TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2014, 11:26 AM   #1
bradm23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 10
Tivo iPhone app questions

I currently have a series 3 box and have used the iPhone app for some basic functions. Many of the functions are grayed out and say only available for Premiere and Roamio. Do these functions work on a 2 tuner premiere or only the 4 tuner versions and does it require tivo stream?
bradm23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:44 AM   #2
dbattaglia001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 80
If you want to stream or download using iPhone or ipad, you need any premiere or basic roamio (with tivo stream add on). Tivo plus and pro come with tivo stream built in.
dbattaglia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 12:56 PM   #3
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradm23 View Post
I currently have a series 3 box and have used the iPhone app for some basic functions. Many of the functions are grayed out and say only available for Premiere and Roamio. Do these functions work on a 2 tuner premiere or only the 4 tuner versions and does it require tivo stream?
What functions? The iPhone app does everything on my Premieres, but I don't know anything about streaming as I would need a TiVo Steam.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:22 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,998
Series 3 are quite limited in that department, only for the guide and no shows.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 10:00 PM   #5
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,641
If you mean scheduling/to do list, you can do that on Premiere WITHOUT a stream.. To actually download or stream shows, you need a Premiere or Roamio.. and as stated, Premieres AND the lowest end Roamio require separate Tivo Stream.. higher than that have the stream functionality built in.

If you want to buy a used Stream, I have one (since I have a Premiere 4 before I got the Roamio, and got a now unused Tivo Stream too).
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |