TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2014, 08:45 PM   #1
Mike Richardson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
They removed cable TV from my apartment building

Because of the demolition of adjacent apartment buildings which were formerly part of one complex (those buildings contained the cable TV infrastructure), Cable TV has been removed from my building (the last remaining building).

So I have been forced to obtain DISH Network to continue watching TV and they provide a DVR.

I need 15 posts to open a thread in the sales forum to sell my TiVo though. I do not have an eBay because I sold my business a few months ago which included that account.

I called to cancel TiVo today and they offered me the $99 lifetime for my Series 3 TiVo, it's a TCD652160, but I have upgraded the drive to 250 GB (a small upgrade I know, but the original 160 GB drive died and I used what I had).

I said I didn't have $99 right away and they were really nice and comped me a month of service and said I could call back in the next month to get the deal.

So I'd like to get that deal, and then I'll have this TiVo, but no cable though.
Mike Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 08:58 PM   #2
stahta01
Simple Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana (USA)
Posts: 3,305
Does that Series 3 support Over the Air (OTA) Digital TV?
(I think most or even all do; but, you might wish to confirm that hardware is working before paying for lifetime.)
If yes, then I think its a good deal to get lifetime for $99.

Tim S.
__________________
Schlock Mercenary Maxim 41: "Do you have a backup?" means "I can't fix this" (4 October 2013)
stahta01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 09:05 PM   #3
Mike Richardson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by stahta01 View Post
Does that Series 3 support Over the Air (OTA) Digital TV?
(I think most or even all do; but, you might wish to confirm that hardware is working before paying for lifetime.)
If yes, then I think its a good deal to get lifetime for $99.

Tim S.

Yes it does. It's set up for OTA right now actually. Even if I didn't sell it, I could still use it with the lifetime to record extra primetime programming. Good idea, I hadn't even thought of it like that.
Mike Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 10:59 PM   #4
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,902
Snag that $99 deal ASAP! Many people who meet the mostly established criteria are not getting offered the offer, and when they ask are turned down!

Others have also been told the same "the deal will still be good" line, only to find out otherwise. They have no obligation to keep their word. So, I strongly advise you do your best to get the money, or use credit is you must. Otherwise you could get told $399, take it or leave it, and that would be unfortunate.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 01:46 PM   #5
Mike Richardson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
I was able to call today and get the $99 deal! What's interesting is that I have only been a continuous TiVo customer since 2011, when I activated a Series 2 DT that I got at a thrift store for $5, to use with the free cable that the landlord provided. When Comcast converted to digital-only the next year I got a Series 3 from eBay for $50. I think they considered the time my boxes had been activated when giving me the deal.

I think it's definitely worth it, eventually I will have to move when they demolish this building, and I'll probably get Comcast again, since they've upgraded their internet speeds in Houston. They also offer a $2.50 credit per month for using a TiVo.
Mike Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:47 AM   #6
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,010
They're also pushing out the latest Cisco CableCARD firmware globally in Houston, which is nice.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 10:09 AM   #7
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
Where are you located? Are they going to knock your building down as well at some point? That's rather unusual to knock apartments down... Usually they just refurb them.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 12:03 PM   #8
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
Where are you located? Are they going to knock your building down as well at some point? That's rather unusual to knock apartments down... Usually they just refurb them.
I don't know OP but there are sections of Houston with low rises (2-3 stories) that are close enough to prime retail that can be converted into retail or turned into luxury apartments or high rises.

Houston has unusual zoning for cities of that size. I had a friend in the situation, said you can tell when they only offer Month-to-Month leases.
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA

Last edited by telemark : 08-03-2014 at 07:01 PM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 09:55 PM   #9
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
I don't know OP but there are sections of Houston with low rises (2-3 stories) that are close enough to prime retail that can be converted into retail or turned into luxury apartments or high rises.

Houston has unusual zoning for cities of that size. I had a friend in the situation, said you can tell when they only offer Month-to-Month leases.
Interesting. I've heard Houston is all jumbled up, without much zoning like we have here in New England.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 12:49 AM   #10
Mike Richardson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
I don't know OP but there are sections of Houston with low rises (2-3 stories) that are close enough to prime retail that can be converted into retail or turned into luxury apartments or high rises.

Houston has unusual zoning for cities of that size. I had a friend in the situation, said you can tell when they only offer Month-to-Month leases.
I'm a block inside the loop, Westheimer @ Westcreek near the Galleria. There used to be over a dozen 3 story apartment buildings here, all built by the same developer in the late 60s/early 70s. All but three have been demolished for new expensive high rise stuff or mixed use with retail, and two buildings are vacant and pending to be demolished for a high rise office building.

So that leaves one building which is mine, the last one standing and occupied in a sea of new construction - but the current landlord is really a developer. They are keeping the old building for now in order to collect some rent so that they can fund a new mid-rise apartment building. I think they are also waiting for some of the other construction to finish, otherwise the workmen would have nowhere to park.
Mike Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 04:44 PM   #11
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Richardson View Post
I'm a block inside the loop, Westheimer @ Westcreek near the Galleria. There used to be over a dozen 3 story apartment buildings here, all built by the same developer in the late 60s/early 70s. All but three have been demolished for new expensive high rise stuff or mixed use with retail, and two buildings are vacant and pending to be demolished for a high rise office building.

So that leaves one building which is mine, the last one standing and occupied in a sea of new construction - but the current landlord is really a developer. They are keeping the old building for now in order to collect some rent so that they can fund a new mid-rise apartment building. I think they are also waiting for some of the other construction to finish, otherwise the workmen would have nowhere to park.
Interesting. Very different from what I'm used to here in New England!
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 04:28 PM   #12
christheman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Richardson View Post
I'm a block inside the loop, Westheimer @ Westcreek near the Galleria. There used to be over a dozen 3 story apartment buildings here, all built by the same developer in the late 60s/early 70s. All but three have been demolished for new expensive high rise stuff or mixed use with retail, and two buildings are vacant and pending to be demolished for a high rise office building.

So that leaves one building which is mine, the last one standing and occupied in a sea of new construction - but the current landlord is really a developer. They are keeping the old building for now in order to collect some rent so that they can fund a new mid-rise apartment building. I think they are also waiting for some of the other construction to finish, otherwise the workmen would have nowhere to park.
I am not a city planner or anything, but my take on it is that they might also be keeping one building up just to leverage the burden of either the tax or zoning laws. There might be some benefit or allowance grandfathered in as long as they keep at least one original building on that property.

Last edited by christheman : 08-07-2014 at 04:39 PM.
christheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 05:33 PM   #13
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by christheman View Post
I am not a city planner or anything, but my take on it is that they might also be keeping one building up just to leverage the burden of either the tax or zoning laws. There might be some benefit or allowance grandfathered in as long as they keep at least one original building on that property.
Or to call it a "renovation" or something stupid. I've heard of places where you can't tear down a house, so they leave 10' of a wall standing and then "remodel" the rest of the house... Or maybe not. I doubt zoning is that strict down there...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 06:26 PM   #14
christheman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
Or to call it a "renovation" or something stupid. I've heard of places where you can't tear down a house, so they leave 10' of a wall standing and then "remodel" the rest of the house... Or maybe not. I doubt zoning is that strict down there...
Based on another post, it sounds like their zoning is all over the place down there. I'll bet they make parts of it up as they go along.
christheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 08:55 PM   #15
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by christheman View Post
Based on another post, it sounds like their zoning is all over the place down there. I'll bet they make parts of it up as they go along.
Yeah, I've heard their residential and commercial is all mixed up and sprawled.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 02:59 AM   #16
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Richardson View Post
Because of the demolition of adjacent apartment buildings which were formerly part of one complex (those buildings contained the cable TV infrastructure), Cable TV has been removed from my building (the last remaining building).

So I have been forced to obtain DISH Network to continue watching TV and they provide a DVR.
Which DVR did you end up getting? The Hopper or one of the older DVR's, like the ViP's?
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 05:54 PM   #17
Mike Richardson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Series3Sub View Post
Which DVR did you end up getting? The Hopper or one of the older DVR's, like the ViP's?
I decided to buy all of my equipment, because I did not believe at the time, that I would have the DISH service for longer than 6 months. So it did not make any sense to sign a long term contract while at the time time intending to move to another apartment with cable, and resume using my TiVo.

So I bought (from Amazon), a brand new ViP 922, and a brand new 1000.2 satellite dish from a dealer in Austin. The 922 seemed like the best choice since I mostly live alone but on occasion I do have company over for lengthy visits. I ran a coax to my guest room so whenever I have company, I can change the DVR over to the "Duo" mode and my guests can have their own TV to watch. To do the same thing with Hopper equipment would require wasting $7 per month on a Joey that would go mostly unused. (previously that room had a Comcast DTA with no monthly charges)

The dish was installed by myself into the side of the building outside my kitchen window on the 3rd floor, into a stud. The landlord is permitting any modifications without argument in light of the removal of cable TV. It was the first time I had ever installed a dish and so far it has held up through ~8 months of weather without any problems.
Mike Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 05:59 PM   #18
Mike Richardson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
They are already working on taking down one of the two buildings that are owned by the office tower people.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f19reio184...21.06.jpg?dl=0

They usually scrape off all the bricks first and then sell those to recycling outfits.

Here is a pic of my building for comparison. This building will not be evicted until at least January 2015. https://www.dropbox.com/s/lhmanz73oc...54.41.jpg?dl=0
Mike Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |