TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2005, 04:38 PM   #91
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
I'm looking for volunteers to help me test out a tcl script that will remove HMO/MRV keys from MFS to solve this problem. You need no special skills, just to have Tivowebplus installed. PM me if you're interested.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 09:21 AM   #92
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTUx9
Just to let you know, when installing crond onto a system without /busybox, it moves it first, then discovers it exists, so renames it to crond.bak

Suggestion: change responses to "y" instead of yes (or accept both)... people are more likely to make mistakes when entering "yes"

All in all, nice job, keep up the good work (just don't post this on DDB, their opinions about automation are well known)
Good suggestions, BTUx9. I fixed the crond issue, and I'll use "y" instead of "yes" in the next version.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 10:45 AM   #93
Sirwill
Don't take my Tivo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 61
This sounds really cool, but does TWP and everything here work on a S1 tivo?
__________________
Tivo HD w/lifetime
1 60 Hour Series 1 Tivo Turbo Net w/lifetime
Sirwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 11:22 AM   #94
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
I haven't tested it, but most of it should work fine as long as your Tivo already has an rc.sysinit.author file. I would skip the parts that load channel logos and replace your splash screen. I think the graphic format of the splash screen might be different for S1 Tivos. You could try it, and if it doesn't work, just restore the backup splash screen AlmostThere.png.bak to AlmostThere.png. You can probably do this over telnet, but at a worst case you'll have to pull your drive to do it. I'm curious if this works, let me know...
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 11:38 AM   #95
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirwill
This sounds really cool, but does TWP and everything here work on a S1 tivo?
I really doubt you want to use it on an S1... besides the issues of compatibility with logos and splash screen, crond won't run and TWP has had all its event code lobotomized.

Much better to stick with the main-stream TWP for S1, IMHO
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 01:30 PM   #96
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
MRV/HMO Certificate Remover

I incorporated a new tcl script into the main enhancements script that will search for and remove MRV/HMO expiration certificates from MFS. If you received your 6.2 image from a Tivo download and then hacked it using the Gunnyman guide, you most likely got theses certificates, which will stop MRV/HMO from working 180 days after the download occurred. If you've already run the enhancements script, then use the attached cert-remover.tcl script. FTP it your Tivo and run it with the command:
Code:
 tivosh cert-remover.tcl
If you plan to run the enhancements script, it will prompt you to run the cert-remover automatically. Thanks to willardcpa for identifying this issue here, and to acii for helping me test the script!

edit: If you're unsure if you have the certificates or not, the script will let you know. Or you could search for them using TWP.
Attached Files
File Type: zip cert-remover.zip (805 Bytes, 81 views)
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by rbautch : 08-04-2005 at 02:44 PM.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 09:27 AM   #97
Tumminator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minneaplois, MN
Posts: 21
Thanks again RBAUTCH great work!
__________________
1 HDVR2 (6.2 with HMO & TivoWebPlus)
1 DSR7000 (6.2 with HMO & TivoWebPlus)
Tumminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 04:50 AM   #98
pruffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23
rbautch need your help, it seems no matter what i do i cant get hackman to install off of your automated script
here my hyperteminal log
bash-2.02# mount -o remount,rw /
bash-2.02# cd /var
bash-2.02# sh start.sh

Loading channel logo slices...

Backing up existing splash screen...
Replacing splash screen...
cp: /enhancements/new_splash_rcb.png: No such file or directory
mv: new_splash_rcb.png: No such file or directory

Installing new profile with aliases...
Checking for existing profile...
Backing up existing profile to .profile.bak...
Installing new profile with aliases...

installing Tivowebplus (modified for 6.2/7.1) plus several awesome modules,
including Hackman, Channelprefs, Batch Play, Backup, and Manual Record
/var/hack exists, installing TWP there. Patience, please...
mv: /enhancements/TWP_archive.tgz: No such file or directory
tar: TWP_archive.tgz: No such file or directory
rm: TWP_archive.tgz: No such file or directory
Appending your rc.sysinit.author file to run TWP on startup
TRUST ME

busybox detected...
Crond binary missing from /busybox, now installing...
mv: /enhancements/crond: No such file or directory
chmod: /busybox/crond: No such file or directory
Existing cron installation detected in /var/spool/cron, skipping cron install...


Installation Complete! Please reboot now..

please help
since i couldnt get twp working with your script im using twp 1.0 final it works but has no hackman included
thanks
pruffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 05:56 AM   #99
PortlandPaw
Woodstock-era Hacker
 
PortlandPaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Posts: 1,057
Does the script set permissions for "find" and "sendkey?" That's usually the most common reason for an installation failure.
__________________
David R. Hill...............hackman:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chebeague Island, Maine
There are 10 kinds of people, those who count in binary and those who don't.
PortlandPaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 10:11 AM   #100
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Thanks Paw, but it looks like a missing TWP archive is the culprit this time. The problem is that your running the wrong script. You have to run tweak.sh, not start.sh. The tweak.sh script untars the rbautch-files archive (where start.sh is), puts everyting in the right places, and launches start.sh. Do not untar the rbautch-files.tgz archive yourself.

To fix this, just delete TWP 1.0, and any files you may have untarred. The only files you should be starting with are tweak.sh and rbautch-files.tgz. You may want to download version 2.0, which removes MRV/HMO expiration certificates from MFS.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by rbautch : 08-06-2005 at 12:42 PM.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 06:08 PM   #101
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
You may want to download version 2.0, which removes MRV/HMO expiration certificates from MFS.


where can I download version 2.0? thanks
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 12:50 AM   #102
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Same place you got the last version. The download was updated yesterday.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 11:11 AM   #103
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Now updated with the latest channel logo slice. Has 50 more logos.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 11:18 AM   #104
ttodd1
Proud Computer Geek
 
ttodd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 1,516
Just curious - which TWP modules did you include in your script?
__________________
My views represent only what the voices in my head tell me.
Now if I could just chew through these restraints...
ttodd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 12:25 PM   #105
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttodd1
Just curious - which TWP modules did you include in your script?
Hackman, Channelprefs, Batch Play, Netconfig, Backup, and Manual Record. I'm also going to be adding SteveT's enhanced user interface shortly.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 02:38 PM   #106
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 68,452
TC CLUB MEMBER
Cool, rbautch! I look forward to installing it on my HDVR2 shortly. This is a hack upgrade weekend.

Thanks for everything!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 08:07 PM   #107
beejpowers
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 232
The crond module will make it so I can still order pay-per-view? With the phone line attached?
Has anyone verified this? I'd hate to have to pull the drive again... don't get me worng, the hack was relatively fast but my wife gets scarred when the tivo shell is on the kitchen counter.
__________________
Beej Powers

HR10-250
SD-DVR80
HR21-700 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
HR21-100 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
beejpowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 08:15 PM   #108
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
serial cable + changing password = not having to pull drive in 90% of the cases, if done correctly.
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 08:30 PM   #109
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by beej
The crond module will make it so I can still order pay-per-view? With the phone line attached?
Has anyone verified this? I'd hate to have to pull the drive again... don't get me worng, the hack was relatively fast but my wife gets scarred when the tivo shell is on the kitchen counter.
The crond installation will make sure your unit never makes a regular call to Tivo, which would be bad. The ppv call is a seperate call to DirecTV, which is ok. I haven't tested this myself because I don't have a phone line. Why don't you try it out and report back? Just keep monitoring your system information screen to make sure the "Last Successful" and "Next Scheduled" calls keep getting updated.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 09:51 PM   #110
BTUx9
back?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 1,596
FYI TWP 1.2 has been released (and most of the patches/changes were made by rbautch )
__________________
Check Out my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
with info on TWP2.0 and Tivoserver
BTUx9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 09:53 PM   #111
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,799
yup I saw that, unfortunately the threads go by times that are posted otherwise I would have saw the thread on the bottom hence I Deleted my post, thanks
__________________
Philips DSR704-My Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Philips DSR704-Wife's Unit(Seagate 1TB=975 hours>>Zippered)
Directv R15(it was free-Directv Promotion)
Pioneer DVR810H-not in use
bnm81002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:53 PM   #112
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
I'm helping out on the future Tivowebplus 1.2.1 release also, which will finally integrate a few of the most useful modules.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:04 PM   #113
beejpowers
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
The crond installation will make sure your unit never makes a regular call to Tivo, which would be bad. The ppv call is a seperate call to DirecTV, which is ok. I haven't tested this myself because I don't have a phone line. Why don't you try it out and report back? Just keep monitoring your system information screen to make sure the "Last Successful" and "Next Scheduled" calls keep getting updated.
OK.
I'll guinea pig this tonight.

When you go into settings->phone->connect to DVR Service... is that calling D* or Tivo. Since it says DVR service, I would think thats tivo... is there a way to force call D* ?

In regards to the "almost there" splash screen, where do you put a new one to install instead of yours (don't get me wrong, I like yours but I like to play )
__________________
Beej Powers

HR10-250
SD-DVR80
HR21-700 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
HR21-100 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
beejpowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 04:40 PM   #114
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by beej
OK.
I'll guinea pig this tonight.

When you go into settings->phone->connect to DVR Service... is that calling D* or Tivo. Since it says DVR service, I would think thats tivo... is there a way to force call D* ?

In regards to the "almost there" splash screen, where do you put a new one to install instead of yours (don't get me wrong, I like yours but I like to play )
Connect to DVR Service is Tivo. Not sure how to force a call to DirecTV other than ordering a PPV. the splash screen is located in /tvbin/AlmostThere.png. Be sure to heed my warnings in post 21 before you try to replace it. I posted my source graphics on the download site to use as a base for new splash screens. Be sure to post your new splash screen here so we all can share!
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 05:30 PM   #115
beejpowers
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Connect to DVR Service is Tivo. Not sure how to force a call to DirecTV other than ordering a PPV. the splash screen is located in /tvbin/AlmostThere.png. Be sure to heed my warnings in post 21 before you try to replace it. I posted my source graphics on the download site to use as a base for new splash screens. Be sure to post your new splash screen here so we all can share!
OK,
I have the script installed and am waiting to reboot. My wife is watching the news so it'll be a few. Maybe all night. But I'll let you know about the connect to DVR stuff since she bought a PPV 2 days ago without a phone line...
__________________
Beej Powers

HR10-250
SD-DVR80
HR21-700 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
HR21-100 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
beejpowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 12:43 PM   #116
metrounit9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
Quick question from a newb, what's the best way to install version 2.0? Uninstall previous version or install over previous (1.4 I think)?

Thanks
metrounit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 12:50 PM   #117
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 68,452
TC CLUB MEMBER
Hmm. I've always thought with a hacked DTiVo the best way to order PPV's was over the internet or calling a CST at DTV (yet there's a surcharge for the latter, I think.)

I leave my DTiVo's phone line unplugged.
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 12:55 PM   #118
beejpowers
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer
Hmm. I've always thought with a hacked DTiVo the best way to order PPV's was over the internet or calling a CST at DTV (yet there's a surcharge for the latter, I think.)

I leave my DTiVo's phone line unplugged.
Totally true. But my wife forgot that I hacked the Tivo and told her that she shouldn't buy PPV on a whim...

What really gets me about PPV is that we have 875 DVDs... She could have found something to watch!

As for the hack and see what connects. I installed the script, no sweat. Now I am just waiting for the Tivo to call D*. I hope it will have by the time I get home. It hadn't when I went to bed last night.
__________________
Beej Powers

HR10-250
SD-DVR80
HR21-700 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
HR21-100 - PRAYING for a D*TiVo Exchange program in '09
beejpowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 01:24 PM   #119
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by metrounit9
Quick question from a newb, what's the best way to install version 2.0? Uninstall previous version or install over previous (1.4 I think)?

Thanks
Uninstall the old, then reinstall the new.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 01:30 PM   #120
kramerboy
Jelly Man
 
kramerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orrville, OH
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbautch
Now updated with the latest channel logo slice. Has 50 more logos.
Excellent. So, this is a more updated logo set than the logo-67.slice that is out there? If so, that is great news. I've been looking for an updated logo set for a while.
kramerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |