TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2006, 12:48 PM   #1
TK2006
Registered User
 
TK2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
tvlog - help with errors

I have noticed my tvlog located at /var/logs is getting quite large. It is at 45 MB and rapidly increasing in size.

It seems like every 10 seconds the log writes the following error:
Dec 19 17:45:52 (none) ApgCamInterfaceBase[226]: FindServerObject: scanner found nothing at A00000000, err = 0x0
Dec 19 17:45:52 (none) ApgExprEvaluator[226]: DoEvaluate() returned err = errDbNotFound, setting result to zero

Does anyone know what this is or how to correct it? I have been searching these forums for a few hours and can't find anything.

Thanks for any help.
TK2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 03:19 PM   #2
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
if you haven't done so, I'd reboot (tivo will probably clear the log, so if you think there's important info in there, you could ftp it off, first)

if the messages continue, you may want to force a gsod to see if there's an issue in MFS
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 11:53 AM   #3
cheer
Registered Offender
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTUx9
if you haven't done so, I'd reboot (tivo will probably clear the log, so if you think there's important info in there, you could ftp it off, first)

if the messages continue, you may want to force a gsod to see if there's an issue in MFS
There's a thread over at DDB about this. This is happening to a lot of people, and nobody is sure why as of yet.

And if you don't reboot, Tivo will, because at the rate these pile up, it doesn't take long for /var to fill. Of course, /var will get wiped when that happens...
__________________
--
Christopher D. Heer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.
cheer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 12:04 PM   #4
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
actually, var shouldn't be wiped... it purges logs first, and that should bring the space in var back within acceptable limits, so it shouldn't have to perform a wipe. (ymmv)

edit: I just checked and all 3 of my HDVR2s running 6.2 have this showing up. But it's not causing a tivo reboot, apparently syslogd is smart enough to auto-purge a runaway log if it gets too big.
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver

Last edited by BTUx9 : 12-20-2006 at 12:14 PM.
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 01:09 PM   #5
TK2006
Registered User
 
TK2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
I tried the reboot option and the problem still occurs.

I saw that thread over at DDB too. I just decided to add a cron job to wipe the tvlog file daily. Can't figure out the root cause, but at least it won't fill up var and cause issues that way.
TK2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 01:21 PM   #6
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK2006
I tried the reboot option and the problem still occurs.

I saw that thread over at DDB too. I just decided to add a cron job to wipe the tvlog file daily. Can't figure out the root cause, but at least it won't fill up var and cause issues that way.
Any chance you could give a hint as to what the command portion of your cron job looks like? I would like to do this also as well as a cron job to restore a backup of my favorite channels.
__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 01:35 PM   #7
TK2006
Registered User
 
TK2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
First, I would make a backup of your "root" file located here:
/var/spool/cron/crontabs/

Then edit the "root" file

I added these lines to mine:
# Delete the tvlog file if it exists every day at 10:05am cst
05 16 * * * rw; rm /var/log/tvlog; ro; echo "`date` tvlog wiped" >> /var/log/cronlog-main

This sets the file system to read/write, deletes the log file, then sets it back to read-only. Also write a quick line to the cronlog to make sure it's working.
TK2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 01:48 PM   #8
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK2006
First, I would make a backup of your "root" file located here:
/var/spool/cron/crontabs/

Then edit the "root" file

I added these lines to mine:
# Delete the tvlog file if it exists every day at 10:05am cst
05 16 * * * rw; rm /var/log/tvlog; ro; echo "`date` tvlog wiped" >> /var/log/cronlog-main

This sets the file system to read/write, deletes the log file, then sets it back to read-only. Also write a quick line to the cronlog to make sure it's working.
Thanks! Now that I see the command you used I should have taken a few minutes to try and write it myself because it is fairly obvious and easy. I'll try not to be so lazy next time.
__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 01:56 PM   #9
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
of course, if you're doing that, you might as well just have it remove the log at bootup, rather than cron, because by using rm on a log, it stops logging to that file (untill the next reboot)... to clear the log but allow it to continue logging, use
Code:
cp /dev/null /var/log/tvlog

__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 02:07 PM   #10
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTUx9
of course, if you're doing that, you might as well just have it remove the log at bootup, rather than cron, because by using rm on a log, it stops logging to that file (untill the next reboot)... to clear the log but allow it to continue logging, use
Code:
cp /dev/null /var/log/tvlog
Thanks for the linux lesson. Will use that instead.
__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 06:08 PM   #11
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelersFan
Thanks for the linux lesson. Will use that instead.
That seems to work. This log fills up fast!!!

If I wanted to wipe these 3 times a day instead of once per day, how would I do that? Like this?
Code:
05 */3 * * *

__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 07:44 PM   #12
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
I'm not sure if this helps or not but I have noticed that I am getting this on a subbed unit:
Code:
Dec 22 00:15:07 (none) ApgCamInterfaceBase[227]: FindServerObject: scanner found nothing at A00000000, err = 0x0
Dec 22 00:15:07 (none) ApgExprEvaluator[227]: DoEvaluate() returned err = errDbNotFound, setting result to zero
And this on an unsubbed unit:
Code:
Dec 22 00:20:18 (none) ApgStateMachine[188]: Transition from state ACQUIRE_MARKER to ACQUIRE_MARKER
Dec 22 00:20:20 (none) ApgFrameIter[244]: ApgFrameIter in red dye mode!
Dec 22 00:20:20 (none) ApgFrameIter[244]: reporting redDye: 0x00cf631c 0x00cf6470 0x00cfad84 0x00cfa400 0x013a706c 0x013ce190 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 
Dec 22 00:20:20 (none) ApgSmartSorter[244]: Sorter detected red dye frame--clearing filters 
Dec 22 00:20:20 (none) ApgSmartSorter[189]: reporting redDye: 0x00cfc54c 0x00d1dbfc 0x00d1db78 0x00d04bfc 0x00d0386c 0x00d03760 0x013a706c 0x013ce190 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 
Dec 22 00:20:20 (none) ApgReader[189]: Reader detected red dye frame, clearing filters 
Dec 22 00:20:20 (none) ApgRunlet[188]: Runlet detected red dye
Dec 22 00:20:59 (none) Recorder[242]: Adding check schedule task
Dec 22 00:21:59 (none) Recorder[242]: Adding check schedule task
Dec 22 00:23:59 (none) last message repeated 2 times
Dec 22 00:25:59 (none) last message repeated 2 times
Both repeat over and over.
__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 08:48 PM   #13
Dmtalon
I love Tivo...
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: West Harrison, IN
Posts: 193
If your not going to save off / monitor the logs you could also just comment out the line in your /etc/syslog.conf file that relates to tvlog and reboot.

No more tvlog 'logging' that is what I did until this 'problem' is resolved.

From:
local0.info;local0.!err -/var/log/tvlog

To:
#local0.info;local0.!err -/var/log/tvlog
__________________
Dallace Marable
1 Dish Hopper + Sling
2 Dish Joeys
Dmtalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 09:39 PM   #14
sk33t3r
Registered User
 
sk33t3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TEXAS
Posts: 498
I just finished a download and install and I was at 3.1.5f and now im at 6.3 A!!!! Damnit, I wanted 6.3 B. Well time to wipe it out and put my 3.1.5f image back on.
__________________
HDVR2 282 hrs, zippered
HDVR2 107 hrs, zippered
DSR7000 220 hours, zippered
HR21-200
HR20-100
DRD420re
sk33t3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 09:45 AM   #15
Luv2DrvFst
Registered User
 
Luv2DrvFst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK2006
I added these lines to mine:
# Delete the tvlog file if it exists every day at 10:05am cst
05 16 * * * rw; rm /var/log/tvlog; ro; echo "`date` tvlog wiped" >> /var/log/cronlog-main

This sets the file system to read/write, deletes the log file, then sets it back to read-only. Also write a quick line to the cronlog to make sure it's working.
I know a better solution for the tvlog problem has been proposed, but I thought I'd point out that /var is always mounted rw so there is no need for this portion of the command. Also, I'm fairly confident that "rw" and "ro" aliases don't work in a line in the crontab. You have to use the full command of "mount -o remount,rw" or "mount -o remount,ro". Just my experience.
__________________
Zipper'd Hughes SD-DVR120 (501 hrs)
Zipper'd Philips DSR-7000 (265 hrs)
Luv2DrvFst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 11:18 AM   #16
SteelersFan
"On Welfare"
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luv2DrvFst
I know a better solution for the tvlog problem has been proposed, but I thought I'd point out that /var is always mounted rw so there is no need for this portion of the command. Also, I'm fairly confident that "rw" and "ro" aliases don't work in a line in the crontab. You have to use the full command of "mount -o remount,rw" or "mount -o remount,ro". Just my experience.
Good point about the ro and rw. I've changed my job to exclude those commands. Just so everyone knows, it works either way.
__________________
6 x S2DTivos
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
HR21-700, HR21-100
SteelersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 01:18 PM   #17
kkluba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmtalon
From:
local0.info;local0.!err -/var/log/tvlog

To:
#local0.info;local0.!err -/var/log/tvlog
This worked well for me...
kkluba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:29 PM   #18
twosox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Question Is the log problem related to the missing recordings?

I'm having the log problem noted in this thread, but I'm also experiencing a problem with my DirecTiVo where my Season Passes are not being recorded, and the guide data is somehow corrupt.

This is the other thread on the recording/guide issues:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=332166

Any chance these two issues are related?

I have 2 Series 2 DirecTiVos -- modified both for networking and multi-room, but only one of them is having the problem (so far).
twosox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |