TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2007, 03:10 PM   #1
hybucket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 486
New TiVO Coming?

Swanni at TV Predictions says to expect a HD TiVO, probably within the next three months, for $299. The link is here, if this works...
http://www.tvpredictions.com/askswanni071207.htm
hybucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 03:12 PM   #2
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
He must read gizmodo, the blogs and this forum.
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 03:30 PM   #3
Mike Lang
Super Moderator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 5,484
I have all the info you guys need, I'm just not allowed to actually tell you any of it.
Mike Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 04:00 PM   #4
Kablemodem
Get the ketchup.
 
Kablemodem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 18,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang
I have all the info you guys need, I'm just not allowed to actually tell you any of it.
Just type it and you don't have to tell us anything.
Kablemodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 04:06 PM   #5
sandenurse
Registered User
 
sandenurse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 24
Big Grin just waiting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang
I have all the info you guys need, I'm just not allowed to actually tell you any of it.
OK, we'll be nice. Just tell us WHEN we will KNOW the specifics. Some of us have to talk with Santa.

Last edited by sandenurse : 07-13-2007 at 04:13 PM.
sandenurse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 04:54 PM   #6
Mike Lang
Super Moderator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 5,484
It'll be old news by the time Santa rolls around.
Mike Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 05:47 PM   #7
ncbagwell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 115
Mike - hearing anything on MRV/TTG/TTCB for the Series 3?
ncbagwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:06 PM   #8
ADG
Allan
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang
I have all the info you guys need, I'm just not allowed to actually tell you any of it.
Other than ego, why would you even bother to post something like that? If you have nothing to say, why not do just that?
__________________
Allan
Forum Admin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ADG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:15 PM   #9
Kablemodem
Get the ketchup.
 
Kablemodem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 18,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADG
Other than ego, why would you even bother to post something like that? If you have nothing to say, why not do just that?
I think he said a lot.
Kablemodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:16 PM   #10
Mike Lang
Super Moderator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 5,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADG
Other than ego, why would you even bother to post something like that? If you have nothing to say, why not do just that?
Just to see who would whine first.
Mike Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:27 PM   #11
bidger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 3,426
So, you recant?
bidger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:33 PM   #12
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lang
I have all the info you guys need, I'm just not allowed to actually tell you any of it.
That's OK, just create a new account with a new alias and blab to your heart's content.
__________________
Series3 Terabyte TiVo
jlib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 09:18 PM   #13
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncbagwell
Mike - hearing anything on MRV/TTG/TTCB for the Series 3?
So far, bad news...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADG
If you have nothing to say, why not do just that?

__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 09:53 PM   #14
wolflord11
Lord of Darkness
 
wolflord11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Madisonville, KY
Posts: 1,554
Maybe they will be offering a Series 3 for $299.99

BUT: Instead of paying $12.99 a Month for a 3 Year Commitment, they will charge $32.99 a Month.

As for MRV/TTG/TTCB, we have already been told its coming some time be it in 2008, 2009 or somewhere around there
__________________
Directv R15 DT
Philips DSR6000 DT Directv/TiVo
Directv D10 with S2 ST TiVo
TiVo Desktop on 4 XP Pro Computer Systems
wolflord11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 10:44 PM   #15
bidger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 3,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolflord11
Maybe they will be offering a Series 3 for $299.99

BUT: Instead of paying $12.99 a Month for a 3 Year Commitment, they will charge $32.99 a Month.
Let me be the first to say, f*$% that.

How about this, drop all the hoopla crap and just let me record live TV in HD (include ATSC because I'm not going back to cable) to view when I want. No TTG/MRV/TiVoCast/Live365/etc., sh*t I really had no use for when I had a standalone, and let me do it for $79.95 per year or less. Maybe then I'll be interested.
bidger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 11:52 PM   #16
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
He must read gizmodo, the blogs and this forum.
Yup.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 12:33 AM   #17
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz
Yup.
Where's my beer????????
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 01:14 AM   #18
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlib
That's OK, just create a new account with a new alias and blab to your heart's content.
Because a moderator breaking the rules (one login per person) would be right up there with hinting at (what one would think is, or at least should be if this is true) NDA protected information.
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:11 PM   #19
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
A major CE retailer was just notified that the new Tivo-lite will be in the store the week of August 5-12. It is currently named "Fusion", but will likely just be called Tivo HD. The specs on it are:

price: $299
source: Digital cable, digital antenna
NO THX certification
Dual tuner
Storage: 20 hrs HD, 180 hrs. SD
No front panel display
Standard remote

Support for SP, WL, KidZone, Online scheduling, Digital music player, Digital photo viewer, Home Movie sharing, Amazon Unbox, Univ Swivel Search

Both the S3 and Lite will have TTG and MRV PRIOR TO THE END OF 2007.


Based on this it seems the cost savings are:

1/2 the storage
No THX
Digital-only tuners
No front panel display
Standard remote (I assume this means the peanut)
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:20 PM   #20
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,895
So I won't be able to tune any of the analog cable channels? (Most of my SD cable channels are non-digital.) If I can't record the Sci Fi Channel or other basic programming, it's fairly worthless to me.

I don't care about THX or the silly display on the front. And I can install a larger hard drive any time I like, so they could sell it with a 10gb drive for all I care.
__________________
Roamio Pro (3TB)
Premiere Elite (2TB)
Premiere (320GB)
Two TiVo Minis

Left DirecTV 4/15/07. Left TWC 8/8/11. Now on Comcast Xfinity.
Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:39 PM   #21
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm01
Based on this it seems the cost savings are:

1/2 the storage
No THX
Digital-only tuners
No front panel display
Standard remote (I assume this means the peanut)
I'm sorry, but... WTF? No analog tuner? That doesn't make any sense. It can't be right.
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:42 PM   #22
cgould
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm01
A major CE retailer was just notified that the new Tivo-lite will be in the store the week of August 5-12. It is currently named "Fusion", but will likely just be called Tivo HD. The specs on it are:

price: $299
source: Digital cable, digital antenna
NO THX certification
Dual tuner
Storage: 20 hrs HD, 180 hrs. SD
No front panel display
Standard remote

Support for SP, WL, KidZone, Online scheduling, Digital music player, Digital photo viewer, Home Movie sharing, Amazon Unbox, Univ Swivel Search

Both the S3 and Lite will have TTG and MRV PRIOR TO THE END OF 2007.


Based on this it seems the cost savings are:

1/2 the storage
No THX
Digital-only tuners
No front panel display
Standard remote (I assume this means the peanut)
What's the benefit if the HDD is the same size as Motorola 6412 Comcast DVR, when by then the Moto box will run Tivo software also? (and can record analog cable channels, and handle SDV/PPV/VOD)?
OK, it does the network stuff, but... this seems to be kind of cross-marketing...?

90% of the benefit of S3 over the Moto box is the bigger HDD and stable interface. Kind of hard to justify $300 price over a free Comcast DVR...
I'm all for cheaper & more Tivo boxes, just seems a bit strange planning...

but the TTG/MRV news if true is very welcome indeed (and that WOULD make a big difference to getting a real Tivo Lite box vs Comcast box.)
cgould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:46 PM   #23
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeS
I'm sorry, but... WTF? No analog tuner? That doesn't make any sense. It can't be right.
I agree. That is the way it was presented, but I'm hoping that it was done in error. I know it would save money (not much), but it's hard to believe they would cut this.
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 05:02 PM   #24
DTG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lincroft, NJ, USA
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm01
Based on this it seems the cost savings are:

1/2 the storage
No THX
Digital-only tuners
No front panel display
Standard remote (I assume this means the peanut)I'm sorry, but... .

Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeS
WTF? No analog tuner? That doesn't make any sense. It can't be right.
I currently have Comcrap Extended Basic, and get every channel in digital except one very obscure PBS channel in analog. This did not increase my payment of about $40 per month, but is only available through a Cable card. And the quality is better than analog.

Since Comcrap wants to delete the analog channels, and probably will by 2010, this decision would eliminate one of 100 channels.
__________________
George
SA S1, S2 & S2 Retired
SA S3 750Gb, S3 250Gb & S3 250Gb all Lifetime
2 Premiers with Lifetime
.
DTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 09:12 PM   #25
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,895
Will it have an eSATA port on it for external storage expansion? The version on Gizmodo gave some indication that this "S3 Lite" might have Cable Card 2.0 support also.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 10:14 PM   #26
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Nice to see TiVo will be shipping the DVR I said 17 months ago they should make at the price I said 12 months ago they should charge.

More Signs of Lite
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 12:49 AM   #27
Kablemodem
Get the ketchup.
 
Kablemodem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 18,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTiVo
Nice to see TiVo will be shipping the DVR I said 17 months ago they should make at the price I said 12 months ago they should charge.

More Signs of Lite
I wouldn't give that blog much credibility since the author labels the S3 a fiasco, which couldn't be further from the truth.
Kablemodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 01:28 AM   #28
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kablemodem
I wouldn't give that blog much credibility since the author labels the S3 a fiasco, which couldn't be further from the truth.
From a financial perspective it probably is a disaster. Weak sales of the S3 certainly haven't helped Tivo.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 01:50 AM   #29
Justin Thyme
Contra sceleris
 
Justin Thyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickeS
I'm sorry, but... WTF? No analog tuner? That doesn't make any sense. It can't be right.
I agree- As many of us here know- a very large percentage of channels in the "Digital" tier are actually delivered in Analog. About 85% of the channels I record are analog.

So I think someone's imagination has gone off the deep end. They are guessing that analog is not necessary after the OTA shutoff. Not so- it is nearly 50% of the cable sub market. Total Analog.

If you want to watch analog on a big screen, the best idea is to either get an Algolith flea upscaler for $995 or get an S3, because the cable boxes just don't do the job.
Justin Thyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 01:50 AM   #30
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by hybucket
Swanni at TV Predictions says to expect a HD TiVO, probably within the next three months, for $299.
I'm amazed that anyone still bothers to read "news" from Swanni, one of the most clueless and pompous industry wannabe's out there.

Surprised that the hard drive is going to be smaller than 250GB - you would think Tivo would want larger capacity than the standard MSO DVR as a selling point, assuming they ever do a "Tivo to cable" comparasion chart.
jfh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |