TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-21-2014, 08:20 PM   #1
rspike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
Mini Fast Forward / Rewind Sounds

Is there a reason that the Mini doesn't make the TiVo Sounds when pressing the Fast Forward and Rewind Buttons? I can't seem to find a setting anywhere.
rspike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 08:30 PM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by rspike View Post
Is there a reason that the Mini doesn't make the TiVo Sounds when pressing the Fast Forward and Rewind Buttons? I can't seem to find a setting anywhere.
If the channel you are watching uses Dolby Digital then you will not hear any sounds. For instance I am on FIOS. Every channel, SD and HD, on FiOS uses Dolby Digital. So I won't hear the TiVos sound while watching a program. This was even the case with TiVo back in 2001 with DD when I had DirecTiVos with DirecTV. You would need to change your audio setting to output PCM if you want to hear the TiVo sounds. But you will also be limited to 2.0 pcm.

To change the audio settings
Go to settings>Audio>Dolby Audio>PCM only(no Dolby)
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 09:41 PM   #3
rspike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 69
That did the trick. Thanks!
rspike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 08:53 AM   #4
waxon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Found this thread when I was searching, and yes, this allowed me to get tivo sounds on a mini.... but... as a new Tivo user I am baffled...

If selecting dolby digital does not allow Tivo sounds when watching a program with dolby digital... why does my main Roamio unit have the sound effects when the audio is set to dolby digital (and the channel is indeed dd)?

I noticed when I switch between the Roamio and the same channel on a stb from the cable company that the audio level is a lot lower on the Roamio, which isn't possible if the Roamio is passing the dolby digital (hooked up via hdmi).

So is the audio setting on the Roamio 'broken' since I have Tivo sound effects when the audio is actually set to dolby digital? If so, this would explain the lower sound level (and I found another thread where people were perplexed by the low audio).
waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 04:10 PM   #5
kokishin
Registered User
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by rspike View Post
Is there a reason that the Mini doesn't make the TiVo Sounds when pressing the Fast Forward and Rewind Buttons? I can't seem to find a setting anywhere.
Perhaps I am an atypical user but I find the Tivo sound effects annoying even at their lowest volume setting. I turned them off on both my Pro and Mini.
__________________
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me.
kokishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 05:39 PM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by waxon View Post
Found this thread when I was searching, and yes, this allowed me to get tivo sounds on a mini.... but... as a new Tivo user I am baffled...

If selecting dolby digital does not allow Tivo sounds when watching a program with dolby digital... why does my main Roamio unit have the sound effects when the audio is set to dolby digital (and the channel is indeed dd)?

I noticed when I switch between the Roamio and the same channel on a stb from the cable company that the audio level is a lot lower on the Roamio, which isn't possible if the Roamio is passing the dolby digital (hooked up via hdmi).

So is the audio setting on the Roamio 'broken' since I have Tivo sound effects when the audio is actually set to dolby digital? If so, this would explain the lower sound level (and I found another thread where people were perplexed by the low audio).
Sometimes there is a miscommunication or something. And the Tivo will be showing DD while it is actually sending out 2.0 pcm audio. Because if it is sending out a DD signal, you will not hear any TiVo sounds. So anytime you hear the TiVos sounds, it is sending pcm audio.

I've had this happen on rare occassions.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |