TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Forum Extras > DVD TiVo Units (Archive)
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2004, 05:17 PM   #1
TivoDaddy
Registered User
 
TivoDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,574
Official Toshiba RS-TX Owners Club

OK, it seems that owners of this unit are in the minority in the TiVo/DVD arena. I haven't seen many threads that talk about problems and/or suggestions for these units. So here it goes, "Hi my name is Jorge, and I own a Toshiba TiVo/DVD player/recorder."

First of all, all owners of the RS-TX20 and RS-TX60 units chime in and represent!!

I'll start of with the first question. When I had to reboot the first few days of ownership (guided setup, new software, etc.), my screen always hung up on this selection screen. Does it go automatically after a while? Was I just too inpatient? I had to press the Select button before it proceeded with the full restart.
__________________
-Jorge

Last edited by TivoDaddy : 12-23-2004 at 10:58 AM.
TivoDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:16 AM   #2
LiveBlues
Master Blaster
 
LiveBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 5,012
I have a RS-TX20. Does that mean that I can't join?
__________________
Everybody knows what the blues is all about.
It's a pain you can't live with
It's a woman you can't live without - Gary Moore
LiveBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 07:20 AM   #3
regularguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
RS-TX20 here too. Our first TiVo, and we just booted it up last night.

If the only difference is the size of the hard drive, how about changing the name of this thread to the "Toshiba RS-TX Owners Club". If they are different in other ways, perhaps a separate thread is in order.
regularguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:04 AM   #4
TivoDaddy
Registered User
 
TivoDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,574
LiveBlues and regularguy, welcome to the club. I'll contact a mod to have them change the title of the thread! Pull up a chair and get a brewsky from the cooler!

regularguy, although I've been a SA Series I owner for over 4 years now, the RS-TX60 is my first Series II TiVo, so I'm new to the HMO, MRV, etc. Let us know any questions you may have.
__________________
-Jorge
TivoDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:50 PM   #5
regularguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Will do, Jorge.

I'm about to leave town for a week, so it should be interesting to see what TiVo has recorded when we return.

I have a bunch of home-movies on videotape that I want to burn to DVD-R, but I won't get on that until we get back home around New Year's.
regularguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 01:35 PM   #6
farscape66
Scorpious Rules!
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Annandale, Va. DC Area
Posts: 3
I have a TX-60 and love it

No probles in the last 6 weeks since I got it. My only regret is I wish it supportd DWD +RW instead of -RW.
__________________
Tivo Series 2 - Upgraded to 223 hours
farscape66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 01:43 PM   #7
angel35
Registered User
 
angel35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NEW YORK CITY
Posts: 527
Im here and I have A RS- TX20. I LOVE IT!!!!. It works like I want when Iwhat.
__________________
WE LOVE WE SEE AND WE ARE GONE

DT-649

DT- 649 -180

HD S3 -648

Tivo-HD -652
angel35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 01:46 PM   #8
angel35
Registered User
 
angel35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NEW YORK CITY
Posts: 527
Some how that didnt come out right?????
__________________
WE LOVE WE SEE AND WE ARE GONE

DT-649

DT- 649 -180

HD S3 -648

Tivo-HD -652
angel35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 02:37 PM   #9
Pisser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 104
I have the TX-20 and probably going to return it. The blacks are being crushed, and bought the Humax. Same problem, the video is very dark. I going in svhs and out component. Bought a black series2 and buying a Pionner 810 later today, hopefully those will solve my video problem. Otherwise, I really like the Toshiba, very easy to use.
Pisser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 04:25 PM   #10
TivoDaddy
Registered User
 
TivoDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,574
Allright, we have owners coming out of the woodwork! angel35, I think we got your gist!

I'm going to do my first archiving right after the New Year. It seems that my ARWL caught a Three Stooges marathon on 12/31 on AMC. They don't show those episodes as frequently anymore, so it will be nice to transfer them to DVD. I'm guessing Medium quality will be fine for those old B&W, and I could transfer multiple episodes per DVD. Any suggestions?

Pisser I'm sorry you're having trouble with your machines. I'm glad to hear that you'll still get another TiVo though.
__________________
-Jorge
TivoDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 04:57 PM   #11
hellmutt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Just hooked up my first Tivo Last night, after long waiting and lots of research I must say the RS-TX60 is the perfect device for me. Only annoyance so far is the hard drive writing is pretty clicky and very noticable during quiet scenes.

I'm here to start learning about what else I can do with this box... So hopefully you'll see me around in some of the other forums.
hellmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 05:01 PM   #12
TivoDaddy
Registered User
 
TivoDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,574
hellmutt, I haven't had the opportunity to say this to anyone in a long time, but welcome to the TiVolution!!

You'll have lots to do and learn!
__________________
-Jorge
TivoDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:09 PM   #13
angel35
Registered User
 
angel35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NEW YORK CITY
Posts: 527
I see the name change has happened. I have RS-TX20. I have no problems with it. Its real quiet all the time.II LOVE IT.
__________________
WE LOVE WE SEE AND WE ARE GONE

DT-649

DT- 649 -180

HD S3 -648

Tivo-HD -652
angel35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:38 PM   #14
LiveBlues
Master Blaster
 
LiveBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 5,012
I am extremely pleased with mine. The addition of a burner and a large drive to my arsenal was one of the best things I have done since I bought my first TiVo over 3 years ago.

Pisser, sorry about your problems too. I haven't seen any PQ difference between the Toshiba and all of my other TiVos. I am using 2 on a 52" RP tv and have no complaints.
__________________
Everybody knows what the blues is all about.
It's a pain you can't live with
It's a woman you can't live without - Gary Moore
LiveBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 11:10 PM   #15
TimeShifter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH.
Posts: 3
TivoDaddy I've been part of the Tivolution from the very beginning. I still have an old 14hr! I recently added an RS-TX20 and a Humax '800. So far I'm a happy camper. The only problem I experienced with the TX-20 was when I enabled the progressive scan. I only had the component cables connected and after I switched the setting I got a blank screen for a few seconds before the switch failed. I had to connect standard video cables to find out that it was just asking for a few thumbs! For those of you that do not have older Hi Def TVs (or spent a big bucket of money!), there is a delay while the TV switches video modes. Typically the screen goes blank while it switches so I couldn't see the Tivo confirmation screen in time to respond. It would be nice if the manual mentioned the confirmation screen!
__________________
"I view the world on my terms and at a time of my choosing.."
TimeShifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 01:36 PM   #16
alanpgh
Registered User
 
alanpgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 91
I've had an RS-TX20 since late October. It is fantastic! I have had a Series I Tivo (Sony SVR2000) since Dec. 2001. The RS-TX20 is a great addition as I can now make DVD copies easily. And, the Tivo menu is generated on the DVD for those non-Tivo users.

Good Luck!

Alan
amandel (at) city-net.com
alanpgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 04:20 PM   #17
Mythos2004
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chester, VA
Posts: 3
Do either of the TX20 or TX60 units support DirecTV TIVO or are they just meant to be used for regular TIVO? My brother is thinking about getting one, but he has DirecTV. Thanks.

Mythos
Mythos2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 08:22 PM   #18
alanpgh
Registered User
 
alanpgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 91
I think the RS-TX20 supports only regular Tivo, not Drect TV. If anyone else knows differently, please post.

Thanks,
Alan
alanpgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 07:08 PM   #19
Desperado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and seriously considering getting the RS-TX60 (or maybe just the 20 or 40). It seems like most of you are pretty happy with these. I was only looking for a DVD recorder at first, until I found about these combo units.

One question: Is the standard/basic TiVo that comes with the units of any value, or is it just stripped down version that basically forces you to get the full version if you actually want to enjoy it? Are the Season Pass and/or Wish List features included in the basic version? How much does it cost to upgrade to the full version if you already have the lifetime standard version that comes with the unit?

Another (probably stupid) question: I have a digital cable box supplied by my cable company (Comcast). The cable box has its own on-screen program guide. I'm guessing TiVo has its own built-in tuner that's capable of picking up all digital channels available from Comcast. The descriptions of the units I've looked at don't mention anything about a tuner, but maybe that's too obvious - ?

Last question: I don't have a land line in my condo, but I do have high-speed internet through Comcast cable and a wireless Linksys router. I've searched the forum like a good little boy and I know you only need the land line for the initial setup. I'm just looking for some reassurance that if I do the setup at a friend's house, it won't be too difficult. I don't want to have to go through any the wacky workarounds, backdoors, etc. that I've seen mentioned in the forum. Any problems getting the Toshiba units to work with a router?

Thanks for your input. Looking forward to joining the Toshiba Owners' Club!
Desperado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 09:33 PM   #20
LiveBlues
Master Blaster
 
LiveBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 5,012
Quote:
Originally posted by Desperado
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and seriously considering getting the RS-TX60 (or maybe just the 20 or 40). It seems like most of you are pretty happy with these. I was only looking for a DVD recorder at first, until I found about these combo units.

One question: Is the standard/basic TiVo that comes with the units of any value, or is it just stripped down version that basically forces you to get the full version if you actually want to enjoy it? Are the Season Pass and/or Wish List features included in the basic version? How much does it cost to upgrade to the full version if you already have the lifetime standard version that comes with the unit?

Another (probably stupid) question: I have a digital cable box supplied by my cable company (Comcast). The cable box has its own on-screen program guide. I'm guessing TiVo has its own built-in tuner that's capable of picking up all digital channels available from Comcast. The descriptions of the units I've looked at don't mention anything about a tuner, but maybe that's too obvious - ?

Last question: I don't have a land line in my condo, but I do have high-speed internet through Comcast cable and a wireless Linksys router. I've searched the forum like a good little boy and I know you only need the land line for the initial setup. I'm just looking for some reassurance that if I do the setup at a friend's house, it won't be too difficult. I don't want to have to go through any the wacky workarounds, backdoors, etc. that I've seen mentioned in the forum. Any problems getting the Toshiba units to work with a router?

Thanks for your input. Looking forward to joining the Toshiba Owners' Club!
I never considered using TiVo basic, but this was not my first TiVo either. Basic will not give you season passes or wish list capabilities, which are the heart and soul of TiVo. I am not sure what you mean about lifetime standard. If you do not have lifetime on it, then it is worth every penny to upgrade to the full version, either monthly or lifetime.

If you have a digital cable box, you use the guide on the TiVo (either the regular TiVo guide, or a grid style guide). Once you choose the channel you want, either using the guide, or just punching in the channel number, the TiVo will use an IR blaster to change the channel on the cable box.

I think that there are ways to do the initial guided setup using your wireless connection. I have never done it, so I don't know how it is done. I'm sure that someone else that knows will chime in with an answer on that. But taking it to a friends house and setting it up isn't any different than doing it at your home. Just make sure you use the right zip code for your home.

If you end up buying this unit, you won't regret it.
__________________
Everybody knows what the blues is all about.
It's a pain you can't live with
It's a woman you can't live without - Gary Moore
LiveBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 09:48 PM   #21
Desperado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Thanks for the reply, LiveBlues.

Sounds like the TiVo Basic that comes with the Toshiba isn't really that much of an added value, since you pretty much need the TiVo Plus to really benefit from its features. The wireless setup seems kinda tricky from what I've read, so I'm not sure I'd want to try it.

Can I ask where you bought yours? The cheapest online seller I could find lists it for about $520. Walmart has them on their website for $598, but that's pretty high, and they're not in stock at my local store.

Thanks again!
Desperado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 11:13 PM   #22
LiveBlues
Master Blaster
 
LiveBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 5,012
I also answered in the other thread, but in case you don't check it, I bought it from www.buydig.com

I did some research on them before I ordered it, and everything I could find was positive.

Delivery was quick, shipping was free and I thought that the $455 price was good. That was about 3 weeks ago.
__________________
Everybody knows what the blues is all about.
It's a pain you can't live with
It's a woman you can't live without - Gary Moore
LiveBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 11:34 PM   #23
Desperado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Thanks! I'll check them out.
Desperado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 12:18 PM   #24
Stealontgt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Arrow

TIVO Newbee and tivo community newbee. Like many of the masses I got a Toshiba RS-TX20 for X-mas. Great gift if you are making your list for next year. I am having a problem getting the video to show. I have a Comcast DCT 2000 series cable box and a 50" Hitachi TV, but I can't get the video to show on TV unless I plug the COAX RF cable directly into the Toshiba unit. If I plug it into the Toshiba unit one channel will show, but when changing the channel the channel remains the same and the TIVO directory/skin changes to the next channel. If I run it through the Comcast cable box .... well needless to say the patient has no pulse. Per the directions I connected the Composite A/V (red, white, yellow) cable from the cable box to the Audio/Video input and another Composite A/V (red, white, yellow) cable from the Audio/Video output to the TV.

For all the veterans I apologize for the reverse progress in the TIVO Revolution, but if you could find it in your heart to set me straight I will keep my brain-less questions to a minimum.

Last edited by Stealontgt : 12-27-2004 at 02:21 PM.
Stealontgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 02:09 PM   #25
loonyboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 27
My RS-TX20 is in the mail!

I hope to have it tomorrow. It's going to replace my (massively upgraded) Philips 30 hour Series1.
loonyboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 03:09 PM   #26
Stealontgt
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5
Loonyboi let me know if you have the same problems on the install
Stealontgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 09:29 PM   #27
LiveBlues
Master Blaster
 
LiveBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 5,012
Quote:
Originally posted by Stealontgt
TIVO Newbee and tivo community newbee. Like many of the masses I got a Toshiba RS-TX20 for X-mas. Great gift if you are making your list for next year. I am having a problem getting the video to show. I have a Comcast DCT 2000 series cable box and a 50" Hitachi TV, but I can't get the video to show on TV unless I plug the COAX RF cable directly into the Toshiba unit. If I plug it into the Toshiba unit one channel will show, but when changing the channel the channel remains the same and the TIVO directory/skin changes to the next channel. If I run it through the Comcast cable box .... well needless to say the patient has no pulse. Per the directions I connected the Composite A/V (red, white, yellow) cable from the cable box to the Audio/Video input and another Composite A/V (red, white, yellow) cable from the Audio/Video output to the TV.

For all the veterans I apologize for the reverse progress in the TIVO Revolution, but if you could find it in your heart to set me straight I will keep my brain-less questions to a minimum.
I'm not sure if I understand your problem. If you have the cable going into the cable box using coax, and then use the composite cables out of the TiVo to the tv, it should work fine. In order to change channels on the cable box, you have to use the IR blaster out of the TiVo to the cable box, in order to allow the TiVo to do the actual channel changes on the cable box.
__________________
Everybody knows what the blues is all about.
It's a pain you can't live with
It's a woman you can't live without - Gary Moore
LiveBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 09:53 PM   #28
Lday
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
I am also new and received the RS-TX20 for Christmas too. I just set it up yesterday and have Comcast. My problem is that the banner on the channel does not match the channel. Also, I am not getting all of my channels through TiVo that I really have. It did not program all of the channels correctly. I have tried everything I can think of and have not had the patience to stay on hold for over 20 minutes to get help from TiVo. Any ideas out there? I know it is related to the cable company selection but I cannot find anywhere to go in and change it. Sorry for such a boring post!
Lday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 10:00 PM   #29
LiveBlues
Master Blaster
 
LiveBlues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 5,012
You will need to run guided setup again to change the cable lineup.
__________________
Everybody knows what the blues is all about.
It's a pain you can't live with
It's a woman you can't live without - Gary Moore
LiveBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 10:09 PM   #30
Lday
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3
thank you LiveBlues. Also, I cannot find my tv model name on the list to program the code to use the TiVo remote for power, mute, volume? My manufacturer is Westinghouse and was not on the list. Any thoughts on how to find the code for Westinghouse? Thank you so much.
Lday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |