TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-14-2014, 11:41 AM   #1
kturcotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 1,057
Partial recording reason

Is there anyway to find out why a show only partially recorded? I can't seem to find anything, and wish the Roamio would give a reason.
kturcotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:48 PM   #2
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by kturcotte View Post
Is there anyway to find out why a show only partially recorded? I can't seem to find anything, and wish the Roamio would give a reason.
A partial recording is usually the result of a flaky signal that was missing or impaired somehow for part of the scheduled recording time. I suppose that could include SDV problems. I would like to see such recordings (and those with many errors) rescheduled by the TiVo, but unfortunately it will reschedule only recordings that are missed entirely.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:49 PM   #3
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 3,110
short answer, no (not after the fact). a few causes would be power interruption, lost signal, tuning issues, spontaneous reboot.

there are several threads on the topic, search "partial recording" for a list. if you can't find help, post information on your setup (service provider, use of tuning adapter or surge protector, signal strenth, snr).

can you look back and see if the program is still in the guide?
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:54 PM   #4
kturcotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 1,057
I doubt it lost power (It's currently the only device connected to a 1200 watt UPS), and it's connected to an OTA antenna via 20 feet of quad shielded solid copper RG6 coaxial cable. Signal strength for that channel averages 27 dB.
kturcotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:57 PM   #5
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 3,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by kturcotte View Post
Iignal strength for that channel averages 27 dB.
snr is in db, signal strength should be a percentage.
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 01:00 PM   #6
kturcotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 1,057
SNR averages 27 dB
kturcotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 01:21 PM   #7
NorthAlabama
tabasco rules
 
NorthAlabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: rocket city, al
Posts: 3,110
signal strength?
__________________


The truth will set you free. But not until it is finished with you. - David Foster Wallace
NorthAlabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 03:07 PM   #8
andyw715
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 4,569
I had a strange partial recording last week for big brother.

The progress bar showed 59 min....but recording started 10 min in.
So we missed the first 10 min, no biggie.

The weird thing was that the progress bar also showed that the last 10 min should have been clipped, but it wasn't.

The progress bar was like this

|----------************************----------|
0 10 59

but only first 10 min missing. Strange.
andyw715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 03:21 PM   #9
aridon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by kturcotte View Post
SNR averages 27 dB
Shouldn't SNR be over 32? 27 seems really low.
aridon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 03:25 PM   #10
kturcotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by aridon View Post
Shouldn't SNR be over 32? 27 seems really low.
I hope not. I've never seen anything over 29, even on really close stations (There's one broadcasting from less than a tenth of a mile away and I only get a SNR of 24 dB on that).
kturcotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |