TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > Developers Corner
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2014, 10:16 PM   #1
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 117
Lightbulb OperaTV Store Backdoor

When Tivo announced we were getting Opera TV Store, there was an SDK floating around that would allow you to test internal code if you knew were to find the DEVICE ID. Guess what? Now we do!

http://dev.opera.com/tv/testing-your...pera-tv-store/

Today I found a new app above the opera tv store that says "My Opera TV Store Apps" I opened it and sure enough those apps I bookmarked preloaded so what. But what I found caught my attention when you click Menu, About you are given the DEVICE ID

This is a very long lengthy ID that is bound to the TiVo for app testing.
For opera this is controlled by Dragonfly part of the Opera Browser.

Happy Hunting!

Last edited by jgametest : 07-22-2014 at 11:09 PM.
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:06 PM   #2
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 117
Screenshot from Pairing my Tivo to Opera

Now I will admit this was a challenge, I did not want to write out all those numbers on my screen so I took my phone and captured my device ID.





As soon as the pair was done Tivo had a message a request to PAIR from user jhilla2014 is requesting Permission Yes or NO. Naturally I said HELL YEA! or yes and then a blue square appeared at the bottom of my screen representing an app that does not exist yet. By the way to make the pair happen, there is a little box for developers to click on the bottom right of your Tivo screen that presents a smaller number. After you registered on the page you enter this little magic number and then magically the long lengthy number appears in your browser to PAIR together.

Last edited by jgametest : 07-22-2014 at 11:12 PM.
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 03:25 PM   #3
ntlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 150
Unless I'm misunderstanding you, this functionality has been around for a pretty long time. I've been able to pair the tivo to an opera dev account from the get go.
ntlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 03:26 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
Yes, there's nothing new here.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 09:08 PM   #5
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 117
Yes that part is true, but there was something new added. Go in store, and look to the top left there is a new bar that says "Develop" this is found by moving the cursor to the left which you will find there is a browser called URL Loader that can launch internally now that was not there before I paired the connection. I was able to connect to plex.tv and bing.com but because the handler is not being allowed full access to the streams I get a default error message that the server is not available. I will upload images later kids have my Lumia 520.

Last edited by jgametest : 08-02-2014 at 09:20 PM.
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 10:33 PM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
Yes I can't say I saw the URL Loader before so that's new. It seems to take any arbitrary URL as well. I was hoping that after pairing that I would be allowed to use MindRPC uiNavigate directly to enter a URL which used to work, but no dice. So we are stuck with primitive way of entering URL through this app. It kind of works with Roamio remote keyboard at least, though everything is uppercase. Also for arbitrary web pages basic navigation works and even pages with videos play which is better than before.

NOTE: Instant replay button acts like browser "back" button which is useful.
Also new is that my simple javascript key code tester now responds to most buttons on the remote (before some buttons didn't work):
Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<HTML>
 <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Keypress detector</TITLE>
 </HEAD>
 <BODY style="background-color: #000000;">
  <HEADER><p style="color: #FFFF00">Press a key to show keycode</p></HEADER>   
  <SECTION style="border-style: solid; border-width: 2px; width: 100px; color: #FFFF00">
   <CANVAS id="textarea" tabindex="1" width="10" height="10"></CANVAS>
   <label id="label1">LAB1</label>
  </SECTION>
  <SCRIPT type="text/javascript">
      var label = document.getElementById("label1");
      var count = 1;
      document.onkeydown=doKeyDown;
      function doKeyDown(evt) {
         evt = evt || window.event;
         label.innerHTML = "" + count + " " + evt.which;
         count++;
      };
   </SCRIPT>   
 </BODY>
</HTML>
For video support, it doesn't seem much better than before - I couldn't get H.264 + AC3 audio in mp4 container to work, and webm and ogg videos didn't play.
EDIT: I did get H.264 video in TS container to play though aspect ratio was all wrong and AC3 audio in it wasn't audible, but I don't believe TS container was working previously so that's interesting...
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by moyekj : 08-02-2014 at 10:58 PM.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:51 AM   #7
jgametest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 117
Preparing 2nd stream test

Since the Plex stream failed, attempting another 3rd party test from AirPlayIT it allows a personal local connection that works in conjunction with the mobile app. Will post results in few moments. Nope that didn't work either. So I'm coming to the conclusion this is mainly for testing out personal apps before submitting to the store to see if your feature will work in the mainstream of services. It handles basic loading of websites like bing pretty decently did image searching without a problem. Video playback, no so much luck. The one thing that seems to be missing yet tells us it's there in our information is the lack of FlashPlayer. Yet when you look up your TiVo settings it says a Flash Player is installed. So I'm guessing that player has been put to rest or disabled from our use.

Last edited by jgametest : 08-03-2014 at 09:43 AM.
jgametest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 10:36 AM   #8
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
For video support, it doesn't seem much better than before - I couldn't get H.264 + AC3 audio in mp4 container to work
I pulled a random stream from the Opera Store:
Code:
GET /30/items/MIT6.851S12/MIT6_851S12_lec01_300k.mp4 HTTP/1.1
Host: ia601000.us.archive.org
Accept: */*

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Server: nginx/1.1.19
Date: Sun, 03 Aug 2014 15:12:51 GMT
Content-Type: video/mp4
Content-Length: 304171974
Last-Modified: Thu, 31 Oct 2013 16:59:15 GMT
Connection: keep-alive
Expires: Sun, 03 Aug 2014 21:12:51 GMT
Cache-Control: max-age=21600
Accept-Ranges: bytes
VLC reports it as H.264 & AAC.

Other apps used:
GET ...m3u8
Content-Type: application/vnd.apple.mpegurl

GET ...ts
Content-Type: video/mp2t

GET ...mp3
Content-Type: audio/mpeg
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA

Last edited by telemark : 08-03-2014 at 11:06 AM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:45 AM   #9
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,183
Yes, the TiVo Opera browser has always played mp4 container with H.264 + AAC audio with no problems, but that's not a very interesting format. AC3 audio and TS container would be much more useful (because you can transcode to that on the fly) but it seems like the TiVo Opera browser doesn't support AC3 audio at all. I haven't tried yet but I would guess TS container with H.264 video + AAC audio may work.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 03:56 PM   #10
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
I would guess TS container with H.264 video + AAC audio may work.
I did see a .ts in that combination so ya, should work.

Dev.Opera also lists H264 + MPEG audio layer 3 within .mp4 as supported.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 01:53 PM   #11
ntlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 150
Which app uses "m3u8"? That is HLS...
ntlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 02:48 PM   #12
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 711
Looks like it's DailyMotion backed apps...
"Indie Game HQ"
"YALLWIRE"

The UI's look about the same.

Code:
GET /cdn/manifest/video/x162w1u.m3u8?auth=...&default=720 HTTP/1.1
http://proxy-37.dailymotion.com/sec(975fa2e34cd4e1d56fda4c95de44e4db)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_hd_2.m3u8
http://proxy-14.dailymotion.com/sec(975fa2e34cd4e1d56fda4c95de44e4db)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_hd_2.m3u8
http://proxy-37.dailymotion.com/sec(4e8242fccc7629857dae0b096ab367ec)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_ld_2.m3u8
http://proxy-14.dailymotion.com/sec(4e8242fccc7629857dae0b096ab367ec)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_ld_2.m3u8
http://proxy-37.dailymotion.com/sec(a2dfb60ccab7108de0f8450c3fbc01b3)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_2.m3u8
http://proxy-14.dailymotion.com/sec(a2dfb60ccab7108de0f8450c3fbc01b3)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_2.m3u8
http://proxy-37.dailymotion.com/sec(ac32c5da119c73da0f6d3693e3a119f4)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_hq_2.m3u8
http://proxy-14.dailymotion.com/sec(ac32c5da119c73da0f6d3693e3a119f4)/video/227/876/70678722_mp4_h264_aac_hq_2.m3u8

telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 06:11 AM   #13
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 711
Daily Motion Apps are created by Opera TV Snap:
http://www.operasoftware.com/press/r...ces/2013-07-11
http://www.operasoftware.com/products/tv-snap

There's going to be a lot of these little apps, it's like a templated app generator.

Does the HLS test page function correctly?
http://www.jwplayer.com/html5/hls/

Last edited by telemark : 08-11-2014 at 10:27 AM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 03:12 PM   #14
ntlord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 150
Check out the Plex thread. I got HLS working. It just needs to be .ts with h264 for video and aac for audio.
ntlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |