TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV Receiver with TiVo
TiVo Community
 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2006, 08:43 AM   #61
Bob Coxner
Registered User
 
Bob Coxner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,608
I forced a phone call and after new indexing everything is back to normal. I was afraid the hard drive was dying so I'm pleased that it was just a DirecTV screwup.
Bob Coxner is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 09:40 AM   #62
OLdDog
Reformed Druid
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,384
Now I really am confused; One of my series 1 DTiVos that had this problem and then seemed to fix itself is exhibiting the problem again.

The actor database is completely empty and a large part of the title database is missing as well but the guide seems fully populated.

I guess DTV has not completely solved the problem after all.
__________________
OldDog: Places to go, things to do, people to sniff.
OLdDog is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 11:26 AM   #63
PAP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 144
How do I force a call?
PAP is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 11:53 AM   #64
goony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,749
It's in the setup menu... Messages & Setup --> Settings --> Phone --> Test Phone Connection.

I just noted that none of my four S2 DTivos have had the problem - I thought one did but it's seemingly a feature of a V1.3.1 TivoWebPlus that it doesn't show the Tivo Data 'to be recorded' items while V1.3.0 does.

Using TivoWebPlus if I view all of my channels and then look specifically at channel 1100 I can see scheduled recordings over the next few days, but they don't appear in the ToDo list.

Here is a question: Did anyone without a connected phone line have this guide data issue, or did only those that keep a phone line connected have this happen?
goony is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:02 PM   #65
PAP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 144
Forced a call and now the 8 oclock o'reilly factor recordings ARE showing up. I just hope I didn't induce any other problems. On Christmas eve I've got about 10 Dirty Jobs episodes and then Christmas day I've got about 10 or more Mythbuster episodes listed to record - I hope that's a marathon and not a listing error.
PAP is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 02:21 PM   #66
Jumi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 130
Two days ago the thing fixed itself. Last night it was updated again and now the problem is back. WL of "Blade Runner" 1/1 on AMC disappeared along with "NBC Nightly News" the week of 1/1. Can't find "Blade Runner" in a search but it's in the Guide. Nucking Futts!
Jumi is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 02:35 PM   #67
latrobe7
Just one more thing
 
latrobe7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,321
Wow, just saw this thread; I thought my old SAT-T60 was finally dying! FWIW; when I noticed the problem on Wednesday I unplugged the Tivo and plugged it back in, and everything came back.
latrobe7 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:44 PM   #68
mboge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 125
Not sure what another "me too" post is good for, but I'm gonna do it anyway.

I have 3 D-Tivos and two of the three are screwed... not sure why the third isn't. Unfortunately, when I first noticed it (on just 1 Tivo a couple of days ago) I thought it might be the TiVo, so I did a "Clear program information..." and lost all of my SPs before I came hear to read it was a DirecTV data problem

Anyway, Tivo1 seemed to get fixed and now it has the problem again. This needs fixing quick!

Don't know if it helps, but here are the specs of the 3 Tivos:

TiVo1 (messed up)
Man. Brand: 100
Platform: Series 2
IRD Model: R52180
Soft. Version: 6.1-01-2-521
Last Data D/L: Dec. 22, 2:31 am
TiVo2 (OK)
Man. Brand: RCA
Platform: Series 2
IRD Model: DVR80
Soft. Version: 6.2-01-2-321
Last Data D/L: Dec. 22, 2:37 am
TiVo3 (messed up)
Man. Brand: Philips
Platform: Series 2
IRD Model: DSR7000/17
Soft. Version: 6.1-01-2-101
Last Data D/L: Dec. 22, 2:39 am
(By the way, what's with the diffrerent SW versions? Is that normal?)

mboge is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 04:01 PM   #69
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboge

Man. Brand: 100
IRD Model: R52180
Soft. Version: 6.1-01-2-521

Man. Brand: RCA
IRD Model: DVR80
Soft. Version: 6.2-01-2-321

Man. Brand: Philips
IRD Model: DSR7000/17
Soft. Version: 6.1-01-2-101

(By the way, what's with the diffrerent SW versions? Is that normal?)
There's a post somewhere around here that breaks this all down, but here's what I recall:

The last three digits are the manufacturer.

I forget which group it is, but either the 2nd or 3rd group indicates which partition TiVo booted off of (01 or 02, or 1 or 2).

The first group is the most important and reflects the actual version you are running.
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 04:05 PM   #70
mboge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 125
Hmmm... then I wonder if there is something about TiVo 2 being on 6.2 and not -- to my knowledge -- experiencing the problems, while the other two are on 6.1?
mboge is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 04:46 PM   #71
goony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,749
V6.1.x is for the R10 boxes which are a slightly different hardware platform (also: not easily hacked) than other Series 2 DTivos - some refer to the R10 as the "Series 2.5".

V6.2.x is for the non-R10 Series 2 boxes and is functionally identical to the V6.1.x software.

All of my boxes are non-R10s running V6.2.x, so maybe only the R10 boxes got bit by the guide data issue.
goony is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 06:37 PM   #72
Jumi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 130
No. Series 2 DTiVo.
Jumi is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 12:58 AM   #73
YCantAngieRead
Not Entirely Current
 
YCantAngieRead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39,374
Is ANYONE having problems that don't have DTV?

I'm having a similar issue, but I don't have DTV????
__________________
I have a signature and I'm not afraid to use it.
YCantAngieRead is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 02:46 AM   #74
goony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by YCantAngieRead
Is ANYONE having problems that don't have DTV?
Huh? Do you have a Dish Network DVR??
goony is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:07 AM   #75
Fish Man
Phish Food
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: 0.7 miles from the Abita brewery!
Posts: 8,261
My series 1, a GXCEBOT, has been doing this off and on since last Monday.

A probably-related symptom: It fails to do indexing or GC for a LONG time when this is going on.

It last indexed at 8:46 AM Dec. 21. That's almost 48 hours ago. DirecTiVos usually do indexing 3 or 4 times per day.

My HR10-250 and R10 seem to be unaffected by this so far (knocking wood).
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fish Man is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:07 AM   #76
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by goony
Huh? Do you have a Dish Network DVR??
Umm - it sounds like Angie is having a similar problem with her TiVo but doesn't have DirecTV; she may have a stand-alone and used this forum's search button to find this thread.
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:12 AM   #77
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
One of my HR10 boxes just got bitten by this. It was fine yesterday, showing To Do items for the next two weeks, but today, the To Do list is empty and the history shows everything is not set to record because of a change to the Season Pass. My other two boxes (an HR10 and an HDVR2) are fine. Both HR10s have 6.3a, the HDVR2 has 6.2.

One of the programs I have a season pass for is ABC News - it's on every day, but TiVo is not going to record it. I also have a season pass WishList for Entourage in HD, which will be shown in a marathon on 12/31, but TiVo is also ignoring this.

I'm calling DirecTV to see if there are any updates ...
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:55 AM   #78
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
I called DirecTV and was immediately transferred to a technical specialist. I spoke with Rusty, a very nice woman, who knew all about this problem.

I reported one thing to her that I don't recall seeing in this thread: My last service data download and indexing date are both on 12/21, with the last service data download attempt was on 12/23 at 5:29 AM and the last status as "None." Could these be the cause of the empty To Do lists? I had a full To Do list yesterday, 12/22, but today 12/23 I do not. Rusty was going to pass this up the chain ...

After apologizing profusely for the problem, her only suggestions were to:

(1) delete and re-create the season passes in the hopes that it would populate the To Do list; and
(2) restart the recorder and wait 24 hours for another service data download

She did say they were working on a fix, and I asked her if 6.3b would fix this, but after looking it up, she didn't have any details on what 6.3b would fix.

At this point, I'm not going to recreate season passes. I'll wait until tomorrow to see if I get any new service data downloads or indexing, and see what impact that has on my To Do list.
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 09:05 AM   #79
j0hnW
is uncool.
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 34
Angry DTV - Thanks for the #$%@ing "Upgrade"...

I got hit by this same problem on my Series 1 T-60 after a software update a few days ago (assume it was an update since my DTivo was rebooted).

Now I'm losing shows all over the place. What a pain.

DirectTV -- Please, please, please leave my Tivo alone. I'm happy with the way it was. I don't need any updates. I don't need any more "features" -- particularly ones that cause me to miss recordings.

This is exactly the sort of "service" that is going to cause me to drop DirecTV (and Tivo) after many years, and go to cable and a Motorola DCT6412 HD DVR.
j0hnW is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 10:11 AM   #80
JimSpence
Just hangin'
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 30,447
My HR10 didn't record late night Networks again. The old "somebody deleted .." showed up in the history. It's still running 6.3a. Not really a problem right now, but I hope 6.3b comes along shortly for me. I'm going to trim the SP list to see if it helps. Maybe after the holidays (and 6.3b) I'll do a clear and delete to help it out.
__________________
Jim
JimSpence is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 10:21 AM   #81
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
Can everyone who's having these problems check their System Info page and report back the dates and status of the Service Data Download and Indexing? If the dates are not "current", this could be an indication or cause of the problem ...
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 10:49 AM   #82
Fish Man
Phish Food
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: 0.7 miles from the Abita brewery!
Posts: 8,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew2k
I called DirecTV and was immediately transferred to a technical specialist. I spoke with Rusty, a very nice woman, who knew all about this problem.

I reported one thing to her that I don't recall seeing in this thread: My last service data download and indexing date are both on 12/21, with the last service data download attempt was on 12/23 at 5:29 AM and the last status as "None." Could these be the cause of the empty To Do lists? I had a full To Do list yesterday, 12/22, but today 12/23 I do not. Rusty was going to pass this up the chain ...
Same here (The observation about indexing and Service Data Download, that is, not talking to Rusty.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drew2k
After apologizing profusely for the problem, her only suggestions were to:

(1) delete and re-create the season passes in the hopes that it would populate the To Do list;
I tried that several times since this bug has been happening. Does nothing. By the way: If you do this, you have to pick the show from the guide. You can't search by title or other criteria, it won't find it when in that mode. If you pick an affected show from the guide and choose "get a season pass" it creates a season pass that shows "0 upcoming episodes" (when in this screwed up mode).

Quote:
Originally Posted by drew2k
and
(2) restart the recorder and wait 24 hours for another service data download
That works, and you don't have to wait 24 hours either. Twice when I've noticed this problem and rebooted, within an hour or so after the reboot the unit re-indexes and everything is fine again. However, last service data download status still says "none".

Twice I have cleared this problem with a reboot (most recently, this morning).

From the pattern I've observed, it looks like the failing service data download is a symptom of the problem, not the cause. A reboot clears the problem (after an hour or two) and, therefore, allows the next Service Data Download to succeed (assuming the problem doesn't come back before it is scheduled to occur).
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fish Man is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 12:18 PM   #83
drew2k
Drew != Drawn
 
drew2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,864
Fish Man ... Thanks for the follow-up, and you're right, don't need to wait 24 hours.

My To Do list is full again, and the SysInfo page shows Indexing completed at 10:38 AM today, about an hour after I restarted the box.

I'll keep monitoring the indexing status and To Do list, and hope I won't have to start playing reboot roulette ...

I think if others haven't already noted or reported the info showing for Indexing and Service Data Download to DirecTV, maybe we should be, as this may help someone at DirecTV and/or TiVo resolve the issue.
__________________
- DirecTiVo: HR10-250 (x2), 212-hr HDVR2, 34-hr HDVR2
- SA 8300HD
- HK TC30 Remote
drew2k is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 04:05 PM   #84
YCantAngieRead
Not Entirely Current
 
YCantAngieRead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by drew2k
Umm - it sounds like Angie is having a similar problem with her TiVo but doesn't have DirecTV; she may have a stand-alone and used this forum's search button to find this thread.
Right. I mentioned this in the Help section and someone posted a link to this thread. My problem sounds very similar but I use a SA TiVo with cable.
__________________
I have a signature and I'm not afraid to use it.
YCantAngieRead is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 07:27 PM   #85
cwerdna
Proud Tivolutionary
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 8,468
Arrow

I don't know that I have an SP probs on my RCA DVR80 but I just realized that my wishlists are all screwed up. My keyword wishlist for Star Trek normally returns over 80 hits and now returns 0. A browse thru the EPG on Spike TV definitely shows some upcoming stuff that should match.

I forced a reboot to no avail so now I'm forcing a call.

Coincidentally, I had a random reboot occur on me on 12/18/06 probably around ~11:15 pm Pacific time. I was in the middle of watching a recording of Mad Money and my 11 pm news recordings got interrupted and split into 2 as a result.

Hope D* fixes this prob soon and I don't miss anything. My To Do list still shows a lot of stuff scheduled to record.

The forced call didn't help (yet). This is the first time I've ever had any notable probs w/DirecTiVo. I hope this isn't the beginning of the end.

To answer drewk2,
Service data download:
Last successful: Friday, December 22 at 2:37 am
Last attempt: Saturday, December 23 at 5:30 am
Last status: None available

Indexing: Friday, December 22 at 7:53 pm

edit: Doh. Looking at my recording history, I do see many shows that weren't recorded on 12/22 (Friday) because "someone in your household modified the Season Pass..." Luckily none were important.

Last edited by cwerdna : 12-23-2006 at 07:50 PM.
cwerdna is online now  
Old 12-23-2006, 07:54 PM   #86
balboa dave
well rounded
 
balboa dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 3,129
My experience: Screwed up To Do list, nearly empty search list. Find by Name had only 2 entries starting with "A"!

What I did to fix the problem: Nothing. Didn't reboot, didn't force a call.

What I did in the meantime: Used the View Recording History list to restart previously scheduled recordings.

Problem resolved by itself after about 3 days. There is no way I know of to force indexing, and that is what needs to happen to correct this.
__________________
In some cases, spoilers don't just prevent the intended experience of something, they prevent the very existence of it. - J.J. Abrams
balboa dave is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:43 PM   #87
cwerdna
Proud Tivolutionary
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 8,468
To responding to my own earlier post. My Star Trek keyword wishlist is back to normal (I didn't edit it nor any other WLs) and now returns 67 hits instead of 0. I forced another reboot after the call I placed and things seem back to normal.

My service data download info is unchanged but the last Indexing time is now Saturday, December 23 at 6:19 pm.

Yay!
cwerdna is online now  
Old 12-23-2006, 10:21 PM   #88
chrishicks
Tivo Junkie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 517
I just had another reboot on 1 of my units.

service data is as follows:

last successful: Fri. Dec. 22 at 2:36am
last attempt: Sat. Dec. 23 at 11:00pm
last status: none available

my unit rebooted shortly after 11:00pm. this is the same thing that happened the first time this issue popped up. I get the download and the tivo just up and reboots.
__________________
4 S3s w/Lifetime (all/w 1TB internal)
2 DTS2s w/Lifetime - upgraded to 300Gb/500Gb
S2 w/Lifetime - upgraded to 1TB
Motorola DCT-3416 Comcast HD DVR
chrishicks is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 10:30 PM   #89
chrishicks
Tivo Junkie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishicks
its just DTVs secret way of trying to get people to move to their own crappy dvr. they screw up tivo a bunch of times and when people call and complain DTV hints "tivos are very outdated and our newer dvrs are much better and don't have this issue"
even though this was meant as a joke I'm starting to believe this a bit now.
__________________
4 S3s w/Lifetime (all/w 1TB internal)
2 DTS2s w/Lifetime - upgraded to 300Gb/500Gb
S2 w/Lifetime - upgraded to 1TB
Motorola DCT-3416 Comcast HD DVR
chrishicks is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 11:34 PM   #90
YCantAngieRead
Not Entirely Current
 
YCantAngieRead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39,374
I'm still not entirely convinced this is a DTV problem. There are now two of us with similar issues in the Help section.
__________________
I have a signature and I'm not afraid to use it.
YCantAngieRead is offline  
 
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |