TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2007, 12:07 AM   #1
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Want to play nearly ANY video file on your TiVo? (Main TiVo.Net Thread)

I don't want to break any advertising rules, but I'm posting this in the hopes that someone finds it useful. I wrote some software that does auto-transcoding (on the fly) and transfer to the tivo. It's windows only (cause it's a windows service), but it's open source. If anyone wants to take a look, here's the links (er...or not...I can't post urls until I make 5 posts....so I guess you'll have to wait )

So anyways, eventually I'll get around to making 5 posts and I'll put the links here.

Dan203: I'm unsticking this thread as the software is pretty stale and is no longer the best choice for this functionality

SourceForge Page : http://sourceforge.net/projects/tivodotnet/
Download Page : http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...roup_id=187185
Home Page : http://www.satellite-of-love.org/TiVoDotNet.ashx
Forum : http://www.satellite-of-love.org/For...ect=tivodotnet

Last edited by Dan203 : 10-24-2007 at 06:10 PM.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:19 AM   #2
Bluesfan77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Well until you can post the url, you could expand on what your software does and how it works.
Bluesfan77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:37 AM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,934
I've bumped your post count to 5, go ahead and post the link. I'm very interested in seeing what you've done.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:35 PM   #4
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluesfan77
Well until you can post the url, you could expand on what your software does and how it works.
I'll do both.

The app is a windows service that runs on any PC on the same network as the TiVo. It sends out a tivo beacon just like the TiVo desktop software and provides video content to the TiVo. You just point it at a directory with videos in it, and go to your TiVo and watch!

Admittedly, on my noisy WiFi network at home I have to watch at lowest quality, but I can't see worth crap anyways.

Also, keep in mind I wrote this less than a week ago, and haven't gotten any significant bug reports yet...so if it blows up, you've gotta let me know

SourceForge Page : http://sourceforge.net/projects/tivodotnet/
Download Page : http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...roup_id=187185
Home Page : http://www.satellite-of-love.org/TiVoDotNet.ashx
Forum : http://www.satellite-of-love.org/For...ect=tivodotnet

BTW: The website www.satellite-of-love.org is a Mystery-Science Theatre 3000 reference, in case you were wondering
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:46 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,934
So what formats does this support for input?

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:52 PM   #6
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203
So what formats does this support for input?

Dan
For now, anything that ffmpeg supports (see http://ffmpeg.mplayerhq.hu/ffmpeg-doc.html#SEC21). I haven't found any of my movies that failed yet, but I'm sure there are some. I'm working on a plugin structure so new transcoders can be put in there to fill in any gaps.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 03:59 PM   #7
Enrique
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Antonio,Tx
Posts: 5,004
installed the files and i still can't get to the admin screen help?
Enrique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:11 PM   #8
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrique
installed the files and i still can't get to the admin screen help?
Hrm, Can you go into your Services Screen and verify "TiVo.Net Auto-Transcoding Service" is started?

Edit: Yeah, it just blew up on me...loooks like one of the installer files was corrupted...grrr.....I'll fix it and post a new release.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:36 PM   #9
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,270
Looks cool ... I'll have to check this out (especially if it works with DivX files).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:39 PM   #10
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipakin
Edit: Yeah, it just blew up on me...loooks like one of the installer files was corrupted...grrr.....I'll fix it and post a new release.
Heh...it appears the problem is the registry key "Installpath" didn't get set...I'm fixing the installer and uploading a new ver. It'll be a few minutes, it's a crazy day at work today.

Fixed installer : http://downloads.sourceforge.net/tiv...se_mirror=osdn
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:05 PM   #11
scott816
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
admin interface is now working.
scott816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:08 PM   #12
Enrique
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Antonio,Tx
Posts: 5,004
I keep on getting this error System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error in the Error Log and when I put a video in the C:\Program Files\PipKin Technologies\TiVo.Net\Videos\ or any other folder tivo can't see it.
Enrique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:14 PM   #13
scott816
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
i get the same error
scott816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:20 PM   #14
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrique
I keep on getting this error System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error in the Error Log and when I put a video in the C:\Program Files\PipKin Technologies\TiVo.Net\Videos\ or any other folder tivo can't see it.
bah!



I'll look into it. I've probably got the path setup wrong in the installer...give me just a moment. As I said, crazy work day, so I'm a little busy at the moment.

BTW, thanks much for the testing you're unexpectedly doing
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:22 PM   #15
dumbdiety
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Same here.
dumbdiety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:38 PM   #16
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Hrm, could one of you try to go to the admin page and change the directory to one without spaces? (at home I use C:\DotNotTivo\Videos\)

I think it may be that it doesn't like spaces in the direcotry names *blush* I'm going through the code now...
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:39 PM   #17
TydalForce
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,013
Awesome work, great project!

Waiting on someone to port it to OS X ;-)
TydalForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:47 PM   #18
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
ARRGGGHHH!

ffmpeg.StartInfo.FileName = "C:\\DotNetTiVo\\ffmpeg_mp2.exe";

See a problem there? I think I forgot to get rid of a hardcoded path Lemme fix it and that should be the problem fixed. (As a workaround, if you move the ffmpeg_mp2.exe to that dir, it'll work...)

EDIT: Fixed. New download is at http://downloads.sourceforge.net/tiv...se_mirror=osdn

Last edited by pipakin : 01-23-2007 at 05:58 PM.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 05:56 PM   #19
turnipsun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clarita
Posts: 27
what about pyTivo

Let me first state, this program seems very very exciting and can not wait to give it a try.

Although a couple weeks ago pyTivo was released and it also streams videos to the tivo box.

I was unsure if any of you guys saw it, the post is here:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=328459

Ofcourse it doesn't seem as fancy as TiVo.Net but it is a a very quick and easy solution.

I was wondering if there are any speed differences when streaming?
If any has tested both I would love to hear there thoughts..

So once again, TiVo.Net seems like some cool work, and I applaud the effort.

Chris
turnipsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:00 PM   #20
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnipsun
Let me first state, this program seems very very exciting and can not wait to give it a try.

Although a couple weeks ago pyTivo was released and it also streams videos to the tivo box.

I was unsure if any of you guys saw it, the post is here:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=328459

Ofcourse it doesn't seem as fancy as TiVo.Net but it is a a very quick and easy solution.

I was wondering if there are any speed differences when streaming?
If any has tested both I would love to hear there thoughts..

So once again, TiVo.Net seems like some cool work, and I applaud the effort.

Chris
pyTivo was my inspiration for this. It had speed/stability issues on my computer though, So I thought a windows service would run faster (plus, I have a serious case of NIH syndrome).
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:23 PM   #21
dumbdiety
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Ok, so it's showing a list of all my AVIs now. But when I click 'Watch on This TV' it gives the error that the file wasn't found.
And damn, I've been waiting for something like this for a long while now...
dumbdiety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:26 PM   #22
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbdiety
Ok, so it's showing a list of all my AVIs now. But when I click 'Watch on This TV' it gives the error that the file wasn't found.
And damn, I've been waiting for something like this for a long while now...
Any errors in your error log? I'm imagining there's some characters in your filename that the TiVo doesn't like.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:31 PM   #23
dumbdiety
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 27
Just this, but this is from the previous install earlier, not the latest fix.

System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
mscorlib Could not find a part of the path 'D:\Output'. Minor Error
mscorlib Could not find a part of the path 'D:\Output'. Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error
System The system cannot find the path specified Minor Error

The file is here: d:\Test\Test.avi
dumbdiety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:38 PM   #24
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Hrm, well I'm headed home, I'll run some tests on my box there. I'm thinking there's possibly still one hardcoded path in there somewhere. I'll try and post a fix once I find it. I'll post here when I do.

Like I said, thanks for all the testing guys!
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:43 PM   #25
Enrique
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Antonio,Tx
Posts: 5,004
YES i GOT MINE WORKING!!! I used C:\DotNotTivo\Videos\ as the Video directory and download the lasts fix.
Enrique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 07:04 PM   #26
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Hey dumbdiety, what is your video directory set to? Does it end with "\"? Or not? I think there may be a bug where it needs a "\" at the end of the directory setting.

EDIT: Directory no longer requires a trailing "\"! New download link : http://downloads.sourceforge.net/tiv...se_mirror=osdn

Last edited by pipakin : 01-23-2007 at 07:47 PM.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 07:43 PM   #27
ubuntop
oxymoron
 
ubuntop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10
Pipakin,

Nice work.

I just wanted to offer some assistance in your testing/QA.

I installed TiVoDotNetSetup-0.2.0a-fix2.msi . I opened the admin page and pointed to a video directory. I ran down to the tivo and it showed up fine.

A couple of suggestions.
1. a setting for video file extensions to allow.
-- Because Thumbs.db etc. are showing up on the Tivo; have not tested other files
-- And by the way, I accidently clicked on thumbs and its pretty much locking up the tivo. lol waiting to see what happens before I reboot it.

2. option to scan sub-folder of video folder
-- would be very nice, as all of my vids are in there own folders.
ubuntop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 07:48 PM   #28
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
1. Whoops...It should have excluded that file...hrm...(And you'll need to reboot your TiVo. Trust me).
- The CVS version has an extension list. I'll post a release later tonight.

2. It should scan subdirs. Is it not?
- Couldn't find anything to make it NOT scan a subdirectory. Just let me know if there's another issue here.

Last edited by pipakin : 01-23-2007 at 08:20 PM.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 08:19 PM   #29
mfrns0123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 160
pipakin, First off thanks for working on this... I have many .avi files on my computer that I would like to watch on my Tivo. I am having a bit of trouble, I have the latest download, I used the C:\DotNotTivo\Videos . My Tivo sees the directoryand the files I dropped there. Problem is when I go to transfer I get a message to look at my "To do list " history and it told me that the file was not found on Tivo.net server.....any advice?
__________________
2 Series 3 Tivo HD
2 Series 2 Tivo DT 80-hr
1 Series 1 Sony SVR 2000
mfrns0123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 08:22 PM   #30
pipakin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 315
here's one thing, go to the address http://localhost:9032/TiVoConnect?Co...ontainer=Video (In Internet explorer)

and then paste the xml that it spits at you into a reply here or a PM. I can take a look at what the TiVo is seeing and see if I see any strangeness.
pipakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |