TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2006, 08:18 AM   #1
jonesgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Weaknees interactive upgrade - "No CD-ROM found"

Hi, I spent the last two nights trying to add a 200GB HD to my TiVo 540040, and wanted to share a pitfall that I spent a good deal of time looking for an answer to. I'll apologize in advance in case this has been discussed before, I could find a couple of posts with the same problem, but nothing that addressed the problem.

After I booted up with the weaknees_lba_boot_cd (It successfully booted from the CD), It searched for my CD-ROM drive 5 times, then stated "No CD-ROM found". This left me with a VERY limited shell. I couldn't ls or anything, and there were like only 2 devices in /dev (I had to get a directory listing by utilizing the auto complete function: tab twice)

What I discovered: the first ide device was starting at hde instead of hda. This was because I had an onboard promise RAID controller, and that is getting loaded before my primary IDE controller. I spent alot of time trying to disable the RAID controller in vain, because my first IDE device was still showing up as hde after I had the RAID controller disabled (not sure why).

Anyways, I did a little more research to try to understand the problem more, and I stumbled across the kernel parameter "ide=reverse" which will swich the primary and secondary ide channels. I decided to give it a go, and it worked perfectly!

I think that the "mount-cdrom" script in the cdrom only checks the first four ide devices, so I am not sure if weaknees wants to address this, or add a little commentary in their documents to explain how to get around this.

At the lilo boot prompt (where it tells you to hit enter), I had to type:
linux ide=reverse
then follow the weaknees interactive upgrade instructions

I hope this is helpful to at least one other person.
jonesgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 02:09 AM   #2
TechDreamer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 468
I have a computer that does the same thing as yours, but the CD detection issue was hit or miss for me. I just kept rebooting and sometimes it would recognize the CD, but I still had to remember to start lettering all the drives at e instead of c. This swap trick will help me in the future. Thanks.
TechDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 06:44 PM   #3
DevilDogs
Steeler Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 59
Wow, that really helped out a lot. I have a motherboard that has SATA and regular IDE. I tried disabling SATA, with no luck. Glad I found this. Maybe this should be put in for others to use? Raid and SATA are getting more popular. I suspect there will be others that have this same issue.
DevilDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |