TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2014, 08:25 AM   #1
Apwmel
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Can I transfer my contents

I have a Phillips Directv TiVo, which I am told has a problem on the mother board and needs to be replaced. My question is how can I transfer the contents on my current unit to another unit or is there someone who provides a service like this?
Apwmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 09:39 AM   #2
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,608
TC CLUB MEMBER
Sorry, this can't be done. The content is all encrypted with the key tied to the motherboard.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 12:23 PM   #3
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apwmel View Post
I have a Phillips Directv TiVo, which I am told has a problem on the mother board and needs to be replaced. My question is how can I transfer the contents on my current unit to another unit or is there someone who provides a service like this?
Only way is to use a PC capture type card if it can play the recorded contents, if not there is no way.

There was a method but that only works for new recordings and not those already recorded and that doesn't help you. I think you can find out more at deal data base dot Com. Back in the day there was scripts and Ptvnet which would enable ethernet networking, install the Web server to it, hackmanager and allow transfers but that was a long time ago. Without encryption disabled prior to recording, there is nothing you can do.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 01:03 PM   #4
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,608
TC CLUB MEMBER
If you can play the recordings, you can capture them to an external device, but you can't store them on another DTiVo.

Yes, if one has previously "hacked" the DTiVo and disabled encryption, plus installed networking hardware, it's possible, but after the fact, no.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |