TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2005, 06:15 PM   #31
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
no problem.
Believe me we looked at many scenarios for getting this done, and the 5 dollar downloadable iso is by far the most idiot proofed way to get a good boot disk AND a hacked kernel, lets not re-invent the wheel we just re-invented
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:21 PM   #32
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
WOW this is truly so much easier than ever to hack the DTivo unit, first Gunny's "unguide" then rbautch "scripts" now "The ZIPPER", my question is where does the PTVnet CD(6.2 Version) fit into this great Zipper? or should I just use the Zipper w/o the PTVnet CD? wished you guys came out with the Zipper before I purchased the PTVnet CD, anyways GREAT WORK GUYS
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:21 PM   #33
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
well im downloading it and The_Zipper its the way to go,Thank you for all your help and pattience
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:24 PM   #34
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
If you are going to use the PTVnet cd, I reccomend just using rbautch's enhancement script.
The Zipper does everything ptvnet does the enhancement script however is a bit fuller featured.
You get some very nice tivoweb modules, cron, season pass backup, and more.
Just realize PTVnet puts some stuff in places that the script may not know how to find.
I suggest asking about ptvnet in rbautch's script thread.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:30 PM   #35
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
If you are going to use the PTVnet cd, I reccomend just using rbautch's enhancement script.
The Zipper does everything ptvnet does the enhancement script however is a bit fuller featured.
You get some very nice tivoweb modules, cron, season pass backup, and more.
Just realize PTVnet puts some stuff in places that the script may not know how to find.
I suggest asking about ptvnet in rbautch's script thread.



thanks Gunny,
I hope rbautch see's my post, I'd rather not double post my question and take up space on the forums but I think you answered my question, looks like the way to go is to use the Zipper to hack my unit w/o the PTVnet CD, thanks again
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:34 PM   #36
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
The PTV net product is awesome though, I don't want anyone to think I was knocking it.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:42 PM   #37
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
The PTV net product is awesome though, I don't want anyone to think I was knocking it.


I know you wasn't knocking it, it's great for those that are not comfortable with hacking their DTivo unit but The Zipper seems so easy that I think anyone can follow it and hack their unit with no problems(seems to me from reading these threads that most problems stems from not READING what was written or instructed to do and follow)
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:47 PM   #38
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
we shall see when the success reports start coming in
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:55 PM   #39
mikehome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Zipper

Just ran across this thread. Very good stuff! I have a quick question. Will I have the ability to transfer shows with "Tivo to go" after using zipper? I had a standalone b4 my DTivo and remember having to have a media access key.

Also, If i perform the scripts on a HD with 6.2 on it, will I need to rerun the Guided setup? Thanks guys!
mikehome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:57 PM   #40
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
mike:
We can't talk about extraction here, but TTG is a standalone only feature.
If you already have 6.2 another guided setup will NOT be necessary.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 07:24 PM   #41
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
so all that is needed off the InstantCake CD is the image(000001) copied to the Tools CD and nothing else?
also, what happens in the future when The Zipper is updated with new things/scripts? thanks again
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 07:25 PM   #42
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Correct.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 07:28 PM   #43
mgmrick
Haven't broke yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Port Byron New York
Posts: 399
Rbautch,

For those of us already hacked. Is this a newer script on your site? I see mention of twice weekly reboots.

Thanks
Rick
__________________
MGM Rick
3 Philips DSR708
1 Rca Hd
HMO,MRV,2.0 USB,CALLERID,Serial Cable,160Gig Hardrive
gunny's unguide,rbautch scripts
mgmrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 07:35 PM   #44
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Haven't had time to post the new one on the Enhancement Script site, but you can just download the tools disk, and then copy it from there. New goodies include some network settings and performance tools, along with the twice/week reboot.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 07:59 PM   #45
mikehome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Mrv

Thanks for your fast replies. Will the DTIVO hacked with zipper and MRV enabled send recording to a standalone tivo? Was thinking about picking up a standalone tivo to use MRV and TTG. Since TTG is for standalones....sending recordings via MRV then use TTG on the standalone would get my recordings to the proper place




DTIVO with 440 hrs of Recording time!
Yippee!
mikehome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:01 PM   #46
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
mike,
yes with some caveats.
A standalone Series 2 can only MRV to a Directivo if IT has been superpatched as well.
Many of the Series 2 standalones being sold retail need some eeprom modifications done to enable the hack.
also check your PM's
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:15 PM   #47
mikehome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
TY Gunny. Well....... guess I have some reading and decision making to do. I miss the TTG but your PM sounds interesting also. Thanks again... you guys rock!
mikehome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:17 PM   #48
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
ok i did it,well i whent through the whole Zipper proccess but coulnt install the kernnel,it was looking for the GZ format and i thought i did but i guess not,anyways what do you guys suggest is the easiest way to put the kernnel in a freshly prepare hdd by zipper?I got everything in exept the kernel,I still have it connected to the pc(the hdd)

Thanks
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:28 PM   #49
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
where did you get the kernel?
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:30 PM   #50
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnm81002
what happens in the future when The Zipper is updated with new things/scripts? thanks again



I edited this question in my original post a few mins. later
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:32 PM   #51
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
from emule,what i have is the .px format file,tryed gziping with winrar but that dind do it,and couldnt figure out how to use GZip either
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:33 PM   #52
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
well
here's what I can tell you,
the Kernel from the boot cd in the instructions works. Which is why it was suggested in the 1st place.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:37 PM   #53
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnm81002
I edited this question in my original post a few mins. later

well once you've zippered, you're hacked, When the enhancement script side gets updated, you can always ftp the new one over and run it.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 09:02 PM   #54
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
well once you've zippered, you're hacked, When the enhancement script side gets updated, you can always ftp the new one over and run it.


couldn't I pull the drive and hack over it with any new updated "Zipper", I thought of that just right now?
also, can't things in the hard drive be deleted? is that called formatting? thanks again
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 09:09 PM   #55
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
that's my point there's no reason to do that.
The networked DTivo need never to be hacked in your PC again.
You use FTP to keep things updated.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 09:38 PM   #56
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
that's my point there's no reason to do that.
The networked DTivo need never to be hacked in your PC again.
You use FTP to keep things updated.


oh ok,
I was confused reading your post before, now I understand what you was saying, it's the "Enhancement Scripts" that would be updated but not "The Zipper", see many problems are do to not reading correctly, like I said before in my post
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 09:47 PM   #57
mikehome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Orighty then.... b4 I dive in here on da zipper.

1. If I have a 2 drive system (2 - 250 giggers)... I need only pull the master for the zipper hack? Correct?

2. And just to make sure..... Should I or Not plug in the phone line?

3. And almost last but not least....... I can get updates via supported network adapter ( still have my hardwired USB from my standalone)

4. Any recommendations on a standalone tivo that wont require an eprom update so I can use MRV between the 2 tivos (after zippering both of course). Figured I'd pick one up on fleabay if MRV between the 2 is a reality
mikehome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:26 PM   #58
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
1.) right, the 1st part of the zipper doesn't touch MFS unless you don't have 6.2 yet so just the master drive is needed. If you are starting from scratch with 2 BLANK HD's use instantcake on them 1st. It has provisions in software for marrying the drives. just skip the image your drive portions of the zipper instructions.
2.) No need for the phone line unless you want caller ID
3.) Updates come over the Sats. There is NO reason for the unit to "phone hom" in fact the hack prevents it.
4.) Not as well versed on Standalone models as I'd like to be, but I think if you avoid teh tivo branded Nighlight units you will be ok. You won't be zippering it. Zipper is for S2Dtivo only, you will be hacking it manually. Just realize you will have to have a subscription on it. you might be better off buying another DTivo (as long as it's not an R10) on Ebay. I don't THINK it has to be subbed to work as an MRV station.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen

Last edited by Gunnyman : 10-16-2005 at 10:36 PM.
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:48 PM   #59
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
ok have a problem copying the "superpatch-67all" and the "set-mrv" to the tools disk, when I extracted the files of the superpatch-67all.tar, I get the 2 files as "TCL file" and not "winRAR archive", what do I need to do to correct this? thanks
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:48 PM   #60
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
ok i finally got it to go through without any errors,but when i plug the hdd in the tivo it just sits on the Welcome.... screen any inputs its appriciated.

Thanks
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |