TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2006, 10:10 AM   #1
pzook1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Bright House - refusing to provide cable cards

I just called Bright House and they said they will only provide cable cards for TV's, not boxes. This is Manatee County. Anyone been able to get an install scheduled?
pzook1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:12 AM   #2
Stormspace
Electrocuted by TiVo
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hartsville, SC
Posts: 4,792
This is going to be an interesting thread...Keep us informed.
__________________
137hr DTS2
20/180hr HD
166hr DTS2
180hr S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stormspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:13 AM   #3
DTSDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 68
Look around here in the forums. I'm sure someone at some point has linked the FCC mandate that they provide the cable cards. It's slightly not legal to do that. If they hold their position, get beligerant and tell them with all the money you spend on cable you expect to be provided with a better piece of equipment then their peice of @#$@ DVR and this is your way of keeping the peace.
DTSDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:14 AM   #4
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
How will they know what you install the card in? Cn't you pick it up in the office and install it yourself.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:36 AM   #5
pzook1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
no, they only provide cards via their install. First question from CSR was what TV do you have. Tried to reason with them about using in box but that went no where. While I could lie and get them out, my fear is that they wouldn't do the install when they arrived and/or would only provide one.

I did get somewhat beligerant but that didn't get me anywhere either.
pzook1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:37 AM   #6
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,247
You just have to be persistent. I had a decent amount of frustration getting mine installed and working correctly. Required well over half a dozen calls, two visits, and a non-visit. Keep calling to you get someone who can assist.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 11:23 AM   #7
Lampei
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 35
Just tell them that you have 2 HD TVs that you want to need to install the cable cards in (find a Samsung TV on their site that takes cables cards and tell them you have 2 of those). Then, when the installer gets there, tell them that you misspoke over the phone and that you have the new TiVo. Everything should be fine. The installer won't care what he's installing them in
Lampei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 11:36 AM   #8
mearlus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 185
Speak to a supervisor and site the legalize from the FCC about it
mearlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 11:49 AM   #9
HiDefGator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,851
Tell them your TV is made by Tivo. The installer won't care when he gets there.
HiDefGator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 12:07 PM   #10
TiVoJerry
TiVo Field Trials PM
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 1,511
All major cable companies (MSOs) are required by the FCC's 'Plug-and-Play' order to provide CableCARDs to any customer using any UDCR (Uni-Directional Cable Receiver) device on CableLabs list of certified, verified or self- verified cable products. The TiVo Series3 HD DVR product is on this list.
__________________
Jerry
TiVo Field Trials Program Manager
Grillmeister

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 12:14 PM   #11
ehardman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJerry
All major cable companies (MSOs) are required by the FCC's 'Plug-and-Play' order to provide CableCARDs to any customer using any UDCR (Uni-Directional Cable Receiver) device on CableLabs list of certified, verified or self- verified cable products. The TiVo Series3 HD DVR product is on this list.
At what price?
ehardman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 01:42 PM   #12
HDTiVo
Not so Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,556
Does Bright House fit the definition?
HDTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 01:50 PM   #13
tivoknucklehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 621
I have Bright House and a Saturday appointment for 2 cable cards to go into my Series 3 I just ordered. Seminole County FL
tivoknucklehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 01:55 PM   #14
TiVoJerry
TiVo Field Trials PM
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 1,511
If they already provide CableCARD for TVs, they will work for the S3. The OP has already provided me their contact information and I will be passing that along to someone who will follow up.
__________________
Jerry
TiVo Field Trials Program Manager
Grillmeister

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:00 PM   #15
Gator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivoknucklehead
I have Bright House and a Saturday appointment for 2 cable cards to go into my Series 3 I just ordered. Seminole County FL
When you ordered the cards did you tell them it was for a Tivo unit?
Gator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:09 PM   #16
TiVoPony
TiVo Forum Special Member
 
TiVoPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alviso, California
Posts: 2,194
I'll add one more thing in here that may be helpful.

If you contact your cable company, and they say they won't give you the cards you want...call us.

When you call, explain that you need help getting cable cards from your cable company, and would like to speak to the HD Team.

They'll get on the line with you while you call your cable company, and they'll help explain everything to the cable representative.

That should, hopefully, help.

Pony
__________________
Director of Product Marketing
TiVo Inc.
TiVoPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:14 PM   #17
megazone
Hardcore TiVo Geek
 
megazone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: .worcester.ma.us
Posts: 3,302
Wasn't there a special number to call for CC issues? I thought I remembered that...
__________________
-MegaZone, Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
megazone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:18 PM   #18
tivoknucklehead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator1
When you ordered the cards did you tell them it was for a Tivo unit?

yes, i was their first request
tivoknucklehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:50 PM   #19
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJerry
All major cable companies (MSOs) are required by the FCC's 'Plug-and-Play' order to provide CableCARDs to any customer using any UDCR (Uni-Directional Cable Receiver) device on CableLabs list of certified, verified or self- verified cable products. The TiVo Series3 HD DVR product is on this list.

TJ-

do you have a link to that list incase it's needed?
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 03:01 PM   #20
bkdtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
If you contact your cable company, and they say they won't give you the cards you want...call us.

When you call, explain that you need help getting cable cards from your cable company, and would like to speak to the HD Team.

They'll get on the line with you while you call your cable company, and they'll help explain everything to the cable representative.

That should, hopefully, help.
Wow, I am impressed.

Have you considered a phone number or phone menu option dedicated to this issue -- i.e. dealing with incompetant or misinformed cable company CSRs who refuse to provide a CableCard for the Series3?
bkdtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 03:05 PM   #21
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
anyone have the link to the fcc filing with the cablecard installation guide? I think the 800 number is on that.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 04:39 PM   #22
TiVoJerry
TiVo Field Trials PM
 
TiVoJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 1,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK
TJ-

do you have a link to that list incase it's needed?
http://www.cablelabs.com/udcp/downloads/OC_PNP.pdf
__________________
Jerry
TiVo Field Trials Program Manager
Grillmeister

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 04:50 PM   #23
stevereis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK
anyone have the link to the fcc filing with the cablecard installation guide? I think the 800 number is on that.
Use this URL. It's the landing page for the tivo.com/cablecard URL and is the PDF that was scanned & included in the filing (and is included in the S3 box)
http://tivo.com/pdfs/CableCARDInstall.pdf
__________________

648-S3 - 750GB - TWC (2xS) + ATSC
652-HD - 160GB - TWC (1xM) + ATSC
649-S2DT - 500GB - TWC analog + Voom ATSC
595-DRT800 - 300GB - TWC analog + Voom ATSC
240-S2 - 420 GB - TWC analog
stevereis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 09:06 PM   #24
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJerry
thanks!
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 09:11 PM   #25
cjw2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJerry
All major cable companies (MSOs) are required by the FCC's 'Plug-and-Play' order to provide CableCARDs to any customer using any UDCR (Uni-Directional Cable Receiver) device on CableLabs list of certified, verified or self- verified cable products. The TiVo Series3 HD DVR product is on this list.
What about non-major cable companies -- are there any legal exceptions where small providers can refuse to cooperate?
cjw2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:35 PM   #26
jfh3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Denver area
Posts: 4,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjw2001
What about non-major cable companies -- are there any legal exceptions where small providers can refuse to cooperate?
Yes, which is why Tivo says most major cable operators.
jfh3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 12:18 AM   #27
eisenb11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoPony
If you contact your cable company, and they say they won't give you the cards you want...call us.

When you call, explain that you need help getting cable cards from your cable company, and would like to speak to the HD Team.

They'll get on the line with you while you call your cable company, and they'll help explain everything to the cable representative.


Pony
Holy smokes. If that's not amazing customer service, I don't know what is!

Way to go Tivo!

Tivo = superior service!
eisenb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 12:48 AM   #28
wmccain
Custom AV Consultant
 
wmccain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoJerry
All major cable companies (MSOs) are required by the FCC's 'Plug-and-Play' order to provide CableCARDs to any customer using any UDCR (Uni-Directional Cable Receiver) device on CableLabs list of certified, verified or self- verified cable products.
"MSO" stands for "Multiple System Operator". This is "FCC jargon" for all the "big guys" such as Comcast, Time-Warner (etc.) that operate cable systems in more than one locality.

Due to the significant consolidation that occured in the cable industry over the last 15 years (i.e., mergers and acquisitions) nearly every metropolitan community is served by an MSO. However, small independent cable operators do still exist, particularly in rural areas. Also, there are literally thousands of small, private cable systems that serve apartment buildings or condominiums (but those are disappearing, too, as the local MSO or telco comes in and makes the building owners or board of directors an "offer they can't refuse") ...

Many of these small cable systems don't even offer digital cable, much less a Cable Card. In fact, a "rule of thumb" is: "If they have Cable Cards, they are probably an MSO."
__________________
William C. McCain
Palo Alto, California

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmccain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 01:15 AM   #29
Zaphod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmccain
"MSO" stands for "Multiple System Operator". This is "FCC jargon" for all the "big guys" such as Comcast, Time-Warner (etc.) that operate cable systems in more than one locality.

Due to the significant consolidation that occured in the cable industry over the last 15 years (i.e., mergers and acquisitions) nearly every metropolitan community is served by an MSO. However, small independent cable operators do still exist, particularly in rural areas. Also, there are literally thousands of small, private cable systems that serve apartment buildings or condominiums (but those are disappearing, too, as the local MSO or telco comes in and makes the building owners or board of directors an "offer they can't refuse") ...

Many of these small cable systems don't even offer digital cable, much less a Cable Card. In fact, a "rule of thumb" is: "If they have Cable Cards, they are probably an MSO."
How does one know whether their cable provider fits the MSO category or not? Is there anywhere that gives an official list? I specifically have Mediacom in Des Moines, Iowa. I'm pretty sure they don't offer cablecards at all though I've not specifically asked them yet. I'm just wondering if I call them and they say they don't offer them at all, do I have any recourse if they do fit in the MSO category?

I'm seriously considering the S3 but not sure I want to pay that much yet. I do have an S1 with lifetime that qualify for the service transfer, but $1,000 by the time it's all done is a bit steep for me. Still considering, but if I find out my local cable provider doesn't even provide cable cards then I guess there's nothing to consider.
Zaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 03:40 AM   #30
seattlewendell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 246
Do you really need cable cards "installed"? i have a cable card in one of my TV's. The Comcast guy showed up. "installed" the card. Got on his cell and read the numbers that appeared on the screen to someone on the phone. 30 seconds later he was walking out the door and my TV was on. Wasn't that the whole point of cable card, that you don't need the cable company to install it?
seattlewendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |