TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2014, 04:43 AM   #1
psujoe2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
tivo hd with comcast planned upgrade to hdtv

Maybe I'm having a senior moment(s) ?

I just purchased my first HD tv.
I have a TiVo HD unit with a Comcast cablecard, since 2009.

Currently, I can record Comcast HD channels and watch them on my non HD tv.
Will I get TRUE HD from my TiVo HD unit to my new HDTV ?
Comcast says I need to upgrade to HD service.
But I think I have HD through my Tivo HD unit ?

Will an upgrade to HD service from Comcast require a new cablecard ? A simple switch at the Comcast home office ?

Why pay approx. 10/mth more if I get HD quality through the TiVo HD unit
psujoe2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 05:04 AM   #2
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 5,029
Yes, you can get true HD from your TiVoHD to your new HDTV. I don't know whether or not you currently have HD service but if you don't you will need to have Comcast upgrade your account to HD. You will not need to change your CableCard and you will be able to tell whether or not you have HD service just by looking at the picture, just make sure the TiVoHD is outputting an HD picture by going into settings and selecting HD output.

I would match the TiVoHD output to the resolution of your HDTV, probably 1080 but could be 720p. If you let us know your HDTV make and model, the resolution will be available online. I have both 1080p and 720p HDTVs in house.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 09:45 AM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,392
When you hook up the TiVo HD to your new HDTV can you view the HD channels? If you are already getting them then don't bother to "upgrade" and pay $10/month more to Comcast.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |