TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2013, 07:45 PM   #1
ImFeklhr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Tivo Desktop Plus Download

Looking to upgrade to Tivo Desktop Plus. When I got to buy it, it seems like the only option is to have it shipped to my physical mail address. Is there no download option?

I am wondering if perhaps they just have a clumsy/inaccurate checkout process and when I get to the end it's going to E-Mail me a download key. However, I don't want to finalize my purchase and I find out I truly have to wait 3-5 days for a CD to be mailed to me with the software.

Anyone have any experience with this process?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tivodesk.JPG (27.1 KB, 32 views)
ImFeklhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:34 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
Recommend using PyTivo instead.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:07 AM   #3
ImFeklhr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Recommend using PyTivo instead.
I'll look into that software, but in the meantime I'd still like to know if downloading Tivo Desktop Plus is possible or if the only option is to order a disk.
ImFeklhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:58 AM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
You can, with the right URL, which I do not have now, there are several free versions. Using the code Tivo provides on purchase makes it TD Plus.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 10:11 AM   #5
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 8,853
http://assets.tivo.com/assets/exe/ti...sktop2.8.3.exe
__________________
Roamio Pro (GigE)
Elite (MoCA)
Premiere (MoCA adapter)
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 06:10 PM   #6
ImFeklhr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
You can, with the right URL, which I do not have now, there are several free versions. Using the code Tivo provides on purchase makes it TD Plus.
Great. I already have the Tivo Desktop software on my computer. I just need the activation code to make it "plus". I will go ahead and order it and assume that an activation code will be included immediately at purchase.

If the software is no good, I will look into free or 3rd party solutions if I need more. I really just want to be able to load mp4 video files onto my Tivo from Tivo Desktop Plus.

Thanks!
ImFeklhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 06:15 PM   #7
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
PyTivo will do that and more, for free.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 01:57 PM   #8
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,113
There is no need to down load anything. The activation code unlocks the Plus files that are built into the free version of desk top.
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 11:39 PM   #9
Joe Siegler
Registered User
 
Joe Siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 691
I was a long term proponent of TiVo Desktop, claiming I only needed it to copy files back and forth. I can't lie, I was a stomp my foot person, saying "I don't need that".

Then one day I tried kmttg, which is good software to get stuff off your TiVo to your computer, and pyTiVo, which puts software ONTO your TiVo.

The combination makes me wonder why the heck I fought to use TiVo desktop at all. Now there is a learning curve, I initially rejected using it, thinking it was too difficult, but once you get by the small learning curve on first use, it's really quite powerful.
__________________
Joe Siegler -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

TiVo Roamio 75hr unmodified, TiVo Roamio 316hr/2TB, both OTA only.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 10:18 AM   #10
sar840t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA
Posts: 76
I ran into the same problem. The only choice was to purchase a physical CD (and paying for shipping). I then got the product key (either on the confirmation page or in a confirmation email).

The CD never arrived, which was no big deal as I didn't need it.

TiVo's fulfillment process must be really screwed up, because I was never charged for the key (or the shipping, or the shiny coaster they insisted on sending me but didn't).

About a day later I realized the Plus version still wasn't going to do what I wanted, and started using kmttg with absolutely no regrets.

Mike
sar840t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 01:14 AM   #11
ImFeklhr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by sar840t2 View Post
I ran into the same problem. The only choice was to purchase a physical CD (and paying for shipping). I then got the product key (either on the confirmation page or in a confirmation email).

The CD never arrived, which was no big deal as I didn't need it.

TiVo's fulfillment process must be really screwed up, because I was never charged for the key (or the shipping, or the shiny coaster they insisted on sending me but didn't).

About a day later I realized the Plus version still wasn't going to do what I wanted, and started using kmttg with absolutely no regrets.

Mike
Yeah same here, I never got a CD, nor did I expect to. They just structure their shopping cart/checkout process in a confusing way in regards to software downloads. 5 months later I am on a new computer and am seeking the best TIVO software. I am going to try the one's referenced here.
ImFeklhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 01:35 AM   #12
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
The best software is PyTivo.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 01:24 PM   #13
Thos19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rockland, MA
Posts: 160
Does PyTivo and kmttg have any unique features that would make it worthwhile to download and install both? Thanks...
Thos19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 03:07 PM   #14
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thos19 View Post
Does PyTivo and kmttg have any unique features that would make it worthwhile to download and install both? Thanks...
For one thing, KMTTG does not send video back to TiVo so it calls on PyTivo for when it needs to push back to Tivo.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 09:15 PM   #15
advocate2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 39
Sorry to be such a dolt, but I can't figure out where to enter the key they sent me. Please help.
advocate2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 10:20 PM   #16
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by advocate2 View Post
Sorry to be such a dolt, but I can't figure out where to enter the key they sent me. Please help.
Launch Desktop.

Click on File.

Click on Desktop Plus Upgrade.

You should get a gray box with a white place to enter the key.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |