TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2014, 05:55 PM   #31
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 829
People have mentioned that a reboot would cause a Tivo to lose the 30 second skip "hack" if you had set that up earlier so that's one way of knowing.

squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 05:58 PM   #32
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,343
TC CLUB MEMBER
Also the onscreen clock.

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 08:00 PM   #33
ct1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,593
Since I ripped the DVD, my daughter has been playing Frozen on our TiVo HD every single night!

ct1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 10:31 PM   #34
TaterTot24
TiVo Addict!
 
TaterTot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 53
Well guess what...

I came home tonight to a frozen TiVo. Well at least I got to practice my solder/desolder technique...

So does anyone else have any suggestions??

__________________
TiVo user since 2000!

Current Model:
TiVo HD

Last edited by TaterTot24; 05-24-2014 at 10:44 PM.
TaterTot24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 11:27 PM   #35
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 3,589
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaterTot24 View Post
Well guess what...

I came home tonight to a frozen TiVo. Well at least I got to practice my solder/desolder technique...

So does anyone else have any suggestions??
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=517829

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=517733

Check out these threads and see if it may be a case of database corruption, which may be the result of bad data being received from the scheduled TiVo Service connections.

__________________
...
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 01:44 AM   #36
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 829
I've bought and repaired 3 Tivo HDs and one Series 3. The hard drives tested fine in all 4. Two HDs simply needed to be re-imaged followed by a clear and delete everything. The Series 3 needed new power supply capacitors and a re-imaging. The final HD unit is truly broken and is a work in progress.

So, my vote is to re-image the drive. You can do this with a different drive so that if it doesn't improve things you haven't deleted all your shows for nothing.

squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:37 PM   #37
TaterTot24
TiVo Addict!
 
TaterTot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 53
Well my TiVo has been frozen almost every single night since I originally posted this and I have yet to solve this problem...

With a new baby and traveling a lot for work, I just have not had a chance to mess with it. My wife is getting tired or resetting the TiVo and it only getting half (or less) of her favorite shows, so looks like I need to start messing with this thing again...

Just to summarize: New Hard Drive & All New Caps. Randomly Restarts & Freezes/Locks Up while watching TV and is frozen/locked up every night when I get home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by squint View Post
So, my vote is to re-image the drive. You can do this with a different drive so that if it doesn't improve things you haven't deleted all your shows for nothing.
This is the first thing I am going to try, but I don't really have much hope since this is a brand new drive that was just re-image back when these problems first started (I did the option where none of the shows/content was carried over)...

__________________
TiVo user since 2000!

Current Model:
TiVo HD

Last edited by TaterTot24; 09-03-2014 at 09:52 PM.
TaterTot24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 10:49 PM   #38
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,502
Hook up the hard drive to your computer and run the manufacturers long test diagnostic on the drive.

__________________

Premiere-$99 Lifetime-OTA
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3 OLED-Lifetime-OTA
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 12:09 PM   #39
kdc914
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 38
another "long shot" and/or "odd" suggestion but worked for me

I have a TivoHD that had the same problem. Note my use of past tense. Mine is connected to Cox Cable, using one dual-thread cable card and a tuning adapter.

Mine did the overnight freeze more or less randomly. Over the course of about a month, I figured out that when I left it on higher channels or especially any channels that required the Cox tuning adapter, it would usually lock up overnight. Not tightly, but lock up. By that I mean that I could use the channel up/down button to "unfreeze" it. I did miss a few recordings when it was frozen.

I experimented with leaving it on low number channels that I am certain do not use the tuning adapter - i.e. the local ones. Haven't had a lockup since. Coincidence? Perhaps, but it worked for me.

kdc914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 12:13 PM   #40
kdc914
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by squint View Post
People have mentioned that a reboot would cause a Tivo to lose the 30 second skip "hack" if you had set that up earlier so that's one way of knowing.
My TivoHD has been rebooting a LOT lately (apparently becoming a widespread problem when reaching the end of a recorded program). The only time I have ever lost the 30-second skip is when I was too slow changing batteries in the remote or when replacing the hard drive (which I have done twice in that unit's lifespan).

kdc914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 04:45 AM   #41
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,578
Apparently this is something that just started this weekend for a lot of people

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=520735

indicating that the problem was probably introduced to the TiVos by a download from TiVo, Inc., and not because of anything wrong with the TiVo itself.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 01:04 AM   #42
TaterTot24
TiVo Addict!
 
TaterTot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 53
Just an update on this issue. I re-imaged the drive and also performed tests on the drive... Well guess what....

The TiVo is still locking up every single night... At this point it has just become habit to reset it every night.

Looks like I will be shopping for a new TiVo soon...

__________________
TiVo user since 2000!

Current Model:
TiVo HD
TaterTot24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 10:07 AM   #43
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,165
Yikes- you have been dealing with this since may and only now are considering a replacement box? Amazing patience.

If the box is lifetime, I understand trying to drive more from it. But if on monthly you could have gotten a craigslist premiere for like $25 and been done with it.

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 10:31 AM   #44
TaterTot24
TiVo Addict!
 
TaterTot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
Yikes- you have been dealing with this since may and only now are considering a replacement box? Amazing patience.

If the box is lifetime, I understand trying to drive more from it. But if on monthly you could have gotten a craigslist premiere for like $25 and been done with it.
Yeah it is a lifetime and I had put the time/money to change out the caps and then the hard drive so I was determined to make it work.

The reason it has taken this long is because I had convinced my self that if I could reimage from the original drive then it would be fixed. Well i misplaced the original drive and just found it a few days ago...

__________________
TiVo user since 2000!

Current Model:
TiVo HD
TaterTot24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 11:46 AM   #45
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,213
Maybe power supply although usually those just fail outright (some can cause video artifacts for quite some time before failing).

Scott

__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 12:46 PM   #46
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaterTot24 View Post
Yeah it is a lifetime and I had put the time/money to change out the caps and then the hard drive so I was determined to make it work.

The reason it has taken this long is because I had convinced my self that if I could reimage from the original drive then it would be fixed. Well i misplaced the original drive and just found it a few days ago...
You mentioned back in May about it, if I understood correctly, rebooting at about the same time every night.

That sounds kinda like an OS update got "stuck" somehow, where it reboots expecting the bootpage to be changed over to the alternate partition setting where the newest version of the OS was downloaded to.

Go into System Info and see if you're on 11.0k or 11.0m

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 12:30 AM   #47
TaterTot24
TiVo Addict!
 
TaterTot24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 53
11.0m.... It has not really been doing it at the same time anymore (I think that was wishful thinking)

__________________
TiVo user since 2000!

Current Model:
TiVo HD
TaterTot24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.
Page generated in 0.10044289 seconds (83.05% PHP - 16.95% MySQL) with 19 queries