TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > Developers Corner
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2014, 08:05 PM   #1
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 814
html Remote

I have a few devices that can't run a Tivo remote, so I made a basic remote that runs from a cgi web server, and is controllable by most web browsers.

The codebase is really small and simple so anyone should be able to customize.

Requires:
Perl
CGI webserver on home network
Backend tested on OS X and BSD
Frontend tested on Chrome, Safari, iOS

TODO:
Build in web server
FrontEnd:
- Redo Image
- Keyboard shortcuts

v2:
- Multi Tivo Support (up to 2 units)
- TV passthru Support (up to 2 models)
- Add ABCD keys
- Closed Captioning
- Optional debugging

The frontend UI would be at:
http://webserver/htmlremote/ or
http://webserver/htmlRemote/index.html

The backend API calls are:
http://webserver/htmlRemote/trTIVO.cgi?ircode=NUM2
http://webserver/htmlRemote/trTV.cgi?ircode=MUTE

trTIVO defaults to localhost, either edit it with a hostname/ip.
Or to utilize autodiscovery, leave as is and install wmcbrine's rproxy.

To enable TV control, grab the scripts for your TV model. http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=518917
Edit trTV.cgi with the path to the scripts.
Edit trTIVO.cgi to enable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Remote Screenshot.jpg (40.3 KB, 32 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip htmlRemote.zip (71.6 KB, 10 views)
File Type: zip htmlRemote2.zip (72.9 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by telemark : 07-07-2014 at 10:06 AM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 02:30 AM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,115
TV Power, Input, Vol +/- and Mute are good places to reclaim space -- although it's possible to send these codes to the TiVo, they don't actually do anything, except get logged. (A real peanut just sends them as IR codes directly to the TV.)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 04:15 AM   #3
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 814
Yeah, I was debating about that.

The IR and BT Tivo remotes I have still trigger the Tivo's orange light when using Volume. I was wondering if it resets some activity indicator, which might not be used, or is this used on the Mini timeout?

In any case, I'm thinking of adding pass-thru support for IP controllable TV's. I think I'll try a couple brands and if it works well, I'll leave it in. And if it's problematic, I'll take it out and reclaim the pixels.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 09:03 AM   #4
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 3,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
Yeah, I was debating about that.

The IR and BT Tivo remotes I have still trigger the Tivo's orange light when using Volume. I was wondering if it resets some activity indicator, which might not be used, or is this used on the Mini timeout?

In any case, I'm thinking of adding pass-thru support for IP controllable TV's. I think I'll try a couple brands and if it works well, I'll leave it in. And if it's problematic, I'll take it out and reclaim the pixels.
TiVos do use inactivity sensing to tell when it should be safe to do things without prompting the user. This is done by a timer on last remote activity, which is precisely why TV control commands are also sent to the TiVo.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 09:28 PM   #5
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 814
I've been running with TV control for a week so it's stable enough to release:

v2 added:
- Multi Tivo Support (up to 2 units)
- TV control pass-through support (up to 2 models)
- ABCD buttons
- Closed Captioning buttons
- Optional debugging

Release is in first post.

Last edited by telemark : 07-14-2014 at 08:55 AM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 11:53 PM   #6
qlude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Awesome! Looking forward to trying this out.
qlude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |