob
rjcrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:14 AM   #14
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neenahboy
So no reassuring comments about SDV anywhere?
I think TiVo has a "Don't ask, don't tell" policy about SDV, at least towards the consumer...
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:23 AM   #15
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasGrillChef
Product Features:
Download thousands of movies directly to your TV**
Share home movies with your friends and family on their TV**
Get broadband videos, music and photos on your TV**
Schedule shows online**
Discover broadcast and broadband shows with universal Swivel Search**
Easily pre-approve what your kids watch with TiVo KidZone

**Multiple TiVo DVRs required. Each TiVo DVR requires own TiVo Service subscription.

Anyone Notice that? Is that MVR? TivoToGo? TivoBack?

Any comments?
I noticed nothing about MRV/TTG was there. Maybe they added the ** later. (and of course the TiVo site is down right now - it wouldn't be TiVo otherwise. )

Anyway forget it, we've heard it all before. It ain't comin'.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:25 AM   #16
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
and of course the TiVo site is down right now(
No problems here.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:01 AM   #17
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcrum
I've been thinking about this a LOT since I first ready about this new TiVo HD yesterday, and I think this is what I have been waiting for to get rid of (FINALLY!) my Comcast/Motorola 6412 DVR. My gripes about the Motorola:

1. Limited storage space (the TiVo HD starts out with about 5 hours more, which is not really THAT much more, but with the promise of "late 2007" for external storage. I'll bet Comcast and Motorola don't have an answer)

2. No way to get the shows "off the DVR" (well, nothing right now with the TiVO HD either, but the promise of MRV and TTG in the not-too-distant-future.)

3. The annoying remote lag (I can only hope that the TiVo HD has the same sort of remote performance as my two Series 2s)

4. The OK-but-it's-not-a-TiVo menus and UI on the Comcast/Motorola box (I know people complain all the time about the Comcast UI, and I find it to be "OK"...but it's not a TiVo. It would be nice to have the richness of the TiVo UI)

5. Waiting for the TiVO-for-Comcast/Motorola UI (I was initially excited, but as the year has worn on, Comcast really lost my interest. Why not a REAL TiVO, rather than what I hear is the dumbed-down Comcast/TiVo.

So, although I might not buy immediately (waiting for a lifetime transfer offer!), I think one of these will be in my house by fall. Maybe I'll wait until the external storage is supported and buy the whole shebang at once.

Thanks, TiVo. You have a REAL competitor for the Comcast HD DVR now!

Bob
The eSATA from what I hear is in fact "Enabled" on this unit as it is "Enabled" on the S3. Just it won't be officially supported until they come out with their "BRANDED" Tivo eSATA drive.

TexasGrillChef
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:03 AM   #18
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Got it back... the spec page says
Quote:
**Broadband Internet connection required
http://www.tivo.com/whatistivo/tivoh...ons/index.html
Under the areas you quoted

and then I now find on the same page
Quote:
**Multiple TiVo DVRs required. Each TiVo DVR requires own TiVo Service subscription
Under the chart which has no ** in it.

No where is anything about transfers, MRV, TTG mentioned. Broadband video would be assumed to be from the internet.

Anyway its obviously confusing.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:24 AM   #19
bicker
Gruff
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 9,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neenahboy
So no reassuring comments about SDV anywhere?
Nope. As always, purchase consumer electronics at your own risk.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:30 AM   #20
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
I asked TiVo about SDV while doing my review - specifically in relation to the comments Tom Rogers made before Congress - but they don't have anything more to add to his comments at this time.

I get the feeling some kind of solution is being worked on, but it can't be talked about yet.
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:41 AM   #21
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasGrillChef

I wonder if that means that the eSATA port on this unit is disabled, or that it is enabled like the S3, just not officially supported. Any Ideas?
This will be the deal maker for me. I have a big Appian drive and didn't want to pull apart my Series 3 (already internally upgraded) to make it work.

Will the same key sequence work with the TivoHD?
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 08:03 AM   #22
Globular
No time to hack
 
Globular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Groton, MA USA
Posts: 199
Does anyone know if the Ethernet connection is gigabit? It doesn't say on the web site.

-Matt
Globular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 08:12 AM   #23
Marty1781
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 14
Please forgive the newbie question but I noticed on the feature list the Tivo HD says it supports M-cards. Does this simply mean we no longer need 2 cable cards or does it also means Tivo HD supports VOD from companies like Comcast, etc?
Marty1781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 08:19 AM   #24
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by megazone
I asked TiVo about SDV while doing my review - I get the feeling some kind of solution is being worked on, but it can't be talked about yet.
I have the same feeling, though I'm not holding my breath.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty1781
I noticed on the feature list the Tivo HD says it supports M-cards. Does this simply mean we no longer need 2 cable cards or does it also means Tivo HD supports VOD from companies like Comcast, etc?
The M-Card will allow you to dual-tune with just one card instead of two. M for Multistream. It doesn't support bidirectional services like VOD.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 08:22 AM   #25
b3ar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty1781
Please forgive the newbie question but I noticed on the feature list the Tivo HD says it supports M-cards. Does this simply mean we no longer need 2 cable cards or does it also means Tivo HD supports VOD from companies like Comcast, etc?
No VOD/PPV. There was a post with the license terms from CableLabs that was around here about 6 - 8 months ago, but basically TiVo is not allowed to use 2-way hardware in these devices until the son-of-OCAP (i.e., "OpenCable") license/standard is ready. This really means that we are looking for a "Series 4" to have a direct connection upstream. I figure about a year...
__________________
Welcome to Rivendell, Mr. Anderson

TiVo Premiere XL
TivoHD - 750GB (98 HD hours) - thanks, Spike2k5 and WinMFS!
b3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:12 AM   #26
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,240
No PPV meaning you can't order using the box, right? You can order over the phone, yes?
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:42 AM   #27
ChrisP21
Registered User
 
ChrisP21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Beech Grove, IN, USA
Posts: 10
I've been hanging on to my two Series 1 DirecTivos (DSR6000s) for a long time now, and I *was* waiting for the Comcast Tivo STB rollout to jump back to Comcast (I already/still use Comcast HSI for work). But the Tivo HD may make me jump sooner...

But I'm afraid that Comcast's support and installers, just as they've almost figured out how to handle dual single-stream CableCARD setup for the S3 boxes, are going to be thoroughly confused all over again now that we can get a single MCard for the Tivo HD boxes...

Anyone want to place a bet on how many new Tivo HD owners will get suckered by Comcast into paying extra for two CableCARDs per box? I may wait a little longer to see how that shakes out...

I'm also curious if the Ethernet is gigabit...
__________________
Own 2 Philips DSR6000s
"Tao?" "Nah, I prefer to air-dry..." -- Jerry Maguire
ChrisP21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:47 AM   #28
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisP21
But I'm afraid that Comcast's support and installers, just as they've almost figured out how to handle dual single-stream CableCARD setup for the S3 boxes, are going to be thoroughly confused all over again now that we can get a single MCard for the Tivo HD boxes...
Not all providers/regions may even be providing M-Cards yet. Which could add time/confusion to the learning curves of installers and phone agents. I didn't want to tempt fate and didn't even try to get one for my review unit, just went with OTA and analog cable.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:56 AM   #29
drew00001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasGrillChef
The eSATA from what I hear is in fact "Enabled" on this unit as it is "Enabled" on the S3. Just it won't be officially supported until they come out with their "BRANDED" Tivo eSATA drive.

TexasGrillChef
Acording to a Seattletimes.com article, the eSATA hack is not available on the TivoHD.

"The box has a fast eSata port but it won't work until TiVo provides a software upgrade. Creative Series 3 users have figured out a hack to add external drives, Denney noted, but the hack won't work on the TiVo HD."

The link is as follows.

http://blog.seattletimes.nwsource.co...ex.html#017547
drew00001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:11 AM   #30
mweiler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Shipping already?

I ordered mine this morning and I already have an email that it has been shipped w/ a UPS tracking number. Anybody else get this? Is this standard operating procedure for a preorder like this or is my box really on its way today?
mweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |