TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2014, 01:20 PM   #1
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 900
340?

A recent post made me remember something I have wondered about, why no 340 or 440's? They went from 240 to 540.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 02:47 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonz View Post
A recent post made me remember something I have wondered about, why no 340 or 440's? They went from 240 to 540.
Explain what the numbers are referring to.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:00 PM   #3
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Explain what the numbers are referring to.
i took it to mean the first three digits of the model number (after tcd), tivo skipped from 140 to 240, then to 540...then 648, 649, and 652.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:20 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,854
They don't really mean much of anything. There was also a 130, which was basically the same hardware as the 140 but with a different case design and sold by AT&T (back when they were a cable company too) There was also a Sony branded S2 unit called the SVR3000 which doesn't fit the naming convention at all.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:23 PM   #5
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonz View Post
A recent post made me remember something I have wondered about, why no 340 or 440's? They went from 240 to 540.
Because the 540 was 300 better than the 240 which was only 100 better than the 140.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:34 PM   #6
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
They don't really mean much of anything. There was also a 130, which was basically the same hardware as the 140 but with a different case design and sold by AT&T (back when they were a cable company too) There was also a Sony branded S2 unit called the SVR3000 which doesn't fit the naming convention at all.
I remember the Sony (did not know the numbers for it) big silver thing, a friend won award at work they gave him one and Sony sound system and 36'' TV. He had me hook it all up for him, I was impressed with the Tivo, priced them was too much for me, 2 months later cable company offered the SA8300 2 tuners and my digital channels only $10 more a month was glad I did not but the Tivo.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:35 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
Because the 540 was 300 better than the 240 which was only 100 better than the 140.
If only that were true. The 540 was significantly worse then the 240 units. It was TiVo's first attempt to make the hardware cheaper and it was slower then the 240 in every way. The 540 series is the slowest TiVo ever produced, even slower then a Premiere.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:36 PM   #8
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
...even slower then a Premiere.
now that was totally uncalled for!
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:41 PM   #9
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthAlabama View Post
i took it to mean the first three digits of the model number (after tcd), tivo skipped from 140 to 240, then to 540...then 648, 649, and 652.
I didn't think about that they really went off after the 540, a 8 instead of 640 and 648 to 649 for vastly different machines.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 03:42 PM   #10
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by scandia101 View Post
Because the 540 was 300 better than the 240 which was only 100 better than the 140.
They must have been plum ashamed of the 649 only 1 better than 648.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:37 PM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
They don't really mean much of anything. There was also a 130, which was basically the same hardware as the 140 but with a different case design and sold by AT&T (back when they were a cable company too) There was also a Sony branded S2 unit called the SVR3000 which doesn't fit the naming convention at all.
But the Sony followed the Series 1 Sony SVR2000, so it followed its own naming convention.


Only the TiVo brand TiVos, and the two AT&T models, use the TCD prefix.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:43 PM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
If only that were true. The 540 was significantly worse then the 240 units. It was TiVo's first attempt to make the hardware cheaper and it was slower then the 240 in every way. The 540 series is the slowest TiVo ever produced, even slower then a Premiere.
And to add insult to injury the little TiVo guy almost always comes unglued from the front panel of the 540.


But as far as I've been able to tell, recordings made with a 540 are just as good as the ones made with a 140, 240, or 649.

But it really should put an hourglass on the screen whenever you push a button on the remote.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 03:14 AM   #13
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
If only that were true. The 540 was significantly worse then the 240 units. It was TiVo's first attempt to make the hardware cheaper and it was slower then the 240 in every way. The 540 series is the slowest TiVo ever produced, even slower then a Premiere.
Well, since the summer 2014 update, slower than a Premiere using Flash.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:39 PM   #14
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 900
I forgot about Tivopedia, odd the list stops at 652. http://www.tivopedia.com/tivo-service-number.php
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 04:59 PM   #15
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Series3Sub View Post
Well, since the summer 2014 update, slower than a Premiere using Flash.
I only played with my Sister's Premiere for a few minutes but it does seem like the new update finally got the speed up to where it should have been all along. Although it's still pretty slow launching Netflix.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 11:50 AM   #16
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
If only that were true. The 540 was significantly worse then the 240 units. It was TiVo's first attempt to make the hardware cheaper and it was slower then the 240 in every way. The 540 series is the slowest TiVo ever produced, even slower then a Premiere.
Maybe they could still update it to run Haxe-generated code

No lie, I got one of the 540s free for buying some pants. Seriously, there was a deal where you buy few pairs of jeans and you get a free TiVo(and 3 months of service ). It might have been slow, but it doubled the number of recording tuners (2!) I had in the house. Those were the days :-)

Found it:
http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/rebate-tracking/523452/
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 04:04 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,854
I had a stack of 4 or 5 S2 units at one time. Several of which I had gotten for free or at a steep discount because of my relationship with TiVo employees on this forum. TiVo guys don't come around here much any more and most of the ones I knew no longer work there.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |