TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2006, 10:02 AM   #91
A.C.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South
Posts: 190
Nevermind. It's fixed. I was too impatient.
__________________
Receivers: HR20-700, HD DirecTiVo DirecTiVo
DLP: Mitsu WD-52725
HT: Pioneer VSX-817

Last edited by A.C. : 10-14-2006 at 12:55 PM.
A.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 11:04 AM   #92
A.C.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.C.
Nevermind. It's fixed. I was too impatient.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlc
I do not know if this is a NCID problem or not. The error message does not seem to point to NCID, but error messages are often misleading. Could you answer some questions?

Does the log file indicate if this was around the time of the daily call?
What version of NCID are you using (it should be v0.66)?
How long have you been using NCID before you had the reboot?

Well it seems I spoke too soon. This morning I woke to find my HR10-250 had rebooted. So I looked at the kernel log, and saw the following just before the unit rebooted.

Oct 15 06:30:02 (none) kernel: 0x008c901c 0x00947904 0x004726b4 0x00ef1318 0x02a2871c 0x02a304bc 0x02a298cc
Oct 15 06:30:02 (none) kernel: 0x02a28a48 0x02a28834 0x02a60cb8 0x02a2871c 0x02a28630 0x02a2b03c 0x02a3c7e4
Oct 15 06:30:02 (none) kernel: 0x02a3c6cc 0x02a3c57c 0x02a3bad8
Oct 15 06:30:02 (none) kernel: END_OF_BT
Oct 15 06:30:02 (none) kernel:
Oct 15 06:30:02 (none) kernel: Tmk Fatal Error: Activity Phone <8583>: unexpected signal 10

I also checked to see what time my last call happened, and it was at 1:29 AM CST, which is almost exactly the when the unit rebooted. Anyone know what might be causing this??

JCL, I never had reboot problem until I started using NCID. I want to try something for about a week. I'm going to comment out my NCID lines in my rc.sysinit.author. I want to also remove the dubug=true line. And I'm going to remove the dialing prefix too. I want to run it for a week and see if I get reboots.
__________________
Receivers: HR20-700, HD DirecTiVo DirecTiVo
DLP: Mitsu WD-52725
HT: Pioneer VSX-817
A.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 11:23 AM   #93
A.C.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South
Posts: 190
Would someone mind looking at an unmodded copy of their rc.Sequence_150.CheckForDebug.sh and let me know if both the DEUBG_BOARD statements are set to false? Or if someone knows off hand which way they were. Thanks
__________________
Receivers: HR20-700, HD DirecTiVo DirecTiVo
DLP: Mitsu WD-52725
HT: Pioneer VSX-817
A.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 01:00 PM   #94
MisterEd
Very Large Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: TV Land
Posts: 645
If you are running 6.3 or 6.3(a) it is a known issue that NCID and elseed are causing reboots when TiVo dials out. Don't think anyone has resoved it yet.
MisterEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 01:49 PM   #95
A.C.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterEd
If you are running 6.3 or 6.3(a) it is a known issue that NCID and elseed are causing reboots when TiVo dials out. Don't think anyone has resoved it yet.
6.3(a). I thought the reboot issue had been resolved.
__________________
Receivers: HR20-700, HD DirecTiVo DirecTiVo
DLP: Mitsu WD-52725
HT: Pioneer VSX-817
A.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 03:34 PM   #96
Cheezmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 422
You could always use cron to kill ncidd at midnight and start it up again before you normally start watching in the morning. As long as you don't force a manual call during the day that should allow them to coexist.
__________________
Steve Martin
Cheezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 05:47 PM   #97
A.C.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo
You could always use cron to kill ncidd at midnight and start it up again before you normally start watching in the morning. As long as you don't force a manual call during the day that should allow them to coexist.
That would work well, but I don't think calls are always happening in the middle of the night.
__________________
Receivers: HR20-700, HD DirecTiVo DirecTiVo
DLP: Mitsu WD-52725
HT: Pioneer VSX-817
A.C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 05:56 PM   #98
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheezmo
You could always use cron to kill ncidd at midnight and start it up again before you normally start watching in the morning. As long as you don't force a manual call during the day that should allow them to coexist.
No need to kill ncidd off, just create the lock file and it will ignore the modem, allowing the call to succeed. I seem to remember that the daily calls were a tcl script. If it still is, the call script could be modified to create the lock file before the call and remove it after the call.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 11:35 PM   #99
Cheezmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 422
I had been watching the nightly call times on mine and they had always been between midnight and 2:00 AM. But, I noticed today that it has started setting the next call date to 10 days out, mid morning. Wonder why the change from nightly calls to every 10 days, but that is for another thread...

I guess I'll look into the lock file solution.
__________________
Steve Martin
Cheezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 05:01 PM   #100
harpegw
Occasional Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Northwest Alabama
Posts: 235
Okay, I attempted to upgrade my installation of ncid today, to .66 from an older version. I downloaded out2osd tar file, and the ncid-0.66-series2-tivo tar file, for use on my series 2 directivo. I ftp'd the files (binary mode), then un-tarred the files per instructions. I think it's right, I have out2osd in /var/hack, and ncid, tivocid, tivoncid, all in /var/hack with newer dates. Now, ncidd appears to start upon reboot (i can see it in ps-a process list), but the tivocid command fails, Here is the output executed form the command line:

Morpheus-TiVo# ./tivocid &
[1] 347
Morpheus-TiVo# invalid command name "0"
while executing
"0"
(procedure "displayLog" line 1)
invoked from within
"displayLog "Connecting to $Host:$Port""
(procedure "connectCID" line 15)
invoked from within
"connectCID $Host $Port"
(file "./tivocid" line 579)

Any clue what I have done wrong?
__________________
"If it keeps up, man will atrophy all his limbs but the push-button finger."
-Frank Lloyd Wright
harpegw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 05:39 PM   #101
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by harpegw
ncidd appears to start upon reboot (i can see it in ps-a process list), but the tivocid command fails, Here is the output executed form the command line:

Morpheus-TiVo# ./tivocid &
[1] 347
Morpheus-TiVo# invalid command name "0"
while executing
"0"
(procedure "displayLog" line 1)
invoked from within
"displayLog "Connecting to $Host:$Port""
(procedure "connectCID" line 15)
invoked from within
"connectCID $Host $Port"
(file "./tivocid" line 579)
This is a line order problem in the ncid.conf file. It is due to a bug in the tivosh program supplied by TiVo. Easiest fix is to rename it to ncid.conf-bad. The file is located at /var/hack/etc/ncid/ncid.conf

Code:
# external called program
set Program[list $ProgDir/$EXTPROG]
If you rather fix the file, move the above two lines to the end of the file. The "set Program ..." line must be last.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 05:52 PM   #102
harpegw
Occasional Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Northwest Alabama
Posts: 235
That fixed the problem... thanks for the information. Everything is working, I'm going to go play with the /var/hack/etc/out2osd.conf settings.
__________________
"If it keeps up, man will atrophy all his limbs but the push-button finger."
-Frank Lloyd Wright
harpegw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2006, 07:30 PM   #103
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
NCID version 0.67 has been released.

It mostly fixes TiVo client problems found in the 0.66 release.

NCIDsip has additional options. One is --test so you can test different SIP ports for packets in your network. The other option is --listdevs. This will list all active network devices. It helps when you must specify a network device.

Documentation was improved.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 12:03 AM   #104
MisterEd
Very Large Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: TV Land
Posts: 645
Does .67 do anything with HR10-250 6.3A issues?
MisterEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 11:04 PM   #105
mskreis
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
No data written to cidcall.log

I just installed version 0.67 over version 0.65 (I believe this was the version included in the zipper) on my HR10-250. I'm also using NCIDpop. Caller information is being displayed on my TV and via NCIDpop. However, none of the calls are being recorded in the log file. I like the ability to view this file. Any suggestions?

Thanks
mskreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 10:32 AM   #106
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterEd
Does .67 do anything with HR10-250 6.3A issues?
No, it just fixes other TiVo issues. Version 0.66 uncovered a tivosh bug and the configure file had to be removed for TiVoCID or TiVoNCID to function. Version 0.67 fixes that plus some other minor issues.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 10:54 AM   #107
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskreis
I just installed version 0.67 over version 0.65 (I believe this was the version included in the zipper) on my HR10-250. I'm also using NCIDpop. Caller information is being displayed on my TV and via NCIDpop. However, none of the calls are being recorded in the log file. I like the ability to view this file. Any suggestions?

Thanks
The call log file is called cidcall.log. It must exist for NCID to log calls. The install package usually creates a zero length file so calls will be logged.

If you have Perl installed, you can use cidcall to view the log file, or if you installed the NCIDmod package you can use TivoWebPlus to view the call log. Also included in the package is ncidcall, a command line script to view the call log. Cidcall is a Perl script and ncidcall is a tcl script that do the same thing.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 11:32 AM   #108
MisterEd
Very Large Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: TV Land
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlc
No, it just fixes other TiVo issues. Version 0.66 uncovered a tivosh bug and the configure file had to be removed for TiVoCID or TiVoNCID to function. Version 0.67 fixes that plus some other minor issues.

MisterEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 09:47 PM   #109
mskreis
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlc
The call log file is called cidcall.log. It must exist for NCID to log calls. The install package usually creates a zero length file so calls will be logged.

If you have Perl installed, you can use cidcall to view the log file, or if you installed the NCIDmod package you can use TivoWebPlus to view the call log. Also included in the package is ncidcall, a command line script to view the call log. Cidcall is a Perl script and ncidcall is a tcl script that do the same thing.
Yes, I understand this. When I view cidcall.log using either TWP or bash there are no entries despite having received multiple calls.
mskreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 11:59 PM   #110
drfever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Red face NCID - VOIP help

Is there a FAQ for morons on NCID? I got it installed on my tivo, but no idea how to use it.
drfever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 03:47 AM   #111
JWThiers
Smartypants
 
JWThiers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cocoa, Florida
Posts: 2,611
Have you tried reading post #1 of this thread?
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people out there.
Those that understand binary and those that don't.
JWThiers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 03:39 PM   #112
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskreis
Yes, I understand this. When I view cidcall.log using either TWP or bash there are no entries despite having received multiple calls.
If your Tivo displays calls but does not log them, run ncidd in debug mode at verbose level 4 and make sure the CID logfile line shows the log file you are looking at. The debug output will also indicate if ncidd fails to open the output file. It is possible you have a permissions problem or it is trying to open a file that does not exist. If these suggestions do not help you, could you either post a debug output or email it to me at jlc@users.sourceforge.net?
__________________
John

Last edited by jlc : 12-19-2006 at 02:27 PM.
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:15 PM   #113
headcase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 43
I've got two HR10-250's running freshly zippered InstantBake 6.3b images, running fine. I'm able to start up the version of NCID that came with the zipper installation on each box, and display the caller ID on that particular box just fine when that box is directly connected to the phone line.

My problem is, when I try to start up TIVOCID on a box striclty as a client pointing to the other box, I get a timed out error:

tivocid -R -V 192.168.2.101
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333
192.168.2.101:3333 - error reading "sock10": connection timed out
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333
192.168.2.101:3333 - error reading "sock10": connection timed out
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333
192.168.2.101:3333 - error reading "sock10": connection timed out
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333

I'm assuming I'm running the lastest version of NCID (.67), since I just installed this via zipper , but I'm not sure how to check the version. As I'm a bit of a Linux newbie, any tips on next steps would be great.
headcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:58 PM   #114
headcase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 43
Well, I did a little digging on my TiVo's, and in the NCID directory, I found the release notes and answered one of my questions. Looks like the zipper installed v.65 of NCID.

So any next steps recommended?
headcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:12 AM   #115
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by headcase
I've got two HR10-250's running freshly zippered InstantBake 6.3b images, running fine. I'm able to start up the version of NCID that came with the zipper installation on each box, and display the caller ID on that particular box just fine when that box is directly connected to the phone line.

My problem is, when I try to start up TIVOCID on a box striclty as a client pointing to the other box, I get a timed out error:

tivocid -R -V 192.168.2.101
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333
192.168.2.101:3333 - error reading "sock10": connection timed out
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333
192.168.2.101:3333 - error reading "sock10": connection timed out
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333
192.168.2.101:3333 - error reading "sock10": connection timed out
Connecting to 192.168.2.101:3333

I'm assuming I'm running the lastest version of NCID (.67), since I just installed this via zipper , but I'm not sure how to check the version. As I'm a bit of a Linux newbie, any tips on next steps would be great.
You are running the latest version of NCID. You do not need the -R option, but otherwise your command line is good.

The error you are getting indicates that the client is not seeing the server. This usually indicates either the server is not running or there is a network problem.

If it is the server aborting, it probably means the phone line is not connected. Maybe it is connected to he TiVo you want to use as a client. If server OK, then check network, check IP addresses using 'ifconfig' on each TiVo. Try to ping each TiVo from each box.

Hope these suggestions help, or at least point you in the right direction.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:16 AM   #116
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by headcase
Well, I did a little digging on my TiVo's, and in the NCID directory, I found the release notes and answered one of my questions. Looks like the zipper installed v.65 of NCID.

So any next steps recommended?
Install the latest version. There was a problem with the client and it might be effecting you. You can install over zipper, but save your config files if you made any changes.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 12:25 PM   #117
luder
Registered User
 
luder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 245
I have two questions. I took a good look at box today and I notice the modem uses four copper lines can ncid use all four copper lines? Second can this handle voip caller id thanks..
__________________
DTV D10 Reciver
Hughes DVR 160

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
luder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:20 PM   #118
jlc
Registered User
 
jlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: near Orlando, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by luder
I have two questions. I took a good look at box today and I notice the modem uses four copper lines can ncid use all four copper lines? Second can this handle voip caller id thanks..
NCID can only handle one modem at a time. If the modem supports distinctive ring lines, NCID does also. I expect if the modem handles multiple POTS lines NCID will also, but no one has tried this as far as I know.

NCID does handle multiple VoIP lines using a SIP client instead of a modem. The SIP client requires libpcap, Perl, and two Perl modules to function on the TiVo. No one has ported the Perl modules to the TiVo, so the SIP client only works on Linux, Cygwin, and the Macintosh. Once the Perl modules are ported, the SIP client should be functional.
__________________
John
jlc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:21 PM   #119
cheer
Registered Offender
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by luder
I have two questions. I took a good look at box today and I notice the modem uses four copper lines can ncid use all four copper lines?
For what purpose? Anyway it's not up to NCID; it's up to the modem in question. But if you're thinking for multiple phone lines...probably not.
Quote:
Second can this handle voip caller id thanks..
Yep.

EDIT: jlc beat me to it.
__________________
--
Christopher D. Heer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.
cheer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 04:43 PM   #120
luder
Registered User
 
luder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlc
NCID can only handle one modem at a time. If the modem supports distinctive ring lines, NCID does also. I expect if the modem handles multiple POTS lines NCID will also, but no one has tried this as far as I know.

NCID does handle multiple VoIP lines using a SIP client instead of a modem. The SIP client requires libpcap, Perl, and two Perl modules to function on the TiVo. No one has ported the Perl modules to the TiVo, so the SIP client only works on Linux, Cygwin, and the Macintosh. Once the Perl modules are ported, the SIP client should be functional.
Quote:
cheer
your both right
i ran multiple tests using 2 pots line and the result is the modem only listens in line 1 ..
__________________
DTV D10 Reciver
Hughes DVR 160

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by luder : 01-31-2007 at 05:29 PM.
luder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |