TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2005, 11:25 AM   #1
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
Hacking your Series 2 DTivo just got a WHOLE lot easier...

Hacking your 6.2 DirecTivo just got very easy! Rbautch and I have partnered to create a tool that completely automates the "Unguide" and installs his Tivo Enhancements, allowing you to completely hack your Tivo in no time at all. We thought it was the next logical step in Tivo Hacking, and so we proudly present "The Zipper". The Zipper is as easy as Tivo hacking gets! Please note, I will no longer be monitoring the 6.2 to hacked 6.2 thread so if you have questions ask them in THIS one. Support for Rbautch's enhancement script will continue in his original thread.
Many thanks to principal tester Dirac, and beta testers Jasch, Tsunami, and David Platt. Special thanks to Lou Jacob for his guidance throughout the development of The Zipper.
Please note, Rbautch and I will be monitoring this thread very regularly, so PLEASE don't discuss it at "the other place" or fill up our PM Boxes with questions.
DO NOT POST ON DDB ABOUT THE ZIPPER....
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen

Last edited by Gunnyman : 10-24-2005 at 03:42 AM.
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 11:55 AM   #2
fredfillis
Linuxly Challenged
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: DC Area
Posts: 108
You guys are freakin' legends!

Even though my DSR7000's are done I'm almost tempted to pull the drive outta one of those suckers just so I can give The Zipper a try!

Where do we send the beer tickets!
__________________
I wonder what happens when I do this ... uhoh.
DSR7000 x 2
fredfillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:22 PM   #3
Kevin L
Registered User
 
Kevin L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gulf Cove, FL
Posts: 1,572


Actually, not at you guys, but at DirecTV. I now have three HR10-250s and am phasing out my HDVR2s and DVR39.

When, oh WHEN, DirecTV, ARE YOU GOING TO GIVE US 6.2 FOR THE HR10-250? (caps intentional).

I don't care about copying the recordings. I just want the other cool tools, especially HMO.

Great work Gunny and rbautch!
__________________
Kevin
Kevin L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:31 PM   #4
willardcpa
QUASI-OMNISCIENT
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Eugene, OR USA
Posts: 2,686
OMG How will I ever be able to sleep peaceably again. Looking at Gunny's avatar and hearing him say over and over again, "You must try my Zipper, go ahead you won't be disappointed"
If I have any problems with it can I ask questions at DDB?

Seriously, outstanding.
willardcpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:41 PM   #5
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin L


Actually, not at you guys, but at DirecTV. I now have three HR10-250s and am phasing out my HDVR2s and DVR39.

When, oh WHEN, DirecTV, ARE YOU GOING TO GIVE US 6.2 FOR THE HR10-250? (caps intentional).

I don't care about copying the recordings. I just want the other cool tools, especially HMO.

Great work Gunny and rbautch!
You wouldn't be the first. Try this. DirecTV will eventually phase out the HD DTivos in favor of an mpeg-4 version. I even heard you'll get a free swap out when that happens, but the new one won't be a Tivo!
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:42 PM   #6
eddyj
Registered User
 
eddyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 48,273
So what do I do to be able to keep my phone line cocnnected (for CallerID)? The guiude says to keep it off.
eddyj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:52 PM   #7
Kevin L
Registered User
 
Kevin L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gulf Cove, FL
Posts: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
You wouldn't be the first. Try this. DirecTV will eventually phase out the HD DTivos in favor of an mpeg-4 version. I even heard you'll get a free swap out when that happens, but the new one won't be a Tivo!
Thanks, rbautch. I signed that petition the first week it was out. Also suggested to the author to correct the term HD TiVo (since there is no such animal) to HR10-250. Petitions always seem more plausible when accurate.

Great job!
__________________
Kevin
Kevin L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 01:08 PM   #8
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddyj
So what do I do to be able to keep my phone line cocnnected (for CallerID)? The guiude says to keep it off.
You shouldn't have to do anything special to be able to leave your phone line connected, since the script should take care the things required to keep you Tivo from calling the mothership. However, before you leave your phone line connected indefinitely, check the information in the Settings/Phone menu to see when the "next scheduled" call is supposed to be made. The script should update this date every Sunday and Wednesday night to make it at least 6 days out in the future, fooling the Tivo into thinking that it's never time to make the call. I put the line in the instructions about not connecting because there's a chance newbies can screw up the settings that keep the calls from being made. So, as the script runs, make sure you:

1. Say "yes" to the cron installation.
2. Say "no" to only rebooting if shows aren't recording.

Finally, continue to monitor your "next sceduled call" to make sure it's getting reset properly. Only after you have confirmed this works properly should you connect your phone line.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by rbautch : 11-09-2005 at 12:23 PM.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 01:50 PM   #9
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
I think you can get, or at least make, CID filters which will pass CID data only.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 01:58 PM   #10
sschwart
It sucks to be me
 
sschwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 6,867
Don't suppose this would work on a Series 1 with a NIC installed, would it?

Nice work, Gunny and Rbautch!
sschwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 03:30 PM   #11
TomK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 2,620
Great work, you guys!

I have a question - your directory listing on the TiVo_Zipper page shows the 'rbautch-files.tgz' file as being 2,218 KB in size. However, the size of this file in the "Tools CD" (tools_disk.zip) file is only 2,135 KB.

Is the "Tools CD" ok as is?
TomK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 03:31 PM   #12
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
yes
the CD has gone through a couple of changes since the image was captured for the instruction page.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 03:34 PM   #13
TomK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 2,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
yes
the CD has gone through a couple of changes since the image was captured for the instruction page.

Thanks!
TomK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 03:36 PM   #14
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
You're welcome
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:29 PM   #15
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
its a ok to a .px file for the kernel instead of the.GZ format when making the toolcd for Zipper?I got my kernel from somwhere else instead of the the ptupgrade cd.

Thanks
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:34 PM   #16
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
the script unzips it, so if you can, re gzip it and call it what the instructions say to.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:46 PM   #17
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
could i do the the re gzip with winrar? i know how to make rar and zip files but never heard of the gz fornat until now.

Thanks
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:47 PM   #18
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
I THINK so
I'm on a mac and it's been a while since I used winrar.
Also make SURE your killhdinit'ed kernel will WORK with 6.2
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:50 PM   #19
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
ok i Ziped it and rename it to VMLINUX_.GZ but its a .rar file,BTW thanks for your help


I was also wondering could i use the Knopix boot cd instead of the pvupgrade cd?

Thanks
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:53 PM   #20
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
use gzip instead.
http://www.gzip.org/
just did some googling
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:54 PM   #21
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
which is what i should of done,Thanks a bunch
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:56 PM   #22
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
no problem.
I guess we're going to have to adjust the script for this in the future.
What are you using for a boot disk anyway?
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:59 PM   #23
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
i have MFS Tools2.0 and Knoppix and im planning on upgrading to a 160GB so i guess i should use the Knoppix right?or what ever you suggest
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:01 PM   #24
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
you might have problems accessing the mfs partitions with the knoppix cd.
We reccomend the 5 dollar boot cd for a good reason, it understands the Tivo file system
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:03 PM   #25
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
i dont have that cd and i want to start working on this and didnt want to wait for the cd,but i guess im going to have to order it.
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:05 PM   #26
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
nevermind i found the free download that has th byte swap feature
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:07 PM   #27
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,474
okas long as you use the kernel you have, and it's gzipped, AND it is compatible with 6.2 you will be ok.
The kernels on that free disk are NOT for series 2 DTivos.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:07 PM   #28
TomK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 2,620
You download it when you pay $5 for it. There's nothing to wait for.
TomK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:09 PM   #29
dsmturbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 63
Thanks again Gunnyman and rbautch...you are the Best. Ever
dsmturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:09 PM   #30
F1 Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
well how stupid of me! Thanks guys
F1 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |