TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2014, 10:31 AM   #661
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
You could have a toggle if you had the code for the function with simply math.
You seem to have missed the point.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 02:44 AM   #662
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,117
Demo video of Network Remote:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=OSAPzpQ9j6I
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 10:07 AM   #663
MrGolden
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
Very nice!
MrGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 10:16 AM   #664
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 70,935
TC CLUB MEMBER
Well done video, thanks wmcbrine. I've been using Network Remote on my Mac for awhile now, but learned a few new things. Thanks again.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 11:22 PM   #665
davidblackledge
Registered lÜser
 
davidblackledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NM
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Demo video of Network Remote:


click here to watch the video
You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Pretty cool, thanks, wmcbrine... but I'm a little miffed that I don't see any of those 3 host names in my (since April) logs
__________________
EnterWebz.tv
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ air qual / lightning maps, minesweeper, 1p/2p card games...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
David.Blackledge.com Solitaire/FreeCell, Calendar, Map...
hmedev.wikidot.com
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
davidblackledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 02:16 PM   #666
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,117
Now it can be told

The real reason I did the video: They wanted it for the Mac App Store

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/netw...224?ls=1&mt=12

(since they don't have TiVos to test with). Free, for now, although I'm thinking about changing that, because it was a pain to get this thing on there. (In any case, I will continue to provide it via wmcbrine.com, as well, and it will remain open source.)

If you already have 0.31, there's no need to switch to the App Store version, unless you want automatic updates. The .pyw is the same, but the .app is much larger, due to App Store rules -- I had to bundle the Python interpreter, as well as provide a Retina-ready icon.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by wmcbrine : 09-30-2014 at 02:21 PM.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 02:37 PM   #667
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 70,935
TC CLUB MEMBER
Awesome!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 03:14 PM   #668
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 70,935
TC CLUB MEMBER
So I downloaded the new version of "Network Remote for TiVo" from the Mac App Store. Even though I had renamed my previous version "TiVo Remote," the Mac App Store knew I had a previous version of this great app installed, and asked me if I wanted to download this new purchase to replace it. I clicked to confirm. And then it downloaded it, and replaced my old version with the new one. It even retained my name change, it was still on my system as "TiVo Remote." I found that interesting.

I then replaced the included icon with the one I like to use instead, the familiar TiVo guy icon. I'm sure there are copyright concerns why you can't use that for your app, but I like it on my system as it's easier to recognize in the OS X Dock.

That said, I now have the same issue I had before, where when I launch it, it asks (every time) to confirm my sole TiVo's IP address. I tried the below (as it worked before) but now, with the Mac App Store version, I can't edit the Network Remote.pyw file. I'm guessing that's because these files from the Mac App Store are more protected (ie: permission locked or something) so customers can't change them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
I've only got one TiVo and have never had an issue with its announcement not making it through the network. I wanted to avoid that new confirmatory click every time I launched the app, so I manually edited line #94 in the "Network Remote.pyw" file (inside Contents/Resources,) inserting my TiVo's IP address (and then also made sure my TiVo's IP address wouldn't change from that.)
Is there any way to add some setting or preference, that lets the user select an IP address and remember that setting across launches? (Perhaps if there's an IP change and it can't find that TiVo it would prompt the user again?) Or maybe just a simple options screen where this value can be set.

Because more often than not I just want to launch this app quickly, to pause/unpause the TiVo. This extra step slows that down and feels clunkier than it was before. If not, then I'll probably end up having to revert back to the DIY version on wmcbrine.com.

Thanks again for all your great work on this, wmcbrine.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!

Last edited by Fofer : 09-30-2014 at 03:23 PM.
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 10:21 PM   #669
davidblackledge
Registered lÜser
 
davidblackledge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NM
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
The real reason I did the video: They wanted it for the Mac App Store

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/netw...224?ls=1&mt=12

(since they don't have TiVos to test with). Free, for now, although I'm thinking about changing that, because it was a pain to get this thing on there.
That's great!
I wonder, if you make it a paid app, would you be the first person to actually make money on a 3rd party TiVo app (tablet or HME)?
__________________
EnterWebz.tv
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+ air qual / lightning maps, minesweeper, 1p/2p card games...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
David.Blackledge.com Solitaire/FreeCell, Calendar, Map...
hmedev.wikidot.com
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
davidblackledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:42 PM   #670
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidblackledge View Post
I wonder, if you make it a paid app, would you be the first person to actually make money on a 3rd party TiVo app (tablet or HME)?
I wouldn't even be the first person to make money on a TiVo remote in the Mac App Store. That'd be the author of "Vomote".
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 10:24 PM   #671
ScottJ97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
TELEPORT SEARCH works. Haven't seen that posted yet.
ScottJ97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 04:12 PM   #672
MikeA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Calif
Posts: 13
Network control of Tivo Mini

I am using network control with my Tivo's (Premiere, Roamio, Roamio Plus) very successfully. I recently added some Tivo Mini's and it seems the telnet protocol is not complete on the Mini.
I can successfully perform all the IRCODE commands, but the SETCH command returns a CH_FAILED_INVALID_CHANNEL error.
Anyone have any insight into this? Was it intentional?
Any help would be appreciated, since I rely on the SETCH command quite a bit, and want to use it on the Mini's.
Thanks
Mike
__________________
Two Tivo Premieres (two tuner version)
Tivo Roamio with two Tivo Minis
Tivo Roamio Plus with four Tivo Minis
All are using Comcast MCards

Part of Home AV system controlled with CQC.
MikeA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 07:20 PM   #673
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 814
What does the CH_STATUS response format look like on the Mini?

On a non-Mini it looks like:
CH_STATUS 0002 0001 LOCAL
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 09:47 PM   #674
MikeA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Calif
Posts: 13
This is what I get when I login to the Tivo Mini

Last login: Mon Nov 3 18:31:54 on ttys000
mikes-air:~ MikeAymar$ TELNET 192.168.0.159 31339
Trying 192.168.0.159...
Connected to tivo-a9200019059a983.
Escape character is '^]'.
CH_STATUS 0706 LOCAL

This is what I get when I try to do a SETCH command

SETCH 706
CH_FAILED INVALID_CHANNEL

Same result with FORCECH

FORCECH 706EOUT
CH_FAILED INVALID_CHANNEL

The IRCODE commands all work fine.
Seems like either a bug or a conscious design decision for some reason.

Any other ideas out there?
Thx
Mike
__________________
Two Tivo Premieres (two tuner version)
Tivo Roamio with two Tivo Minis
Tivo Roamio Plus with four Tivo Minis
All are using Comcast MCards

Part of Home AV system controlled with CQC.
MikeA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 04:06 PM   #675
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 814
I'm not a Mini owner so I can't examine what's going on.

I'll point out though as a work around, you can use a network proxy. Whenever the proxy receives a SETCH, it would then rewrite it as an IRCODE sequence.
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |