TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2014, 09:48 AM   #1
philwojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw burbs of Chicago
Posts: 141
What dish for a HDR10-250 and a THR22

Trying to help out my father-in-law here. He has two TVs in his house on one he has the older HR10-250 and on the other he now has the THR22. He still has the older 18" round dish, he hasn't wanted to upgrade that yet. He does have an antenna as well and gets all of his local channels through that in HD.

My question is what dish will work with both of the above Tivo units to provide the standard directv signals to the HR10-250 and then the full HD content for the THR22? What all do I need to make sure I have for him to get this working?

Thanks for the help.

Phil
__________________
S3 installed on 01-23-07
TIVO HD installed on 12-13-08
Phillips HDR112 - 160Gb HD
Samsung DLP (HL-S6187W) HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR
philwojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:13 AM   #2
BOBCAT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SF bay area
Posts: 372
If you got the THR22 from Directv, call them, they should come out and install the correct dish for free.
It will work with both DVR's
BOBCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:23 AM   #3
philwojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw burbs of Chicago
Posts: 141
No it came from Weaknees, not Dtv. So any help on what I will need to get this to work?
__________________
S3 installed on 01-23-07
TIVO HD installed on 12-13-08
Phillips HDR112 - 160Gb HD
Samsung DLP (HL-S6187W) HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR
philwojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:07 PM   #4
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,450
TC CLUB MEMBER
What dish for a HDR10-250 and a THR22

A standard 3 or 5 LNB dish without a built-in SWM. If the dish has four outputs it will work. The 3-LNB dish is better in general.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 12:29 PM   #5
philwojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw burbs of Chicago
Posts: 141
Do I also need a SWM-8 then as well?

Thanks for the reply btw.

Phil
__________________
S3 installed on 01-23-07
TIVO HD installed on 12-13-08
Phillips HDR112 - 160Gb HD
Samsung DLP (HL-S6187W) HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR
philwojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 01:03 PM   #6
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,450
TC CLUB MEMBER
Need one? No. Without one, though, you'll need four cable runs, two to each DVR. A SWM8 could certainly simplify things, though you'll still need three cables, two to the HR10 and one to the THR22, so I don't know if that buys you much.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 01:36 PM   #7
philwojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw burbs of Chicago
Posts: 141
Thanks Steve.

So right now he has 3 cables in total coming down from the roof, two from the dish and 1 from the OTA antenna.

With the new dish and an SWM8 I would need a 3rd cable from the dish correct? Then I would drop down from two cables currently going to the THR22 and make it only one?

Do I need a power supply (29v) with this SWM8 setup?

Sorry for the newbie questions I only have OTA antenna on my house, so the DTV stuff is not in my wheel house and I want to make sure I am getting the proper stuff for the FIL.


Thanks,
Phil
__________________
S3 installed on 01-23-07
TIVO HD installed on 12-13-08
Phillips HDR112 - 160Gb HD
Samsung DLP (HL-S6187W) HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR
philwojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:14 PM   #8
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,450
TC CLUB MEMBER
Yes, you need the power inserter.

You would require four leads from the dish to the SWM module. The SWM module has two SWM outputs as well as two (I think) "legacy" outputs - the "legacy" outputs would be run to the HR10 and one SWM output to the THR22. (The second SWM output would typically not be used, but it's there if you want it. SWM connections can be split.)

There is a connection for an antenna on a SWM8 - but the "diplexed" OTA signal can be used on the legacy outputs only, not SWM. To be honest, even though I have an OTA antenna, I gave up using it as the DirecTV locals had all the channels I wanted (and eventually in HD.) The HR10 has an OTA tuner so it would make sense to diplex the OTA signal on the legacy line and run the diplexer output to the antenna in on the HR10, which can then tune HD OTA stations. (The THR22 requires an AM21 tuner to do OTA.)

How attached to the HR10 is your F-I-L? The THR22 gives the HR10 experience, in HD. That HR10 is going on ten years old now. If the HR10 was replaced with a THR22, you could greatly simplify things with a "SWMline" dish that had a built-in SWM, with just one lead into the house that was split (using an approved splitter) for the two DVRs. If he really wanted the antenna, then that could be run to an AM21 ($50) box attached to either DVR.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:25 PM   #9
philwojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw burbs of Chicago
Posts: 141
Thanks Steve, he doesn't want to give up on the HR10 yet, he is kind of frugal, which is fine. I will get him going with this setup, just have to find the right dish now at a good price. Will any of the dishes that can do 99, 101 and 103 work for him that have the 4 outputs? I found one on Ebay, but I am not sure:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/131190713031...84.m1423.l2649

Thanks,
Phil
__________________
S3 installed on 01-23-07
TIVO HD installed on 12-13-08
Phillips HDR112 - 160Gb HD
Samsung DLP (HL-S6187W) HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR
philwojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 05:19 PM   #10
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,450
TC CLUB MEMBER
Yes, including that eBay one. You need to factor in the cost of the SWM and inserter plus additional cabling. But if he does give up the HR10 you haven't wasted anything.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:35 PM   #11
philwojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw burbs of Chicago
Posts: 141
Thanks Steve, really appreciate the help!!

Phil
__________________
S3 installed on 01-23-07
TIVO HD installed on 12-13-08
Phillips HDR112 - 160Gb HD
Samsung DLP (HL-S6187W) HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR606 AVR
philwojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 03:02 AM   #12
NGeorge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 45
If he's been a D* customer for a while, you can probably call up and talk them into a free DVR upgrade for the HR10, and make sure it's a THR22... I'd get his info and call as him since it'll take some talking and a lot of the reps deny the existence of the THR-22.

I was offered a free "DVR upgrade" for an older SD Tivo unit -- but it took talking to 3 reps to make sure it was a THR, not the regular one -- and even then it showed up on the bill as $199 for the THR and a $199 credit since the THR's aren't under their "free DVR" offer usually (but after I explained that it's actually a completely different software and no, it's not just the same box -- but is the same retail price as their other DVRs the rep (the one that actually admitted the existence of it) got their supervisor and put it through)

In addition, he's already paying the advanced HD Receiver and Tivo fee since he already has a THR -- to take care of the dish simply call them up, tell them it was purchased online and you are only seeing the SD channels... they will immediately see that he was installed with an 18" dish, and bring out the correct dish setup for free... they may even do this if you can just talk them into changing out the HR-10 at the same time...

If this is done right, the most he'll be in for is a 2 year agreement, possibly $19.99 for shipping...

N
NGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |