TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2007, 08:48 PM   #1
spnewman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 42
Hard Drive from old PC

I have an old drive from a PC, I would like to use it in a Tivo. Is that possible to do using IC or MFS tools to make an image? The operating system is Windows XP on the drive now.

model Hdvr2
spnewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 10:11 PM   #2
JWThiers
Smartypants
 
JWThiers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Posts: 2,611
Yes. Cake is probably easiest or you can make an image from your current (if you have one) or beg an image from somewhere.
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people out there.
Those that understand binary and those that don't.
JWThiers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 02:07 AM   #3
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 12,009
MFSTools and InstantCake will reformat the drive with Tivo's file systems, so it doesn't matter what's on the drive now. Just be sure that it's as big or bigger than your HDVR2's current hard drive.
__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.5b)
HR20-700, HR20-100, HR21-200 HD DVR
AM21
HR10-250 HD DVR 400GB (v6.4a)
H21-200 HD Receiver
R10 DVR 160GB (v6.4a)
litzdog911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 08:18 AM   #4
spnewman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 42
Great, Thanks. It is 120Gig drive. The drive in the tivo died, so I don't think I can get that image off of there. When you say beg for one, where at?
spnewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 09:24 AM   #5
whitepelican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by spnewman
Great, Thanks. It is 120Gig drive. The drive in the tivo died, so I don't think I can get that image off of there. When you say beg for one, where at?
The easiest way to do it would be to grab the image that Drez posted on the other site. It's pretty idiot-proof. You could find it by Googling the terms "Drez ", "postcount" and "929". You might want to read his post about the image he created. The actual download link to grab it from is http://www.mediafire.com/?4knnm2jqoyr

Last edited by whitepelican : 09-17-2007 at 08:42 AM.
whitepelican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 08:20 PM   #6
kschauwe
Registered User
 
kschauwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 505
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by spnewman
Great, Thanks. It is 120Gig drive. The drive in the tivo died, so I don't think I can get that image off of there. When you say beg for one, where at?
You got Mail.
__________________
DirectTv since 11/96; DTivo since 11/04.
"If It's Not a Tivo, Then It's Just a DVR"
kschauwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2007, 11:43 AM   #7
Squeaky1680
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stoneville, NC
Posts: 11
I'm needing to do the same and need to "beg" an image as well. Where should I look? I'm a rookie at this. Have two Tivos that the drives have failed on and HD's to replace both with but need an image to put on them.
Squeaky1680 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 10:28 AM   #8
su_A_ve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitepelican
The easiest way to do it would be to grab the image that Drez posted on the other site. It's pretty idiot-proof. You could find it by Googling some terms like "62small " & "mfslive". You might want to read his post about the image he created. The actual download link to grab it from is http://www.mediafire.com/?4knnm2jqoyr
I had replaced a drive long ago with a bigger drive on an HDVR2. But that drive now failed and I can't find the original drive (else I would put it back or use it to make a new drive).

Is the above all I would need to format a brand new drive and slap it in there ? I dont' care about trying to restore what was in the failed drive.

Does anyone know if this has any hacks enabled on it or it's just the standard image clean image ?

TIA...
su_A_ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 12:23 PM   #9
whitepelican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by su_A_ve
Does anyone know if this has any hacks enabled on it or it's just the standard image clean image ?

TIA...
It's just a clean image. No hacks.
whitepelican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 06:05 PM   #10
loserboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Toshiba TX-RS20 Image

Tivo just crashed. Does anyone have a Toshiba TX-RS20 Image?
loserboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |