TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2006, 12:39 PM   #1
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Offical CableCARD threads

This is a simple list of discussions of CableCARD experiences for the various MSOs. Please post to these threads first if you have any experience, or problems, you want to share pertaining to your cable company and CableCARD.

Comcast
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=316310

Time Warner
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=316313

Cox
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=315836

Charter
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=316903

CableVision
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=315932

RCN
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=316405

Verizon FiOS
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=315826

Mediacom
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=317212

Adelphia
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=318351

Brighthouse
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=315837

WOW
http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=320180

Astound
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=383789

If I missed your cable provider simply post a link to the offical CableCARD thread for that provider below and I'll add it to the list.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo

Last edited by Dan203 : 02-06-2008 at 12:54 PM.
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 01:09 PM   #2
acvthree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carrollton, Texas
Posts: 2,429
Is there Verizon Fios official thread? I couldn't find it.

Al
acvthree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 01:10 PM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
I don't see one, but if you want to start one I'll gladly add it to the list.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 01:21 PM   #4
tunnelengineer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 325
Awesome list Dan. Thanks for stickying this and linking everything.
__________________
Sony Series 1 - Upgraded to 130 hrs (formerly Lifetimed)
Tivo Series 2 - 80 hour
Tivo Series 3 - Rollin' Stock, Lifetimed
tunnelengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 02:50 PM   #5
joegarrett
FiOS Fan
 
joegarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 210
Dan203,

I didn't find one so I started a Verizon FIOS CC Info thread.

Thanks

Found it, thanks http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=315826

Last edited by joegarrett : 09-21-2006 at 04:07 PM.
joegarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 03:24 PM   #6
PPC1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 208
Would Brighthouse be under Time Warner, or does it deserve its own thread?
PPC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 08:13 AM   #7
TiVoToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by PPC1
Would Brighthouse be under Time Warner, or does it deserve its own thread?
I would vote for a separate thread.
TiVoToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 11:42 AM   #8
gthassell
Registered User
 
gthassell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Willowbrook, IL
Posts: 181
TiVo S3 contact #?

I've tried searching for the post with the number to call TiVo for support with your cable company on the install, but haven't been able to locate it. Could someone who knows it post it here?

Still trying to get a second card installed and working...
__________________
Roaming Pro (Stock 3TB, 6 Tuners, Lifetime)
Harmony One
Available:
lifetimed S1s, S2, and S3 OLED, Premier 4 tuner (2TB)
gthassell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 09:45 PM   #9
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
You call the standard support number and follow the prompts.
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 11:54 PM   #10
Ames
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 76
Mediacom

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=317212
Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 06:47 AM   #11
fredtwd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 40
I started one for Adelphia:

thread t=318351

(sorry, 2nd post so I cannot include URLs in my post yet).
fredtwd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 09:38 AM   #12
trlyka
Registered User
 
trlyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 75
My provider is Patriot Media Communications in Central NJ. Please add to the list.

The forum won't allow me to insert the link

t=319079

Thanks

Last edited by trlyka : 09-27-2006 at 09:57 AM.
trlyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 02:51 PM   #13
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by trlyka
My provider is Patriot Media Communications in Central NJ. Please add to the list.

The forum won't allow me to insert the link

t=319079

Thanks
patriot thread:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=319079
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 02:55 PM   #14
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
I'm not sure such a small provider warrants a listing in this thread. However if more Patriot customers crop up I'll add it to the list.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 03:16 PM   #15
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
I dont think it can hurt. Maybe not worth the bother of the first post, but it's nice to have it in the thread itself so life is good as is- if nothing but to give people a hit when they search to minimize duplicates.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 03:53 PM   #16
thanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Wide Open West

Wide Open West is coming out to install my cable cards on Wednesday (providing I don't have to return my S3 - I'm having a bit of technical difficulty with it). I'll start a thread when they come out.
thanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:54 PM   #17
samual.icky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 49
My Wide Open West (WOW) experience (short and to the point)

http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=320180
samual.icky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 12:08 PM   #18
cassiusdrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203
I'm not sure such a small provider warrants a listing in this thread. However if more Patriot customers crop up I'll add it to the list.

Dan
I am also a Patriot Media customer.
__________________
Premiere XL, 1TB, Moto M-Card
2x S3 OLED, 1TB/320GB, Moto S-Cards
S2 DVR-810H, 500GB
S2 240, 500GB
All Lifetime
Cable:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

NAS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cassiusdrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 01:42 PM   #19
thanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Maybe we can make samual.icky's thread the official WOW thread? I'm going to post there anyhow.
thanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 04:06 PM   #20
gwtamblin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA area
Posts: 6
Starstream Cable - Sacramento area

I've been told by the cable company that they only have one way cable cards and since I am in a two way area they won't work. I was also told that it may be a few years before Motorola provides them with working two way cable cards.

I just talked to the TiVo S3 setup person. He said it sounds like a bluff and to ask for the supervisor.

Does anybody have any other information?

Last edited by gwtamblin : 10-05-2006 at 05:46 PM.
gwtamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 07:24 PM   #21
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
There is no such thing as a "two way area". There is a technology called Switched Digital Video which is not compatible with CableCARDs, but right now the only company using it is Time Warner and they only use it on a couple of lesser watched channels and the oposite coast feeds of premium channels like HBO.

This was definitely a bluff to try to scare you away from CableCARD.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 02:04 PM   #22
sCir
media fiend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bozeman, Montana
Posts: 1
I don't see a thread for Bresnan Communications - Could you add one?
sCir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:31 AM   #23
gwtamblin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA area
Posts: 6
Thanks Dan ~ The person I first talked to said with the "one way card" I wouldn't be able to watch video on demand or pay per view. That didn't bother me since I have netflix and never used it. Is that true what he said? Gary
gwtamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 12:07 PM   #24
ccongdon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Speaking of bluffs - and maybe someone can help clear the air for me.

I have Insight Communications. They say that CableCARDS are available in my area. The operator said that they can't be used to record anything (obviously trying to push me into their DVR). I mentioned that the Tivo was a recorder by itself and just needed CableCARDS to work. She put me on hold to ask her supervisor a question. She came back and said that recording can't occur while using CableCARDS.

Is that possible? I thought the whole way Tivo worked was by recording whatever signal came through....

Chris
ccongdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 12:35 PM   #25
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwtamblin
Thanks Dan ~ The person I first talked to said with the "one way card" I wouldn't be able to watch video on demand or pay per view. That didn't bother me since I have netflix and never used it. Is that true what he said? Gary
That is true! VOD and PPV require bidirectional communication technology which does not exist as an open standard yet. The cable companies are working on a CableCARD 2.0 technology that will enable those technologies, but it's not yet approved and probably still a year or more away from deployment.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 12:38 PM   #26
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccongdon
I have Insight Communications. They say that CableCARDS are available in my area. The operator said that they can't be used to record anything (obviously trying to push me into their DVR). I mentioned that the Tivo was a recorder by itself and just needed CableCARDS to work. She put me on hold to ask her supervisor a question. She came back and said that recording can't occur while using CableCARDS.

Is that possible? I thought the whole way Tivo worked was by recording whatever signal came through....
She's just misinformed. Up until now CableCARDs were used primarily in TVs, so she just doesn't understand the way TiVo uses them to record. Your best bet is to just order the cards and give them as little information about what you'll be doing with them as possible.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 09:58 AM   #27
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203
She's just misinformed. Up until now CableCARDs were used primarily in TVs, so she just doesn't understand the way TiVo uses them to record. Your best bet is to just order the cards and give them as little information about what you'll be doing with them as possible.

Dan
scarily the CSR may have been correct (although it is questionable if that is legal)- seems some cable providers have all the HD channels to 90minute hold time only and then the recorded programs self destuct. My provider for instance is doing it on about 2/3rds of the non boradcast HD channels and even screws up and nails sporadic programs on the broadcast channels with the wrong flag.

BTW- anyone have a link to the legality of this. I'm 99.9% sure it's illegal but before i go screamign at the cable people I want to have the law/regulation/ruling in my hand to show them so they quickly remedy the situation adn dont jerk me around. I believe they are only premitted to use the 90minute self descruct flag for VOD and PPV- but i cant find a ruling or regulation (or even the text of the NCTA/CEA plug and play agreement where it seems to have started from) to point to.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 12:11 PM   #28
gwtamblin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA area
Posts: 6
Starstream Cable - Sacramento area

I just talked with a supervisor at Starstream. His story is that the cable cards are not working with their system and until they figure it out they are not providing the cards.
gwtamblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 12:13 PM   #29
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK
scarily the CSR may have been correct (although it is questionable if that is legal)- seems some cable providers have all the HD channels to 90minute hold time only and then the recorded programs self destuct. My provider for instance is doing it on about 2/3rds of the non boradcast HD channels and even screws up and nails sporadic programs on the broadcast channels with the wrong flag.

BTW- anyone have a link to the legality of this. I'm 99.9% sure it's illegal but before i go screamign at the cable people I want to have the law/regulation/ruling in my hand to show them so they quickly remedy the situation adn dont jerk me around. I believe they are only premitted to use the 90minute self descruct flag for VOD and PPV- but i cant find a ruling or regulation (or even the text of the NCTA/CEA plug and play agreement where it seems to have started from) to point to.
The 90 minute Copy Never flag is only legal for use on VOB and PPV. Premium channels like HBO can be set to Copy Once, which means that they can be recorded on the TiVo but not transfered, but they're not supose to be set to Copy Never. And broadcast programming is supose to be set to Copy Freely at all times.

If you're having a problem with this then either your cable company has something set up wrong or you have a defective CableCARD. In either case this problem would not be a problem on a CableCARD TV, so this goes to prove my point that cable companies are still in the mentality that CableCARDs go in TVs and nothing else.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 12:15 PM   #30
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwtamblin
I just talked with a supervisor at Starstream. His story is that the cable cards are not working with their system and until they figure it out they are not providing the cards.
That sucks. Unfortunately if the provider is small enough it's possible for them to get an exemption from the CableCARD mandate, so there is probably nothing you can do. However it might be worth a call to the local franchise authority just to see.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |