TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2004, 08:46 PM   #511
QZ1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally posted by feldon23
There are not 250 million people watching TV with rabbit ears. Something like 25% have a TV that depends on OTA and something like 10% have their primary TV depending on OTA. For those people, a $30-50 adapter should be made available to tune in ATSC.

75% of the population has cable/satellite.
Periodically, articles are quoted at AVS Forum with the statistics. IIRC, they don't calculate how many people have OTA, but they have said that 15% have OTA only, and 85% have cable/satellite; of course some of the 85% also have OTA, in addition to the 15%.
QZ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 10:00 PM   #512
hongcho
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 750
> Anyway, this new regulation is UNFAIR to every person in this country who owns an NTSC tuner.

I don't know whether that number is 250 million or smaller. I just think that you can't possibly represent "every person in this country who owns an NTSC tuner". Maybe just you.

Come to think of it, I do have three NTSC tuners and two of them, I actually do use for tuning to an NTSC channel.

Hong.
__________________
i have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- edgar allan poe
hongcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 10:02 PM   #513
hongcho
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 750
Oh, and BTW, FCC would probably be the right place to complain about the issue, unless Mr. Powell visits this site often, of course.

Hong.
__________________
i have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- edgar allan poe
hongcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2004, 10:26 PM   #514
dswallow
Save the Moderatоr
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 49,298
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally posted by hongcho
Oh, and BTW, FCC would probably be the right place to complain about the issue, unless Mr. Powell visits this site often, of course.
Well, he does have a TiVo...
__________________
¯\_(ツ)_/¯****************
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dswallow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 03:52 PM   #515
jmrife
potato potato potato
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 197
That ship has sailed

Sooner rather than later, NTSC television broadcasting is going away. It matters not, at this point, whether it is fair or unfair, wise or unwise.

Where where all the defenders of NTSC in 1998?
__________________
Often in error; never in doubt
jmrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:05 AM   #516
mattn2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Erie, CO
Posts: 104
Great FAQ Feldon,

FYI, I notice that you mention 23 O&O from Fox but only list 22 (Dallas is listed twice).

Thanks for the service!

# Matt
__________________
Philips 14hr (+200 GB)
Hughes DirecTiVo (+160 GB)
HR10-250 (+250 GB)
Series 3 HD (+eSATA 750 GB)
mattn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 12:30 PM   #517
feldon23
MythBuster
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,096
Hmm. I'll have to look into that. Thanks!
__________________
DirecTV vs. Cable: If you can't tell the difference, why pay the difference?
feldon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 02:36 PM   #518
madpoet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 102
Sorry if I missed this... anyone know if the box will output on all outputs at the same time? For instance, will both component and DVI output together?
madpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 02:53 PM   #519
feldon23
MythBuster
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,096
I guess I need to add this to the FAQ.

You can have EITHER the Component OR DVI (HDCP) active. And the S-Video/Composite are only active when the whole receiver is set to 480i output.
__________________
DirecTV vs. Cable: If you can't tell the difference, why pay the difference?

Last edited by feldon23 : 03-25-2004 at 03:03 PM.
feldon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:00 PM   #520
wmccain
Custom AV Consultant
 
wmccain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally posted by feldon23
You can have EITHER the Component OR DVI (HDCP) active. And the S-Video/Composite is are only active when the whole receiver is set to 480i output.
BIG mistakes (sigh).

How easy is it to switch between the component and DVI outputs? (I know about the front panel button for 480i format.)
__________________
William C. McCain
Palo Alto, California

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmccain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:04 PM   #521
feldon23
MythBuster
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,096
Probably 3 menus deep. Why? How often would you want to do this?
__________________
DirecTV vs. Cable: If you can't tell the difference, why pay the difference?
feldon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:06 PM   #522
madpoet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 102
Ouch... that sucks. Trying to justify my WVHS vcr . Still I guess I could use it to offload shows to tape that I want to archive but am not as picky about quality.
madpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:07 PM   #523
feldon23
MythBuster
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,096
Switching between 1080i/720p/480p/480i? Press UP on the TiVo remote.
__________________
DirecTV vs. Cable: If you can't tell the difference, why pay the difference?
feldon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:08 PM   #524
madpoet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 102
No, switching between component and DVI... but now I'm getting confused
madpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:11 PM   #525
feldon23
MythBuster
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,096
Nobody knows for sure. I just guessed 2 posts ago that it would be 3 menus deep.
__________________
DirecTV vs. Cable: If you can't tell the difference, why pay the difference?
feldon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 03:12 PM   #526
madpoet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 102
Eh, ok. Something I'd set up to do overnight then... switch to component, play the show through to the vrc, then back to DVI for day to day viewing. Not terribly convenient. I'd prefer the Voom method of all outputs active at once, but oh well.
madpoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 05:51 PM   #527
wmccain
Custom AV Consultant
 
wmccain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally posted by feldon23
Probably 3 menus deep. Why? How often would you want to do this?
Whenever she walks from the master bedroom to the kitchen or vice versa.

Right now the HD-capable 17" LCD in the kitchen can view any of three TiVos (home theater, MBR, her office). The MBR TiVo is used the most — it's a 2-tuner DirecTV model which I intend to replace with the new HDTV TiVo. The existing MBR feed to the kitchen is analog NTSC, and I would have been happy to keep it that way were it not for the lack of concurrent composite/S-video in the new TiVo. So I was planning to upgrade the feed to the kitchen to component video, whilst using the DVI for the (planned) new 32" LCD in the MBR itself.

I guess I just assumed that both the component and DVI were always active, even though the NTSC outputs are not. (After all, they are both the same high def resolution.) That is, until I was shocked by your post earlier today ...
__________________
William C. McCain
Palo Alto, California

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmccain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 05:52 PM   #528
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,999
Component video splitter...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2004, 05:53 PM   #529
wmccain
Custom AV Consultant
 
wmccain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Palo Alto, California
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally posted by feldon23
Nobody knows for sure. I just guessed 2 posts ago that it would be 3 menus deep.
If you aren't sure about that, how sure are you that the component and DVI outputs are not concurrently active?
__________________
William C. McCain
Palo Alto, California

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmccain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 11:29 AM   #530
acroswel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 42
From what other people posted I thought the composite and s-video outputs are active at the same time. But they're both only active when the output resolution is 480i.
acroswel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 11:46 AM   #531
feldon23
MythBuster
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,096
Quote:
Originally posted by wmccain
If you aren't sure about that, how sure are you that the component and DVI outputs are not concurrently active?
Everything in the FAQ is from official sources. The Component vs. DVI thing is from a TiVo employee.
__________________
DirecTV vs. Cable: If you can't tell the difference, why pay the difference?
feldon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 10:13 PM   #532
BBobley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 37
Any news on the quality of the 8VSB tuner in the HD Tivo? Have any of the beta testers reported on how it compares to other HD receivers in terms of its ability to lock in on OTA digital signals?

Pete Putnam has run some very interesting articles in which he compares different receivers and antennas:

http://www.projectorexpert.com/

I'm hoping the Tivo is a bit more sensitive and less prone to multipath problems than my Toshiba DST-3000.

Brett
BBobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 12:35 AM   #533
exchguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
I haven't seen this mentioned yet, but is anyone aware if this unit will contain a Signal meter for OTA tuning? In my opinion, no signal meter = no sale!

thanks,
Exchguy
exchguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 12:26 PM   #534
MCodanti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 502
We have heard from a good source that it does indeed have an OTA signal meter.
MCodanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 12:44 PM   #535
Tom in OH
Registered User
 
Tom in OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 335
not sure if we've talked about this yet but, do u guys think the HD-dvr250 will output any format regardless of the format recorded? In other words, will it upconvert a 480i recording to 720p or 1080i ?
__________________
"HDTV makes today a great time to be alive"
Tom in OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 12:45 PM   #536
dswallow
Save the Moderatоr
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 49,298
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally posted by Tom in OH
not sure if we've talked about this yet but, do u guys think the HD-dvr250 will output any format regardless of the format recorded? In other words, will it upconvert a 480i recording to 720p or 1080i ?
Yes. And yes, it's already been talked about.
__________________
¯\_(ツ)_/¯****************
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dswallow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 01:04 PM   #537
Tom in OH
Registered User
 
Tom in OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 335
very good Doug -- u passed.

just testing your infinite wisdom...
__________________
"HDTV makes today a great time to be alive"
Tom in OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 02:15 PM   #538
hongcho
.
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 750
> I'm hoping the Tivo is a bit more sensitive and less prone to multipath problems than my Toshiba DST-3000.

I guess your experience with DST-3000 hasn't been the same as me. My DST-3000 with CM4228 had been wonderful. I am expecting HR10-250 to be just as good.

Hong.
__________________
i have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- edgar allan poe
hongcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 02:28 PM   #539
Tom in OH
Registered User
 
Tom in OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally posted by hongcho
> My DST-3000 with CM4228 had been wonderful.

Hong.
just curious - how close are u to the broadcast towers? I'm hooking up an ota this week for use with the HD-dvr250.

Thx, Tom
__________________
"HDTV makes today a great time to be alive"
Tom in OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 04:18 PM   #540
chadfetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Champlin, MN
Posts: 88
When is the latest date that these will be released to the public?
chadfetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |