TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2007, 04:54 PM   #1
TiVoPony
TiVo Forum Special Member
 
TiVoPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alviso, California
Posts: 2,194
New Series3 Update

It's time to throw the switch.

Well, the little switch to start.

The Winter 2006 Service Update for the Series3 platform started going out to boxes this morning.

This first week of the process is our typical "let's give it to some of the people and see if everything is smooth, then we can throw the really big switch". So if you don't have it this week...you'll likely have it soon thereafter. Given the relative size of the Series3 population, it won't take us weeks and weeks to get it out to everyone. As a result, there is no priority list. But you'll be getting it. Soon.

This update brings many new features to the Series3. But to get it out of the way up front: No, it does not include TiVoToGo or external storage. Work continues in both of those areas, but they're not available with this update.

So what is included? Lots of good stuff:

* TiVoCast - Broadband video delivered directly to your tv set. No PC required.

* Extend Live - When scheduling live recordings, the TiVo service will automatically prompt you to add additional time.

* TiVo KidZone - Personalize your TiVo menus to display just the shows you pre-approve for your kids - live or recorded.

* Wireless Networking Security - You may choose to use either WEP or WPA security with the TiVo Wireless Network Adapter.

* Product Watch - Have the TiVo service find and deliver relevant product video clips straight to your Now Playing List.

* Recently Deleted Folder - Accidentally deleted a show? You can go to the Recently Deleted Folder in Now Playing and recover it.

And, I think you'll find a number of bugs and issues resolved as well.

So, rush home tonight and see if you've received it. If not today, perhaps tomorrow. If you're not one of the lucky ones this week, there's always next week's planned throw of the 'big switch'.

Remember, I said there is no priority list. Please don't call up customer support asking for the update early. There is no priority list for them to add you to.

And congratulations to the team here at TiVo that put this update together for your viewing pleasure!

Enjoy!
Pony


ps - Yes, we know it's technically 2007...but it's still 'winter'...and if I say 'Winter 2007' some here would worry it's not coming until next Christmas.
__________________
Director of Product Marketing
TiVo Inc.
TiVoPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 04:56 PM   #2
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
Thank You Tivo Pony! This is great news!
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 04:59 PM   #3
nlowhor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 39
Great!

Thanks for letting us know TiVoPony. Nice to have a man on the inside.
nlowhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:14 PM   #4
rdrrepair
You can call me Bill
 
rdrrepair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 845 New York
Posts: 700
And the version number is?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
The Winter 2006 Service Update for the Series3 platform started going out to boxes this morning.
Recently deleted folder is back! Yes!!

This will be know as what version TiVoPony?
__________________
"Please, talk slower. My brain is almost full and it's now indexing"
rdrrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:17 PM   #5
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Woooohoooo!!!!

Thanks, Pony!
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:19 PM   #6
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrrepair
Recently deleted folder is back! Yes!!

This will be know as what version TiVoPony?
It's 8.1.

I just tried to force a call. No luck. Patience, hook, be patient.
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:23 PM   #7
CharlesH
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 946
When Pony says there is no TiVoToGo in this release, I assume that that also applies to MRV? Or does the term "TiVoToGo" refer to both PC <-> Tivo transfers and TiVo <-> TiVo transfers?

I suspect the TiVo server is going to get hit a lot with manual update connections...

Last edited by CharlesH : 02-12-2007 at 05:35 PM.
CharlesH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:23 PM   #8
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,346
I hear one of mine seeking like crazy, and I usually don't....

*crosses fingers*
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:24 PM   #9
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
I am running with it now. 8.1.1.S1-01-2-648

TiVoJerry mentioned that should cure the reboot loop problem some were having.

Don't be alarmed when it says it could take up to an hour to install the service update. It took around 5-10 min tops for mine.

However, I noticed on the "Search by Title" page when you page down through the list of shows it is still slow. My Series 2 TiVo allows me to page down through the list pretty fast.

However, if this cures some of the bugs I will be happy.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV

Last edited by George Cifranci : 02-12-2007 at 06:07 PM.
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:27 PM   #10
vstone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Martinsville, VA
Posts: 1,223
For those that have used the Recently Deleted Folder, how does it interact with suggestions?
vstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:29 PM   #11
ScottUrman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone
For those that have used the Recently Deleted Folder, how does it interact with suggestions?
Based on my S2 experience, I wouldn't expect them to interact at all. I.e. suggestions live in their own folder, and recently deleted in theirs. But the shows in recently deleted will get reused before suggestions will.
ScottUrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:29 PM   #12
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,346
Forced calls, and two of our three are downloading a big chunk of something....77%.

The wife will be glad to have the deleted folder back.

Thanks for the update, Pony.
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:31 PM   #13
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone
For those that have used the Recently Deleted Folder, how does it interact with suggestions?
How do you mean?
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:33 PM   #14
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by vstone
For those that have used the Recently Deleted Folder, how does it interact with suggestions?
I think that recently deleted shows are deleted before suggestions, but I'm not positive (both are empty right now, I guess I need to watch more TV to clear out some space!)

Based on how I think I remember my S2 acting... I would assume that this will be the same...
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:38 PM   #15
yunlin12
Tivonation Citizen
 
yunlin12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
I am running with it now. 8.1.1S1-01-2-648

TiVoJerry mentioned that should cure the reboot loop problem some were having.

Don't be alarmed when it says it could take up to an hour to install the service update. It took around 5-10 min tops for mine.

However, I noticed on the "Search by Title" page when you page down through the list of shows it is still slow. My Series 2 TiVo allows me to page down through the list pretty fast.

However, if this cures some of the bugs I will be happy.
How long ago did yours update? I wonder how the speed of search is impacted by Tivo indexing after a reboot.

Can't wait to get this update, Thanks Pony!
__________________
ReplayTV 3000 (RIP)
Hughes HDVR2 DTivo (adopted by friend)
Tivo S2 Dual Tuner (Craiglisted)
Tivo S3 750GB (decommissioned)
Tivo HD 750GB (adopted by parents)
Tivo Premiere
Tivo Premiere XL
yunlin12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:39 PM   #16
TiVoPony
TiVo Forum Special Member
 
TiVoPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alviso, California
Posts: 2,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesH
When Pony says there is no TiVoToGo in this release, I assume that that also applies to MRV? Or does the term "TiVoToGo" refer to both PC <-> Tivo transfers and TiVo <-> TiVo transfers?

I suspect the TiVo server is going to get hit a lot with manual update connections...
Sorry about that, I should have included MRV in my note. No video via ethernet or eSata in this update.

Pony
__________________
Director of Product Marketing
TiVo Inc.
TiVoPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:40 PM   #17
daveafree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: nc
Posts: 5
does this update include the mpeg2 update to combat the ac3 track poblems?
daveafree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:41 PM   #18
GoHokies!
O2->CO2 Converter
 
GoHokies!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: KFME
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
Sorry about that, I should have included MRV in my note. No video via ethernet or eSata in this update.

Pony


Any hints on a timeline?

/me ducks and covers before the inevitable s#@tstorm
__________________
  • "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Albert Einstein

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  • To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoHokies! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:41 PM   #19
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Pony> It appears the Photo viewer is still showing photos in Standard Definition? Correct?
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:43 PM   #20
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by yunlin12
How long ago did yours update? I wonder how the speed of search is impacted by Tivo indexing after a reboot.

Can't wait to get this update, Thanks Pony!
I got mine around 5:30PM EST. So about an hour and 15 min ago. I will try later and see if it is improved any.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:47 PM   #21
ThreeSoFar
FourNow...WaitFive
 
ThreeSoFar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 5,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeSoFar
Forced calls, and two of our three are downloading a big chunk of something....77%.

The wife will be glad to have the deleted folder back.

Thanks for the update, Pony.
<marge> Hrrrmmmmm </marge>

Nada. Maybe tomorrow. (Haven't we previously determined that multiple dials in the same day have no chance of getting an update if the first one doesn't?)
ThreeSoFar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:07 PM   #22
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
Well I think George was lucky to get his. As TiVoPony said this is a small release. Next week we should see a larger amount of us get it.

I tried a second force call to the server (via wireless connector) and it went through everything in about 5 seconds. So when it gets here it gets here.
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:10 PM   #23
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveafree
does this update include the mpeg2 update to combat the ac3 track poblems?
Are you refering to AC3 tracks via wireless/ethernet or are you talking about digital channels? If your referring to music I think you'll still need to get the plug in for that.

On the channels I had problems with sound TW simply removed the digital tracks that were causing me problems.
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:12 PM   #24
George Cifranci
Viva La Tivo!
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 676
A few observations...

When I rebooting the S3 remembered the channels I had selected and unselected. That seems to be fixed. It seems that the graphic icons for the checkmarks next to the channels has been updated maybe? They seem different anyway.

Paging through the Grid Guide seems fast (I can't remember how fast it was before). The only issue is that the HD logo that shows what shows are in HD take some time to appear.

The Digital Photo viewer is not in HD.

My TiVo didn't go into the dreaded reboot loop like it has been. In fact my CableCards seem happier (but considering I don't know what ECM and EMM counts mean I am not certain of this).

The HD folder has a new icon.

I am not seeing PRODUCT WATCH feature.
__________________
George

TiVo S3 - (12-20-06) 318HR HD (2TB)
TiVo S2 - (06-16-04) 329HR SD (retired)
TiVo S1 - (10-03-01) 60HR SD (retired)
TV: Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV
George Cifranci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:16 PM   #25
daveafree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: nc
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by hookbill
Are you refering to AC3 tracks via wireless/ethernet or are you talking about digital channels? If your referring to music I think you'll still need to get the plug in for that.

On the channels I had problems with sound TW simply removed the digital tracks that were causing me problems.
I am refering to digital channels with audio PID
daveafree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:18 PM   #26
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Cifranci
A few observations...


The Digital Photo viewer is not in HD.
I don't know much about photography but wouldn't the picture itself have to be in HD? And this wasn't on the list of things TiVoPony said would come with this release.
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:20 PM   #27
hookbill
Feathered Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 4,442
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveafree
I am refering to digital channels with audio PID
I believe they said that was suppose to be fixed with this release. I guess you won't know until you get it though.
hookbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:21 PM   #28
CrispyCritter
Purple Ribbon Wearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,637
MRV works(a bit, I think). I'm currently transferring a show from an S2. No problems with setting up the transfer. But I press play and I'm just getting a blank TiVo menu screen.

Will update you after the transfer.

Edit: sigh. Not quite there, it looks like. I lost patience and interrupted the transfer, hoping I'd be able to play it then. I have a partial recording of 27 minutes on the S3, but when I play it says it was not able to detect a signal on the channel. I'm currently trying to transfer a complete show.

Edit2: Nope. got the same thing on a complete 30 minute show. It's listed in full on the S3. It has a disk usage of .61 GBytes on the S3. But the S3 is reporting it can't detect a signal.

All the intermediate signs were good: the S3 was reporting the transfer; it was appearing with a blue dot on the S3 now playing list during the transfer... But it looks like something else needs to get done.

Edit3 (the day after): It's clear that MRV is NOT supported in this release. TiVo is still trying to figure out why I can do the very partial MRV that I can; I'm not going to make any more comments until they get back to me.
__________________
CrispyCritter
TiVo Roamio:Felix TiVo Premiere:Bob TiVo XL4:Fred TiVo HDXL:Sharon TiVoHD:Susan

Last edited by CrispyCritter : 02-13-2007 at 09:59 AM.
CrispyCritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:22 PM   #29
TiVoJerry
TiVo Field Trials PM
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 1,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveafree
does this update include the mpeg2 update to combat the ac3 track poblems?
Yes it does.
__________________
Jerry
TiVo Field Trials Program Manager
Grillmeister

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 06:28 PM   #30
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,063
Thanks for the update Pony and Jerry. Was wondering if there are plans to add HD only tags to wishlists anytime soon? I didn't see that as one of the new features and I know it's been very frequently asked about in this forum and is something the DirecTivo units had. Thanks again.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |