TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2005, 12:10 AM   #31
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
haven't had the chance yet.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 12:14 AM   #32
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,824
Thanks to insomnia, DONE.
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:53 AM   #33
pearkel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 32
Has anyone had problems uninstalling this script. I installed on 2 machines and It worked like a champ on the 2nd machine but on the 1st RCADVR40 I am having problems with tivoweb. I tried to uninstall but I just get a series of y's on the cmd prompt. It never really uninstalls.
Any ideas?
Thanks

Also thanks for all of the knowledge on this forum I really appreciate it.
pearkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:06 AM   #34
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Try running dos2unix on the uninstall script.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:43 AM   #35
pearkel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 32
I tried that once and got the same result. I'll try again later tonight.
Thanks
pearkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:53 AM   #36
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
You might also try opening the file with vi, and looking for dos line endings that look like this: ^M^M You can manually delete them if dos2unix doesn't seem to work.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 11:12 AM   #37
dmark1867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
rbautch Thanks, this is awesome!

If possible I would like to keep just my elseed log from being wiped.

How can I have it wipe all logs but elseed?

Thanks
dmark1867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 11:21 AM   #38
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
What's the name of your elseed log, and where is it stored?
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 11:38 AM   #39
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
If it's in var/log/ and it is called elseed.log, then replace the file called "root" in the /var/spool/cron/crontabs/ directory with the attached one. This will copy your elseed log somwhere safe while the logs are being wiped, and then move it back after the wiping is done.
Attached Files
File Type: zip root.zip (1.1 KB, 40 views)
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 12:48 PM   #40
pearkel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 32
rbautch I checked this out at lunch today. I vi the script but I didn't see any extra commands. Right after I hit yes I think it says I don't think so then a series of these
y
y
y
etc

and it just keeps going. I am at a loss on why it won't uninstall.
Any other ideas?
pearkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:16 PM   #41
Philly Bill
Everyday is Saturday
 
Philly Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rotonda West, Florida / Double Springs, Alabama
Posts: 6,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman
Thanks to insomnia, DONE.
Wow. Only 4 minutes?
Philly Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:08 PM   #42
dmark1867
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks rbautch you are da man,

Yeah it is called elseed.log

I really appreciate it.
dmark1867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:18 PM   #43
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by pearkel
rbautch I checked this out at lunch today. I vi the script but I didn't see any extra commands. Right after I hit yes I think it says I don't think so then a series of these
y
y
y
etc

and it just keeps going. I am at a loss on why it won't uninstall.
Any other ideas?
Try re-downloading the file, then try a different computer if you can. If that fails, try the attached version of the uninstall script, which just runs without asking you if you want to run it first. Can someone ese test out the uninstall script for me? I tested it extensively before my entire house got fried from a power surge yesterday.
Attached Files
File Type: zip tweak-uninstall.zip (668 Bytes, 112 views)
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 06:27 PM   #44
panjabi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
would it be possible to add more apps to this

i am very new at this and if i went through hours and hours to this stuff, i sitill can't make alot of things work. it would be nice if someone can make one package installatin for things like tystudio, tivotelnet, tivoweb, control station, mfs ftp, yac,ty tool i have included a pictures with all programs download from somewhere also if one can add scritps like nag killer and delnag and fixup3.0 which removes nags from unsubed tivos. is this posible to put all programs in one installation
Attached Images
File Type: jpg programs.jpg (39.2 KB, 260 views)
panjabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 07:33 AM   #45
metrounit9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
problem with instal

When I run the install script it seems to ignore my responses, i.e. "Do you want to install Channel Logos [yes/no]". When I type yes, it responds with "skipping logo installation". Also as the script runs a little farther it doesn't allow the time to respond before skipping TWP installation.

I have run dos2unix on the script, downloaded a couple of times, checked with vi, and don't see any dos line endings.

I'm a newb so I probably doing something simple wrong.

rbautch thanks for the script..hope to get working soon...and good luck recovering from your power surge.
metrounit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 07:46 AM   #46
David Platt
Manually-adjusted
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9,983
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by metrounit9
When I run the install script it seems to ignore my responses, i.e. "Do you want to install Channel Logos [yes/no]". When I type yes, it responds with "skipping logo installation". Also as the script runs a little farther it doesn't allow the time to respond before skipping TWP installation.

I have run dos2unix on the script, downloaded a couple of times, checked with vi, and don't see any dos line endings.

I'm a newb so I probably doing something simple wrong.

rbautch thanks for the script..hope to get working soon...and good luck recovering from your power surge.
What software version are you running?
David Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:00 AM   #47
pearkel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 32
Quote:
When I run the install script it seems to ignore my responses, i.e. "Do you want to install Channel Logos [yes/no]". When I type yes, it responds with "skipping logo installation". Also as the script runs a little farther it doesn't allow the time to respond before skipping TWP installation.
This is what is happening on my rca. I finally got it uninstalled last night. The script you gave without asking questions worked fine. I went to reinstall and it did the same thing again. Just skips over the Tivoweb question.

I had no problems installing on a Phillips and has been working great the last 2 days, I just can't get it working on the RCA.
pearkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:09 AM   #48
clover_kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13
Great JOB. This utility gets added to my "must use" list!

Now, for the unasked for request...how about adding the backported USB drivers for increased transfer speed and how about installing tserver at the same time?

Once again...Great job

Bill
clover_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:39 AM   #49
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by clover_kid
Great JOB. This utility gets added to my "must use" list!

Now, for the unasked for request...how about adding the backported USB drivers for increased transfer speed and how about installing tserver at the same time?

Once again...Great job

Bill
The USB drivers are an excellent idea. I'll add it to the next version if I can get permission from the guy who did all the hard work to backport them.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:47 AM   #50
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by pearkel
This is what is happening on my rca. I finally got it uninstalled last night. The script you gave without asking questions worked fine. I went to reinstall and it did the same thing again. Just skips over the Tivoweb question.

I had no problems installing on a Phillips and has been working great the last 2 days, I just can't get it working on the RCA.
It may be something peculiar about your Telnet session. If I Telnet from my laptop, I actually have the same problem as you, even on a 4 line test script, but it seems to work from every other computer I try it on. Pearkel, if the only thing you need is the TWP installation, just extract the TWP folder from the archive and FTP it to your Tivo. I may create a version of the script that doesn't ask any questions.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 11:28 AM   #51
baltman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
New to this. How to I get to my tivo box to run this script.

Like to learn alittle about hacking.

Thanks

Dave
baltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 01:04 PM   #52
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
If anyone is still having trouble with the prompts for user input, try out this version which has the prompts removed. Again, this will install everything without asking. Just replace the /enhancements/start.sh script with the one attached and run it. Don't run tweak.sh, run start.sh. I haven't tested this, so use at your own risk.
Attached Files
File Type: zip start.zip (1.7 KB, 113 views)
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 04:10 PM   #53
W2DHS
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Basking Ridge, NJ
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by baltman
New to this. How to I get to my tivo box to run this script.

Like to learn alittle about hacking.

Thanks

Dave
This isn't the best forum, Google for jjbliss* and visit the forum that is the top results. SEARCH and READ A LOT before asking questions, they are vicious to newbies asking questions that have already been answered.
W2DHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 05:06 PM   #54
Philly Bill
Everyday is Saturday
 
Philly Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rotonda West, Florida / Double Springs, Alabama
Posts: 6,221
I'd say that thanks to a few guys who really don't mind helping others out, this forum - in this section - IS getting to be a place to learn to hack your TIVO.

There even seems to be one or two folks who frequent the other place that have stopped by to lend a hand.

Props to those who deserve it.
Philly Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 09:21 PM   #55
pdawg17
Here's Julia!!
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 362
rbautch-

My comp has trouble running the uninstall script correctly...is there another way to only uninstall the cron part? I want to keep the rest...

Also, I can't get tivowebplus to start on boot...what should I check for?
__________________
"Zippered and Enhanced" HR10-250

Last edited by pdawg17 : 07-27-2005 at 09:57 PM.
pdawg17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 10:18 PM   #56
jjz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by metrounit9
When I run the install script it seems to ignore my responses, i.e. "Do you want to install Channel Logos [yes/no]". When I type yes, it responds with "skipping logo installation". Also as the script runs a little farther it doesn't allow the time to respond before skipping TWP installation.
Are you using the telnet agent built into windows XP SP2- its adds an extra return which can muck up scripts
If you are to get rid of he extra return do this:
Start--->Run, type in "cmd" the return
type in "telnet" then return
type in "unset crlf" then return
To connect to your box type in "o ipaddressofyourtivo" then return

see if that works for you
jjz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 10:19 PM   #57
ssstivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by baltman
New to this. How to I get to my tivo box to run this script.

Like to learn alittle about hacking.

Thanks

Dave
Follow the link to Gunnyman's guide. That should put you well on your way.

It's worked out great for me and my 3 DTivos.

http://www.thewallens.net/tivo/Tivo_unguide.html
ssstivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 11:05 PM   #58
metrounit9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
Different Telnet session worked

rbautch,

Just confirming your suspicion about the telnet session, I booted my PC into Suse (had been in XP) and ran telnet session from there and your script worked flawlessly.

Everything is installed. Now I just have to play around with it for awhile.
metrounit9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 10:04 AM   #59
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17
rbautch-

My comp has trouble running the uninstall script correctly...is there another way to only uninstall the cron part? I want to keep the rest...

Also, I can't get tivowebplus to start on boot...what should I check for?
First try dos2unix on the uninstall script. Then try using a different telnet clent (I prefer Telnet98), or the procedure jjz described above (thanks jjz!). If that doesn't work, I'll walk you through a manual uninstall process. After you get it uninstalled, reinstall it, and it should append your rc.sysinit.author file to run TWP on boot. Keep us posted.
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2005, 10:47 AM   #60
rbautch
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjz
Are you using the telnet agent built into windows XP SP2- its adds an extra return which can muck up scripts
If you are to get rid of he extra return do this:
Start--->Run, type in "cmd" the return
type in "telnet" then return
type in "unset crlf" then return
To connect to your box type in "o ipaddressofyourtivo" then return
You hit the nail on the head, jjz. I can confirm that running telnet from XP SP1 is fine, but from XP SP2 causes problems. I'm going to add your suggestion above to the instructions. Thanks!!
__________________
DSR7000 x 4, HR10-250, Prom Modded R10

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rbautch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |