TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2006, 06:50 PM   #1
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
SECTV of NJ, anyone got cableCARDS from them?

We'll be moving to SECTV's service area in NJ and I was wondering if anyone had any experience with them, particularly with CableCARDS.

1. Do they offer them?
2. How much do they cost?
3. How well do they work with the Series 3? (I assume about as good as any cable provider)
4. Do they give you any trouble to get them and try to get you to rent their DVR?

This is an extension of my thread in HH where I asked about DirecTV and DISH. Cable is still a viable option, and maybe I can even get a S3!
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 06:54 PM   #2
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
By the way, I should clarify that it's this SECTV, not the other one.
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 09:23 AM   #3
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
Bump, no one???
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 09:53 AM   #4
minckster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manhattan NYC
Posts: 642
Download their Service Electric Tariff information at the bottom of this page . A quick search shows 1 mention of "card," with the first match being "Cable Card" (sic). That mentions a $125 (!) fee. Good luck!

Last edited by minckster : 10-18-2006 at 09:57 AM. Reason: Fix number of matches for "card"
minckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 12:20 PM   #5
propermodulation
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raj
Bump, no one???
Toll Free: 1-800-992-0132
propermodulation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 08:12 PM   #6
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
We bought a house. Closing tomorrow.

So I finally ordered service from SECTV today.

I figured I'd get a series3 since I wanted it anyway.

Had to pay (buy) $125 each for two cablecards plus the fees for the actual TV programming. It's excessive but I don't pay any monthly fees for the cards.
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
deeremj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sparta, NJ, USA
Posts: 40
Raj,

I have 3 s3 on Service electric, working as expected...the $125 each was a tough pill to swallow ($750 for 6 Cablecards)...and I had to wait 6 weeks to get the last 4 cards (from dec 26 to Feb 13) but am now up an running!

There is apparently no additional charge above the $15 / month for the HD Tier and $0.50 per outlet per month.

Good luck!

-mj
deeremj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 11:11 AM   #8
DeathRider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Boston Area RCN
Posts: 700
I remember back in 1998 when I had SECTV. I wanted HBO in 2 rooms. They told me I had to pay $21 for each box I wanted HBO on
DeathRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:23 PM   #9
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
I'd seriously thing about cancelling your order and waiting till tivo gets M-card approved (could be any day now)- then you could demand one single M-card instead of 2 s-cards and save yourself 125 bucks.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 03:46 PM   #10
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
Too late.

The installation went smoothly, although the cable guy did have trouble setting up. He had to call a couple of times to authorize. Also he put the cable in the "antenna" connector.
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 06:37 PM   #11
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
Another update - missing channels.

Turns out TiVo by default does not add all of your channels with service electric. So I had to go through the website and add them. Specifically, HD HGTV and wealth TV HD. I discovered this yesterday when my wife wanted to find out which channel had HGTV, and I said, "oh, I think we have HGTV in HD..."

But then I pressed 564 and no go. So I checked the cableCARD setup and it was there under test channels, but not in TiVo's list. Anyway I just added it in and we now have HGTV in HD.
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 09:18 PM   #12
ashu
User title defunct
 
ashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 9,158
The 'website'? Not the 'Channels you Receive' menu?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Too many TiVos!)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Ad hoc, ad loc, and quid pro quo!
So little time! So much to know!
ashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:54 PM   #13
Raj
Irie member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wantage, NJ
Posts: 36,228
Um, let me clarify.

I didn't actually program the channels through the website. I just used it as a guide to see what channels we should be getting. We have "expanded basic" with HD which gives us everything except Nick GAS, Fine Living, the extra music channels (MTV2, VH1 classic etc) and some extra regional sports networks (we really don't watch sports). So I just programmed in all of the "expanded basic" channels only.

But it was done through the "channels you receive" menu on TiVo.

Apologies for the confusion.
__________________
Is it real? Or is it memorex?
Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |