TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2014, 11:28 AM   #1
Majik45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Any use for old Series 2 Tivo?

I've got an old Series 2 tivo that has been sitting inactive for probably 4-5 years now. It doesn't have lifetime on it. Is it worth anything and does anyone even use these anymore besides for parts?
Majik45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 01:30 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majik45 View Post
I've got an old Series 2 tivo that has been sitting inactive for probably 4-5 years now. It doesn't have lifetime on it. Is it worth anything and does anyone even use these anymore besides for parts?
In general no, as a non activated Series 2 is not worth the shipping cost, someone may be interested in the power supply but to remove it and try to sell it on E-Bay may not be worth it for you.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 04:04 PM   #3
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,514
Doorstop? Tax write-off?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:09 PM   #4
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Find someone who's grandparents still use a non-HD tv but are looking for a way to record shows. It could be of use to them. For the record I still have 2 S2's running but my THD is my primary unit. Overflow or borderline shows go to the S2's.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 08:01 PM   #5
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyTango View Post
Find someone who's grandparents still use a non-HD tv but are looking for a way to record shows.
They'd need to pay for the service though, unless it's one of the older DVD units with TiVo Basic.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 08:32 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majik45 View Post
I've got an old Series 2 tivo that has been sitting inactive for probably 4-5 years now. It doesn't have lifetime on it. Is it worth anything and does anyone even use these anymore besides for parts?
What's the model number?

If it's a TiVo brand TiVo, it'll start with TCD
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 09:28 AM   #7
timr_42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: st louis, MO
Posts: 1,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
In general no, as a non activated Series 2 is not worth the shipping cost, someone may be interested in the power supply but to remove it and try to sell it on E-Bay may not be worth it for you.
I did that to get a power supply for one of my lifetime S2's. got it off ebay pretty cheap.

Got it and turned it on just to make sure it worked, and found out that the box had lifetime on it.

I pulled the power supply and kept the rest of the box just in case sometime I may want to use it.
timr_42 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:25 AM   #8
Majik45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
What's the model number?

If it's a TiVo brand TiVo, it'll start with TCD
It's TCD649080.
Majik45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |